Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Stand By written by Jake Dunne


  I have read this book and it's fantastic. I haven't been able to get the proper review written for it yet, but I will. I wanted to share this with you because not only is Jake a writer. He's a father of two, husband, meteorologist for WLNS Channel 6 News in Lansing, Michigan. He's a wonderful person and very active in the community. Putting all that together, you can now see why this man is amazing! His writing style is very easy going and the book is packed with action. You have to get this one but first get 'Johnstone Junction'.  It's the first book in this series. 


  I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it really was a great read!

Mark of the Loon by Molly Greene

  Madison Boone is a real estate agent and she flips houses.  After losing her parents while she was in college, Madison never really put down roots anywhere.  Then one of her three best friends sent her an ad for a parcel of land out in the country. Once Madison saw it, she had to have it. The perfect English cottage and the bountiful gardens drew her in and made her feel like she was home.  During this same time Madison was introduced to Cole. She liked him immediately but held back.  Once she bought the house, strange things started to happen. She found keys but wasn't sure what locks they fit. Strange people started showing up and asking questions.  Madison's curiosity lead her  ask questions at the college. Each answer gave her more questions.  With the help of her friend, they begin to dig into all of the books, journals and papers left behind by Mallory Blackburne, the original owner.  Slowly answers start to fit into place. Now, were they really ready to get the whole story?


    This book is a very slow read. It's filled with details and descriptions that sometimes slow the story considerably.  The story is solid, just covered in so many layers you really have to pay attention to catch it all. Intrigue, laughter and love make this book one many will enjoy. I thought the mystery behind it all was wonderful it just took too long to get to the point.  I think if you like mysteries this will be one you'll really enjoy. 


   The issues are listed above.


   I gave this one 3 out of 5 books because it seemed to have so many layers to tie together it slowed the reading way down.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Hump In the Night by Nephylim

*EROTICA*  Five Hot Stories of Paranormal Activities


  Dance With Me- Aster has been searching for one boy. The boy is his obsession. He finds him in a dance club and whisks him away.  At first Kia is unsure, but then realizes who Aster is. He's dreamed of him.  Aster, a vampire, turns Kia but not before giving him exquisite pleasure.
   Lone Wolf- Lucien has noticed a new wolf at the holding pen. He's intrigued by the wolf. Being an Alpha's son didn't make life easy for Lucien. Many fathers wanted to mate their daughters with him. Lucien has resisted so far. He wanted this wolf though. When he finds out the wolf has been rejected entry into the pack, Lucien decides to vouch for him. He gets a lot more than he bargained for.
    Son of Angels- The King of Angels son was kidnapped.  The battle of good against evil just got kicked up a notch. Dema is hopeful it will end the battles for good.  Meri'el is the son. He's also Dema's lover. They want to stay together and will do anything to make that happen. It might mean fighting side by side and they are prepared to do just that. Their love is amazingly hot.
     That's Where He Died- Shay was in love with Tarian but didn't tell him before he was beaten to death. In an alley by the bullies who had tormented him all his life.  Shay couldn't move on. He was devastated to lose the one man he loved more than life. Shay was given one more chance to make things right. Tarian was able to spend one night with Shay. It was love filled, passionate and too short.
     The Curse-  Grey is intrigued by one sarcophagus. He really wants to open it and look at the body inside. He imagines the person to be male but there are no markings to suggest male or female.  Grey's dreams or the curse, let him see the man inside the sarcophagus.  He is so taken by the man he offer's his soul. The man, Connaught, accepts his soul, but then releases him when he admits he's in love with Grey too.


     Imagine your lover being other worldly. Sex, lovemaking, would take on a whole new meaning.  I loved these short hot bursts! They ignite a flame and keep it burning bright.  Each story is unique and fun to read.  I loved the Sons of Angels most I think because of it's wonderful twist on the good vs evil thing.  The characters are wonderful and life-like. This book is one to share with your someone special. I loved it!


    I found no issues with this one.


    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's a unique, sexy, fun read!


     

Friday, May 25, 2012

Shadow of a Distant Morning by William Topek

   Devlin Caine is a man of many talents.  He's a veteran and a former employee of the Pinkerton Agency. Now, he's a private detective.  Caine's newest job could land him in hot water with the wrong people if he isn't careful.  He's supposed to check out a man who wants to be business partners with one of Kansas City's elite.  Seems simple enough, but appearances can be deceiving.  While doing his investigative work, he stumbles on a notebook. It seems to be in code and everyone wants it. They will stop at nothing to get it.  His client, another of KC's wealthy crowd and an underworld boss all want the notebook.  The question is, what is exactly in this notebook and why are people dying for it?


