Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Saturday, November 24, 2012

Kendra by Stephen Jennison-Smith

     Kendra is set in the Biblical time period of Noah and the Ark.  Being half human and half angel, he needed something to occupy his time.  He found leading men to battle on earth was just the thing to keep him busy.  Kendra kept his talents secret from most everyone.  He was certain he wouldn't be trusted otherwise and Kendra was the kings favorite warrior.  The life of Kendra was as ordinary and as different as it could be.  His life at home was peaceful, calm and normal.  This gave him even more reason to seek distraction on earth.

     The details make this book. A cleverly written story using the Bible for a reference point, you'll enjoy this book about the life of a Nephilim.  It gives us rich full characters and a story that is easy to follow, even if you haven't been a devoted Bible reader.  I found this one captured my attention right away and took me on a voyage I hadn't expected. It made things click in my mind and gave me new areas to ponder.  Get this book if you enjoy fantasy, you won't be disappointed.

     I found no issues with this book.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because while it's excellent, I could hear my grandad saying read the Bible instead! 

Friday, November 23, 2012



Jake Johnson wonders why he has never seen his father.  He also learns
a secret about himself.  Can he really believe what his friend George tells him? He'll
must in order to survive.  Jake is the son of Zeus? Read more to follow the adventure
Jake and George have after Jake finds out who his Dad is.

Author James Warburton did a fantastic job with this book. He gave us believable characters and a story all children will love.  I found this book to be adventurous, fun and I learned a little about Greek Gods too.  Children will love this book because the characters are their age.  Their imaginations will run wild while reading this book with an older person.

I found no issues with this book.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 books because it it one for the kids library. Kids, big and small.

Meet James Warburton, Author of Jake Johnson and the Half Bloods

  1. What made you write this story?
I was inspired by a series of books called "Percy Jackson". Written by Rick Riordon. I have read most of Mr Riordon's books. They are so interesting that I am often in trouble when I sneak them under the blanket at night to read with a torch.

I love writing (I have been writing since I was 6 when I made my first book by stapling pieces of paper together with just a few words on them and my teacher let me display them in our classes "library corner". I loved it when the other kids actually picked up one of my books, although there was not much to read)
 I struggle to write words down on paper, but when I type on a computer I feel "free" and I can say anything I want to. Kids at school tell me I am "stupid" because I cannot write words properly on paper. The doctor says this is not my fault, but the kids still tease me. I guess writing is a way to escape their meanness. The worlds I create in my stories allow me to imagine anything I want. This is why I do not want pictures in my books. I want the reader to be free to imagine what the world in my stories look like. If I use pictures, then their imagination might be limited by the pictures.

2.  How did you decide to make the book as big as it is?
I did not decide this. This is just how it turned out. I had a story inside me and when I finished, that is how long it was. It is three times longer than anything I wrote before this. When I had the idea to write it I knew I wanted to write a proper book (even if it is just a short kids book), not just a page or two. Making it longer gave me a better chance to tell the entire story that I had in my mind.


3.  Where did you get the idea for the people in the book?
I came up with random names for the characters. I selected random Greek gods as the parents of the characters and then I gave the characters personalities that I thought would match their Greek god parent.

4.   Will you be writing another book soon?
Yes! I am nearly finished book 2 and plan to write more after that. The second book in this series is called "Jake Johnson And The God Of War".
  
I feel like I "need" to write. I have lots of stories inside me that want to get out.

I hope that lots of people will buy my books on Amazon and enjoy Jake Johnson's adventures as much as I do.

I would really like to see my books in paper form too. I think I will wait until I have written about three ebooks and then get them printed altogether into one physical book for my readers to enjoy.

Thank you for listening to me Ms Adkins. Not all adults take the time to hear what children have to say. 


    Stop back by and read the review on this book!  

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Happy Thanksgiving to all of our members and visitors!

    This is the beginning of the holiday season and before time gets away, we want to say thank you!   Thank you for your support and your continued participation in this blog.  We hope that today you are enjoying time with family and friends.  Remember this day is about more than just turkey and fixin's.  It's about remembering the blessings we have in our lives. It's about helping others who may not have meal today.  My ancestors were Cherokee and as a Native American  the day is even more precious to me.

