Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

New Beginnings by Mary Metcalfe

         As a real estate agent, Carol was one of the best.  She fought hard for her career and the scandal of the last year or so made it more difficult to hold on to.  She was contacted by a woman to place her mother's Victorian home on the market.  A very short time later, Devin Elliot made an offer.  The trouble began then.  Carol would get involved in a situation she never saw coming.  Through it all though, Devin was there for her.

     You can begin from today and create your own heaven on earth.  This book really shows that. Well written and characters that are well defined and relatable make this a terrific read.  The easy style Ms Metcalfe writes with flows so well you'll reach the end before you realize it.  This is one for the TBR pile.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because the message is lovely.

Monday, October 28, 2013

The Mirror by Candace L. Bowser

      An avid writer, Candace works nearly every day on one of her manuscripts. Though she predominately composes works of horror, she also writes mystery, suspense, and adventure. During the 1990’s she was a featured columnist for PRS in Kansas City. In 2011, Candace was honored by being voted one of the Top 20 Most Prolific Authors by AKG mag.. Her books are an unusual blend of historical places and events, along with fictional and non-fictional characters, which she seamlessly weaves into the story .Originally from south-central Pennsylvania, she currently resides in Kansas City with her husband Todd.
Twitter: @LilithofSumeria


  

Gus took me directly to the cathedral that Archbishop Theodorus presided over. I walked to the central office and knocked on the closed door.
“Come in, please.”
“I need to speak with Archbishop Theodorus please.”
The nun looked over the top of her reading glasses before laying down the papers she was reading.
“I am sorry but you must request an audience with the Archbishop if you wish to see him. I can check his calendar and see when the next time he is available and schedule you to see him.”
I leaned over the desk, placing my hand in the center of her papers only inches away from her.
“Tell the Archbishop that Baroness Bristiolli is waiting in his office, and she is not pleased.”
I sat down in the chair in front of her desk and waited as she picked up the phone. She spoke to him in Italian, no doubt believing that I would not understand. It was difficult to contain myself as she told him who was sitting in her office.
“You need to come immediately,” she whispered. She hung up the phone and began to apologize. I did not answer her or accept her apology, instead I waited in silence for Theodorus to make his entrance.
After a short period of time, the door flew open and smashed into the wall. The Archbishop stood in the doorway startled at the sight of me. He was expecting Annabel, not her granddaughter.
I rose and offered him my hand. He graciously shook it, still in shock at my unannounced appearance.
“We have much to discuss Theodorus. Why don’t you give me a tour of the cathedral while we talk?”
I walked into the open area of the cathedral and waited for him to follow.
“I know you were expecting to see Annabel so I must apologize. I must assume you are not aware my grandmother passed away four days ago. I am the heiress of the Bristiolli estate now, and I have questions which you will answer.”
“I am very sorry about Annabel. She was a fine woman and devoted Catholic. We shall include her in the prayers at this evening's mass. I do not understand why you came all this way to question me. Wouldn’t it have been easier to pick up the phone?”
“Would you really have answered if I called? The nun in your office was not going to let me see you until I told her who I was. A man of God shouldn’t lie Theodorus; you could put your soul in peril.”
“Annabel said you did not embrace her faith. Why should I help someone who cares so little for God?”
“You mistake my disdain for a lack of faith. I have faith Archbishop. I have faith that you will help me or all the donations made by the Bristiolli family will come to an abrupt halt. I know the answers I seek are within the walls of this cathedral as well as the monastery in Benevento, and you will lead me to them.”
“You would blackmail a man of God to obtain what you desire?”
“Let me make this perfectly clear to you Theodorus. I will do anything necessary to free my mother from that mirror’s grasp!”
The Archbishop froze where he stood unable to speak. I had seen the same fear only a few days before in the eyes of my Aunt.
What power did the mirror have to hold sway over an Archbishop?
“I cannot speak to you about this. I will give you the address of a man who can be of assistance. You may have access to all the records kept in the hall beneath the cathedral. This is all I can do to help you Baroness Bristiolli. If I am caught, I will be excommunicated.”
He motioned to one of the passing priests to come to him.
“Baroness Bristiolli wishes to view the sealed records of her family. Would you please escort her to the family vault and grant her access to the records room?”
The young priest nodded in agreement. Archbishop Theodorus turned to face me and laid his hand on my shoulder.
“I shall come to check on you in a few hours. Anything you may need Father Alto will gladly bring you.”
The young priest asked me to accompany him. I followed him down a series of corridors that led to what appeared to be a crypt.
“If you need anything, just pull this rope. It will ring the bell upstairs in the priest’s main hall. I will come as quickly as I can. I will unlock the door to the records room on my way out. It is the fourth door on the left.”
As quickly as he could, Father Alto left the room. The vault appeared to create the same type of nervousness in the priest as it had in Archbishop Theodorus. What was it about my family that they feared so much?
I lit the torches hanging in the sconces on either side of the vault. There were several crypts carved into the wall with names inscribed on the brass plates. I ran my hand across the plates. Each of them was dated with the time of their death. I read them while leaning in closer to see them more clearly.
The first plaque read: Pope Significant the 1st, Born September 10th 1623 Died October 31st 1674. The second plaque read: Bishop Germanus Died October 31st, 1674. I paused as I read the third plaque. I knew the name. He was the Bishop who went to see Josephina and never returned.
It was the last plaque that frightened me the most. It read simply; Bertrand Denallio.