    This old fashioned detective novel is a throw back to the days of black and white movies.  Romance, intrigue, murder but all PG rated. This book puts you in the place, Kansas City, and makes you feel as though you are a passenger on this 1930's ride.  I loved the characters, well developed and easy to enjoy. The story is well written and details are amazing.  I'm sure you'll enjoy this book too. It's one that could easily have it's own television show or movie.


   I found no issues with this one.


   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it is a great book.

Turn The Tides Gently by Matt Wingett

 * novella*


   Dave has visions. Hallucinations. He's not sure why or what they mean, but he knows they are important. After losing his brother in a boating accident and his mother blaming him for his brother's death, Dave is placed in a halfway house.  His doctor believes he's making progress until Dave begins talking about messages he received from Jimi Hendrix. Then a mermaid says he must meet with her so she can tell him what's happening. Dave's visions are unique in that they show people and places from the past. He's not sure how it all fits together and when it does, he's more surprised than anyone.


    A terrific novella written in a way that makes you ponder your own dreams and thoughts. I enjoyed being able to look inside the mind of a 'mad man' and see a very normal human being. You can easily imagine taking the trip Dave does.  I highly recommend this novella. It's an easy short read, perfect for those times spent waiting somewhere. 


   I found no issues with this one.


   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because I'd like to believe there are mermaids.. somewhere.

Foreign Identity by Becca J Campbell

   Kel and Jax awake in a small room. They are both chained to the wall and each other.  Working together, they are able to escape the room that is their prison. One thing missing is their identity. Neither one knows who they are, where they are or what life was like before.  Once out of the room, it seemed their only way to escape was through a series of tests. During these tests, Kel finds she has abilities Jax doesn't, and he's unsure of whether she can be trusted or not.  They seem to be running on instinct. Bits and pieces of things coming back to them but not enough to create a whole picture.  Each of them relearning about themselves and each other with each step they take.  Once away from the room, they get away and find a cabin. In and around the cabin is everything they could need to survive. It takes a huge leap of faith for both of them to regain trust in the other.  After awhile, they realize their memories and the information about their lives is in the building they escaped from. Are they brave enough to face what lives there to find out who they are?


   FANTASTIC! It seems like a simple word but it thoroughly describes this book.  Becca J Campbell created a story that is as psychological as it is interesting.  I loved that this couple had to work together to solve all the mysteries surrounding them. I must say I was surprised at what they found too.   Easy to read and one you'll be hooked on right away!  I recommend this book for your library. Kiss seal of approval here! 


     I found no issues with this one.


    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it kept me guessing until the end and I LOVED it!

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

BLOG TOUR!!

CHECK THIS OUT!! A Blog Tour for the book FOREIGN IDENTITY by BECCA J CAMPBELL!!    



Blog Tour Schedule

Tomorrow is the first day of the blog tour. Stop in each day to get multiple reviewers’ takes on the book and for extra chances to win. I’ll be giving away one signed paperback copy and two e-book copies. The contest is open to all countries!
May 22nd – Melody with Words
May 23rd – Cover Analysis
May 24th – Write Me Happy
May 26th – Court Can Write
May 27th – Yearning for Wonderland
May 28th – Catharsis of the Bogue
May 29th – Aaron Pogue
May 30th – Pen and Whisk
Just follow the directions below to enter. Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Blood Storm: Heart of a Vampire Book I by Amber Kallyn

   *Paranormal*


    Shane Spencer was still adjusting to his new life. The Fates had chosen him over his older brother to follow in his father's footsteps as Shaman.  He felt guilty and unsure of his new position. Adding to this, Shane is the sheriff too.  Nicola DeVeraux is a reluctant vampire.  Her life was set before being turned.  She was engaged and happy.  Thomas, her sire, killed her entire family. She wanted revenge.  After tracking him for centuries, Nicola finds him in this small town.  She's determined to kill him.  To avenge her family's deaths.  In her desperate attempt to do so, Nicola might start a blood war between the vampires and the shifters.  The peace has been very strained, this might be the final blow to severe that peace for good. Shane has his hands full as a Keeper and sheriff. Now he has a rouge vampire to look out for too. 


