Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Coming Soon!! A Blog Tour by Brina Courtney, author of REVEAL!!



12/09/2011 Starts off at my blog for the kickoff! (Giveaway)
12/10/2011 http://writersrevue.com/ Guest Post On Indie Writing and Review (Giveaway)
12/11/2011 wordspelunking.blogspot.com Review
12/12/2011 http://www.jessicadstampe.com Guest Post on Ghosts
12/13/2011 http://rens-rambles.blogspot.com Interview
12/14/2011 http://karendelabar.com Interview
12/16/2011 REVEAL RELEASE DAY! http://followingthereader.blogspot.com Review
12/17/2011 wordspelunking.blogspot.com Interview
12/19/2011 http://www.imabookshark.com Interview
12/22/2011 TBA
12/23/2011 Back to my blog to end it!
Review of: Perry Bear Goes for a Walk by: Jack R. Mason
*Children's*


Perry Bear is a wonderful new friend for children.  His walk ends up helping several of his friends along the way.  This book includes several lessons for children and I love that.  The illustrations and writing are spot on to teach children about friends, math and helping.  Well written and easy to follow, your children will love this book and look forward to more of Perry Bear's adventures.  Such a lovable, sweet way to teach your children without it seeming like they are learning. Books such as these are invaluable to parents with little ones starting to show interest in books, or those who love to read and learn.  Good work Mr. Mason!


I give this book 5 out of 5 books because it's a terrific learning tool.

Thursday, November 24, 2011

We did it!!  We have reach a milestone. 1,000+ pageviews!! Thank you to all who visit and to the authors who've allowed me to review their work! I hope we can continue to bring you honest reviews about the books out there.  If you have any book you'd like to be review, just contact me. Again, thank you to everyone!! 


Melanie/kissablysweet1

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Review of: The 19th Element by: John L. Betcher


James L. Becker is an attorney, at least that's what those of his small hometown believe.  John and his wife Beth, worked as agents for the USA before settling down in Red Wing, MN.  Terrorism was their work.  They decide to leave the agency and live more quietly in Red Wing while their daughter attends college out of state.  James realizes the problems that came with being an agent followed them into private life.  He senses there will be a terrorist attempt at one of the local nuclear power plants. It begins with a dead body and then the pieces of the puzzle start falling in line.  


 This book is thought provoking, intelligent and amazing.  I love the idea of showing that Americans are complacent when it comes to terrorism even if they don't believe they are.  The characters are a wonderfully written group of people. You can imagine these people living in your own neighborhood. I like that it informed.  The two problems I found with this book is for many it will prove to be extremely detailed and technical.  This isn't an easy read for the weekend, at least not for most people.  I know many will enjoy this book, still there are some who will start it but not finish it.  I did finish but WOW was it challenging.


 I give this book 3 out of 5 books because of the extreme detail and technical writing.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Coming in December!!


THE PERFECT MISTRESS Victoria Alexander—This title will be available for 1.99 on Nook as the Daily Find this coming Cyber Monday, 11/28 only.


 KISS OF FROST Jennifer Estep  


NIGHTSHIFT Kate Douglas; Crystal Jordan


LIFESTYLES OF THE RICH AND SHAMELESS Kiki Swinson


 A PLACE CALLED HOME Jo Goodman


 Check out these titles for the holidays!! Remember, books make terrific gifts, stocking stuffers or that unexpected gift.


Happy Thanksgiving!!
Melanie/ kissablysweet1



Review of: Remembrance by: Michelle Madow
*YA*


A new school year and Elizabeth's life is about the change in ways she could never dream of.  Lizzie dated Jeremy since middle school and now at 17, everyone sees them as THE couple.  Then Drew moves into town.  The connection is unmistakable and instant between Lizzie and Drew.  It feels almost like they've met before.  Lizzie's friend Chelsea also feels that instant connection with Drew.  Things start happening that Lizzie can't explain. She isn't sure she understands it herself.  How could all this be possible?  She's about to find out.


  A wonderfully, well written book! You will need an open mind and heart but this is a terrific book!! I recommend this one to everyone, regardless of age.  I loved that it wasn't so obvious as could have easily been the case. It gave you side trips to keep you wondering where the information was coming from and how it could all be possible.  You'll love to snuggle in and read this heartwarming story of love, patience and second chances!!


I give this book 5 out of 5 books!  WONDERFUL!!
Review of: Committed by: John W. Mefford


Michael Doyle is expecting another day of drudgery when his bosses announce the sale of the company.  Michael isn't sure what to do next, but he knows changes are coming and coming fast.  Just when he feels life can't get worse, he finds a body near the dumpster in a garbage bag.  Michael becomes a journalist and amateur sleuth while trying to find out what happened to the girl in the garbage bag.  His journey leads to more clues, more answers and even a bit of information that hits close to home. 

