Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Thursday, February 28, 2013

The Lies Have It by Jill Edmondson


     Sasha Jackson is busier than ever! She starts out working a simple runaway case and ends up knee deep in  murder.  Sasha never thought she'd be learning so much about fetishes, but with Ian's murder, she had to.  She'd only met him once at a party but his death was causing problems all over town. It was up to Sasha to get to the bottom of it all.  As usual, Sasha dives in with both feet, then sorts the information later. Her new boyfriend is out of town on business and Sasha is missing him more than she ever dreamed she would. Now, to keep her mind on the cases at hand. What a mess!

     Jill Edmondson does it again with a Sasha Jackson Mystery. We get the fun, quirky detective and a mystery to sink our teeth into.  Jill is very comfortable with Sasha Jackson and it shows in the writing.  They make a great team!  The characters are likable, fallible and human.  Just the way you'd want them to be. Picking up a Jill Edmondson book is a guaranteed good read.

     The only issue I found was this particular book moved at a much slower pace. You could almost feel how tired Sasha Jackson was.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I am addicted to Sasha Jackson Mysteries. 

Monday, February 25, 2013

Jim Fosse's Expense Claim by John Dolan


     Jim Fosse just wants to get his expenses paid in full.  He's new and doesn't know the procedures yet.  What ensues is a humorous look at how the expense claim is handled by his company. To be specific, how Ramon Ortiz, the Expense Claims Manager handles it. 

     You will laugh out loud at this short story! A typical situation becomes one you'll be sharing with all your friends.  John Dolan did a fantastic job with this short story.  I recommend you read it and then share with everyone!

    I found no issues.


    I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it made me laugh from beginning to end.

Grishma by Kelly Anne Blount

       Ryder was very happy on Necoh.  His life was wonderful until Grishma kidnapped his mother and sister.  Trying to save them, Ryder's father was killed. It was then Ryder vowed to get revenge on Grishma. He tracked Grishma wherever she went, even to another world.  In this world, he met Brooklyn.  A very pretty young girl who was in love with another guy.  While attempting to save Brooklyn, Ryder takes her to his world and things go from bad to worse.  Can they survive this? 

     Ms Blount created a wonderfully vibrant and unique world with Grishma.  Characters you can't help but enjoy.  The twists in this fantasy are just enough to keep you moving through the book at a fast pace.  I recommend this book to all YAs.  

      I did find some issues. I felt there was some real overstating emotions and actions. The emotions formed a wider arc than needed for this story.  I also don't believe these characters would have cursed so much. I got the feeling they had surpassed such a basic way of speaking.  

     I gave this book 4 cheers out of 5 because it will make a wonderful series if the above issues are addressed. 

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Robin In The Hood by Diane J. Reed

       Robin is from a very wealthy family and is attending a private school.  One day her world falls apart and she has to adjust to a whole new way of living and doing things.  Now she's the bread winner and the only person taking care of her dad.  Being in control of their destiny isn't exactly all she thought it would be.  Her father is still the quiet man he's always been even though she needs him to open up.  Robin then meets Creek and nothing will ever be the same again. 

     First let me say this book is dear to my heart for a very special reason. The setting is my hometown area. It was wonderful to drift through areas and in places I haven't been in years.  The story is well written and the characters identifiable.  You'll love that everything isn't all peaches and cream.  It has a terrific plot to set up a series of these books.  I'd love to see that happen.

     I found no issues here.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it was fast-paced and  an easy read.

     

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

The Adventures of Mrs. Hiffen-Hopper by Carla Chadwick

       Mrs. Hiffen-Hopper teaches her children a new lesson every day. Today she's teaching them the power of dreaming big.  While her children are on recess, Mrs. Hiffen-Hopper has a dream that becomes magical. It's nothing new, her dreams are always magical.
     
      This book is perfect for the younger set.  Easy to understand and a quick read, Mrs. Hiffen-Hopper's adventures will become your child's new favorite.  I can't wait to see what's next for her. As she tells her children, the sky's the limit when it comes to dreams. You must get these books for those 1-8 year olds in your life. It will definitely be a collection to be passed down to future generations just like the Little Golden Books were for us.

    I found no issues.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 cheers because even I as an adult enjoyed it.

Hunting the Beast by John M.W. Smith

      Sandy is visiting her recently widowed grandmother when she notices things don't seem quite right.  Her grandmother is still expecting her grandfather, Harold, to come home.  Sandy tries to tell her he won't be home ever again but it doesn't seem to reach her grandmother.  The farmers in the area are acting strangely too.  They are combing the woods and farms looking for "a beast".  Sandy tries to find out just what kind of beast but no one seems to know.  The farmers haven't seen it but they know it's eating sheep.  The hunt is on.

     Mr Smith did a wonder job of weaving this tale.  The characters are well defined and likable. The characters learn some valuable lessons about life while on the hunt for the beast. New friends are made and grandmother explains about the beast. This book is perfect for the young ones in your life.

     I found no issues on this one.

      I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it just wasn't my cup of tea.