     A well written, exciting paranormal book!  The story is spellbinding and filled with characters who enrich the story.  I enjoyed this book very much and recommend it highly.  The characters are well defined.  I can't wait for the next book in this series.  You'll be hooked from chapter 1.  It's a terrific addition to any library or TBR pile! Be sure to check this one out.


    I found no issues.


    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because the action is intoxicating. 

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Lucci- The No Smoochie Poochie by Donna L. Sadd

    *Children's*


    Lucci is a dog who enjoys all of the other things dogs do, belly rubs, scratching behind the ears, running, playing. He doesn't enjoy one thing most dogs do though... smooches.  The family tries everything but Lucci won't give in.


    This is a delightful story and perfect for younger children. The rhyming of it will help the story stick once it's finished.  I'm positive this will become a favorite of your children too. We all loved it here!  Our older dog, Buddy, was a lot like Lucci.  Make this a gift of reading for your youngster whether they are reading yet or not!


   I found no issues here.


   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's a topic kids love... DOGS!

Fit To Kill by Donnie Ray Whetstone

     La Flore is a fitness mecca. Personal trainers, gyms and the like are the life blood of this town.  When strange murders start taking place, Detectives Calvin McVey, Bob Cummins and Tara Tanner are assigned to the case.  At first it seems like very random but brutal murders, as they dig deeper they realize they have a potential for a serial killer.  Tara Tanner has a gift. She's a very intuitive person. It hasn't always been infallible but she's gonna need to rely on it in this case.  Nothing seems to add up except each murder is different and personal.  Who would want to kill these people and why?  The pressure on the towns officials is so great they bring in a Special Agent. Tara, however, doesn't like the man and asks for permission to continue following her instinct.  It pays off in many ways.  Tara isn't sure she has what it takes to bring down this killer.  It will take every bit of training she has to do so.


     This book has a slow start and is extremely detailed about the fitness world but once you get passed all that it's really very well written.  The characters are solid and the door is left open for a second book.  Being from Michigan, I loved the shout out to Michigan State University. Don't let the benign cover fool you. The book is graphic and a true murder mystery. The writer does give away who the murderer is before he's ready to, at least I believe so. Little things are said that give you a heads up before they mention the killer. Over all a good read.


   The issues are stated above.


    I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because  it was good just way to detailed.

Saturday, May 19, 2012

When Divorce Is Not Enough by Audrey Holland

     Tanya's life was never fantastic. Her parents died when she was young and with no other relatives, she was sent to foster care. After foster care, Tanya was sent to a half way house and was abused badly.  Still a young woman, she meets Tom. She believes him to be a very nice man, very sweet and kind. Tom, however is hiding another side of himself.  Tanya married Tom but soon regretted her decision. Tom began their life together by abusing Tanya immediately.  He wanted his wife compliant and used terror and violence to keep her that way.   After awhile, Tanya decides to divorce him. The problem is, Tom would never go away after that. Only one solution was left. At least in Tanya's eyes.


      Such a compelling story of domestic violence and where it starts. I found the book to be right in line with what I've experienced with domestic violence.  I love that Tanya doesn't roll over and play dead when Tom begins his crap.  She gets strong, fights back and gives herself and her children a life.  I enjoyed the details and the action in this story. You'll enjoy this one and it will teach us all a little something.


     I didn't find any issues.


     I gave this one 4 out of 5 books. It left me uncertain about the end. 

Friday, May 18, 2012

Wicked Watchers: The Pursuit of Pleasure by various authors

*EROTICA*


     A Hard Workout by AJ Jarrett- Watching Kyler at the gym makes Kate even more eager to get a good hard workout in.
      Coming Home by Meg Wesley- Being able to come home early from a business trip is always a plus. Dennis and his wife Moira at a bit of extra sizzle to it.
      Resumes, Red Ruffles and Rain by Eden Connor- Maritza has a passion for lingerie.  It's her pick-me-up on bad days.  She decides to stop in for a look and ends up with much more than she bargained for.
     Great Expectations by Julie Lynn Hayes- Delilah has a mad crush on a man who works at the Posh Tea Room. He never seems to really notice her. Delilah decides to follow him. What she learns will help put her mind at ease.
      Sneeking a Peek by Sara York- Cassandra hides in a guests wardrobe when they come back unexpectedly to their room. Scared but curious, she watches the two people. The lesson she learns gives her confidence to move forward. Ricardo won't know what hit him.
      Watch Me Tomorrow, Watch Me Forever by Elyzabeth VaLey- Walter always loved Marie but she was married to another and he honored that.   When her husband dies, Walter lets his feelings for Marie show. They are careful though since the King must decide her future. They find an alternative way to share their love.
      What's In The Box by Victoria Blisse-  For some, going to the theater is a real bore. They do it out of a sense of duty.  One such woman attends for her sister's sake.  However, the show she watches isn't on the stage but in an unpredictable spot. She can't believe what she is seeing. It's confirmed after the show.