Bob Bear's Beards & The Little Pink Balloon by Lee Haydn Straight

     Bob Bear's beard changes colors! What makes it change colors? The foods he eats!

     Your children will enjoy this color teaching book. They will be able to read it themselves before long and it will give them double the pleasure. I love that it is so simple, but gives a lesson too. The talk of different foods will expand your child's knowledge of healthy foods too.

    I found no issues.


    I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I love books that teach a lesson.




    Little Pink balloon drifts away from the fairground and her family. She climbs higher and higher until a cloud stops her. She wants to go home, but how?

     Again Mr. Straight did a fantastic job of including a lesson in this book.  The lesson of team work and talking of up and down makes this book wonderful for younger and older children.  The illustrations are something children will be able to relate to. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because every parent has had a child lose a balloon. This helps. *smile*

The Travis Club by Mark Louis Rybczyk

     Taylor Nichols and his buddies aren't the most ambitious people around, but they do make a difference. They are The Travis Club. Living in San Antonio, Texas and loving the history of the city, Taylor begins to write books about the history of San Antonio.  He believes he's ready to move on to his next book when issues arise with his last one.  While trying to settle the dust on a couple of issues, more questions keep popping up and everyone is looking to Taylor for the answers. Does he have them?

     If you love history as much as I do, this book will be right up your alley.  Mr. Rybczyk does a wonderful job of incorporating the historical information with the story.  I like that he patterned Taylor Nichols after himself. *smile*  The story in this book is a mystery you'll enjoy unraveling.

     I did find one issue. Sorry Mr. R! There were several spots where seemingly whole pieces of text were repeated. 

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the repetitive pieces. 

Dream Seekers, Book One: Fright Flight AND Dream Seekers, Book Two:Dream Team by Lisa Ard


     Patrick, his sister, younger brother and his Mom are different. Not on the outside so you'd notice, but inside. You see when they go to sleep and dream, it REALLY happens to them. They experience and feel everything that happens while they sleep. In FRIGHT FLIGHT, Mom is trying to reinforce the dream rules to Patrick.  YES, there are rules. If there weren't, Patrick and his family might get hurt in some way.  In DREAM TEAM, Patrick's voice is changing and he's not sure what to do.  In both, Patrick learns valuable lessons.

     Lisa Ard has a hit series here! The boundaries for these Dream Seekers is endless! I love that about this particular series.  There are so many things to learn and experience while dreaming. Children will love this series because it allows them to live the things they dream about.  Ms Ard's style is very easy going and the characters are so wonderful, your children won't be able to wait to read these. I think they are going to really take off with children.

     I didn't find any issues in either book.

     I gave each one 5 cheers out of 5 because they made me smile.

     

Saving Halloween by Lisa Ard (Youth Book)

     Anne Parson has a very structured life. Her parents see to it every moment is filled with educational material.  One day though, she is able to slip away and she meets Halloween.  Time spent with Halloween and her family really opens Anne's eyes.  What has she been missing?

     Ms Ard wrote such a wonderful story here I'm sure your children will enjoy it. It's colorful, sweet and full of all the Halloween things children love.  Well written and lively characters make this a book your children will read again and again.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because there's a lot to be said for all work and no play.

Friday, October 25, 2013

The Young Warlock by Matthew Bridle FREE this weekend Link below

     Compelled by his lust for the flame the young warlock is driven on a trail of destruction. Running from those he once trusted, he befriends a tattlejack, Icthus, whose gift of extracting the truth could become his greatest strength. Now all he needs to do is defeat his lust and prove his worth to all those who doubt him, including the young girl who is carrying his child. Only the old priest believes the boy, Dekor, to be something more than just another warlock. The dogs of war are gathering. The undead seek allies among the enemy horde in the north in their bid to rout the mages, break the control of the Council of Twelve and take the land for themselves. Together the goblins and the undead set out to scourge the lands of Alzear of all who stand in their way. The pieces of the prophecy are slowly cohering. The gods have chosen their warriors and the people have chosen their gods. War is coming, a war whose like we have never seen. The fate of an entire people may rest in the hands of a headstrong young man and his unborn child.
 
Young Warlock is free this weekend at Smashwords. https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/336570

Author Showcase: Jen Lilenstein

  Jen completed her undergraduate senior thesis on Howard Gardner's theory of Multiple Intelligence
and its effect on self-esteem, attendance rates and love of learning in 1994 and in the years prior to
founding Kidzmet, she worked in the education industry in various capacities including brand and
product management for JumpStart educational software and in marketing for a non-traditional
post-secondary certification. Once she became a parent, she started seeing just how differently her
kids learned than she did...and was reminded how critical it is that teachers and parents “get” how
each unique student likes to learn in order for kids to become engaged, enthusiastic learners. She
also started to realize how many parents didn’t know personality-based techniques and strategies that
could help their kids learn how to learn better.
Ms. Lilienstein currently serves on the Editorial Board of the National Afterschool Association, the
Publications and Platform Committees of the NAA, the Quality Committee of the CA Afterschool
Network, and advocates for Afterschool for All with the Afterschool Alliance. She is also a member of
BOOST and ASCD. Ms. Lilienstein is also a weekly contributor on the Total Education Network,
which is syndicated on 80+ networks and heard by more than a million people in 180 countries
around the world.
At home, Jen is Mom to an extraverted seven year-old daughter--who has already dabbled in music,
swimming, gymnastics, ballet, nature, yoga and art--and an introverted four year-old son who loves  to do puzzles, build with LEGOs, examine the lives of animals and insects, and admire anything with
an engine.
Blurb:
A detailed, practical guide to help parents (and teachers!) understand how different personality types learn best. INCLUDES PERSONALITY QUIZ!