   Fast paced, provocative and sensual, this drama isn't one you'll easily want to let go of.  John W. Mefford has created a whole new world for us to explore and I'm certainly glad I did.  Intelligent and easy reading will keep you moving and craving more while devouring this book.   I enjoyed the characters and the doors that will open for Michael Doyle in the years to come.  I love that he wasn't looking for the job of journalist or sleuth but they seem to come naturally to him.  Made for seamless reading, no trying to make a leap that wasn't already there. I enjoy that!!


I give this book 5 books out of 5 because it blew me away!!




Amazon (US):  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0060LL4IA


Amazon (UK): https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0060LL4IA

Barnes & Noble: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Committed/John-W-Mefford/e/2940013250741


AUTHOR'S Website:  http://www.johnwmefford.com



Sunday, November 20, 2011

Review of: When a Duke Says I do BY: Jane Goodger
released on December 6, 2011


 Miss Elsie Stanhope has an unusual habit..she falls asleep most anywhere.  There is a reason for it. She's a pleasant young woman who has lost her mother and her twin sister.  She and her father are all that's left.  Miss Stanhope has been betrothed since birth and she is on pins and needles waiting to hear when her groom will claim her in matrimony.  Alexander then happens into her life. He's a mute but very strong and handsome. Miss Stanhope feels there is something he's hiding and she's determined to find out what it is.  If he's hiding a secret, it can change both of their lives forever.  Together they begin to unwind a lifetime of pain each has endured.  Love truly can't be arranged, bought or given up easily. The path they take bonds them in a way neither expected.


 This book is one I highly recommend to historical fans, but also to those looking for a new book.  The story is amazingly sad and lovely at the same time. After you read it, 'When a Duke Says I Do' will be on your bookshelf for years to come. You will want to read it over and over.  It shows love, pain and happiness can coexist in a relationship and help both parties to grow and learn.  I loved the idea of a fairy tale coming true for a man this time.  One you'll smile about and enjoy sharing with your friends!


I give this book 5 out of 5 books. Terrifically romantic and delightfully sweet.
Review of: The Tourist by: Jack Everett and David Coles


  Robert Cleghorn is a product of the United States Special Forces.  He becomes too good at his job and the government decides to "retire" Robert.  The way they do this is by giving him medication that wipes his memory clean and then give him false memories to hang on to. He lives on the edge. The younger brother and the one considered the black sheep. Stewart White is a Detective Inspector, newly minted.  He's ready for the job and the move to a new location. He's a modern day Sherlock Holmes. In fact, his middle name is Sherlock.  He's very good at solving crimes and when his path intersects with Robert Cleghorn there is no exception. Stewart figures out what Cleghorn is up to fairly easily and then must stop him before anyone else dies.  These two men are part of a story  that makes you wonder what else can happen. 


  I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The way it incorporated up-to-date events with old fashioned crime solving is amazing.  As you know I'm not one who is really a mystery reader, but I think I'm becoming a convert after this book. Filled with action and intelligent, well thought out dialogue, it's one you will be thinking about for days after you finish. You'll keep wondering how probable these things are.  I was unhappy with the fact it was set in Florida, USA and said nothing about the main character being English, yet most of his dialogue was seemingly in the Queen's English.  Makes it seem a bit odd. Other than that, I recommend this book for all. It's a page turner and then some.


I give this book 4 out of 5 books only because of the language thing. 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Review of: Forever and A Day by: Delilah Marvelle


  Set in 1830 New York City, Georgia Emily Milton meets a gentleman on Broadway far from her Five Points home.  When he is struck by an omni, she feels it's her duty to stay with him and watch over him until he's well.  After all he was struck while trying to save her reticule from a thief.  Georgia soon learns what real love is. What it means to give yourself completely to  another.   The man, Lord Yardley, is also learning.  He's realizing what it means to scrape and work for each bit of food you have. To enjoy the simple things of the world. He's also learning what it means to be truly and deeply smitten with your soul mate.  The two have a long road to go before they reach their goal.  


  A love story to warm your heart and renew your faith in love. The first book I've read that begins from the other side of the society map.  A woman without means, in a dangerous part of NYC finds gold in Lord Yardley.  I love that this book shows a different side of poverty. It allows others to see not everyone in poverty just took the easy road out. They worked hard, stayed honest, and did things the way they should.  I highly recommend this book!! This is the season to believe in hope..and this book reinforces it.  


 I give this book 5 out of 5 books because it's beyond awesome! You can't go wrong with this one.