     This is a book of fire starters. I say that because each of these stories is guaranteed to ignite a flame in your relationship when shared.  It makes reading together as a couple take on new meaning.  I enjoyed each one because they showcased different ways to find pleasure. The writing is well done and the characters are ones you'd recognize from day to day life. I like that each author has their own idea of how to find pleasure and what real pleasure is.  Be sure to share this one with that special person in your life. Could be a whole new degree added to your own sex lives.


     I didn't find issues here.


     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it is muy caliente! 

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Wicked Watchers: Looking at the Lads by various authors

 *EROTICA*
   
    My Lucky Night by AJ Jarrett- Brandon takes Cole to a club, but not just any club. Here men can enjoy their time together in various ways. Cole isn't sure about it all until he meets Jacob.
     Boy, She Can Dance by Nephylim- A man who is homeless is looking for shelter. He usually curls up under a bush near a house to stay warm. While there, he peeps in the windows to feel more a part of the household. He's in for a surprise on this night.
     First Time Voyeur by Victoria Blisse- Sam is a bartender in a gay bar. While working there he has to come to terms with his own sexuality. He does and find a couple of the regulars want him to serve them in more than one way.
      Pool Party by Lily Sawyer- Harry is the pool boy for two very wealthy, hot Hollywood hotshots.  He enjoys watching the two of them together. This day however, he gets to see more of both of them. Harry finds himself wanting to dive in.
   Passion Bringer by Sara York- In the future, suppression pills are given to everyone.  They feel it's the best way to control all of the negatives of life. Then a law is passed saying they aren't necessary any more. Fallon stops taking them immediately and loves the feeling. His husband is a bit slower to join him in the new sensations but when he does...Look out Fallon.
  Roommates by Julie Lynn Hayes- Martin is attending college at an all male college. His parents aren't sure why but they are ok with it. At Christmas time, a delay by his brother in picking him up allows Martin to learn a bit more about his roommates and he's is very grateful for the opportunity.
   The Watcher by LM Brown- Nate was injured and scarred badly in a car accident. Since that time, he's remained a prisoner of his own making. He refuses to deal face to face with anyone. However, he still enjoys watching. With this in mind, he has extra cameras installed in his hotel so he can watch the public. What he sees is more than he expected and might lead to even more changes in his life.


     This is a collection of gay erotica at it's best. You will enjoy each of these stories that make this wonderful book. The authors did a very good job of making this exciting, but well written.  The characters will remind you of people you know or have met in your own life.  Love, lust and fun are the key words for this collection. I thoroughly enjoyed it.


    I found no issues with this.


    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because the heat of the stories was awesome!

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

COMING IN JULY! Winds of Change by Mary Metcalfe

  Four people living life day to day but something was missing for each of them.  Jennifer, a social worker, had just settled her father into a full time care facility. He was suffering with Alzheimer's.  It was difficult but she knew it was for the best.  Lana, a nurse at the Brentwood facility, was busy raising her son alone and taking care of herself. Her husband died very young.  Mark had been in a deep depression since his mother died four years before. He was now looking for work and hoping to get back on track.  Ben, Mark's father and a world renowned journalist, was retiring. He'd decided his son needed him more than he needed to add to his PTSD.  Their lives collide and become more enriched.  Jennifer is Mark's social worker and gets him the job as head gardener at Brentwood.  Lana knew Jennifer from Brentwood and taking care of her father.  Ben is introduced to both ladies through Mark.  It may sound like a mess, but it's actually a love knot waiting to be pulled tight.


   We all deal with changes in our lives, it's just the way things are.  This book shows that it's really ok to embrace and accept those changes.  Superb writing. Fantastic, full, rich characters who aren't perfect and a little boy to lighten it all makes this book one everyone will enjoy.  I loved that these characters didn't have to change themselves, just redefine some areas that had long been swept away.  Descriptions in this book, whether of land, monuments or the sea were extremely well done. They placed you right in the story.  I'm sure we can all relate to at least one of these characters.


