Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

After the Kill (A Jake Roberts Novel Book 4) by Cary Allen Stone

     Vacationing in Phoenix was not going how Jake and Caitland had planned. It was supposed to be some down time spent with good friends. Of course Caitland still had to make trips to L.A. for business, but for the most part she and Jake stayed pretty low key. Life couldn't be better.. or could it?

     A touching story that reaches to the very depths of your soul. This man has been through more than most, and he keeps going.  Extremely well written, wonderfully defined characters and a story that will stay with you long after you've finished the book.  I can't recommend this book any higher. It's fabulous and I enjoy each new book added to the series. I feel as though I know this man and I like that in a book. Characters who feel close make the story more touching.  You need to read this book and see for yourself just how wonderful this series is.

     The only issue was the opening. I felt it was way out of place with this series.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because this book series is one I'd like to see around for a long time. 

FEAR DREAMS by J.A. Schneider

     Liddy is home now and healing from her accident. She just wants life to get back to normal but she doesn't want to wait. Paul is there for Liddy. He gives her love and attention.  Liddy just isn't sure what will make things okay again. Her friends tell her, time, time is what it will take.

     OMG! You are gonna love this psychological thriller. J.A. Schneider is a master at crafting a story you can just lose yourself in. Extremely well written, characters who are well defined and a story that has you saying WHAT?? WHAT???  I adore this author and her work. You will be treated to a book you'll be telling others about. Ms. Schneider's books would transfer beautifully to televisions series or big time movies. I love this book more than I can express. Get your copy and join us in our adoration of J.A.Schneider!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one a 5 + cheers out of 5 because it will rock you off your chair. 

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

The Father Hunt (A Flawed Story) by Becca J. Campbell

     Graham was so ready for winter break from school. He was looking forward to relaxing and his trip to Florida. Graham has been wondering about his father lately. He's always been curious though. After finding a letter from his father, Graham decides to find him. His mother won't talk about his father. It's going to make things a little tougher, but Graham won't give up.

     Ms Campbell is a marvelous story teller. This book is very well written with characters who are three dimensional. The twists in this book make it one you're unable to aside. I could see the mother's point of view but I can also see Graham's point of view. I love this series of books, The Flawed Stories, because it reminds us no one is perfect. The Father Hunt will pull those heart strings too. It's just an all around spectacular read. Get them for your library.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it has all you'd want in a great book.


GIVEAWAY!

     Becca J. Campbell is giving away books in this series.

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b207764d34/


Friday, March 18, 2016

Being a Captain is Hard Work: A Captain No Beard Story by Carole P. Roman

     The Captain and his crew are headed for Dew Rite Volcano. They haven't gone far when things started to go very wrong. The Captain would not listen to his crew when they warned of storms and getting lost. Captain No Beard knew what he wanted to do and for awhile it was pretty scary.  Will they go to the Volcano or head home?

     This series is phenomenal! Each one has a lesson or two for the littles to learn. The illustrations are elegant and colorful.  The writing is perfect for young kids. The characters are well defined and lovable.  Your child will never get tired of this book or this series.  Ms. Roman always delivers good quality books. Check them out.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a chance to spend time with your littles.

If You Were Me And Lived In Egypt by Carole P. Roman

  We are heading to Egypt! So many fun things to learn about this country. Egypt is a transcontinental country. It means Egypt is in two countries. Part of the country is in Africa and the other part in Asia. Egypt is also one of the oldest nations. Let's explore!

     Beautiful illustrations and the perfect amount of information make this book, and this series a must read. I love that it's not just boring statistics. We really get to learn about this country. Excellent writing and the characters make you want to learn more. Seriously, get this series for your littles.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's like a mini encyclopedia.

Expect Deception (Operation Delphi #2) by JoAnn Smith Ainsworth

      Livvy and her team are trying to find new ways to stop spies. It's not an easy task. Just when they think they've found a spy, he disappears. Suddenly, everyone is sick but the doctor can't find a reason why. The White House is pressuring Livvy and her group to find the spies. It's as though someone is misleading the group at every turn. Now what can they do?

     This World War  II book is an easy read. It's well written and the plot is amazing. The characters are well defined and easy to like. I felt as though I was right there with them. I think the twist to this book is very unique and it captured my attention from the first chapter. You'll enjoy learning about the characters and their lives. I know I did.

     I did find a small issue. I enjoy this series, but I'd like to have seen a little romance in it. 

