Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

The Pleasantville Junior Detective Agency by Johnny Copper

       Perry Winkle love mysteries.  He reads the Old-Time Mystery Stories that are set in the  forties and fifties.  Perry is in the fourth grade but that doesn't stop him or slow him down.  He's able to look at the evidence and figure out who the bad guy is.  It's amazing to watch him work.

     This book contains ten mysteries. Each one is very well written and fun.  I think this type of book helps children put the pieces together of any situation.  They can then figure out who the culprit was.  I loved the casual way Perry goes into a case.  This book will engage your child's mind and keep it fun to read.  The characters could be anyone from their own school.  I think this book should be in your child's library. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this 5 cheers out of 5 because it's such a fun read. 

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Tail Lights by Connie L. Smith

       Preston's life hasn't been the greatest. Her mother left the family when she was a baby. Now it's just her brother and her father, except her father hates her.  An epic breakup from the man she adored makes her jump right in when a music contract comes her way.  She and her band dive in and have a great career.  Then Preston started her destructive behavior.  The label tells her she needs time away.  They arrange for her to head home to Knoxville.  Preston's not sure about this but she knows she needs to mend some fences.  What she learns could destroy her or make her even stronger.

      Full of such heartache, this book really lays it all on the line.  I enjoyed the characters. Fleshed out and three dimensional, they feel like old friends.  I was happy to see the work that went into mending the fences and the effort it took to stay in Knoxville.  Excellent writing and some turns you don't see coming keep this book interesting throughout.  I love the friendships and how deeply they are rooted.  You will too.  It's emotional, but then what breakup isn't?  This one is worth the price of admission.  Get your copy and see why Connie L. Smith has become another of my fave authors.

     The only issue I found was with the song lyrics. I think they could have been better marked so you can tell definitively where they start and stop.  Great lyrics though.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because even though it has the lyric issue, it's not enough to take away from the book.  

Monday, February 23, 2015

18 Thoughts by Jamie Ayres

      Olga looks around as she enters Conner's hospital room. The first thing she noticed was the really hot guy in the next bed.  Olga sat, as she usually did, waiting for Conner to come out of his coma.  She'd felt guilty about his accident.  She just wanted him to wake up and be Conner again.
      Nate had moved to this small town with his family.  He'd been in an accident that killed one other boy.  Being in the hospital gave him to much time to think about it.  When the hospital room door opened, Nate's breath was taken away by the girl who entered.  
      Nate and Olga become very close.  They both want  things to work out for them, but weird things keep happening.  One of those things is that Nate can read Olga's thoughts.   Life would never be "normal" again.

     Strong characters and excellent writing make this book one to read.  I enjoyed the mystery and the strange clues included in the story.  It's like nothing I've ever read before and it made me consider situations I'd never thought of.  If a book can make you think and entertain you too, it's a keeper.  Each clue given leads you to the answers Nate and Olga seek.  This is one I think everyone will enjoy.  There are many elements at work here.  Religion, supernatural and mystical elements are throughout the book.  You'll think you know the ending but Ms. Ayres gives us just a twist and leaves you speechless.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because this book is one for TBR pile. 

Dangerous Curves: The Ultimate Curvy Collection by Skye Eagleday

      Loving A Wounded Soldier, How Bad Can A Cowboy Be, Dominatrix and Her Cowboy, Loved By The Cowboy, Handyman Loving, Messing With The Missionary Man and Romancing the Wolf are the books included in this selection.  The theme throughout is sex with a sexy man.  This is an erotic book.  You'll enjoy the fact the women are curvy, not stick thin.  

     I liked the curvy woman aspect of this collection.  I felt it was about time someone was celebrating the curves.  Each story is sexy and erotic.  The writing is good. Not great, but good.  

     I found lots of issues.   The introduction to this collection is complete overkill.  It struck me as someone telling me the most intimate details of their life and we'd just met.  One of the other things about the introduction I didn't like was the heavy handed way the author brought her Native American ancestry in.  I'm Native American too, but I don't use it as a crutch as this author did.  The book excerpts are too long.  There's no clear way of telling when you've started the first story. Everything is run together.   As I said, the writing is good but can be better.  Character development also needs work.  If you're looking for a book filled with erotic scenes, then this might be for you.  If you're looking for a book with actual story lines, keep moving, these don't really have that.