The techniques revealed in this book will teach parents specific, research-backed, actionable strategies amassed from nearly 100 reference texts with respect to:
* How to create a learning environment that allows their kids to excel and develop confidence in their abilities.
* How to support and encourage their kids' educations in ways that are best for him or her.
* How to teach their kids the strategies that help them each play to their individual learning strengths.

Book reveals how each of the eight personality types naturally:
* Get organized
* Get motivated
* Approach new concepts
* Learn in groups
* Take notes and "file" knowledge
* Tackle homework and test prep
* Gravitate to certain extracurriculars and teachers
* Handle successes and failures






Buy Links:





Please stop back for the review of this book!

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

All Of Her Men: An Erotic Thriller by Lourdes Bernabe

     Jolene has a secret. It's a very dark secret. She is certain no one knows it.  She finds out differently after a particularly satisfying evening with a man she picks up in a bar.  Details are important to Jolene. It's the details that make her secret even more gruesome and dark.  She's happy with her boyfriend but she needs this outlet too.   Will her two worlds collide? Can she keep her secret?

     Don't let the title keep you from reading this one. While there are some erotic parts, the book is a fantastically written thriller. You'll be looking over your shoulder as you read this one. I found the character to be quite like-able despite her secret.  Check this one out, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

     I did find issues. It was a little slow  moving in parts and a couple of the characters really seem to have no reason to be in the story.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issues I found.

Road To Tomorrow by Mary Metcalfe

     Andrea is afraid and she has a right to be. Her husband is a military man with a dangerous temper.  When she finally decides she can walk away, it isn't easy but she does it. She's going to start a new life with her two children somewhere else, hidden from the abusive husband.  She finds a small town, or more correctly, a small town finds her. After an accident, a small town rallies around Andrea and her children. They'll need all the support they can get.

    Rebuilding a life after terror isn't easy but Andrea shows us it can happen. Warm, sweet and eye-opening, this book is one you need to have.  Ms Metcalfe takes us into a world few know about and gives us the true picture.  I found the characters to be well defined and relate-able.  Well written in an easy to read style, this book is a true pleasure to read.

     I found no issues in this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really hit home. 

Murder and Other Distractions by Michael Estrin

     Ethan is a writer at Rubber Necker, an online magazine.  His job is pretty boring and so is his life until he runs into The Girl Who Got Away.  Having gone to his favorite taco stand, he runs into The Girl Who Got Away and her new man.  He's jealous but that's as far as it goes.  When The Girl Who Got Away and her new man end up dead, Ethan is picked as the likely suspect. His life goes into a tailspin after that.  

  WOW! Where to start. This book is written in an easy style. It's character isn't real well defined but he's like-able. An adult book, you don't want to have this one around the young ones.  It is graphic and pretty open.  

   I did find issues.  It's rambling and incoherent.  It goes from a guy being a guy to a guy not knowing himself at all. Some may be offended by the story.  I wasn't pleased with it. The title in no way reflects the true story.

    I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because it really is just for guys. 

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

A Novel Obsession by Jeff Joseph

     Abby lives in Shadyhill, Ohio. She's a school teacher and an avid reader. She's fallen deeply in love with author David Sheppard.  His writing style and books speak to her. Much to her friends dismay, he's also the ruler by which she measures all other men she comes up against.  When the school hires a new football coach, her friend hopes cupid will work his magic for the two of them.  They do date a time or two and then the school principal who has been in love with Abby for years, begins an investigation of the new coach. All Abby wants is a man like Daniel Sheppard.

     This book has the most sexually charged prologue you will ever read! I love the way this book opens and then goes on to explain the story.  You'll find the characters well defined and like-able. Mr. Joseph has an easy style of writing that makes reading this one a dream. You'll enjoy the way her friends try to help Abby find a man.  Get this one!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because the ending wasn't what I expected. 

Monday, October 21, 2013

Author Showcase: T.K. Harris

T.K. Harris was born in California and lived a gypsy sort of life traveling the world as a military brat. She has been writing since she was a child and as had several short stories published by various magazines, including one in Woman's World. She currently lives and works in Colorado as a Senior Solutions Architect and IT Instructor and has recently had her first novel, Phantom Dreams, published. She is looking forward to her next two books, already outlined and partially written.






www.tkharrisonline.com 
www.facebook.com/pages/Phantom-Dreams/281589768625691




FBI Special Agent Jack Matthews finds himself on yet another serial killer case, having barely recovered from the last disastrous hunt. Still stiff from a gun shot wound in his leg, under investigation for a botched job, and having lost his fiancée when she walked out on him, Jack is beginning to wonder if it isn’t time to move on to something new. But, for Jack, these cases are personal and he can’t say no. 


Marketing specialist Kathy Gilliam leads a fairly boring life. If she’s not working or caring for her ailing father, then she is doing whatever it takes to avoid going anywhere near crowds of people. Her few distractions include her friend Margo Longfellow, occasional hiking trips, and her increasingly alarming dreams of women dying.

As her nightmares cause her to begin to doubt her sanity, the media releases news of the “Coast-to-Coast Killer” and Kathy discovers her dreams may be related. In a moment of panic, Kathy does something that places her on the FBI’s “persons of interest” list. Suddenly, her life is set on a collision course with Jack who must decide if Kathy is the killer or destined to become a victim.