Piercing a Doms Heart by Holly S. Roberts

      Brandon Sterling is a wealthy business man who is struggling to combine his vanilla lifestyle and his D/s desires.  He takes a vacation at the urging of his secretary and goes to his friends club.  He needs this break.  His first day there he meets Willow, his buddies sister.  She immediately stirs something in him.  It's not long before they realize there is more between them than either bargained for.  

     This book will heat up your bedroom like you never imagined.  Terrific characters and a solid plot will keep you turning pages.  Share with your significant other and keep the heat going.  This is a  book I'd recommend to anyone.

    I found no issues in this one.

    I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's so well written.

Monday, February 18, 2013

When You Give a Duke a Diamond by Shana Galen

      All of London is talking about the Dangerous Duke and the Duchess of Dalliance. Their affair is followed by everyone! London is holding its collective breath when word gets out they have both been invited to the Prince's upcoming ball.  It will be the first chance for society to see the two of them together.  Society didn't count on a Duke who lived a very rigid, scheduled life and a Duchess who couldn't wait for this moment.  Their first meeting was less than smooth when they clashed like oil and water.  The worst part was the Duke of Pelham cut her in front of  most of London's society.  Juliette would not give them the satisfaction of seeing how hurt she was.  
      Out of necessity, the two of them begin working together when a man named Lucifer threatens Juliette and causes the disappearance of Pelham's fiance.  

     The plot for this book is absolutely wonderful and original.  I don't want to give anything away but you will see once you read this book what I'm talking about.  The characters are well defined and very likable.  You can see these people in London society. I loved the fact both the Duke and Duchess had a common denominator in the abuse in their lives.  Romance, fun, danger and so much more make this a book you have to have in your collection. Shana Galen never disappoints with her books.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really is a page-turner.

Saturday, February 16, 2013

Dead Light District: A Sasha Jackson Mystery by Jill Edmondson

      Sasha Jackson is hot on the trail of another mystery. This time, it's a missing prostitute.  Though Sasha doesn't agree with the type of business it is, she jumps in with both feet. Someone wants to shut down Sasha's investigation and will stop at nothing to do it.   Searching for someone who may not want to be found is harder than Sasha realized and she's learning a lot along the way.

     Jill Edmondson has created the next great detective series. Keeping the character reachable and "normal" will endear Sasha Jackson to the readers.  Move over 007, you've got some   serious competition in Sasha Jackson.  The book gives facts as well as entertainment.  This is an author to keep your eye on. She's gonna continue to produce wonderful books.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I felt like I was right there with Sasha Jackson every step of the way. 

Friday, February 15, 2013

Blood and Groom: A Sasha Jackson Mystery by Jill Edmondson

      Things are pretty quiet in Sasha Jackson's office.  A relatively new private investigator, she's use to doing  small, simple things.  Then she gets her first murder case. Although not sure where to start, Sasha digs in and begins talking to those involved.  She must find out who Gordon Hane's murderer is.  Her client, Christine Arvisais, wants Sasha to prove she didn't do it. Everyone is convinced she did.  Sasha ends up with more questions than answers but she finds the murderer.

      Jill Edmondson writes mysteries the way they were meant to be written, all out and full of suspects.  Sasha Jackson is a down to earth, quick to the punch character.  The plot is woven so well
you won't know who dunnit until the very end.  I recommend this book to everyone. 

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of its well written story.

Thursday, February 14, 2013

The Rogue Pirate's Bride by Shana Galen

     What happens when a headstrong woman is bent on avenging her fiance's death? Captain Cutlass finds out and would do anything to rid himself of the woman, but the cherry scent calls to him. Sebastien is surprised when a young boy challenges him with a sword. Once he finds out the boy is in fact a beautiful young woman, Bastien is smitten.  Raeven will make Captain Cutlass pay for killing her fiance.  If only he weren't so handsome.  The two of them are in for a rough ride.

      The solid story picks you up on a wave of action and never lets you down. Characters you'll enjoy and are well defined make this one a joy to read.  I found the action and romance to be equal throughout.  You'll definitely indulge in your pirate fantasies with this one.  Shana Galen gives us strong women who aren't afraid to taste life, but who have a lot of love to give.  Get this book and enjoy!!
   
     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I loved the idea a woman could hold her own with a pirate! 

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Wacky Stories for Women Vol 3 by John M.W. Smith

    Love comes in all forms and many ways. This volume of Wacky Stories is another gem! Your Valentine will love this short stories with a twist.  Mr. Smith gives us some very real situations but with a humorous touch.  I found the stories to be wonderfully entertaining and just the thing for a last before-bed laugh!

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I needed the laugh! 

Wacky Stories for Women Vol 2 by John M.W. Smith

    A wonderful collection of short stories with women taking the lead. Written in a lighthearted manner and discussing every day situations makes this a fun book to read.  You'll enjoy the fact they each have a twist.  It will catch you by surprise  and make you smile.  This book is the perfect pick-me-up after a long day of work, kids and husbands/boyfriends. It's like the secret stash of chocolate you keep for emergencies. GET THIS BOOK for your Valentine!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I truly enjoyed the twist and the fact the author is male. 

