Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Review: Love Through Time By: Lucy Felthouse

*Erotica

   Emily is a book conservator. She loves her job. Emily takes it very seriously. She is sent to Westbury Manor to work in the massive library there. Emily gets right to work knowing the job will be an intensive one. She meets George, the handsome security guard of Westbury Manor. What starts as an ordinary job, soon becomes something more.  Emily feels someone in the library... or does she?  She get entangled in a love story many years old and with George's help, sets things right again. 

    I love this book because it's an anti- creepy Halloween book. It's something you can enjoy but not have to sleep with the lights on. *smile*  I did find this one to be short as well with a very blunt ending.  I'd like to see the ending come gradually, not just thrown in like a brick wall after a very wonderful scene in the book.  I do hope you check it out. It's a terrific read.

I give it 4 out of 5 books because of the shortness. 
Review: A Weekend at Wilderhope Manor By: Lucy Felthouse


 *Erotica*


    Stephanie and Jenny decide to take a weekend away. It's a murder mystery weekend and the women are looking forward to it.  The weekend was also a chance for these ladies to experience more than they ever dreamed of.  A ghost? Someone watching them? Read the book to learn more.


    If you are looking for alternative Halloween fun reading, this is the book for you.  It's fun, sexy and makes Halloween take on a whole new meaning. I loved this book and how the ladies were able to incorporate their fun into the weekend's mapped out fun.  This is a short review because the book was short. It ended bluntly and I felt things were left unsaid.


  I give this book 4 books out of 5 because it was short.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Review: Sellout By: James W. Lewis


   In this very well written book we follow five individuals. Terrell, Penelope, Tammy, Sheryl and Dedrick.  Each is dealing with  bad break-ups and how to move on from those relationships. It's an intense, witty, direct look at interracial relationships and the pain they face from both sides.  Every member followed in this book has logical reasons for their choices, but in working through things, they see more clearly what they want in life.  I don't want to give too much away, it would spoil this terrific book for you.


   This a book that would be great for book clubs and even includes discussion questions in the back. Some of the questions really made me look at myself, my views and the reasons for those views. Mr. Lewis did a very good job of making this an entertaining but thought provoking book.


   Having been in interracial relationships myself, I could relate to the book very easily. I've seen what can and does happen.  I loved the way this book laid it all bare for everyone to see. Nothing danced around or hidden, it was straight up and direct. I can't find anything I disliked about this book. You HAVE to read this book and I know you'll enjoy it as much as I did.




I give this book 5 out of 5 books for it's awesome story and outstanding writing.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Review of: Amber's Muse By: Lacey Wolfe


 *Adult Themed*


 Amber is a librarian, but she's also an aspiring writer. She's been working hard on a book in her spare time. There are some parts she's had issues with. She can't seem to make them work. Then she decides to enlist the help of her neighbor, Jax.  It's way more successful than even Amber hoped it would be. What a surprise the partnership is. I don't want to give much more away but you will enjoy this book. 
  
   I SO enjoyed this book!! It's an easy read and great for an evening pick-me-up.  This book would be the perfect prelude to a cozy evening with your significant other. I promise both of you will enjoy the outcome!!  The only thing I didn't like.. it was way to short for me.. *smile* I found myself wanting more.


I give it 4 out of 5 books just because of the shortness. Check this one out..you won't be sorry!

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Review: When Love Isn't Enough By: Stephanie Casher


     Samantha leaves heartbreak and  family in Los Angles to attend college at UCSC.  She loves Santa Cruz! Especially being near the water. It makes her feel at home and able to open herself up to let the waves carry her stress away.  She meets Tony when one morning he's sitting in "her spot" on a cliff waiting for the sunrise. Samantha moves down from Tony and sits to enjoy the sunrise. Once up, the sun shines a whole new light into Samantha's life. She and Tony just seem to click.  I won't say more because I don't want to give away the story but suffice to say YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!


     Have you ever met someone and you just seemed to fit? I mean you could talk about anything finish each others sentences and it felt right?  You will adore this book then. Coming of age, learning about yourself, surviving the gauntlet of college life- however you put it, this book captures it in the most beautiful way possible. I loved the emotion and the spontaneity of this book.  It takes you on a wild ride you don't want to miss.  Just when you think you've got things figured out, there is a sharp left turn. I LOVED IT!!  


    The only problem I see is waiting, if I can, for the sequel to this one.  I don't usually read excerpts from books to come included in the back. This time I had to. What I read made me want to contact the author and plead to read what she has finished on the sequel so far.  This is a writer you'll look forward to again and again. She's on my auto buy pile now. 




I give this book 5 out of 5 books because I finished it in one night it was that good!! BUY IT NOW!!