Guest Post by C. Michael Powers author of Mirror Images

Hey everybody,

My name's C. Michael Powers, and I'm the author of Mirror Images Book 1: The Darkness of Man. Today, I'm going to be spending some time with two of the characters from my book, Gabe and Cutter. So that you understand the animosity between these two, it's probably a good idea that I fill you in on what this story is about.


When an average Joe's reflection in the mirror switches places with him, he finds himself trapped in a strange mirror world, battling his way back to the other side so that he can stop his reflection from destroying the life he knows.

“Have you ever wondered why so many people in prison claim to be innocent? It’s ‘cause most of ‘em are,” Dozier whispered.

On the other side of the mirror, lies a horrific world where each of us has an image, our violent replica, capable of fulfilling our darkest desires, and only released into our world when we’re unable to follow through with an evil deed. Gabe Cutter, an average paper pusher, has his life ripped out from under him when his image switches places with him, hell bent on destroying the life Gabe knows, and killing his cheating fiance’. Now, stuck on the other side of the mirror, Gabe must join together with a band of stranded survivors and find a way to get back to his world before his image destroys it. Along the way he battles his way through maniacs, monsters, and ultimately his own heart, as he realizes that the woman he’s been trying to save...wasn’t worth the price of admission.

So, I've got Gabe sitting here on the couch in front of me, and I have Cutter, his image (or reflection) live via satellite from the dark side of the mirror. Let's get this interview started.

Me:  Cutter, I have to apologize, but it looks like we're having some technical difficulties with the feed.

Cutter: That's why you should have had me there in person, ya dick!

Me: I understand your hostility, but as you know, having you and Gabe in the same room isn't a good idea. In fact, having you in the same room with anyone is an all around bad idea.

Cutter just shrugs his shoulders and picks at his teeth with his pinky finger. Gabe watches, shakes his head and laughs under his breath.

Cutter: The fuck you laughin' at pretty boy?

Me: Calm down. So, the point of this interview is to introduce you guys to the readers and maybe help them understand the mindset of the image. Gabe, let's start with you. When you crossed through the mirror, you must've been shocked, I mean, that's a pretty wild journey. How did you feel?

Gabe: I was confused, for sure. I had a beautiful woman in my bed, just got up to take a leak, and suddenly I'm being yanked through the mirror. Scared the hell out of me at first. Then I was just confused.

Me: And Cutter, how did you feel?

Cutter: I felt great. I tossed his sorry ass onto the floor and climbed through the mirror. Like he said, he had a beautiful woman in his bed. It was great.

Me: Gabe, what was the dark side like? When you first fell through the mirror.

Gabe: Dirty and violent. Holy shit, bro. I had people trying to kill me left and right. I wasn't even fully dressed for cryin' out loud.

He turns to Cutter.

Gabe: Do me a favor, pal. Next time you decide to invade my life and pull me through a mirror, can you at least wait 'till I have more on than a pair of sweat pants?

Cutter: That's what you get for wearin' sweat pants. Who the fuck wears sweat pants? If I'd been bangin' that broad in the other room and needed to take a piss, I woulda got up naked, dick swingin', pissed, and been back in bed in a jiffy. There you go, C. Michael, you wanna know the difference between me and this douche on your couch? One word—sweatpants.

Gabe shakes his head and turns back to face me.

Gabe: So I was barefoot in a pair of sweatpants, getting my ass kicked by the locals. Apparently, Cutter pissed off some maniac named Goody Bones, so he and his followers were all over me.

Me: I can imagine how crazy that was for you. Cutter, you had a much easier time adjusting.

Cutter laughs out loud.


Cutter: Yeah, you can say that. Your world is all sunshine and flowered shower curtains. It's sickening. Nobody on your side was a threat. Hell, I was the threat. I was killin' folks left and right. It was a fuckin' riot. Never had so much fun in my life. 

Me: You both realized all sorts of differences between the worlds. Let's do this. I'll say one word. You guys tell me the first thing that comes to mind.

They both laugh and agree.

Me: Food.

Gabe: I don't even remember eating. Seems like it was mostly soup over there. Weird animals and roots tossed into dirty water.

Cutter: You guys have the weirdest shit. Packaged stuff. I was on the road most of the time on your side. I remember the first time I walked into one of your shops. Packaged beef, the dried stuff, jerkey...amazing.

Me: Action

Cutter: There was none. Late night TV? People running around with full body pads holding a ball? Your life is lame as hell. All that action on your news stations? You know, the murders and thefts and blazing fires? All that shit is done by people like me, from my side of the mirror, who've crossed over into yours. We're the party. We're the fuckin' game changers, the ones who bring some excitement into your world.

Gabe: There was a lot of action on the dark side. I barely had time to breathe, man. It was nuts. Monsters like you wouldn't believe. Little creatures, big ones, underwater ones, dry land ones...seemed like everything tried to kill me. Just once I hoped a freakin' regular ol' dog would just walk up and beg to be petted.

Me: Women

Gabe: Wild. Ivy was a firecracker. And Alleycat, gorgeous. They definitely don't hold back. See, the images are the darkest versions of us.  If your dark side is a murderer, then your image is a murder. If you're a pyromaniac, your image will be setting fires all over the place. But not everyone has an evil dark side. Some are just sexual fiends. It's all they think about.

