Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Saturday, March 31, 2012

The Wings of Light by Lloyd Baron

  *Prophecy of Ages*


   The book of Prophecy was written and all were taught about it growing up. Most felt it was just a story, untrue and no way to verify it.  Still it was extremely important to them all. The Prophecy says there will be three men, the three D's, and two women. They will fulfill the Prophecy and protect the Princess of Atlantia.  Darwin't' begins to dream the future.  He is afraid of this but continues to piece together what he can. He's distracted though because the Bonding Feast is coming and he will go to the shrine with Canace.  He's loved her since they were children and is excited but also unsure of their future together.  The other four are people he's known all his life. They didn't always get along. Darwin't's aunt realizes he and his friends are the six from the prophecy. She encourages them to seek out the Queen of Atlania, she'll know if they are the true six.  Their journey is full of many tests.  They each must adjust to their new powers and future.  Can they do it? Only if they band together and learn to trust each other. They are sent to the Angels to unlock one of the women's powers. The Darkness finds them and things really become harrowing. 


   I thoroughly enjoyed this book. From chapter 2 to chapter 37. The prologue, chapters 1, 38 and the epilogue don't add anything of value to this book. In fact they confused me about where this book was going.  You will absolutely love this book in the area I stated. I recommended it on that premise.  The story is well paced, intricate and engulfing.  The characters are well rounded and easy to enjoy.  The story is one we can all relate to regardless of your beliefs.  Mr. Baron did a fantastic job of bringing it all together.


   The only issue I found I stated above.  


   I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because of the confusion.





Friday, March 30, 2012

Finding Your Road to Success by Patrick Daniel, CA

* How to get there without getting lost*
   
   This book is a guide to help you begin your path to being successful with your goals.  A common sense look at the baby steps needed to begin and how to keep track of your goals.  Success happens one step at a time. One goal at a time. Don't be discouraged with setbacks, learn from them and go on to the next step. By adjusting the way you think and the way you approach your road to success you can achieve whatever you wish to. Each person's goals are different and everyone moves at a different pace. Don't judge your success by society's idea of success. Be willing to grow, adjust and keep moving. "Life is going to shovel all kinds of dirt on you. But each trouble can be a stepping stone with the right attitude and road map."  It's as simple and complex as that.




    I love this book. It brings things down to a basic level of understanding so everyone will get something out of it.  I like the way Patrick Daniel incorporates his own life experiences and quotes to fit what he's saying in this book.  It reminds us of the basic steps we need to take before we can begin to work toward our goals.  This book is informative, helpful and one you'll refer to again and again.  I think this book should be a must read for anyone but especially those in business who want to climb the ladder so to speak.  We've all heard about needing to set goals in our lives, Mr. Daniel gives us the playbook to do just that.


I didn't find any issues.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's a book you need to have. 



The Blood Upon the Rose by Tim Vicary

   It's 1919 and the Irish Republican Army has declared war on Britain. They see no reason why an outsider should rule their country when they've been doing it for years.  It's a war with firm sides.  While Britain is trying to stabilize Ireland, the IRA is doing everything in it's power to fight back.  Catherine and her father are on opposite sides of this war.  Privileged and extremely independent, Catherine feels the IRA is justified in the war it's waging. Her father on the other hand feels the IRA are a bunch of murders.  Catherine, a medical student, falls in love with Sean. The problem is Sean is one of the IRA members.   Love is never easy and when it happens during a war, things are that much tougher.  Catherine's father does everything in his power to keep her away from anything or anyone he thinks might be helping the IRA.  It's not easy though.  Catherine's story is one as old as time. Follow her on her path to love or heartbreak.


   This compelling novel details the IRA movement against Britain in a way that makes it easy to understand and read.  I loved the fact Sean and Catherine were able to sneak to spend time together and never get caught. This novel is one where you learn something historical while getting a small love story entwined in it.  I enjoyed 'The Blood Upon the Rose' for that fact alone.  Well developed characters, strife and a little hope thrown in for good measure makes this a novel you'll definitely enjoy.  


The only issue I found was the love story. I felt it could have been a bigger part of the novel and helped fill it out more. 


I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because it was more history lesson than love story. 





Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Love Is A Wounded Soldier by Blaine Reimer

   Robert's life has never been easy and at sixteen it just got a little harder. His father an abusive drunk is never around when he's needed. Robert finds his mother dead and must take charge of burying her.  It's more than a sixteen year old boy should have to deal with.  Then his life gets better. He meets Ellen and falls in love. They are happy together and enjoying their new life when in 1940 he's drafted. World War II begins and he's right in the thick of it.   Robert knows his life will be different but just how different he could never have guessed. Witnessing things only a soldier can know about, for years. Doing the impossible. His goal is to get back home to Ellen and begin their life together. Sometimes the best laid plans fail.


   A stirring account of a soldier's life before, during and after World War II, this book keeps it very real.  The story pulls at the heart strings and guides you along side of Robert as he deals with everyday issues and some rather extraordinary ones too.  I love that the beginning of the book is an apology of sorts to his grandson for not always answering his questions as he was growing up.  Robert's hardship and determination makes him a very likable character.  This is one book for the ages.  I'm sure it will become a favorite in most households.