   I didn't find any issues.


   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it was so heartwarming and lovely.

The Super Spies and The Cat Lady Killer by Lisa Orchard

   Sarah was sure this summer would be the worst. She was stuck in a small town at her Aunt and Uncle's house with her younger sister. How much worse could it get? Sarah then meets Jackie. They become fast friends and suddenly the summer doesn't look too bad.  While sitting under a tree and talking, the girls begin to play Truth or Dare.  It's a dare that leads Sarah to discover the body of the cat lady.  Jackie had told her some pretty wild tales about the cat lady. Sarah wasn't sure whether to believe them or not. While checking out the body, the girls are frightened by police sirens and run to the basement to hide. The police discover them easily enough and arrest them.  After some time at the police station, the girls are let go, it's then Sarah decides she's got to find out who murdered the cat lady and why.  They are pretty good detectives, even if their methods aren't always the best. Slowly, Sarah starts putting the puzzle together and she's certain she knows who the killer is, now to find out the why. The girls learn a valuable lesson. People aren't always what they seem.


   This book is reminiscent of the Nancy Drew mysteries from when I was a little girl.  A terrific puzzle, just enough curiosity to send them looking but not enough to cause real violence. Perfect for the young ladies in your life. The characters are adorable! You can just about see them walking down the street in any small town.  Well written and just enough scary to make young ladies go on alert for the tiniest noises.  You easily get caught up in the kids adventure and don't want to put the book down until they solve the crime.  As an adult, this book is still a good read. I was pulled in right away.  The curious kids remind us of when we were young.  This one is a must for the young ladies on your list and I hope Lisa Orchard makes this into a series for girls.


   I didn't find any issues.


    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's time there were more books, wholesome books, for girls!

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Switched by Diane Burton

    Jessie Wyndom lived out in the country near Ann Arbor, Michigan.. and that's just the way she wanted it. Coming from  very intellectual parents who spent more time with their work than their children, Jessie's grandmother's farm is the one place she felt at home.  She was the local Ms Fix-It. Though her parents disapproved, she did a pretty good business and enjoyed it.  Then one night out of the blue, everything changed. A bright light and Jessie was suddenly on what she believed to be a mock up of a space ship.  Captain Marcus Aurelius Viator was disappointed when he looked a the Terran and realized she was NOT Cindy Crawford.  When he finds out one of his crew members is responsible for this along with other surprises to come, he does his best to control his emotions yet handle the situation.  What is he going to do with this loud, emotional Terran?  A series of problems make it impossible for them to return Jessie to Earth.  Jessie finally comes to terms with her situation and makes the best of it.  Captain Viator was certainly not ready for Jessie to come barging into his life, still he couldn't say he wasn't grateful for the opportunity to learn some things about himself.  Secrets, war and traitors make this trip one neither will forget.


    Funny! Amazing! Captivating! These are just a few words to describe this wonderful book!  Think of it as scifi crossed with a romantic comedy and a dash of down home humor.  I loved that Captain Viator had a touch of Spock's discipline mixed with Captain Kirk's sexuality.  These aliens had mad love for Star Trek and rock'n'roll!  There are times you will laugh out loud while reading this book. Other times you will be pondering could something like this really happen?  The characters are just that.. characters! Delightful personalities, wonderful sense of humor and loyalty like you've never seen.  This book is one to share with friends!


    I found no issues with this one.


    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it really kept my attention.

Monday, May 14, 2012

How I Became A Sexy Cum Slut by Trinity Jane

   *EROTICA*


     Samantha Dale is a waitress at a local restaurant.. well she use to be, before John.  You see John is a very wealthy, very exacting person. He knows what he wants, how he wants it and who he wants it from. He's not shy about letting them know either. Their first meeting sets the tone for the relationship  they build.  The question is, can Samantha really live up to John's expectations? She's certainly willing to try. What does John bring to this relationship? Check out this book to find out.
    
    HOT! Six alarm HOT! A quick burst of fun and sexiness for that quiet evening with your partner.  Read this one to get things started right away. I love the directness of John and the inability of Sam to say no. The writing is precise, fluid and exciting.  This is one for the adult TBR again and again pile. You'll enjoy this one.


   I found no issues.