     I gave this one 2 cheers out of 5 because it needs  so much work. 

Oliver and Jumpy Stories 7- 9 by Werner Stejskal

     Oliver and Jumpy are back with new stories.  In story seven, it snows and Oliver and his friends go out to play. They make a snowman almost like Frosty.  Story eight, we learn about Oliver as a kitten. His Mum taught Oliver all he'd need to know to be on his own.  The last story is about a tradition they have.  Everyone is given a number and those who lay eggs bring them to the town square.  Each egg has a number that matches the one the town people have.  What happens next? You'll have to get the book to find out.

     These short and sweet stories are perfect for nap time or bedtime.  Each one engages your child's imagination and attention.  I love these uplifting stories.  I really feel each child should have them in their library.  The illustrations are simply beautiful.  Together, the stories and their illustrations make these books more fun than any I've read in awhile. 

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because they  are simply wonderful stories. 

BEST deal! HITCHED by Karpov Kinrade


WARNING: Sexiness and language ahead! NSFW! ;-) 

Chapter 1: Unexpected Commitment 

"Wife?" I look down at the new ring on my left hand and see a similar ring on him as he stalks toward me in all his glorious nakedness. The water from his recent shower gives his ripped, tan body a sexy sheen.

Our bed is disheveled in a way that only all night fucking can accomplish. Empty bottles of Dom PĂ©rignon litter the high-end hotel room I've unexpectedly woken up in. I've retrieved most of my clothes, but stand holding one red high heel; the other is still lost somewhere.

"We appear to have had too much to drink last night," he says with a smirk on his handsome face, cobalt blue eyes penetrating. "I think we both got a bit carried away."

I pull my eyes off his body and focus them on his face, which doesn't help me as much as you might think, because this man is the most gorgeous male specimen I've ever seen in my life, and I work with strippers. Well, okay, mostly I work with the women since I own a company that plans bachelor and bachelorette parties, and men are more likely to hire strippers than women. But still, I've seen my share, and this man... I can't even...
With all the intelligence of my Ivy League business degree apparently out to lunch, I repeat again, "Wife?"

He's still naked, by the way, as he moves closer to me and reaches for my left hand. Heat floods me as our skin makes contact. He caresses the gold band on my left hand. "Wife."

His voice is husky and deep, and it sends shivers up my spine as my temporary, alcohol-induced amnesia fades, and a memory from the night before makes a belated appearance at the party.

Amazon: http://smarturl.it/HITCHEDAmazon





We're also having a MASSIVE Hitched/Whipped giveaway taking place all next week: We're giving away a Hitched series swag pack (red shoe keychain, postcard, bookmark, poster), signed copies of Hitched and Whipped, a Las Vegas panoramic puzzle, a puzzle necklace for 2, and a hot air balloon wine cork holder!



Friday, February 13, 2015

Review Coming Soon: TAIL LIGHTS by Connie Smith

  Preston and Nick endured the breakup of all breakups when Nick accused her of cheating on him. He insisted, and she denied while the rain pounded against her driveway and thunder roared in the distance. Then they both ran – Preston to a life of Rock and Roll, and Nick to a career in the Army. 

Over four years later, they’re damaged and broken almost beyond repair. He’s carrying baggage from his military days, and she bears the scars of living a lifestyle she’s grown to hate. 

When 
Preston’s label forces her to take time away from music, their paths cross in a parking lot not twenty-four hours after her hometown return, anger and sparks flying in a confusing blend. But regardless of the feelings neither has been able to shake, too many lies and secrets stand in the way of the one thing they need in order to recover. 

Each other.



Connie L. Smith spends far too much time with her mind wandering in fictional places. She reads too much, likes to bake, and might forever be sad that she doesn’t have fairy wings. And that she can’t swing dance. Her music of choice is severely outdated, and as an adult she’s kind of obsessed with Power Rangers. She has her BA from Northern Kentucky University in Speech Communication and History (she doesn’t totally get the connection either), and is currently working on her MA.
 
Links:





 

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

For Always by Danielle Sibarium

     Being a freshman and a magnet for death doesn't usually put you in the popular circles.  Stephanie was in that position now.  She has a secret crush, but she never thought it could be more than that.  
    Jordan Brewer is the cutest guy in school and a senior.  He notices Stephanie everyday.  Problem is, she's a freshman. In his eyes, too young for him to date.  He set out to be a very close friend.  
    Events unfold bringing Stephanie and Jordan together in a way neither imagined possible.  Trouble is neither knows if it will last forever.  