I didn't find any issues.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because of the awesome detailing and intricate love story. 



Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Wreck of the Nebula Dream by Veronica Scott

  Nick Jameson is a  Special Forces soldier on leave.  Not that he wants to be on leave but he didn't have a choice in the matter.  He's aboard the Nebula Dream, THE premiere space cruise ship. It's the maiden voyage of the Nebula. Promises were made about the speed of the ship, the amenities and luxury.  Nick is just bored.  Everything seems find until the third night out. The fourth engine has shut down. The crew play it off like it's just routine maintenance until the fourth night out and all engines are shut down.  Panic sets in and people are trying their best to get to the life boats.  Only one problem with that, not enough life boats for everyone.  After some checking, Nick finds out the Captain, his first officer and third officer, along with the president of the company, have taken a life boat and left the other 8,000 souls on board to die. They didn't count on Nick being part of the solution though. 


   Thrilling scifi action will have you enjoying this take on the Titanic story.  This story is made even more exciting when you realize they are in space.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book, but then I enjoy most things Titanic related.  The twist on the story makes the time honored tale fresh and delightful.  I found the characters to be lovable and strong when it comes down to do or die.  I can't imagine another disaster like the Titanic happening, but I would hope there would be a "Nick" on every ship sailing.  This is an easy read and you'll be thinking about it for days after you read it. 


  I didn't find any issues.


  I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because the story is never old.

Monday, March 26, 2012

A Perfect Husband by Douglas Wickard

  Dealing with divorce is hard enough but Sami Saxton must deal with much much more.  Sami decides to reinvent her life after her divorce and moves to her father's cabin in the country.  She knows the place needs some work. Strange things begin happening from day one and Sami is sure she knows who is behind it all.  Smitty Fowler is just the average working man. At least he seems to be on the outside.  He's fighting some pretty big demons inside though.  His mother neglected him and his father couldn't be bothered to be part of his life.  It all takes it toll on him in an unusual way.  Sami and Smitty will cross paths several times and it might not always be in a good way.  


  Filled with suspense, this debut novel takes you into the minds and lives of two very different people. It's one of the best thrillers I've ever read. Douglas Wickard weaves a spell that keeps you locked to the book.  I am not usually a big fan of thrillers, too many pranks by my brother and sisters I suppose. This book, however, is one of the best I've ever read.  I kept reminding myself that this is a debut novel. You'll enjoy the way the story brings love, hate and everything in between together. I have already recommended this book to friends and now I'm recommending it to you! Find this book and buy it! You truly will enjoy each and every page. 


I didn't find anything wrong. The whole package is here.


I give this one 5 out of 5 books because I can't award anything higher. 









Sunday, March 25, 2012

After Effects:Zombie Therapy by Zane Bradey

   Dr. Victor Frenzel lives a normal, quiet life with his wife Barbara. They are very much in love and that's what makes her death even harder to deal with.  Witnessing the whole incident, Dr. Frenzel then vows to find those who killed her and make them pay.  A pandemic has hit. Zombie-itis is at maximum levels.  There is no truly safe place to be. Dr. Frenzel writes some papers on how to "cure" Zombie-itis and presents them to the scientific community.  His methods are a little unorthodox but they work.  


  Mystery, romance and lots of scary moments make up this wonderful book.  I enjoyed being able to see both sides of the issue of Zombie-itis. It was an approach to this subject no one had ever presented before.  I loved the way you get to see what's going on inside the doctor and his patients. Being able to listen as they relive their incidents.  The moment he finds his wife's killer is amazing!! This is one book you need to have in your collection.


I didn't find any issues with this book.


I gave this book 5 out of 5 books because of the originality of it.



Saturday, March 24, 2012

Birdie Down by Jim Graham

    The year is 2210, and things are just a bit different now. Earth has several planets and they are under corporate rule. The corporation then reports back to Earth. Lynthax is that company.  As with many companies, Lynthax believe themselves to be above the law.  They  downsize and rearrange peoples lives in a careless way.  Many found fault with Lynthax and decided to fight back.  The rebellion is new and still unorganized, but willing to fight to the death to expose the ways of Lynthax.  The rebels are looking for independence from Earth and they'll do anything to get it.  They promised land to those who would join the rebellion and help them gain the independence.  The first to join  were ex-cops. They'd been fired from their jobs by Lynthax.  Andrew "Birdie" Goosen is one of them.  During one mission to shut down Lynthax information storage facilities, Birdie's shuttle is shot down. Now what? Read the book to find out more.


     I am a geek fan if ever there was one for books such as this.  I love 'seeing' into the future as to what others feel our world might include.  Jim Graham didn't disappoint.  His vision of Earth in 2210 seems to be right in line with where we are today.  The story is age old, the oppressed fighting the oppressor.  It's always been my habit to support the underdog and I'm no different in this instance.  Birdie Down is a well crafted tale and action filled.  You'll enjoy the way this story unfolds with no apology for what the rebels do in an effort to win freedom. It offers all the things a scifi fan would look for and includes some, to me at least, gory, horror film stuff too. Not over the top, just fits with the story.