Monday, October 24, 2011

Review of:  Shady Lady By:  Ann Aguirre 


     Corine Solomon, decedent of Solomon from the Bible, is trying to stay alive. She just wants to run her small pawn shop and live life simply.  Fate has other plans for Ms. Solomon and she can choose to follow those plans or be on the side of Satan.  It's not as if she's alone though. She has friends to help her and Kel Ferguson, The Hand of God, her own personal guardian has been sent to see that she's protected.  Corine will go through many things before she makes her decision of which path to follow. 


        For those of you familiar with Ann Aguirre's books, this is another wild ride to stay alive. It's action packed and filled with the expected things Ann's books are so famous for. I don't want to spoil it for those reading her books for the first time so trying not to give away anything or say to much.  


       I found this book not only fascinating, but thought provoking as well. As someone raised in the Baptist church since birth, even though the book is Urban Fantasy, it makes you think and wonder. Could we really be among The Hand of God? Could Guardian Angels really be walking the earth appearing as ordinary people. I found myself pondering questions throughout this well written and exciting book.  I would recommend it highly.




      I give this book 4 out of 5 books only because it's not really my cup of tea and I found it hard to follow in places. 
Review of: A Hard Man Is Good To Find By: James W. Lewis


** Adult themed book**


       Michelle is trying to find her knight in shining armor.   Her "ONE and only".   The problem is while on that search she runs into some not so terrific men.  Michelle seems to have a knack for attracting those she DOESN'T want to spend life with...at first.  Then she finds THE PERFECT MAN!! She's not sure why he doesn't want her in a sexual way, but she's not giving up. All kinds of things run through her mind ( as they would most women).  She's in for a surprise.


       Remember what it was like to hit the clubs looking for that one special guy? The blind dates, the fix-ups by well meaning friends?  If so, you'll enjoy Michelle's adventure even more!!  You'll be able to relate to some of the wonderful characters created in this story.  It is adult themed, as noted, so not for everyone but if you give it a chance I know you will love this book as much as I did.
  
       This book is laugh out loud funny at parts and hits home in others.  I was in tears for part of this book from laughing so hard. I was laughing though because I can so relate to what Michelle goes through.  I've had some of those conversations with friends.   There isn't anything I dislike about this book! Except maybe that a man was able to hit home on so many points we females felt were well hidden..LOL!  Mr. Lewis is a terrific writer and I will definitely be on the look out for more of his books. 


I give this book 5 out of 5 books! It's an easy, awesome read and proves sometimes it's best not to rush things!


      
    
    



Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Review of: For Every Action There are Consequences By: Gail M. Baugniet 


   Set in 1968, when the Vietnam War and Civil Rights were the top news of the day, this book takes you on a roller coaster ride that will amaze you!  Pepper Bibeau resigns from the Army where she was a nurse. A year later she's doing less stressful work as a medical claims investigator for an insurance company. Pepper does suffer some nightmares of her time in Vietnam and  therefore at times she's a little jumpy. 
    Going about her job trying to get information for some medical claims filed, Pepper stumbles into several situations leading to unsafe conditions.  Just when you think you have the whole thing figured out... someone else pops into the mix and makes you rethink your approach.  Pepper loves mysteries though and she'll do her best to find the answers to these.
     I love this book! It's one I couldn't put down. Pepper is such a loving character and just imagining from what's written, what she went through in Vietnam makes you want to hold her.  I enjoyed that Pepper didn't feel she had to be strong and independent all the time. I love the Hawaiian tie in because I lived in Hawaii for 2 years myself. I was enthralled and amazed by their customs and way of life. 
    The only sad part for me was that Pepper didn't have her son with her. As a mom I can't imagine making the decision she did, but I respect the writer and character for it.  
      Overall you are going to enjoy this book so much!! I know you'll find the characters well rounded, some like-able and some not. You have to read this book!! I, myself have read it twice already it was that good! Rarely do I read a book twice in a row.


I give this book 5 out of 5 books!  Gail earned it and more! Be sure to tell friends about this one.

Friday, October 14, 2011

Review of Daring A Duke: The Courtesan Series By Claudia Dain


   Jane Elliot is from New York City during the Regency period.  The problem is, if you can consider it a problem, Jane Elliot is a very modern thinking woman. She's been trying to gain her independence and have an adventure for years. Her father and brothers have other ideas though. They are bound and determined to make a lady of her in spite of herself.  When Jane gets the chance to visit relatives in London, she's beside herself with joy. FINALLY some excitement. Except  those brothers are to go with her.  After days of being confined to the gardens and house Jane devises a plan. The plan however doesn't go exactly as she wants it to.
    This light, funny and more modern look at London society is like breathing fresh air. It gives a peek into what could happen if a woman with an independent mind lived in the Regency period. I loved the fact that Jane stamps her foot and declares independence.. even if it is in a room filled with London's high society. You'll smile and laugh throughout the book.  I thought it would have been nice to stretch it out a bit more than  a day or so in the timing, but even for a book that's set in one day it was terrific!