Cats, Daffodils & Dragonflies: Mystical Nature Poems by Laura Stamps

      This book of poems is by far some of the most beautiful I've ever read.  Ms. Stamps paints such an easy to see photo with each one.  I couldn't pick a favorite because each time I thought this one was my favorite, I'd turn the page and find another.  Ms. Stamps poetry made me wish for Spring and Summer.  You'll want this book for your library.  

     I didn't find any issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because the pictures painted with words was amazing! 

Dragon Badge by Scott Moon

       Michael Prim was not like other officers. No one could say exactly why but everyone knew it.  To start with Michael had these strange purple eyes.  They were intimidating to most who looked deep into them.  Michael wasn't afraid to get in the thick of things either.  Even situations where he knew he could end up in trouble, he charged head first.  The Blue Point officers started seeing other strange things in the city too. People, zombie-like, carrying these jars in a cloth bag.  No one knew what was in the jars or why they carried them.  Michael and his fellow officers were about to find out a lot they didn't know.  Michael's life might change forever. 

     Police drama with a kick, this book has it all. Mystery, suspense  action and romance, it's all in there.  Mr. Moon did an excellent job of writing this book. He took an ordinary job and made it extraordinary.  The characters are very realistic.  I recommend this book to everyone but especially to those who like a little something extra in their books.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it was a little hard to follow in some spots. There's so much going on.

Saturday, February 9, 2013

WOW! What an honor!

Melanie, congratulations!


You're one of the top 1% most endorsed in United States for Book Reviews.
LinkedIn now has 200 million members. Thanks for
playing a unique part in our community!




                                                                                                                                                     
Thank you so much for all your support! I appreciate each endorsement. I love reading and I work hard to help promote authors. <-----------------   so sending these to everyone of you!  Melanie

Thursday, February 7, 2013

The Daguerreotypist by Christopher Savio

   Brian and Rachel's relationship was still in the honeymoon phase.  They'd just found an apartment they could share and still allow Rachel a place for her dark room.  While fixing up the dark room, they found an old daguerreotype.  Rachel began to gather the things needed to develop the daguerreotype. Both she and Brian were anxious to see what they'd found.  Little did they know the daguerreotype would change their lives in ways neither could have guessed.
     No one could have guessed that something happening in 1842 would reach all the way into 2012.  The only question now  is will Brian and Rachel survive this unexpected surprise or will it destroy them both.

     Mr. Savio has an amazing plot in this book. The characters are well defined and easy to identify with. The idea of something like this happening sets off all kinds of questions.  Mr. Savio's writing style makes this an easy read. I recommend this book and think everyone should keep an eye on Christopher Savio.  His books are going to be very popular.

     I did find issues with this book. While the story is good, the characters terrific, Mr. Savio needs more time to work on his writing. Phrasing trouble and just plain rough reading take away from the wonderful story inside this book.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because with a bit more polish, it could be on the bestseller list. 

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Caressed by a Crimson Moon by Amanda J. Greene

        Vampires began a war with the shape-shifters in England and it resulted in a treaty between the two groups.  Centuries had passed, but the treaty still affected the lives of two people in ways they couldn't even imagine.  Eva, the half-breed, was sent as the ward of the vampires. Once it was proven the vampires could be trusted, the shape-shifters would send a purebred for the King of the vampires.  Hadrian, King of the Vampires, had spent centuries fighting demons and guilt. It wasn't until the little half-breed came into his life things began to change.  Eva was able to reach into Hadrian's very soul and make him see what he'd been missing all these years. 

     Ms Greene has a page turning, wonderfully conceived plot to start this book off on the right foot.  She then added characters you can't help but love and made this book one you can't miss!  This book made the vampires and the shape-shifters seem more realistic and human. With a bit of spice thrown in for good measure, Caressed by a Crimson Moon is a sure fire hit for all!

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 cheers because the story was easy to get lost in. 

Friday, February 1, 2013

One Dom at a Time by Holly S. Roberts

*EROTICA*

     One of the most popular Mistresses has a steady clientele at a seedy little BDSM club. She enjoys it though.  She can do things her way and in her own time. Her subs are terrific and she couldn't ask for more.  Then Damian comes into her life.  He owns a private BDSM Club and wants Mistress Lydia for his club.  She has said no and continues to say no. Damian doesn't take no for an answer, but Lydia didn't become a popular Mistress by being pushed around. 

    Well crafted and sensual, this book will light up your bedroom in many ways.  Ms. Roberts includes love and acceptance in her tale of the BDSM lifestyle to make it even more well rounded.  The characters are exciting and easy to relate to.  If you don't know much about the lifestyle, this book will explain it in an easy to understand way.  It might also give you some ideas for your own bedroom.  It will allow you to add another dimension to your love life and make every day Valentine's day.

     I found no issues with this one.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 cheers because the excitement and sensual energy was off the charts!