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because WWII is so interesting.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Cave Kiddos: A Sunny Day by Eric Jay Cash

     These cave kiddos are learning something new today. Because the sun is high in the sky, the cave kiddos need something to drink. Watch as they learn to sound out the word.

     Absolutely adorable! Geared toward children one to six. I enjoyed the beautiful illustrations and the story itself. Your children will love this one because in no time they'll be able to read it to you. Another for your child's library.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's perfect for the wee ones.

Oliver and Jumpy: Stories 37-39 by Werner Stejskal

     Oliver and Jumpy have new adventures! Oliver, the cat and Jumpy, the kangaroo are all set to take us on a trip. These two meet many people and animals. They always have fun when they are together. Story 37, Rescue In The Picture, tells us about a new way to travel. Mystical and wonderful, this trip takes place in the islands. Oliver and Jumpy save a human girl from the natives. Story 38, Wet Cat, reminds us just how much cats dislike being wet. Oliver doesn't do well on boats either. While traveling to one of the islands, Oliver falls overboard. Some new friends save him. Story 39, Down River gives us a chance to revisit Ghost Castle. Before we get there, Oliver and Jumpy decide to take a canoe ride. Before they know it, they are headed for the rapids.

     This series of books are a must for any child's library. Easy to read and follow, these books give your child a chance to use their imagination. The stories are just the right length for the littles in your life. They don't get the chance to be bored. The writing is superb and the characters are kid friendly. Your child will want to read these again and again. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because they are such a delight.

I'm not Making This Up: The Best Makeup Tips and Tricks by Natalia Zurawska

     Have you ever wondered what a makeup artist could teach you? There are so many products out there and not everyone knows how to use them. Maybe you just need a refresher course. Maybe you just need to learn one thing. Well now you can. This author has ten years experience and is ready to teach.

     I think this is an awesome book. It's perfect for those young women who are unsure about how to start. The book also helps those of us who've used makeup for years. It's easy to follow and in no time you will have the look you want. From the basics to more complicated looks, Ms. Zurawska is here with the solutions. 

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a great resource.
     

Monday, March 14, 2016

The Blind Seer (Cindy's Crusades #52) by Susan Jean Ricci

     Jay is enjoying his retirement. In fact, he and his wife, Cindy, had just returned from a trip in their RV. Everything about the trip was wonderful. When they arrive home, they are suddenly at odds. Cindy isn't sure what's happening but she intends to find out. Jay hasn't been acting like the man she married. He seems to be.. off in some way. Cindy has to figure out why he's changed before they end up in divorce court.

     Tender, loving and full of charm! Ms. Ricci writes so beautifully. Her characters are like old friends. This particular couple are a delight to read about. The path they guide you along is well worth the visit. While this book is a marvelous stand alone read, I suggest you get the other books about this couple. You'll laugh and smile as you read each one. Fantastic Ms. Ricci.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because Cindy and Jay are like part of the family.

Broken Pride (Broken City #3) by D.D. Chant

     In the future, your last name could be a reason to be held against your will. It's not just other countries you have to fear, it's people across town or even your neighbor. You must choose carefully when you decide to become part of a group. One young couple will risk everything to be together. Will they be strong enough to survive?

     The book is very well written and has terrific characters. I'm always curious to see how people will portray our future. I really enjoyed the "Romeo and Juliet" type of relationship the young couple have. The book is captivating and well worth the read.

     I did find an issue. I felt as if I was missing some information. Like I jumped into the middle of a conversation. You definitely have to read the others in the series.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because I felt lost as I read this one.

Expect Trouble by JoAnn Smith Ainsworth

     It's 1943 and Lieutenant Olivia Delacourt is assigned her first really important mission. She is anxious to show the powers-that-be just how efficient she is. Olivia's first surprise comes when she finds out who her commanding officer will be. Barrington Drew III is someone Olivia's known since high school. As they set up their offices and welcome staff, she wonders what this mission will entail. The entire staff is in for a huge surprise. 

     I am elated about this book. Well written, plotted well AND history? It's a sure fire winner. The characters are well defined and three dimensional. Ms. Ainsworth tells this story in an easy manner and keeps you asking for more. I found myself rooting for Olivia and her team. Imagine if this were a true story. It would add another layer to World War II.  I enjoyed the setting and getting acquainted with the characters. I am ready for more of Ms. Ainsworth's work! This book would make for an amazing mini-series.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of  5 because I love history. 