   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because even ice won't cool you down after this one.
   

Friday, May 11, 2012

The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer by Lisa Orchard


May 16th, Blog Hop! Stop by for the review.









Dream of Me by Jennifer Froelich

     Three people connected by dreams. Is it possible? Erynne wasn't sure but it seemed like it.  The dreams begin after her mother's tragic death.  Erynne isn't sure what to make of them so she seeks help.  Colin is also having strange dreams but they don't fit anything in his real life. The nightmares are so realistic he can almost touch them.  Senator Michael Reardon has nightmares as well. However, he understands what his nightmares are for. He's been groomed for this his entire life. His family's ancestors have tried and failed to complete this task.  Colin and Erynne are each working on figuring out their nightmares and slowly the pieces begin to fit in place.  They are both working on the dreams to find something that will tell them what they are about. How they fit into this situation.  It takes more than the two of them realize to figure out this whole story and stop the actions destine to take place.  They both hope they figure it all out in time. 


     Addictive, engulfing and wonderful all describe Dream of Me by Jennifer Froelich.  I wasn't sure when I started this I'd enjoy it. The more I read, the deeper I got pulled into the story.  I finished this book very quickly.  The characters are solid and likable. The writing is so well done.  This is one book you have to have on your TBR pile! I've never read anything quite like it and I can't wait for Jennifer's next work.


  I found no issues with this work.
   
   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's simply spectacular!

Thursday, May 10, 2012

I See What You Want by Anna Tizard

  Teri Knight is studying to be a  psychologist. She wants to be able to help people and with her gift, she believes this will be something she's good at.  Her gift? Teri has want-sight. Teri can actually see peoples intentions, desires, wants.. in colors. Some people have scents around them too.  Teri thinks this will make being a psychologist a snap. There are things she hasn't considered though. What if her want-sight isn't exact? What if some of the colors are confusing? Will she always be able to get the "right" read on someone?  After her first client comes to see her, while she's acting as a counselor, she begins to explore those very questions.  She never dreamed she'd doubt her abilities.  The journey for Teri will be long, confusing and filled with new experiences, but it will help her reach her goal.  


    This book, while very well written, is EXTREMELY psychological. I felt the true story got lost in all of the explanations and details for Teri Knight's abilities.  The characters are delightful, a touch undefined though.  I enjoyed the book. I really did. I enjoy challenging books though. Some readers may find it difficult to follow along.  


    The issues are stated above.


    I gave this one 3 out of 5 books. While terrific, it's still not my cup of tea. 

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Twixt by Diane J Reed

   There are many tales of how magical and lucky the Irish are. What if it weren't a tale? What if it were real?  Rose's relatives carried a long line of fairy twixt women.  Rose knew she had the ability to see the future in liquid for someone else, but not for herself. She kept herself distant from her life, her heart. Well, until she almost lost her daughter. Slowly but surely she started to see she needed to open her mind and heart and let the colors in.  Rose knew her family was cursed. Not being able to tell their own futures.  With her friend, Amy's help, they just might give the family curse a run for it's money.  Rose went back to Ophir Creek to start over and that's exactly what she'd have to do.  If she didn't, she might lose her daughter, her sister and her very own life.  It takes some time, but Rose finally sees the colors and feels the magic. 


      What can I say about this book? It's fabulous! Well written!  Fanciful! Romantic!  Over the top, you're probably saying. NO! It doesn't begin to cover how terrific this book is.  I loved that the story began with her ancestors and laid out the foundation for the rest of the book. I enjoyed the struggle Rose had with herself to finally let go and really embrace who she is.  The story is absolutely amazing.  This is one I'll read again and again. You'll find something new every time you read this one.  Please do yourself a favor,  get this book and read it. You'll be giving yourself a magical treat!!


   I found the beginning a bit confusing because it spoke of her ancestors and then jumped to another ancestor. However, after you get into the real story, you completely understand why they were important.


   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because my heart is still dancing with Rose and Chance.

Just Sharing Some Information..

Hello again my friends! 


   I owe each of you an apology.  I have not been keeping up with reviews this week as I should.  I received news yesterday that hit me kind of hard.  They found two more cancerous tumors in my spinal column. Yes, it means more surgery.  I was so sure we'd beat it for good this time. Now I'm wobbling.  I will get the reviews finished and posted. I will! Just be patient with me? Please?  I love reading, speaking to authors, reviewers and those in the publishing world.  Reading helps take me to a place where all the day to day stuff doesn't exist. Where I can laugh, smile, play and be engaged in something other than medicine or health issues.   
  