   I am delighted to say, there were no issues.


    I gave this on 4 out of 5 books just because of the horror film quality in part of it (not a fan).



Thursday, March 22, 2012

Coming on Monday..Meet Author Douglas Wickard


I wrote my first short story when I was twelve. It was titled Twelve and a Junkie. I persuaded my sister Karen to 'make it look professional' so I could submit it to the Reader's Digest First Person's Award. Ada, my mother, was mortified. Can you imagine? Small-town boys from Ohio, growing up in the 60's, hopefully, knew little about heroin addiction, or for that matter writing, but for me that experience opened a whole new arena of visual communication.
I didn't win the competition, needless to say, but I did uncover a link between my imagination and the written word. If I was willing to show up, sit down and spend some time alone, a story quite possibly could develop.
I left home early, at sixteen, and joined the military. By twenty-three I was a world traveler. I traded in my small-town upbringing for the City; Los Angeles first, then New York. For over twenty years I lived in the Big Apple, working in the hospitality industry, but I never stopped putting pencil to paper, fingers to keyboard. My introduction to professional writing began with musicals. My first optioned show was called WaitingHead Over Heels and Lovers & Liars followed. Although Broadway was the goal, my shows never saw the light of the 'Great White Way.' But, my association and collaboration, at that time, with so many wonderful, talented musicians, singers and writers was a creative dream, a children's playground.
Several screenplays, a few novels and even a television script were developed, sent out and shelved. Some work gathered more attention than others.
Patience is the key in a writer's life.
And, perseverance.

Ring Around The Rosie by Jen Wylie

 *Short Story*


Ring around the rosie, pocket full of posies, ashes, ashes, we all fall down. What if weren't about something deadly but something magical?  Aaron is part of a musical family and even he is surprised when he hears music coming from the woods.  He must investigate. 


This short story gives us an alternative to the meaning we've all associated with this song. I like that there is something else behind this song.  So many children love it, it's nice to see it can be interpreted another way.  I like this short story. I wish it was a full length book. How much fun it would be to get tangled in it then.


I didn't find any issues.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books even though I wished it were longer. 



Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Angels of Apocalypse: Part I Alignment by JJ Harkin

  This is going to be a departure from my normal way of posting reviews and you'll see why in a moment. After this I will go back to my normal way of posting. 


   Mr. Harkin asked me to review the above titled book.  I agreed. I review all books I'm asked to. I began this book today and what I found didn't fit with the man. No I don't know him personally, but Twitter posts and emails made me see him one way, his writing another.  


    This book is beyond pretentious. It's arrogant and self involved to the max.  I found this book difficult to read, and the average reader wouldn't bother after the first chapter if they got that far. His use of big, important sounding words rivals nothing I've ever seen. The story, while jumping around, makes no sense. It's supposed to lay the ground work for a series, but all it does is leave more questions than answers. It spoke with modern concepts and medieval concepts. It included  a dominant-submissive relationship. It traveled the world. At the end though, it really said nothing. 


    I am very sorry to have to post this, but I do post honest reviews here.  I'm not going to sugar coat something just because I was asked to read it. Anyone who visits here or knows me, will understand this is how I work.  To Mr. Harkin if you have read this far, I won't post reviews anywhere else. I don't wish to badmouth your book on several sites. 

Leaving by Audrey Holland

   Five hundred dollars and an adventure are what were in store for Judy Mitchell.  She found her husband cheating with his sister's maid of honor before the wedding.  Judy managed to hold things together until the reception. She finds out for certain her husband has been cheating and walks back to his sister's house in the cold and snow.  Taking the $500 he stashed under the mattress, she packs up their two sons and heads for home.  Scared, unsure and concerned for her sons, she decides to pull into a rest stop overnight. With the help of a truck driver, she and the boys stay warm and dry that night. Soon after they take off the next morning she finds out her husband, the cop, has the police looking for her and the boys.  Judy's adventure goes on from there.


   AMAZING!  This book shows what can happen when you take a stand. When you've had enough of the crap.  I think Audrey Holland did a wonderful job in capturing the emotions, the fear and the final bravery.  I applaud her topic and the willingness to share it with the world. All women should  read this and remember, don't let ANYONE disrespect you!  I think this book is one all domestic violence shelters should share and it should be part of marriage classes.  Thank you for allowing me to read this book and experience what you did. I myself have in a similar situation, though not a husband.  


I didn't find anything wrong with this book.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's a testament to how brave women can really be.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Jaguar Sun by Martha Bourke

 High school is hard enough without adding anything to it. Just ask Maya.  She's having some problems she isn't sure about and some boyfriend issues she's not sure she can handle.  This is when she finds out she's a shape shifter.  Maya is pretty freaked out when she sees her nightmare shadowing her during the daytime.  The best place for advice- Grandma. Maya explains what's happening to her Grandmother and finds out she might be meant for even bigger things than she realizes.  Her nerves are settling when she finds out her boyfriend is also a shape shifter and not by choice.  They are mates. It all seems pretty confusing until Maya goes to Mexico on vacation. The trip is really much more.  Follow her through the path of the unknown future she has.