Cutter: You're given me a hard on over here. Shit's not like that on your side. I had to take what I wanted.
 
Gabe: You're a fucking animal.

Cutter: Fuckin' right I am.

Me: It's hard to tell you guys apart sometimes. Physically, you're nearly identical.

Cutter: I'm better looking. He looks like a college kid or some shit. Pathetic. I'm what you'd call ruggedly handsome.

Gabe: Your dirty and greasy. An animal.

Cutter: You're lucky I'm on satellite you little bitch, or I'd cut your fuckin' throat.

Gabe: How did that work out for you last time?

Cutter loses it and starts flipping out. He's cursing up a storm.

Me: Ok, last one. Gabe, you go ahead and answer while he throws his temper tantrum.

Cutter: Fuck that, I heard you. What's the question?

Me: Friends

Cutter spits.

Cutter: Friends? I don't have any damned friends. Well...Ivy...no, I don't have any damned friends. Who needs ém?

Gabe has his head down and seems to be in deep thought.

Gabe: I made friends over there. I met some great people. I wasn't the only one stranded on the dark side. People risked their life for me, all because they heard I was the Haissem and that I'd make things right, for both sides of the mirror. A lot of good people died...for me. Can we stop this now?

Cutter: Like I said, a fuckin' puss.

At that point, I stopped the interview as Gabe no longer wanted to participate. To find out more about Gabe and Cutter and all the other bad ass characters in my book, check out Mirror Images Book 1
: The Darkness of Man, now available at Amazon, for Kindle and paperback at:



Check out my website at www.cmichaelpowers.com

Follow me on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/CMichaelPowers


Author Showcase: C. Michael Powers

      C. Michael Powers (Christopher Powers) started writing at the age of 16 when his dad and younger brother were out fishing, and he was left alone, with only his thoughts, his sleeping grandfather, and an old typewriter. Since then he hasn't been able to stop. Recently, he has focused his attention on contemporary fantasy; dark, action packed stories, the kind he’d like to read himself. Now, living in his wife's beautiful country of Panama, with she and their four kids, he's finally finding time to write. Living in Panama has given him the opportunity to write freelance about retirement locations all over the isthmus, and has even given him some time to work on his true passion...fiction.


@CMichaelPowers







Isabella wasn’t the smallest of women, but when a grown man lays his size thirteen boot heel right into the middle of the door, even the strongest of women is bound to topple backwards. The doorframe shattered and the door crashed inwards on her. Isabella screamed. She struggled to keep her balance and in the process stepped sideways on her foot, popping her ankle. Hot liquid rushed up her leg as she howled in pain and crumpled to the floor.
“You just couldn’t leave him alone about HER, could you?” the man cried out as he stalked through the door.
“Mom!” Joshua yelled. It was the last thing he would get out of his mouth. He instinctively dove at the man, who met him with the knife blade directed straight at his neck. 

Huddled in the dark closet, Isabella struggled to remember everything that had happened. It had gone by so fast. She closed her eyes and remembered the explosion of the door as it was kicked in. She remembered the sound of her son yelling, “Mom!” Then her daughter’s screams. She barely recalled making it to the closet in the upstairs bedroom, but that’s where she was now and where she’d remain until the police came or until her husband returned home. Her face twisted in the sudden urge to sob. She closed her eyes, her lips trembling, as saliva settled at its corners, close to running down her chin. Tears streamed down her face. A slight whimper escaped her lips and she cupped her hand over her mouth to prevent it from happening again. She had no idea where the man was now. She had run as fast as she could on the damaged ankle. This was her third hiding spot. Under the bed didn’t seem safe enough and once the lights went out, she was afraid to stay behind the bedroom curtain. 
As Isabella remained frozen in fear, the light shining through the closet door slats illuminated her trembling cheeks. Wire hangers scraped against metal as clothes were slid aside behind her. Fear struck at her gut like a dagger as she realized she wasn’t alone in the closet. The controlled breath of someone only inches away sent shivers down her spine. She willed herself to run, to crash through the closet door and do her best to escape, but her muscles refused to react. Her fight or flight instincts were replaced by fear and the realization that she wouldn’t get far on her damaged ankle. She closed her eyes and accepted that she’d be joining her children soon.
Blue light and the shadows between the slivers made the psycho’s face seem divided, like evil had been stacked upon itself, in layers, creating a demented serial killer puzzle of sorts. He inched closer to the woman, his teeth razor sharp and jagged, and his nose crooked, as if it had been broken many times and had never healed properly. A glossy film covered his black, soulless eyes. Hanging around his neck was a leather band with random body parts dangling from it; a pinky finger, a nose, an ear, and other chunks of flesh hung in front of him like a chandelier of horror.
Isabella’s head began to spin and bile rose in her throat as she waited. She knew that her mind wasn’t playing tricks on her. However, the chance that it could be toyed with her. She needed to look behind, to the darkness of the closet, and see for herself. It was either that or force her feet to finally move and do her best to escape the house. Unable to commit to either action, she turned ever so slightly, her head studdering as it moved on her neck. Fear gripped her as out of the corner of her eye, she caught the glimmer in his. She began to scream, but just as the sound escaped her lips, the killer’s cold blade ran across her throat. Her yelp turned to a faint gasp as all sound bubbled out through the new opening in her flesh. His left hand grabbed her neck as if attempting to staunch the wound, but then it squeezed, opening the wound wider. Her blood –and her very life force–poured down to the hardwood floor at her feet.