I give this book 4 out of 5 Books! 

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Review of Reel Murders and  Stay Tuned For Murder ByMary Kennedy


    These books are part of a series.  Maggie Walsh leaves her cushy psychology practice in New York  for a small town in Florida.  A radio station in Florida. A small radio station in Florida. This provides the backdrop for the funniest murder mysteries you'll ever read.  "On The Couch" with Maggie's ratings are losing to reports about pigs!  On top of that her actress mother comes visiting which is always cause for concern and Maggie must find a way to boost those ratings.  The colorful characters of the little Florida town will keep you guessing as to what will happen next.  
     Maggie feels crime can be solved with psychological forensics and the local cop believes in old fashioned police work. You'll have to read the books to see what happens when the two clash. With this series, each character could have their own book and it would be a smashing success.  Be sure to check these out if you haven't. 




   I give  these books 4 out of 5 books only because it reminds me too much of my own southern relatives. *smile*


                                                                                                                                                                         
Review of Series books: Deeply, Desperately - Truly, Madly -                         Absolutely, Positively BY Heather Webber


   This series is a great one! Those of you who haven't discovered Heather Webber, what are you waiting for? In this series, Lucy Valentine and her family use their unusual talents to help others in the most basic way.  Lucy finds that her talents aren't quite what the other family members are but still, she can help others.  Their are some interesting situations brought about by these talents, both Lucy's and her Father's.  I forgot to mention that didn't I? The talents come from the Valentine side of the family. Although they never know for sure when they will kick in.  Each book is filled with superb writing and a way of weaving words that keeps you interested long after you've finished the book. I'm sure you'll love these!




I give all three books 5 out of 5 books! Worth reading again and again!
Review of Johnstone Junction by Jake Dunne


    This book is one you can't miss!  A meteorologist, skiing, and his son all add up to one great mystery.  Sam Stone must come to his son's rescue and while doing so he might discover a new love. Johnstone Junction shows the behind the scenes things of television meteorologists and what they go through. I was amazed at all the technical things they have to do and learn to become what I thought of as a weatherman.  The book takes you on a ride you think you know the end to, then makes a sharp right and sends you in a whole new direction. I highly recommend this book for those who enjoy a good mystery and a little romance too. This is a first book for Jake but I'm hoping a new one is on the horizon. He is a talented author and each book will get better and better.  Check this out and you'll be glad you did. It's a book  you can easily read over a weekend.




I give the book 4 out of 5 books!  Terrific, fun, educational and one you don't want to miss.
  

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Reviews in Progress
   Happy Tuesday everyone!! I have several reviews in progress, just to let you know I'm not ignoring my own blog..lol. I'm working on "Shady Lady" by Ann Aguirre and "For Every Action There are Consequences" by Gail M.Baugniet.  I will be posting these this week. I am going to include in my reviews some of the others I've done recently so you'll have more books to look at.  I love reading and letting others know about good books. 
    Just because I adore historicals and historical romance doesn't mean I don't read anything else. I do. I read whatever is available to me at the time. So if you know someone looking for book reviews, I hope you'll tell them about me and my humble little blog. My main goal isn't to get 5,000 readers (although that would be nice.LOL) it's to inform other readers of books I've found a delight or those I'm not quite sure about. 
     I hope you'll stay on, or join this ride with me through books. Any questions? Don't hesitate to contact me. 

Sunday, October 9, 2011

Review of 'Elvis and the Tropical Double Trouble'  By Peggy Webb

     First let me say I am a HUGE Elvis fan, so anything with his name attached catches my attention.
 If you want a book that will make you laugh and keep you turning pages, this is it!  Callie Valentine Jones and her lovable dog Elvis seem to end up in some of the most mysterious of circumstances without really trying. Along with them, Callie's family.  A tropical vacation in sunny Mexico turns into a real  mystery.  I found the clever use of Elvis' song titles wonderfully inspired!  While laughing through the book, you'll get caught up in this southern family's mystery so easily you'll forget you started a mystery novel.  
    This book reminded me of many of my own southern relatives and situations they've been in so I felt right at home while reading this. It was as if my family kept a diary of mishaps. Elvis is even allowed to voice his opinion. After all he is the King! If Elvis truly is reincarnated, I'd love to think it's as a lovable basset hound protecting his human Mama. 
     'Elvis and the Tropical Double Trouble' is a book I highly recommend and have been recommending to friends and relatives alike. It's an easy read that allows you to take a vacation from your life and  stresses with smiles, laughter and fun! Don't miss this book!! Do watch out for Lovie's Prohibition Punch and the Fayrenese though *grin*.
     Making decisions were never so much fun! 


I give this book 5 books out of 5 books!! Awesome read!