LOVED THIS BOOK!!  While it covered the typical teen issues, it also went three steps forward and made this a book ANYONE would be delighted to read. I found the story plausible (of course I come from open minded people where this stuff is concerned *smile*), and when I really like a book, I share it with everyone. I've shared this with everyone around me physically, now I'm sharing it with you!! GET THIS BOOK! You won't be sorry!! I can't wait for more of Maya's adventures. I hope they are on the horizon.


Nothing wrong with this book.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's addictive!!

Blood Passage by Michael J. McCann

*A Donaghue and Stainer Crime Novel*

  A murder scene looks like a drug deal gone wrong.  It's worked until there doesn't seem to be any more evidence then turned over to CCU. Four years later, the case seems to be fully active again. New information has been brought to light that might help solve the murder.  Donaghue and Stainer are working the case as if it's new again. Asking questions, meeting people from the past and taking in the new information.  It seems Martin Liu, the victim, is reincarnated in the body and mind of three and a half year old Taylor Chan.  It might seem random, but Taylor is Liu's cousin's child. He knows to much to be making it up. There are things that don't match up and many more things that do.  At first they think it's all bunk, until they start learning Taylor was dead on in his statements. This might even lead to solving the murder.

  Not your typical police drama with the inclusion of reincarnation. Many crime drama writers wouldn't have taken this turn, but you know what, it works.  It makes the story seem more like something that could actually happen. Especially once you read what the child knows. Action filled and worthy of it's own television show, this book is perfect for those looking for something a little different.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  

I didn't find anything wrong. It covered all the bases.

I gave this one a 5 out of 5 books because I didn't see the reincarnation coming and it was easy to accept when it did.

Monday, March 19, 2012

An Unproductive Woman by Khaalidah Muhammad-Ali

Asabe was married to the man she loved, Adam. She never wanted to be married to any other man. The only thing missing from their happy lives were children. Try as she might Asabe wasn't able to conceive.  She didn't know at the time that Adam had a son by a Western woman. All she knew was Adam craved a son.  Adam married twice and though he tried, he was given daughters. Asabe goes above and beyond as his first wife. She cooks, cleans, launders his clothing and keeps things running smoothly. His second wife was just a child when she first came to him and although it was tough, Asabe and Fatima became sisters.  Adam's third wife was a selfish, arrogant, spoiled woman. Asabe and she had known each other as children. Now it would take every ounce of patience and faith Asabe had to deal with her.  When it seems as though tragedy and heartbreak are all Adam's household will know, a miracle happens.


Heartwarming, enriching and full of wonderful life lessons, this book should be on your list. The messages contained in this story are ones everyone can learn something from. Love, marriage, children and doing what's right are all included in this story.  One woman endures so much to make her husband happy and to keep her life as peaceful as possible.  I recommend this book to everyone. You will be amazed at all she goes through in her lifetime.


I didn't find anything wrong with this one.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it was amazing.



Friday, March 16, 2012

Deadline by Fern Michaels

  Four women who have been friends since grade school are now living together and sharing life.  They've helped each other through some trying times over the years. These aren't your typical senior citizens. These ladies all have talents and they use them every day.  Toots has the money and owns several businesses. Ida is the flirt and does make up for the deceased.  Mavis has a clothing line for those in mourning and for the deceased.  Sophie is they psychic and seance coordinator.   Together they solve some mysteries others can't.  They are the godmothers.


   I don't want to give to much away about this book because if I do, you'll know the whole story.  Funny, heartwarming and filled with excitement, this book is NOT one of Fern Michaels best efforts. The story starts off as them approaching one mystery and then when that story runs out of steam, and it does, it switches to another mystery and then yet another. I felt as if it was thrown together as snip-its of several stories and called one. I don't recommend this book and I love Fern Michaels books. I was very disappointed in this one.


I found too many stories all at once in one book. Too many characters and nothing tied together other than the four ladies who knew all these people.


I gave this book a 3 out 5 books because it was a big disappointment.

Touch of a Rogue by Mia Marlowe

  Lord Cambourne was said to have committed suicide. A dagger through his heart.  His wife, Julianne, had serious doubts about the suicide. It just didn't fit who Lord Cambourne was.  To prove it, she set off for London to seek the help of Jacob Preston. Jacob was known to have solved what seemed to be unsolvable crimes before. Julianne had high hopes he could help her find out the truth about her husbands death.  Little do either of them know trying to unravel this mystery will lead them into places they never would have dreamed of looking into.  Jacob's unusual talent comes in handy throughout their investigation.  Julianne is convinced Jacob is addicted to opiates.  Their feelings for each other grow deeper with each passing  day and they wonder what will become of them after this investigation is complete.




   Mia Marlowe paints a very vivid picture for you as she writes this book.  The details are what make this one so interesting.  Steamy love scenes make this book even more fun to read.  I loved the story behind this one.  I could almost imagine these characters being real, having lived in the time period.  It's always interesting to see how a writer will find a new take on historical romances and Mia Marlowe never disappoints. This is a keeper.