Outside, four police cars came to a screeching halt in front of the house. Eight uniformed cops jumped out; two secured the perimeter and the other six prepared to enter. The sergeant in charge whispered commands at his people.
“If he’s in there, he’s an animal. He took out eight at his office. The neighbors reported screams, so be extremely aware of your surroundings. Let’s go.”
With the front door destroyed, the cops carefully made their way over the shattered remains and fanned out as they entered. Expertly wielded pistols were aimed in all directions.
“Jesus,” the sergeant in charge whispered as he stared down at Joshua’s bloody body lying at the foot of the couch. His throat had been stabbed several times and he was bleeding from a wound in his side. His eyes were wide open, dead. The two cops who’d gone right made their way into the kitchen, and then one of them stepped back with a hand over his face, fighting back the urge to vomit. Anna’s body was draped over the kitchen island. Blood ran down her bare forearm and dripped from her fingertips onto the linoleum floor. A bloody slash ripped the front of her t-shirt right down the middle. Her left arm was folded across her chest and her middle finger had been cut off.


Upstairs, NicNac was dragging Isabella’s body out of the closet when he heard the footsteps below, and angrily released her feet. He dropped to his knees, yanked one of her canvas shoes off and threw it to the side, then grabbed her foot like a wrestler putting an opponent in a headlock and with a quick clip, her pinkie toe fell to the floor. He picked it up and placed it in his pants pocket. 
“For later,” Nic Nac whispered. 
He shoved himself up off the floor and made his way into the master bathroom. He could hear the cops coming up the stairs. With no time left to waste, Nic Nac gripped the counter top and leaned in close to the mirror.
“I can’t take it anymore,” he spoke to his reflection.
The mirror began to shimmer and liquefy, and he watched as the face looking back at him began to change. The forehead smoothed out and the nose straightened a bit. The jagged, yellowed teeth aligned and whitened. His reflection’s repulsive features softened and filled out. Within seconds, Dennis stared out at him, looking confused and lost. Nic Nac laughed as he reached through the mirror, grabbed Dennis by his shoulders, yanked him out of the mirror and hurled him onto the hard floor. He took pleasure in watching Dennis curl up into a ball like a scared child.
“See ya later, sucker,” Nic Nac howled just before he dove into the mirror. 
The liquefied glass returned to normal and the terrified Dennis glanced all around him. The door to the bathroom suddenly burst open, and there, staring down at him, with guns pointed at his face, were the police.
“Freeze! Don’t move! Put your fuckin’ hands where we can see ‘em!” were just some of the phrases shouted at him. 
Dennis looked up at the cops with his hands out in front of him.
“I don’t…I don’t understand. I’m back?” he asked just before they pounced on him. 





Friday, October 18, 2013

Tattoos and Tangles by Melinda Di Lorenzo

HTML Online Editor Sample

COMING TO KINDLE ON OCTOBER 28TH, 2013!

 

 

Tattoos and Tangles, a heart pounding Romantic Suspense novel by 

Melinda A. Di Lorenzo

 

 

What the readers are saying so far!

 

 - This book is fanf***ingtastic!

 

 - Love LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

 

 - John may be dangerous...but that's sooo sexy!

 

 

 

 

 




After years of heartache, Cass is ready to begin a new life. She’s free of the man who brought her financial and emotional ruin, and she’s healing from the loss of her sister. But she never thought her new life would begin with a tattooed stranger who turns her world upside down.

For six months, John’s been living only to find his brother’s murderer, and he’s getting close. He won’t let anything or anyone get in his way. Until a beautiful woman walks out of a tattoo parlor and straight into the sights of his most-hated rival.

When John rescues Cass from a near kidnapping, the attraction between them is as immediate as it is surprising. John will do anything to keep Cass safe, but as they run for their lives, they discover that what’s in their past connects them as surely as the danger closing in on them.


 

TEASERS AND RELEASE PARTY COMING SOON!

 

About the author

 

 

Melinda loves pasta and a happily ever after. So she married a handsome Italian man in hopes of getting a little of both every day.  She hates housework, and uses her kids and her writing to avoid it at all costs.  When she writes, she likes to put in just enough reality to make her readers think, "Hey, that could be me!" and just enough of the fantastic to make them add, "Hey, I wish that WAS me!"

 

Melinda can be found on FB:

 

https://www.facebook.com/MelindaDiLorenzo

 

On Twitter:

 

@melindawrites

 

On Goodreads:

 

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/ 4868710.Melinda_A_Di_Lorenzo

 

And on Wattpad:

 

http://www.wattpad.com/user/MelindaDiLorenzo

 

 

 

Author Showcase: E.L. Lindley

   E.L. Lindley is an indie writer and general lover of books in all of their forms. She has written numerous contemporary novels, including the Georgie Connelly series as well as stand alone novels. When she is not writing, she is devouring the works of other writers and is delighted by how indie publishing has thrown open the world of publishing. She sees it as a win win situation, allowing writers to publish their work, whilst providing readers with a richer and more varied choice.
   Lindley has always loved writing but produced her first full length novel, Business As Usual, when she decided to move on from her career as an English teacher. She now supplements her writing by working on a free-lance basis. This also affords her time to travel and she has been fortunate enough to have travelled extensively throughout the world, using her experiences as a source of inspiration for her writing.
She currently resides in Sheffield in the UK but has lived and worked in many places including, London, Oxford, Southampton, Cheltenham and Brighton. She also studied for a couple of years at the University of Arlington in Texas and has consequently made many extended trips to the USA to visit and stay with friends. Her novels reflect this and tend to incorporate both sides of the Atlantic.
   Lindley writes in a style which is both light-hearted and fun but with serious undertones, often tackling gritty subjects. In all of her novels, the characters reflect her belief in humanity and the fact that the human spirit will always prevail, regardless of the situation. Lindley's primary goal is to entertain people but she is happy to take any response that she can get.