Keep stopping by and reading the reviews please. It means so much to me.  Thank you!!! Melanie



Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Jaguar Moon by Martha Bourke

      Maya and her friends are just getting back to normal after their epic battle with the Toltec.  Things seem normal but there is something different. Maya is having nightmares. The most horrible nightmares, but she can't figure out why. They haven't seen any demons and things have been quiet.  Matt, her mate, is the only one who knows about the nightmares right now.  It was obvious to Maya and Matt they wouldn't be safe going home. They had to figure out if the nightmares were part of something that passed or something yet to be.  Just when Maya thinks she has a handle on the nightmares, Akil appears. This is an interesting twist to things.  While Maya once again puts her safety in danger, the others, including her mate, can only watch and wait.  

     Martha Bourke is a true storyteller! She's able to weave a tale to keep you entertained and engaged. This is the second book in the series and each one gets better and better.  I recommend this book for everyone, it's a YA book. You can easily lose a couple hours with this book and that's a great thing.  Characters you can embrace and a story that keeps surprises coming make this a book to add to the TBR pile.  The writing is superb, but then again Martha is terrific at what she does.  

    I found no issues with this one.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's one of the best series books I've read in quite awhile.

Monday, November 19, 2012

Financial Success for Creative Professionals by GCP


Propel Your Creativity Forward and Achieve Financial Success
Ron Gavalik


As a publisher and marketing professional, I’ve always found it vitally important to ensure creative professionals possess the correct tools to market their work to the right kinds of audiences. I’ve enjoyed a long and fruitful career ensuring the success of businesses, but also multiple fields in the arts. I take a lot of pride in sharing that learned experience with others.

Unfortunately, I’ve met so many creative people who honestly believe they’ll never make a secure living by pouring passion into their work. That kind of cynicism is sad and frustrating, especially when I know for a fact that it’s not true. We all require housing and plumbing to sustain life, but it’s creativity that gives our lives purpose…and talented creators perform a necessary function in our society. It’s my job to make sure they earn a high middle-class income.

That’s why our team assembled Financial Success for Creative Professionals, the first of its kind marketing plan that’s guaranteed to drive your long-term success.

In the modern era, writers, artists, performers, models, photographers, musicians, and crafters face two real challenges when it comes to selling their creative products and performances. The first is contending with an oversaturation in the market, where so many indie creators are now selling their work to the masses. The second and more important challenge is gaining the marketing knowledge to break through the chaos and build a significant fan base that leads to achieving a secure revenue stream.

Because of the oversaturation, consumers are only willing to invest about 5 to 10 seconds viewing a creative product or performance on a website or at a tradeshow. If they’re intrigued, they’ll stay longer to absorb more of the experience and begin to build what’s referred to as an emotional investment. That happens when something about the product or performance you created pleases the sensory pathways of the brain and a person is compelled to become part of the experience, such as making a purchase.

On the other hand, if the consumer doesn’t emotionally identify with your work in a few heartbeats, they’ll navigate away from your website or walk away from your booth. Their psychology will register your product or performance as a negative experience and you’ll never see them again.

In that brief 5 to 10 second moment, the potential fan stands on the shore of a river while your work sits on the other side. You must persuade the consumer into building a bridge (emotional investment) to cross the river and then obtain your creation. That’s no easy feat, but when we understand how to brand a creation and then present it properly to potential fans, it’s easy to achieve the needed connections with hundreds of thousands of consumers.

How do we do this? Exposure. The marketing plan shows us how to attract the right kinds of consumers, referred to as target audiences. These targets must be exposed to a properly branded product or performance over and over again for their minds to build the bridge across the river and purchase your work.

Financial Success for Creative Professionals provides you the tools to drive hundreds of thousands of target consumers to your creations. You’ll also gain the ability to brand your work in a unique category that eliminates competition. It’s that created perception of your work that raises you above the chaos of so many indie writers, artists, musicians, and performers in the world.