   I found no issues with this one.


   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it was different and exciting.

Thursday, March 15, 2012

Never Seduce A Scoundrel by Heather Grothaus

Saint Cecily.  They all called her that and she knew it. She was never given a chance to be anything but. Then one night, her halo slips. That one night changes her life forever.  Oliver Bellecote. Newly minted Lord Bellecote, but also a scoundrel.  Known by many women in the area for his jumping from one woman to the next with no regard.  However, one drunken night, Oliver makes love to Cecily. It makes everything they knew about each other come into question.  Cecily knows now she can't join the abbey as she'd always planned to do. Oliver has asked Joan to marry him. What could possibly happen to straighten out this mess?




A fast paced story of love won and lost.  You'll enjoy this book for it's different look at romance. Just when you think things are figured out, another twist is given to you. I loved the idea the man admitted his love first. He couldn't understand it, but it was there.  This one is full of strong women characters that will keep you on your toes.


I didn't find any problems with this one.


I gave this one a 5 out of 5 books because of the twist near the end.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

No Longer A Gentleman by Mary Jo Putney

  Lord Wyndham, Greydon Sommers, never dreamed that his dalliance would cause him to lose ten years of his life.  He spent those ten years in a dungeon, alone and barely hanging on to sanity.  Determined to keep himself from going completely mad, he worked out and sang.  When he'd all but given up hope of ever seeing England again, Cassie enters his life.  A spy working for his friend Kirkland, she was sent to check out information that he was still alive.  She caught just the right time too, because the master of the castle was gone and his staff gravely ill.  Cassie swoops in and rescues Grey.  During their time together, they fall in love, but because Cassie believes she is not up to Grey's standards, she walks away. Then things change. 


This book was fun, romantic and sexy.  I enjoyed the fact that the female lead got to be the hero in this book. She certainly deserved it.  I think more books should use the female lead as the hero.  The story behind this one isn't a common boy-meets-girls story. It includes some very  forward thinking for the time period.  I know you'll want to spend a weekend with this book.  It takes you on a trip to the past but includes some intrigue.  This is a must have book.


I didn't find anything wrong with this one.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because of it's forward thinking.

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

My Lord Vampire (Immortal Rogues) by Alexandra Ivy

  Lady Gilbert, Simone's life was going along as she planned. Her party invitations were the most sought after invitations in London.  She was very selective about who she invited. Men from all ages did their best to entice the young widow to their side.  Gideon was once again thrust back into the mortal world. After 200 years, he was able to feel the desires, passions and emotions once again.  He was sent by the Council to protect one of the three maidens who held a part of the Medallion. He never dreamed that Simone would be so beautiful and desirable though.  Together Simone and Gideon must stop one of the renegade vampires from the Veil.

  Historical romance with a twist. I like it!! The story seems to be a little lightweight until you get further into the book. Then you learn all the secrets and stories behind the scenes.  Well told and not so deep and dark you can't relate to it, this book gives you a nice vacation from the norm.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

I didn't find anything wrong. It was an easy read and fun to see how things turned out.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because I'm liking me some vampire stories.

Monday, March 12, 2012

Forbidden Love by Michelle Grogan

Jessica Alvarez knew her father's business was more than import/export, she just didn't  know how much more. At nineteen she decided she'd had enough of being pampered and guarded all the time. She wanted to live life and enjoy the world. Her father however, was less than thrilled with the idea. First thing on her to-do list was to find a job. She answered an ad for a personal assistant. Little did she know that job would change her life so drastically and so quickly.  Jake Rousseau was tops in the security field. It didn't hurt that he was handsome and ripped too.  Following the orders of his boss was what Jake did.  Only this time it leads to a place he never thought he'd find again.  Can he make this trip and remain whole?


A Romeo and Juliet of the organized crime world best describes this book.  It's extremely well written and action packed.  I loved the idea of a crime bosses daughter telling him she wasn't gonna be ruled by his world and his rules any longer.  There is passion, mystery and a true love story contained in this book and well worth the read.  You'll be doing yourself a favor by buying this book for your collection. Michelle Grogan is a fantastic writer and storyteller.


The only thing I found a problem with was the ending. I felt it was kind of weak considering all the action, romance and passion in the story.  


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because I'm a sucker for Romeo and Juliet type stories.

Sunday, March 11, 2012

Fever by Joan Swan

   Dr. Alyssa Foster's day was not going well. She was filling in for someone and not at all happy about it. As she entered the room, she was even more displeased to find her patients were prisoners.  With a sigh and a let's-get-this-done attitude she began the tests.  Suddenly she was being held with a pair of scissors at her throat. Scared, but even more mad, she tries to reason with the prisoners.  Teague Creek  has nothing left to lose. Three years in San Quentin prison for crimes he didn't commit and a life sentence made any possibility worth taking.  He just had one thing he needed to do. With this woman as his hostage, he could get what he wanted easily.  At least he thinks so.  These two end up going through more than either of them had ever dreamed of and it might...just might..turn out ok.