    Introducing Georgie Connelly, an English transplant living in Los Angeles, where she’s a successful documentary filmmaker. Her work has won her awards but it’s also made her plenty of enemies and, when she receives death threats from a white supremacist, her boss hires his old friend and ex-Marine, James Finn to keep an eye on her. Their relationship gets off to a bad start when Georgie insists on looking into the whereabouts of a missing teenager, bringing her squarely into the orbit of Russian mobster, Maxim Petrov.
   Georgie’s meddling sees her embark upon a chase that uncovers sex trafficking and murder. As James despairs at her harebrained refusal to follow his instructions, Georgie places everyone she knows in serious danger. Buckle up for a fast paced story which has thrills, spills and lots of romance. As Georgie and James butt heads, will her tenacity pay off and bring Petrov to justice or will the crazy mayhem she leaves in her wake lead to her own self-destruction?
   Business As Usual is the first novel in the Georgie Connelly series, which not only introduces Georgie as a feisty protagonist but also a cast of loyal and likeable characters that surround her. 


Please stop back for the review of this book! 

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Discovery by Brina Courtney

Discovery- FINAL

Nine months ago, Teagan Matthews' boyfriend disappeared and took her sense of stability with him. But when the opportunity to live with her aging grandmother in Salem arises, she decides it's time to get on with her life. A new home, new job, and new friends are adding up to a beautiful summer...

 ...until a young girl's body shows up one night in town, wearing a pentagram necklace exactly like Teagan's.

Now a guy, looking remarkably like her missing boyfriend, has arrived in Salem along with a mysterious stranger, who may have some answers that Teagan has desperately been searching for. Teagan must now decide who to trust. It's a matter of life... and her death.
Discovery Teaser Image


Discover Teaser 1


About Brina Courtney

5295520

Brina Courtney is a young adult author obsessed with chocolate, crime shows, and fantasy movies. She’s spent the last few years as an elementary teacher and a high school cheering coach. She lives in a small town in Pennsylvania with her husband and two very loud, small dogs.

Links:


Monday, October 14, 2013

Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee

       Monica Mann is a hook up with them and then move on kind of woman.  She isn't ready for a commitment and she may never be.  When the earthquake happened and they were calling for Border-less Doctors and Nurses, the timing was right for Monica to say yes.  She met Trent Fairchild on the island of Jamaica after one of the worse earthquakes in years.  Trent is determined to make sure Monica takes care of herself in between caring for patients.  Just how far he's willing to go to meet that goal we'll find out.

     Catherine Bybee never disappoints and she doesn't this time either.  Well written and characters that are relate-able and fun to be involved with make this book outstanding.  Each book in the Not Quite series is a gem on it's own but together they outshine most similar series books.  Contemporary romance at it's very best! You won't go wrong with Catherine Bybee. This is a book to have in your TBR pile.

     I found no issues in this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because this entire group of people make me wish I were one of them! Way to go Catherine!

Friday, October 11, 2013

Author Showcase: Adrienne Woods

      I was born and raised in South Africa, where I still live with my husband, and two beautiful little girls. 

  I always knew that I was going to be a writer but it only started to happen about four years ago, now I can’t stop writing.

  In my free time, If I get any because Moms don’t really have free time, I love to spend time with friends, if it’s a girls night out, or just a movie, I’m a very chilled person.

    My writing career is starting with Firebolt, book one with the Dragonian Series, there will be four books in total and two to three books that is about the stories taking place inside The Dragonian Series.

     I do write in different Genres, I have a woman’s fiction called the Pregnancy Diaries, but it would be published under another name. And then I have a paranormal series, called the Watercress series. There are about ten novels in that one.

    So, plenty of novels to come out, so little time.


   I hope you are going to embrace the Dragonian Series as much as I loved writing them.