 The other thing is this. For those who don't know, I'm from Southern Ohio. I am the middle of 5 children.  Both my parents are gone now.  None of us ever really got along. My mother's parenting style was questionable at best. Competition was high, especially since there are 4 girls and 1 boy.  Because of my health issues, I am disabled.  In late 2010 my van ( 15 yrs old and over 200,000 miles) died. I have three children and doctors appointments and such. I needed a vehicle. With my check I was unable to find a vehicle I could afford. I was stuck, so I did what people do every day, I contacted my older sister to see if she could help. She said no. At the time however, she was newly married and her husband said YES, we will help.  The agreement was I'd make payments monthly. I have been but my sister isn't happy with them. We agreed to a set amount each month and we try to keep it between her husband and I since it was his money.  Tonight she called here and called me and my children everything but human.  Told us we were trash, lazy and she was gonna come get the car. It's in my name so she can't do anything.  All this leads me to this... Because of the news of more tumors, and the pressure from my sister, that is why I am behind on reviews. It's not an excuse but more of an explanation of what's been happening in my life. 


     Each day is a challenge here. We take things as they come because it's all we can do.  Please accept my apology and my plea for patience.  I do love what I do.


 Thank you!


Melanie/Kissablysweet1

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Coffee Break Series by Christina Fifield-Winn

  While at the dentist office, this young woman begins to reflect on her life so far.  She relives every moment since she followed Lars to Europe, a monumentally bad decision.  Her thoughts start because she can't move her ride side at all. She's convinced she'll be this way for life.  She doesn't stop to think she's simply been given too much Novocain. 
   A model drifts off while working on a photo shoot, into her own thoughts and problems.  Benny, the photographer is also having trouble staying focused.  Both characters are trying to solve problems in their life while doing the job they need to do.  
 
     It starts with Samantha at the library and her library card being cut up by the old librarian.  Then Samantha leads us on her OCD journey to being prepared for any emergency.  Her friend comes to drag her back into the world but it's never an easy thing to do.  One day while at the park, she encounters PGB! 
















     This series is designed to be read during those times you have 10-15 minutes to kill. They are terrific reads, but be ready to enter the minds of some less than normal individuals.  I enjoyed all three and they are a nice break from the usual.  You'll enjoy having these to wile away the time.  


     I did feel these were a bit manic at times. They seem to ramble and go off in several directions. Each makes a good point, it's just arriving to that point that can make the journey seem a bit quirky and odd.


    I gave this series 3 out of 5 books. They are good, just not my cup of tea. 

Friday, May 4, 2012

Kiera's Quest: Awakenings by Kristy Brown

*YA


   Zakk is a prince and will be crowned king on his sixteenth birthday, if he can survive the Witch Queen.  The Witch Queen is determined to rule Zantar one way or another.  She's already killed Zakk's parents. She has his father's ring, now all she needs is his mother's to rule completely.  To stall for time, she changes Zakk into a plastic doll.  Zakk knows he has one powerful person on his side, Kiera Matthews. She is destine to save Zantar and Zakk.  Kiera can't figure out what all the strange dreams she's been having mean.  They are dreams she's had for years.  Then Kiera finds a strange looking ring. It's pretty cool so she decides to keep it.  Things really get strange for her after that. She finds Zakk and is disturbed when she can hear him talking and see his eyes moving.  Zakk begins to explain the story of how he came to be a doll and Kiera's part in all of this.  Together they will save Zantar, they hope.


     I think this book is perfect for the younger crowd. It gives them the fantasy of a fairytale, the elements of a mystery and just enough of a love story not to "gross them out". *smile*  The story is well conceived and executed. The action moves along at a good pace so it keeps the interest.  Kristy Brown has created a book that young adults will love and follow for years to come.  I only hope the tales of Kiera and Zakk continue. 


     I didn't find any issues here.


     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's one Kristy Brown can build on.
  