     I really enjoyed this book.  I was Stephanie in high school, without the outcome she has.  I was sent right back to those days while reading this.  My heart really went out to both characters in this book.  I just wanted to jump in the book or shout at them.  *smile*  The writing is excellent and the characters, ones you won't forget.   You'll be asking, how much can two people stand before they break.  This one will bring laughter, tears and frustration to you.  It's got it all!  This couple travels the long way around.  Just when you think it's over.... it isn't.

     I found no issues in this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really touched my heart.
   

The Fear Of Things To Come by Kathryne Arnold

     Sammi and Todd finally had their wellness retreat up and running.  They were both excited to open this new chapter of their lives.  The retreat kept them busy but they loved every minute of it.  Then it happened.  It changed every day of their  lives.  
    Neither had any idea what was headed their way.  Now, time is not on their side as they try to piece together the puzzle. 

     This is a great story and would be a blockbuster movie.  I would definitely see it.  I could relate to Sammi, the main character, so much.  The writing is good but the pacing is slow at times.  Keep reading though, you'll be rewarded for it.  I felt the creepiness of the situation and wanted to learn more.  It really only took me a few hours to read this one, it's that interesting.  You'll be looking over your shoulder as you read. I know I did. 

     The only issue is the pacing. It needs to be just a bit faster.

      I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because the pacing was slow. 

Friday, February 6, 2015

If You Were Me And Lived In...Scotland by Carole P. Roman

     Since we are going to Scotland we might need to learn a bit about the country.  Did you know Scotland is composed of seven hundred and ninety islands?  They make up the northern third of Great Britain.  They have a fun official animal. It's a unicorn.  It stands for purity, grace, healing and happiness. We could play golf or go to the Highland Games. We might even make it to Loch Ness.  Sounds like fun doesn't it? Let's go.

     I learned as much reading this book as your child will.  Information delivered in a fun and easy to understand style makes this one of my favorites.  I enjoyed every minute of my time with this book.  Your littles will love the illustrations and hearing about other children in their world.  I adore this series.  It's a wonderful teaching tool.  This series in your library will keep your children entertained for years to come.  I love it!

     I found no issues here.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a great way to learn about our world.

If You Were Me And Lived In...Hungary by Carole P. Roman

     We haven't traveled in awhile, so why don't we head to Hungary?  There are many places we can visit here.  Let's start by learning where we are.  Hungary is a landlocked country. It's surround by land.   We could go to the Hungarian Parliament building and take photos?  Of course we have to try some of the local favorite foods.  Maybe we'll even be in time for St. Steven's Day.  Then we can explore one or two of the one hundred and twelve caves they have there.

     It's a pleasure to read these books. They are informative and fun.  Even my teen girls enjoy them.    I felt as if I were there. Preparing to do the things we suggested.  They are colorful and easy for littles to understand.  These books will teach your child more about their world without giving too much information at once.  You need this series.

     I found no issues.

      I gave the book 5 cheers out of 5 because I love to travel this way.

Monster Goose Nursery Rhymes by Henry, Josh and Harrison Herz

     We enter a land of mythical creatures and so many monsters.  You will see that though these are rotten creatures, the rhymes are still musical when you read them.  These rhymes are so much fun, you might forget they are about monsters.

     I enjoyed this book. A brilliant twist on Mother Goose Rhymes.  I found it just different enough to hold my attention, yet not too scary.  Took me back when I read these aloud to my girls. The littles in your life will enjoy these so much.  It will become a favorite book quickly.

     I didn't find any issues.


I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because these rhymes were fun.

Cinderella's Secret Slipper by Alinka Rutkowska

     Cinderella and her Prince Charming have been married for awhile now. They also have a child.  It's Junior's fourth birthday and he's using  one of mom's (Cinderella)  glass slipper as a hammer.  Laughter, fun and magic are the order of the day.  Cinderella is hoping to replace her glass slipper, but is her fairy godmother still around?