Powerful, intense and not what you'd expect describes this novel perfectly.  The amazingly sensual sex scenes even out all the violence in the story.  You think you know how this story will end, but you will be surprised at the detours along the way. You'll be angry, sympathetic and confused. It's a terrific book and I know you will read it again and again. 


I didn't find anything particularly wrong with it, but I will caution, if you are easily offended by racists remarks, you may have to skim over some parts.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it caught me off guard..and that's good.

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Caressed by Night by Amanda J. Greene

Dimitri has risen from the dead. Well almost.  He comes out of hiding to take his rightful place as King of his clan.  The vampire has watched his enemy  for 100 years. Planning and waiting for the right moment.  Along the way, he finds his mate, a human named Kerstyn. Dimitri is thrilled to finally know who his mate is and he's determined to protect her at all costs.  The loyalty of his clan is as strong as ever.  When he goes into battle against Ven, his enemy, he knows Kerstyn will safe.  Only she wasn't. The events that follow keep you guessing as to what will happen next. 


This is an amazing book! The steamy sex scenes, the intensity and detail make this book!  I highly recommend you check this one out. I guarantee you'll dive into this book and not surface until it's finished.  Amanda J. Greene is an incredible writer who took great pains to dispell some old wives tales and give a more modern, accurate look into the vampire society. I personally am waiting for her next book so I can jump into it. 


The only issue I found was the epilogue seemed like another chapter or two. The end of the epilogue seemed disjointed and open. I felt like there should have been a closure or at least a question to be answered in a later book. This one, however, just stopped.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books despite the epilogue because it was that good.

Friday, March 9, 2012

The Last Way Station: Hitler's Final Journey by Jon Reisfeld

  Hitler hears the last seconds of his life coming quickly.  Suddenly he's in a space that doesn't look familiar.  He has dreams his father may have had some Jewish heritage. Fevered dreams send him back in time to his grandmother's house. It's there he learns his hatred of Jews.  His grandmother blackmails a Jewish family to get money to live on.  She stressed to Hitler that Jews thought they were the Germans betters. Hitler is sent to the ultimate rehabilitation facility. There he must answer for the millions of deaths he caused.  He must work through his sins if he is to be elevated in any way.  His caseworker sees a grossly defective creature and an intensely evil soul when he looks at Hitler.  He takes Hitler through each of his sins from the eyes of the person he murdered. The ending will surprise you.


   A wonderful historical fiction book, written as though we are there through the entire process. I'd like to think it was worse than the book describes for Hitler, but this lets us all dream.  Jon Reisfeld does a brilliant job of making you think you are one place when you are really another. The idea of putting Hitler in the shoes of those he murdered is absolutely amazing. If you enjoy history as much as I do, you will love this book .  You must read this one to truly appreciate it.


I didn't find anything wrong with it.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's justice in a mild way.

Hotter on the Edge by Erin Kellison, KC Klein, Jessa Slade

   Three novellas that are in a fantasy setting, but explore the same topic. How quickly you can fall in love with someone who pushes your buttons.  Authors Erin Kellison, KC Klein and Jessa Slade, each have their own unique style of taking you on the voyage in a sizzling, exciting and new way.
   In "All That Glitters" Mica Sol is part of a royal family. She doesn't really want to be. She wants to explore the planet.  She goes away to do just that. Then her sister contacts her to let Mica know she's getting married. On her way back home, Mica literally falls for her ex Simon. They go through a lot, but in the end realize they were meant to be together.  
   "To Buy a Wife" is set after the global war.  Hudson Black Creek witnesses a female being beheaded.  When they bring the second female prisoner to be beheaded, Hudson is immediately taken by her. Without realizing it, he speaks up to save her. Lake is to be executed because she was found with a personal computer.  They must learn to get along and might fall in love too.
    " Enslaved by Starlight" finds Corso Deynah lounging on his ship. His spaceship.  Suddenly he is contacted by someone. Benedetta Galil asks for his help in saving their planet. Her planet is home to some very special crystals and  pleasure slaves. Reluctantly, Corso goes to the planet to see what they expect him to do. If he succeeds, his payment will be Benedetta herself. Even though he declines the payment, Corso is drawn to Benedetta.  From here anything could happen.


I LOVED the premise for this set of books. To think someone is terrible and then fall in love with them is wonderful.  The chemistry between them is undeniable from the beginning, but it takes something drastic to realize what they mean to you.  The stories are full of heat and excitement.  You'll want this book on your shelf.


I didn't find anything wrong with any of them.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it was a fun read.

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Nimpentoad by Henry, Joshua and Harrison Herz


     Grunwald Forest is full of creatures. Many aren't very nice. They like to bully and be mean to the other creatures. Niblings are the smallest and the Giant is the biggest. The Niblings had to hide often because so many wanted to eat them. Nimpentoad was the smartest and bravest Nibling. He knew if they could get the Giant to agree to join forces with them, they would be safe. The Niblings could do the things a clumsy Giant couldn't and the Giant could protect the Niblings from all other creatures. The Niblings decide to make the long journey to the castle to talk to Goofus the Giant. Along the journey they run into many creatures who could harm them, but Nimpentoad usually had an idea of how to stop them. Did they make it to the castle and what did Goofus say to their plan?