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Bullets From The Past by Antonio Scotto di Carlo

     Murders are happening everywhere. One young woman begins to wonder when she finds out two of the women she knew. Scared and not really knowing what to do, she turns to the local police for help. As the puzzle comes together, the picture is more frightening than the young woman could imagine. 

     The powerful opening sentence of this book sets the tone for the rest of the story. Psychological thriller is the label that fits most with this story. Well written and plotted, you won't want to stop until you finish the book. You'll also be thinking twice when out alone after dark. These characters are very relatable. The author writes with passion and you feel it. The most troubling thing of all? This story could be about any of us. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I can see this happening.

The Silver Link by Gwen Kirkwood

     Elspeth Elliot was just finishing college when her uncle died. He left his beautiful farm to her. Elspeth decided she must go home to run the farm and take care of her grandmother. When Elspeth arrives home, she finds nothing as it should be. 
     Robin Armstrong was thrilled Elsepth was coming home. His adjoining farm kept him busy but he knew he'd be seeing a lot of Elspeth. He started a fire long ago that branded Elspeth as his.

     A beautiful story so well written and plotted you just sort of sink deeper into your chair. Characters are well defined. I so enjoyed following Elspeth as she begins to run their farm. It's almost as if you can actually feel the love Robin has for Elsepth. This book is an easy read and one you will enjoy more than once. Ms. Kirkwood's story telling ability is amazing. This is one for the TBR pile.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's spectacular!

Friday, March 4, 2016

#BabyLove: My Social Life by Corine Dehghanpisheh

     This book gives you a look at social media through a baby's eyes.  The child is unsure why all the tapping and tweeting is going on. Why there are many photos taken.

     A fun book for wee ones! The illustrations and story are simply wonderful. Your child might not understand  it, but they will love hearing the story over and over. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because it is extremely short. 

Call Me, Maybe by Ellie Cahill

     Clementine was not looking forward to the trip to California. The family made no secret they wanted her in the business. Clementine wasn't sure what she wanted to do.  The only reason she agreed to the trip was to keep her brother company. After some confusion at the airport, Clementine and Honor, her brother, boarded the plane. Once they were settled, Clementine discovers the confusion at the airport was the least of her worries.

     You will be harnessed to your chair once you begin this book. It's light, funny and romantic beyond measure. The story is very well plotted and written. The characters you can't help but fall for. This story builds slowly and steadily. I believe you will finish this book with a smile on your face.  I'd love to read more about this family and this couple. Call Me, Maybe will make your heart feel lighter and be something you'll talk about with friends.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because this would be a marvelous start to a series.

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Kaleidoscope of Hopes by Devika Fernando

     Nadia meets her new neighbors quite by accident. As they are moving in, the little girl rolls her ball into the street. She takes off after it without looking. Suddenly a van is rapidly approaching her. Nadia grabs the girl and pulls her to safety.  Nadia couldn't know how saving that little girl would change her life.

     This story is a beautiful one. It's unique and sweet. 

     The issues I found are many. The opening is confusing. It says Nadia gets a life changing letter, then drops that part of the story. The plot needs to be reworked. It repeats so very much and some of the grammar doesn't work. It reads very stiffly. It would be tremendous if changes were made.

     I gave this one 2 cheers out of 5 because the story is so beautiful but wow it needs work. 

Joseph's Journey: When Dad Left And Never Came Back by Christina Nicole Smith

     Joseph begins to wonder why his dad never came home. He asks questions of his mother. She explains about choices and how you can't tell what's in another person's heart or mind.  It helps Joseph accept the situation.

     This book is the perfect way to explain choices to your children. There are so many things they wonder about and they boil down to the choices others have made. It's well written and educational. Your child should have this one in their library.

     The only issue I found was with the e-book. There were WAY to many pages of clutter before you even get to the story. I appreciate dedications but more than that isn't necessary.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because of the clutter. 

Icy Silence by Sandra Nikolai

     An isolated boarding school with extremely strict rules is the setting for career day. Michael and Megan were invited to speak to a class about their jobs. It was also going to be a chance for Michael to catch up with an old friend. When they arrive, the school is nothing like either of them imagined. A weekend trip becomes so much more. 

     This book is a very easy read. A simple mystery with no real big surprises.  I liked the story line. It was well plotted and written. The main characters don't seem to be very enlightened. They also aren't completely believable. Their are un-needed details and the author seems to underestimate what the characters are thinking. Ms. Nikolai does a really great job of building a suspect list and she ties up all the story lines. This book will be the perfect quick read for someone who just wants a little distraction.

     I listed the issues above.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issues.