The marketing plan is delivered to you in five-parts to achieve long-term success. You’re walked through expert marketing theory as it applies to the arts. You’ll construct your public marketing structure. The plan then drives your media marketing initiatives to win support of social media followers, the news media, and others. You’ll diversify income from multiple sources into your one checking account. Don’t worry; it’s not that complex. You’re given easy to follow checklists for daily, weekly, and monthly initiatives that respects your artistic time. That’s the guaranteed formula that will achieve you the true success your passion deserves.
Now that you’ve been given a glimpse of the proven marketing plan, it’s my hope that you’ll take your creative career seriously and allow your work to raise the quality of life in potential fans around the world. If you pour your passions into each project or performance, you must propel your career to the next level, realize your full potential and achieve success.

************************************************************************

Ron Gavalik is the author of Financial Success for Creative Professionals and has over 20 years of celebrated experience in corporate and creative marketing. This former Director of Communications has assisted private, nonprofit, and artistic organizations achieve success through grassroots experience marketing initiatives. Gavalik is currently the Publisher for Grit City Publications and creator of the innovative Emotobooks fiction medium. He holds a B.S. in Marketing Communications from Point Park University and an M.A. in Writing from Seton Hill University. His work in the arts has shaped success for countless creative professionals who seek financial independence.


If  you'd like to purchase this marketing plan, please contact me at macladie25@yahoo.com, subject line: financial plan Ron Gavalik. I'll get the plan to you.




Friday, November 16, 2012

Sarah's Sexploits: Champagne and Cherries by K.T.Red

    Sarah isn't a woman who wants to settle for just one man. She wants to sample them all. She enjoys sex to much to just be with one man, or does she? Emil is the man in Sarah's life right now because of an arrangement. Sarah's okay with it but she never knows what to expect where Emil is concerned. He can be the lover or Managing Director of the company. 
    After a business trip, Emil surprises Sarah with a new offer. Sarah isn't sure it's what she wants, but Emil will stop at nothing to win her over.

     Such an erotic, romantic, sensual book!! K. T. Red did an excellent job of incorporating it all into this book.  It really is a joy to read because it will leave you breathless in some areas and in others, your heart will melt.  I highly recommend this for the adult library. Imagine a nice fire in the fireplace, wine and you and your significant other reading passages to each other. Will make for a 6 alarm fire kinda night.  

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it did incorporate everything a romance should have.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Cupcakes by Daniel Kelley

     Auntie Winifred owned a bakery and it was where the cupcakes spent all their time. Auntie Winifred was full of life and her home was a wonderland of fun. Her home was located over top the bakery which made it even more fun.  Froggie, Zander, Iggy and Shoeless were a united group. They spent everyday together exploring, learning and growing under Auntie Winifred's watchful eye.

     Daniel Kelley may be a newer author, but this book shows he will be around a long time.  Touching, endearing and a chance for young adults to see there is more going on than fun and games in their life. Daniel Kelley tells this story from a female cupcake's point of view and he's spot on with it.   This is one high on my list of recommendations! I found myself reminiscing about my own childhood as I read.  A book like this makes a terrific gift for that young adult in your life. GET this book!

    I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books and wishing it could be more. It really is one of those books your child will get something  positive from.

   

The Girl Who Wore Her Shoes On The Wrong Feet by Julienne Holmes

     Claire is four and she has an unusual way of wearing her shoes.  She believes the way she wears them, she gets the chance to walk in someone's shoes.  One day though, Claire changes her mind. Find out why when you read this book.

     Julienne Holmes found a wonderful way to teach a very important life lesson to the young ones.  This sweet, adorable book will captivate young children and adults will wonder why they didn't think of this approach.  I highly recommend this book for all children under the age of seven. Lively illustrations and simply language make this one you'll want in your family's library.

    I found no issues here.

   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it excited the child in me. 