     A girl singing her heart out about a miracle boomed inside my ear. A miracle would get me what I needed: a chance at a semi-normal life.
     The bedroom door hitting the wall expelled the thought from my mind. With his hand tangled up in his copper hair and with huge brown eyes, Dad's figure filled the entire doorway. “Pack your bags.” He had that set to his jaw, the one that meant there was no way out of this. He bolted out of the room just as suddenly as he had appeared.
     My teeth ground hard against each other, and the sharp pain behind my eyes, I guessed from the lack of sleep, grew stronger. Every fibre of my being wanted to explode.
     Ever since I could remember my name, Dad and I had been on the run. From what? Beats me.                  
     For the last two weeks, I'd been pacing up and down through the house, struggling to fall asleep at night, waiting for this day.
     For the love of blue berries, no sixteen-year old should live this way!              
     I climbed off my bed, and the first step I took left my toe tangled in the wide leg of my jeans.  I tried to regain my balance as the closet inched closer, but with wildly flailing arms, I came crashing down. The thud reverberated across the wooden floor, and it sounded as if I'd broken something.
     Dad darted back into my room. "Are you okay?" He lifted me back onto my feet as if I weighed nothing.
     Tears lurked in the corners of my eyes, threatening to burst, as I stared up at him.
    "Don't give me that look, Elena. Please, we need to hurry.” He pulled my suitcase from the top shelf  and chucked it haphazardly onto my bed. “We need to go. Now.”
    "Dad…"
     He started to grab my clothes from the shelf and tossed them messily inside my small suitcase. Then he paused, sighed, and looked up with soft eyes. He stroked the side of my cheek with his hand gently. “This wasn't the right place, bear. Please, you’ve got to trust me.”
     His hand reached back to pull everything off my shelf, while my hands curled up into balls of fury. My heart pounded fast as those two words bounced inside my skull. “Trust you, Dad?”
     "Elena, we don't have much time,” he yelled. “Pack your bags! You can ask questions later." He left, and the hollow “doof” sound from his footsteps stomped loudly as he made his way into the hall.
     Ask questions? Yeah right! I’ll only get answers that don’t reveal why we are on the run for the gazillionth time.' “Trust me” and “I'll tell you when the time is right” were the only two answers Dad gave. 'Guess time with him will never be right.’
     It was no use arguing with him anyway. The last time, he threw me over his shoulder and carried me out without any of my things.
    So I grabbed the stuff I needed: my mp3 player, a photo of Mom that Dad didn't know I had, and my journal from underneath my bed. I tossed them into my backpack. It wasn't much, but it was the stuff that made my miserable life felt less pathetic. I zipped up my suitcase and took a deep breath. Looking around my bedroom for the last time, I said goodbye to my sixtieth-something room.
     Dad almost ran me over in the hall with his army bag slung over his shoulder. He grumbled, which I assumed was an apology, took my suitcase, and ran down the stairs. He always rented these huge old houses, pre-furnished and near the countryside, and we always left after three months.
     The pickup's horn honked as I shut the front door. I closed my eyes and took another deep breath. Just two more years, then I'll be eighteen and free from this freak show. Huge raindrops fell hard onto the ground. The smell of wet dirt filled the air. It was my favorite smell.
     The water that pooled on the ground covered all the gaps in the driveway, forcing me to hopscotch around all of them. My shoe got caught in one of the gaps and I smacked down hard in a huge puddle. By the time I reached the truck, my jeans and shoes were soaking wet.  Warm heat from the vents inside the truck hit me full blast as I jumped in; a million goose pimples erupted across my skin.  As soon as I shut the rusty door, Dad floored the gas pedal. Tires screeched and the truck spun away as if the Devil chased us.  My lower lip quivered softly as he swerved onto the road. The streetlights flew by in a blur as I plugged in my earpieces. The same stupid song about a miracle boomed from my mp3, drowning the sound of the engine and the hard dribbles on the roof, a percussion that became the perpetual soundtrack to my misery.
       A feeling of utter loneliness consumed my heart as I stared out the window. Homes with white picket fences and the convenient store whizzed by in a flash. A tear rolled down my cheek as I said goodbye, and my breath on the glass created a foggy condensation. Reaching out my index finger, I drew a small heart. These were the reasons why Mom had left. She couldn't handle his paranoia, but why she’d left her daughter to deal with it was a mystery. Dad constantly reminded me of the latter, and that was the only time he ever spoke of her. If he ever discovered I had that picture, he would kill me. That was how much he hated her for leaving us.
     The lights of a vehicle in the upcoming lane shone directly into my face. I shut my eyes, waiting for it to disappear. As a little girl, I used to watch Dad as we drove away from yet another house. He would glare into his rearview mirror every five seconds, every muscle in his face clenched, and his knuckles white on the steering wheel. I hadn’t been able to force myself to peek     out the window then, as it used to scare the living crap out of me to consider the possible reasons he was fleeing from, or who might be following us. Now, I didn't look at him or care much for what he was going through. He created this problem. With me becoming the luggage. It was a ritual I endured every three months, and nothing over the past sixteen years had ever changed that.
     The “Interstate 40” sign flew by in a whirl, and the pickup slowly moved onto the turnoff lane.
     My eyes started to burn as I stared at the rain running down my window. Each rivet resembled another town, another place I would never again call home. Exhaustion consumed me and my eyelids felt heavy. I laid my head against the window and struggled to stay awake.
     Suddenly, a dark and huge figure flew past me. Dad swerved to the left, which made me crushed into the side of the passenger’s door. My entire body pumped with adrenaline. I jumped straight in my seat and wrenched the seatbelt over my shoulder to buckle myself in. I tore out my earpieces as I tried to process what had just happened.
           “What was that?” I looked at Dad.
He stared straight ahead with huge eyes. Beads of sweat rolled from his hairline down to the side of his temple. He looked terrified, something that conflicted with his personality. I'd never seen Dad look that scared in my entire life.
     “Dad!”
     “Did you see where it went?” he asked, attempting to inject calm into his voice, but I could hear the fear lacing each syllable.
     “See where what went? Dad what was that!”
     “You wouldn't believe me if I told you.”
     “For once in your life, just tell me!” I screamed. Sixteen years of frustration exploded from my lungs. I couldn't take the unknown anymore.
    “Fine.” He mumbled something else that I didn't catch. "Do you remember the stories I used to tell you?"
    “Stories? What stories?”
    “The ones about Paegeia, Elena.” He looked in his rearview mirror again with huge, unblinking eyes.
     Vaguely, but I didn't tell him that. "What does that have to do with this?"
     “They're real.”
      I froze and I stared at him.
      “All of it, it’s real. The dragons, the magic, the wall, everything is real.”