Thursday, May 3, 2012

Book 'Em:An Eamonn Shute Mystery by Tony McFadden

  Nicky is a rare and used book store owner. Well she's fifty percent of it. The other half belongs to her ex-husband Brad.  He's an extremely silent partner in the business. At least Nicky thinks he is. He's actually been working for months to set up a scam that will land Nicky in prison and make him sole owner.  Nicky has a secret weapon though. Eamonn Shute!  Eamonn is Nicky's boyfriend.  He's also a very intelligent, lovable, Irishman.  When things start going from bad to worse, Eamonn jumps in to help solve the problems. He loves Nicky more than life and he's got the money and time to back up everything he says.  When things become so bad they think Nicky killed her ex-husband, Eamonn spares no expense in following leads, finding the best attorneys and gaining information from unlikely sources.  Eamonn's one goal is to clear Nicky and bring her home.


    Humor, great characters and an intriguing story will make this book one of your favorites for years to come.   It reads and ranks right up there with some of the world's best mystery stories.  It sort of reminded me of a "Murder, she wrote" with a male lead. Tony McFadden created such a wonderful world with these characters, you almost expect to see them on your local news.  This book has it all! Villains, a wonderful couple and just enough romance and danger to put it over the top!  You'll enjoy this fun read and it will keep you guessing as to what happens next throughout the book. I highly recommend this one.


     I didn't find issues here.


     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it surprised me in a good way!! 

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

“CHARMEINE” BLOG TOUR AND GIVEAWAY!

$50 Amazon Gift Card

2 – $25 Amazon Gift Cards

3 Charmeine Autographed Bookmarks

3 Charmeine eBooks

ENTER AND WIN HERE



















Tuesday, May 1, 2012

The Breakaway by Michelle Davidson Argyle

    Naomi's life wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either. Her parents were both high profile business people. Her mother an attorney and her father the CEO of a major company. She had everything she needed but her parents attention and love.  Oh they didn't neglect her in cruel ways, but they didn't seem involved in her life either.  Then Naomi finds herself in the wrong place at the wrong time.  She was taking pictures of the fog, when out of nowhere she feels herself knocked out.  Now kidnapped and unsure of what's next, Naomi does her best to survive.  She ends up at a nice house in Colorado. She also has 4 captors.  Three men and one woman holding her hostage for their own selfish reasons. A development Naomi wasn't prepared for happened. Not all at once but gradually. She begins to care about her captors.  They show her love, affection and attention her parents didn't. She even falls in love with Jesse, one of the kidnappers.  She can't imagine life without him.  Will she ever go back home? Does she really want to? 


     A wonderful YA book!  The story takes unexpected events and makes them seem almost normal.  The writing is excellent and the characters well developed.  This book made me angry in spots. Cry in others and cheer in yet more places. I love that this story didn't take the usual twists and turns a kidnapping story generally has.  There was just enough to keep you wondering where it would head next. At points I even began to wonder what the outcome would actually be.


    I didn't find any issues with this one.


     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it is one everyone can enjoy.

Capture: A Cryptid Tales Novel by Brina Courtney




        CAPTURE:
   A Cryptids Tale Novel






                by


        Brina Courtney  

BLOG HOP & GIVEAWAY!!       


Prizes:  I will use comments and choose a random number for blog hop winners.


Blog Hop: $15 Amazon gift card (international), 2 signed paperbacks of Reveal (not international)
Each site: an ebook package of Reveal                                                                                   and Capture (international) 

    Your senior year in high school is supposed to be fun, exciting and full of friends.  Everything went just that way for Shay Tafford until graduation.  After graduation, she and Hugh went to the Senior Shuffle. Little did they know it would be interrupted in such a rude way.  The Darkness descended  on the high school looking for Shay and Hugh.  They  had to protect their friends, so they edged toward a back door. Suddenly the fire alarm went off and everyone was running outside.  They got away but more surprises were on the horizon for them.  They went to a safe house for cryptids. It was protected from the Darkness and they could stay there awhile.  When they realize the Darkness would come for them even there, Shay sent out an invitation to all cryptids who didn't have a home. A wide variety of cryptids showed up and they prepared for battle. Shay however had even more than that to prepare for. Her entire life would change.

    The second book in the Cryptid series and it's just as fabulous as the first.  I love these characters! They are young but intelligent and dealing with teenage issues as well as cryptid ones.  Brina writes these characters with such wonderful personalities you can't help but like them and root for them to win.  The idea that all these cryptids could exist is stunning.  A perfect series for the YA in your life!  I highly recommend these.

    I didn't find issues.
  
     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it sweeps you right into the story.

Be sure to stop by the other blogs below and enter Brina's Giveaway!  You increase your chances of winning with each blog entry.