Monday, November 12, 2012

Obsession Wears Opals by Renee Bernard

     Darius Thorne is a professor. A scholar. He's also a very handsome man. His life was quiet and full of education until the day she arrived. Nearly frozen and scared to death, Isabel turned Darius' world around in a matter of seconds.  Feeling protective of her from the start, Darius soon learned Isabel was an abused woman. Signs of a fresh flogging on her back and the nightmares she had confirmed his suspicion.  In no time at all, Darius had lost his heart to "Helen".  He knew he shouldn't get so close, but she was everything he'd ever wanted in a woman.  Helen was terrified of being found and receiving an even more severe punishment than the one she ran from.  It takes time but she does learn to trust Darius and his staff.  As with all good things, there is an end. Darius and Helen will fight for their love. They both only hope they can tame the beast who enters their loving world.

     Renee Bernard really did an excellent job of incorporating the abuse into the story without making the story only about the abuse.     I was amazed at the love, kindness and caring Helen receives from the people whose lives she is suddenly dumped into.  You'll fall in love with Darius because he's that quiet, bookish type you saw in college or high school and wanted to approach but were afraid you'd scare him off.  The characters are terrifically designed and fit this book in such a wonderful way. I highly recommend you check out this latest book in Renee Bernard's series "The Jaded Gentlemen".  This book knocked me off my feet in a fantastic way!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because as a former abused woman, I'd love to have been in Isabel's shoes where Darius is concerned.

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Thin Wire: A mother's journey through her daughter's heroin addiction by Christine Lewry

     At seventeen Christine gave birth to Amber. It was tough and overwhelming to be so young and have a child to care for.  Christine made up her mind to make a good life for Amber and herself.  Things are going well until Amber begins to get a little wild. Trouble at school became a regular thing.  Christine deals with it all but her bond with her daughter isn't quite as strong as she'd like.  Life moves on as Christine marries and has two more children.  Amber's troubles become even more intense as she begins doing drugs.  It's at this time Christine finds out she has cancer and that her daughter is addicted to Heroin.  Christine's instincts kick in and she begins to help Amber, as much as she can, to get clean.  Amber's addiction is bad but eventually it will get even worse.  Neither realizes the problems  ahead.

     Amber's addiction tests her mother's love, patience,marriage and sanity.  In this true life story, you'll find out the lengths to which a mother will go to keep her child safe.  I was amazed at the tenacity Christine has.  I felt she and Amber were honest with their thoughts and feelings about what happened during this time.  This is a story of growth, love and testing the limits.  This book is one where you'll go back and forth at times. Sometimes on Christine's side and sometimes wondering how she can continue on the path she's chosen. The same with Amber. There will be times you want to help and hold her, others where you'll want to shake her senseless.  This is one all parents should read but especially those whose children have chosen the path of drugs.

    I did find one issue. I didn't feel it really showed how much of a strain on the family it was. How Christine was pulled in two directions.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it is honest and direct.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Marina in a Green Dress by Alan Davidson

     Seventeen year old Jessica has moved from her small town to London. Her life there is okay but the one thing keeping her going was Kennedy Orr. Jessica has a boyfriend, Steve, but he's always wanting to watch television.  Jessica's fantasies get richer and fuller each time she sees Kennedy Orr perform in Marina in a Green Dress. Feeling she knows Kennedy so well, Jessica writes a letter to him one evening while at Steve's house.  Steve get jealous and decides to teach Jessica a lesson. He mails the letter to Kennedy Orr. Jessica isn't sure whether to be grateful or horrified.  Then she gets the chance to meet Kennedy and it's a very surreal situation.  Much to Jessica's surprise Kennedy keeps calling her and spending time with her. Steve is worried now and trying to find a way to burst this fantasy bubble Jessica created.  

     Jessica's fairy tale comes true but was it everything she thought it would be?  Alan Davidson does such a beautiful job of weaving this story with honesty and a good dose of common sense.  The characters seem to pop off the page as you get to know them.  I highly recommend this YA book for everyone! You'll enjoy this story of coming face to face with the object of your affections and the growing up that happens as a result.   I enjoyed this book very much.

     I only found one issue. The book seems to be a little slow moving in the beginning but more than makes up for it by the end.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 stars because while the beginning was slow and  it was made up for in the end, there were some moments of "is this creepy or cool".