     This is one of those books your children will read again and again. The delightful characters and lesson teaching story are wonderful.  You won't find creepy, scary creatures in this book, just ones your children can relate to easily. My daughter thought this book was really good and said she would definitely share it with the school librarian and teachers. You'll want to get this one for your children. Geared to kids 6-9 it's actually a wonderful read for any age. 

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it is definitely the next kids bestseller.


@Nimpentoad on Twitter


Frost Arch by Kate Bloomfield

It's happened. Technology destroyed our planet. Earth is now fire and ice. Humans are forced to live underground for 500 years.  Some humans have a rare genetic code that allows them to survive in the radiation. Through the years, they evolve even more and have special powers.  The humans with special powers are now called Mages. Humans have become ignorant beings, slaves of the Mages.  Avalon Redding is a Fire Mage. There is only one problem. She can't control her powers and so she ends up hurting innocent people. She wants to control the power, she just doesn't seem to be able to.  On top of that, her younger sister has shown no powers which places her in great danger. She will be viewed as a human and sent to prison or become a slave somewhere. To protect her, Ava will do anything. It's one of the reasons she decides it's time to leave home. What she doesn't know is her troubles and adventures are just beginning.


I loved this book! The setting, to me is very realistic. I can see our world ending up just as it's described in this book.  The characters are some of the best I've seen in a book of this type. Believable, caring, loving and protective.  It's amazing to see just how Avalon's adventure unfolds. You are always there rooting for her to overcome whatever obstacles that are put in her way.  This is a book worth buying, reading and passing on to friends. You will enjoy it immensely.


The only problem I found is the lack of a love story. It had all the other elements, mystery, intrigue, wonderful characters... just little to no love story. I think Avalon deserved to have one.


I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because Avalon didn't have a great love story.

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Lingering in the Woods by Cynthia Ravinski


Usko is in exile. He is living with his mother Satu, a witch. He's been cursed. As he lay dying he asked his mother to do only one thing, bury him in the sun.  Once he dies, his mother, being the vindictive woman she is, buries him under an oak tree in the dark to tie him to her world forever. Everything went well until a young Shaman and his hunting group happened through the woods.  The spirit guide of the Shaman warns him of trouble ahead. The Shaman sings songs with magical abilities to protect the hunting party. His chieftain has little to no confidence in his abilities.  When they pass the trolls, they feel the danger is over, but the Shaman's spirit guide tells him differently.  The chieftain sends men to cut down an oak tree to make weapons with.  Too late the young Shaman realizes what will happen. Once they begin to chop down the oak tree, they release the demon spirit Usko.  The young Shaman's spirit guide flees leaving him unprotected. What the Shaman does next surprises everyone.

I found this story to be a great one. Filled with action and surprises it's the perfect book to spend an evening with.  It also had a moral to the story if you will. Be strong and face your fears.  I think the writer captured the scene in perfect detail and made me want to keep turning pages to the end.  I believe you will be as excited by this one as I am and be waiting for more books like this from the author.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because the  detail placed you in the story so easily. 

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Love, Again

Seven stories of love rekindled after it appeared there was no hope. Each one is sweet, erotic, fun and a lesson for us all. Realizing the one they love most is the one they pushed away, or walked away from. Whether it's a husband you've grown apart from, or a boyfriend you loved and broke up with, there is no denying the love there. The second chance is one you should take.

These seven authors: Melissa Keir, Lacey Wolfe, Sabrina Luna, Tamaria Soana, Autumn Jones Lake, Ella Jade and Melissa Kendall, are some of the very best writers we have today. Their stories give you everything you could want and more in a book.  I found each story to be  well executed and fun! This is an anthology you'll want to have with you all the time. Each story is like a walk while on vacation.  You'll enjoy this one, I know I did.

I didn't find anything wrong with this one. It is everything an anthology should be.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it was like a breath of fresh air.

Willow Pond by Carol Tibaldi

Set in the late 1920's and early 1930's, when flappers were seen and speakeasies were the place to be.  Laura Austin is separated from her actor husband, Phillip.  During a visit to their home, Willow Pond, their eighteen month old son is kidnapped.  Laura's world falls apart and she turns to the one person she has always counted on, Virginia Kingsley.  Virginia is Laura's aunt but she's also the owner of a very popular speakeasy.  She has underworld connections that might be able to help find her nephew, Todd.  Laura and Phillip decide to do an interview in the hopes it will jog someone's memory of seeing something the day of the kidnapping. The reporter chosen is handsome Erich Muller. The moment he meets Laura Austin, Erich is in love.  He vows to find out who kidnapped Todd and win Laura Austin over.  The journey is not an easy one for anyone connected to Todd. Will he ever come home?


Willow Pond is a very well written story. I loved the time period and all the little details no one considers in a situation like this.  Carol Tibaldi did an excellent job of keeping the action going and weaving a love story to melt your heart.  You find yourself rooting for the underdog and wanting to help him so much.  I enjoyed the underworld connections with mentions of Capone and others. It really lets you know what the time period was like in and honest but sincere way. 