     I laughed while I read this book.  It's different take on the Cinderella story, one that has been neglected.  The illustrations are cute and your little will adore this book.  I was delighted to hear what happened to Cinderella and Prince Charming.  We never hear the after story. *smile*  I was able to connect with my inner child with this book. It is amazing.  Your littles will love the fun and magic in this story. I recommend it.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a lighthearted book everyone will enjoy. 

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Cover Reveal: FOR ALWAYS - AND FOREVER by Danielle Sibarium

 For Always- “There’s nothing you can’t do if you want it bad enough.”
 
I entered the world with a massive defect. I attracted death. Like a magnet. I could feel it all around me. It wrapped its icy fingers tight around my chest, leaving me no room for escape.  That was my life before I met Jordan Brewer, the boy I became infatuated with. Obsessed with. The boy that became my everything.
 
I knew he wanted me, too. I saw it. I felt it. But he was older, and wouldn’t act on his feelings. I knew in time I’d make him mine. Just as he promised me a future together, his life was torn apart. He turned away from me and shut me out of his life. Could I convince him to let go of his past and hold on to me? Or would he continue to punish us both for something he couldn’t control?
 


Purchase links for For Always-
And Forever- Sometimes being with the one you love hurts more than being without them.”
 
“There’s nothing you can’t do if you want it bad enough.” This is the mantra Jordan Brewer drilled into my head since the day I met him. He convinced me nothing is out of my reach, not even him.  
 
I love Jordan, and Jordan loves me, but something always gets in the way. I had to fight tooth and nail to convince him we belong together. Now he’s mine, but I’m not sure our love is strong enough to survive.
 
I’m away at school and Jordan’s playing drums for a local band. We hardly see each other, and when we do, he’s haunted by demons from his past. I’m struggling to fit in and he’s struggling with his ever-growing mountain of guilt. Will we be able to hold on to each other through the tough times, or will it all come tumbling down around us? 

AND FOREVER- coming FEBRUARY 19, 2015

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Oliver and Jumpy by Werner Stejskal

     Oliver and Jumpy are best friends. They  have so many adventures together.  Oliver is a very handsome black cat.  Jumpy is a beautiful kangaroo.  Jumpy also has a child named Joey.  The three of them decide to go to Monkey Island in story 4.  Joey is kidnapped and Oliver must find a way to save him.  In story 5 they meet Milly the mole and she takes them on an adventure through caves.  She introduces them to Fairyland where they see the beautiful palace.  In story 6 a new table is needed. The  three go to an antique shop. The table they purchase proves to be even more special than they realize. It has a hidden draw that's holding a map.  Each character and adventure is full of lessons and fun.

     These characters will make an active imagination even more active.   I love the bright, wonderful illustrations.  Each one is a work of art.  The writing is spectacular. The little in your life will be begging for you to read these books to them. I found the stories funny and sweet. It involves things your child already enjoys, therefore you have a win-win.  I love the characters because even though they are animals, they are doing some very human things.  Delightful and quick, they are perfect just before nap or bedtime.  It's a lovely way to calm a child before sleeping.  Perfect addition to any library.

     I didn't find issues.

     I gave these books 5 cheers out of 5, can't wait to read these to littles in my life.

Sunday, February 1, 2015

Whipped by Karpov Kinrade

     Vi is an intense woman. She isn't shy about how she gets her pleasure.  She gave up her job as a professional Dominatrix.  Vi and Zoe decided to open an up scale adult toy store in Las Vegas.  One of Vi's customers is Lachlan.  He's with a different woman every time he comes into the store.  Vi and Zoe enjoy having his sexy body in the store but that's where it ends.  Or will it?  Vi needs a roommate until the store gets in the green.  Rent is late as is most of her other bills.  She hopes her ad for a roommate will find the perfect person.  She may be in for a surprise though. 

     OFF THE CHARTS HOT!!!  I found this book sexy, funny and even romantic.  It really brings out the message of not judging a book by it's cover.  I enjoyed the characters. Sassy and honest, they keep the heat up in this one.  I felt the heat on every page.  I think this book will start a bonfire in your home.  It definitely gets you in the mood for a little playing of your own.  Reading passage out loud to each other increases the erotic tone by one thousand degrees.  You NEED this book. It should be at the top of your TBR pile.  Karpov Kinrade knows how to bring the heat!!

     I found Vi to be a little softer than she was in Hitched by Karpov Kinrade, but it doesn't take away from the book.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it will turn up the heat in your home.