There was nothing at all wrong with this book. I felt as if all the bases were covered. Intrigue, romance, fun and a little mystery thrown in for good measure.  I highly recommend this one to everyone.


I gave this book 5 out of 5 books because Carol Tibaldi did a exceptional job with a very tender story. 



Sunday, March 4, 2012

Night Games by Crystal Jordan

*Erotic*


A world where Normals and Magickals live together. The Normals may not know about the Magickals but they are there. It's become such a way of life that there are separate agencies and hospital floors for the Magickals.  They don't always live in harmony and that's when Selina Grayson and Jack Laramie come into play.  Selina is an elf. Jack is a normal. Jack is with the FBI Magickal Crimes Unit. He gives a unique perspective to the unit.  Selina is with the local police department. Together they are searching for the person who is killing Magickals and Normals who know about the Magickals.  Who would do such a vile thing. How will they catch the person? This isn't his first killing and unless they catch him it won't be his last. Along the way, Selina and Jack find they have a magical chemistry all their own.  They are strong separately but together, they are combustible.  How will they handle their magic and the murder cases?


The love story in this book is so well incorporated it seems natural. It's not an added dimension but an element of the complete story.  You can put yourself in the place of Selina or Jack and understand where the feelings come from.  The book also makes it seem perfectly plausible that Magickals and Humans (Normals) coexist. I found it to be spicy, intriguing and a touch scary. You will really be missing out on a terrific book if you don't read this one. *warning, you may want to keep the ice handy for the heat in this one (smile)


I didn't find anything wrong. A love story. Magic. Humans. It's all here. You can't ask for more.


I give this one 5 out of 5 books because covered all the essentials of a good book.

Saturday, March 3, 2012

H10N1 by M.R. Cornelius

It happened. The pandemic was worse than predicted.  Korean Flu killing at a rapid pace after some people went into heavily populated areas and sprayed the flu around like perfume.  Fires, looting and killing became a way of life.  Hugs incinerators were set up to deal with all of the dead.  A suicide hotline was set up to HELP people commit suicide before the flu killed them.  Taeya Sanchez was an epidemiologist with the CDC.  She'd been asked to come to New York to work as a doctor sorting people. Those who were going to die from the flu. Those who were clean and those who showed symptoms. She'd reached her limit of patience with the doctor in charge and went head to head with him. Taeya knew he was going to fire her. There was no where left to go. She begins to plan her escape to the Biosphere where her friend was living.  She could make it. Then something unexpected happens.


The realistic story makes you stop and think.  It's hard to imagine our world becoming what is described in this book, yet it is very plausible.  I found this book informative, thought provoking and almost a guide.  This book is one that will make you reevaluate where you are now in your life and how to prepare for such an event.  H10N1 shows us just how easily something of this magnitude could happen and set our world back centuries.  The human race would start from scratch again. 


I didn't find anything wrong with this book. On the contrary the author did a fabulous job with it. The subject matter could be handled in many ways but I feel this was done in a responsible way.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it blew me away to think of our modern world going dark.

More Than Useful by Lacey Wolfe

Amy is a baker who has been lusting after one particular customer. He's a regular and she'd like to get better acquainted with him. Just as she works up the nerve to ask him out, he surprises her by asking HER out.  She's delighted and hopeful this will be the beginning of something wonderful. Adam, the customer, is just looking for fun. He wants to keep things light, nothing serious.  Can he stick to his guns?


The sizzle in this novella is off the charts.  Lacey Wolfe hits another one out of the park.  Her writing style is easy going, but detailed and such fun to read. I found this book to be one to put a spark in your day.  It's a chance for a little stay-cation and some much needed fun. You'll be glad you picked this one up.


I didn't find anything wrong with this novella. It's everything you'd want in a quick read.


I give this one 5 out of 5 books because the spiciness is a ten!

Gray Justice by Alan McDermott

When a car thief takes his 3 year old son's life, Tom Gray was devastated. He and his wife struggled to get back to a normal life. Then Tom's wife took her life because she couldn't live without her son. Tom was left alone and angry. He and some military colleagues put together a plan to kidnap and punish the young man responsible for his son's death.  They decide to include other criminals too. Ones who had been given a slap on the wrist and set free to live a life of crime.  While Tom is planning what to do, a group of Muslim men from Afghanistan and Pakistan are planning their own battle.  They decided to attack the British on their own soil. What happens next is a battle no one expected and an out come no one could have predicted. 


This book is exceptional!  You can put yourself in  Tom Gray's place and sympathize with what he decides to do. Then to see how easily a group of terrorists can put together their own battle and threaten the lives of thousands of people is scary.  I found this book to be one you just can't put down and if you do put it down, it's in your thoughts.  This book will make an awesome blockbuster movie one day.  


The only problem I had was the rape scene. I felt it was unnecessary to include it in this particular book. They could have simply beaten her or starved her to get the info they needed.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it will be an award winning movie someday.