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Review of : A New Set of Rules By: Stacia E. Carlton

Julianne is a woman in  transition not only in her life, but her career as well.  Her marriage fell apart. Her affair ended. She likes her husband's pregnant girlfriend. She's becoming close to her family again and growing everyday as a person.  Julianne takes an adventurous ride through some very high, highs and some equally low, lows.  With the help of her friends, her family and thinking things through, she reaches some major decisions in her life.  Julianne reconnects with loved ones from the past, and works on letting go of those people in her present she no longer needs. 

  This story is one that will make you wander through your own life and think about how things turned out. It will open your mind to a new way of looking at things and give you a chance to see life through new eyes.  The sex scenes are amazing and you'll enjoy the philosophical side as well.  I felt the epilogue was a bit long, but am glad it contained one. Gave us a chance to see what becomes of Julianne. I recommend this book for those who enjoy a book that makes them think as well as takes you away to another place. 

 I give this book 4 out 5 books only because I felt it wandered from the point at times. 

Friday, November 11, 2011

Review of: His Mistress By Christmas  By: Victoria Alexander
 *Historical*


 Lady Veronica Smithson has decided she wants to celebrate this Christmas a little differently.  She wants to become Sir Sebastian Hadley- Attwater's mistress.  Her best friend is Sir Hadley- Attwater's cousin, Portia, who introduces the two of them, in a way.  Once Lady Smithson has seen this rogue and explorer speak, she's determined to convince him to take her as his mistress.  She's been married and while that was pleasant enough, she's not ready to give up all the freedom being a widow allows.  For his part, Sir Hadley-Attwater is similarly taken with Lady Smithson.  He will go out of his way to share his first Christmas in 12 years in England,  with Lady Smithson.   Both go about convincing the other in unusual ways that their's is the perfect solution. 


 It was wonderful to read a book with a heroine who was so modern thinking. Independent, self reliant, and yet sweet, kind to those around her.  I'd say Lady Smithson is ahead of her time in many ways. You will laugh, smile and root for these two people!  The humor makes the book go so much faster than you'd like it to.  Unconventional methods used by these two people will keep you wondering what's going to happen next.  The one thing I'd like to have seen was an epilogue explaining the next Christmas or two Christmas' from when the story ends.  I feel that little peek would have given the readers even more to look forward to.


 I gave this book 5 books out of 5! It's an awesome read, not just for the holidays but anytime!!
Review of: A Killer's Touch  By: Michael Benson
*True Crime*

This book is about the Case of Denise Lee.  It happened in 2008 and is by far one of the most involved books I've ever read on this topic.  Michael King, kidnapped, raped and murdered Denise within hours.  He drove right into her driveway and forced her to his car, leaving her two toddlers alone in their crib. This case started in Florida but involved Michigan as well.  Michael King's family is in Michigan.  He would come back here (yes I'm in Michigan) to visit family.  After forcing Denise to leave her home in broad daylight, he took her back to his home where he had a "rape dungeon".  He kept her there for a few hours then put her back in his car and drove to a wooded, swampy area and killed her.  This brutal crime was so blatant and heinous it shocked everyone.  Neighbors and others spotted King's car and him. They positively identified him and his vehicle.  Denise tried to saved herself and leave clues. She was able to successfully call 911 with King's cell phone. She screamed "Help Me" any time they were near other cars.  

 I do enjoy reading true crime. I always have. However this book is extremely intense and graphic.  I wasn't prepared for that. It had a negative affect on me.  I remember this case. I remember reading about it and hearing about it in the news.  The book gives you play by play as if you were sitting in the court room.  At times I felt it gave to much detail. I think the technical side of it could have been explained better.  I know those who enjoy True Crime  will love this book and be glad they read it.  I recommend it, but only if you are a hardcore True Crime reader. 

I give this book 3 out of 5 books because it was super intense. 
Happy Friday all!  I am sorry my reviews have slowed down a bit. I haven't been in the best of health and it overwhelmed me this week.  I am posting a new review following this short note! 


 Remember if you have any books you'd like reviewed or know anyone looking for a reviewer, I'm open to all genres.

Sunday, November 6, 2011

HI and welcome!!  I'm happy to see that people are checking out the reviews! These authors work hard and deserve to have their work recognized!  Believe me if I don't like a book, I'll be the first to say so.  I've been lucky enough to fall into a vat of terrific books.


  I am open to reviews of all genres.  Just contact me and we'll get the ball rolling.  I love reading and telling others about the books I enjoy. I try to keep the reviews general enough not to give away to much of the story.  I really dislike when someone tells me 90% of the story in a review.  What reason would I have to read the book then?  


  I hope to keep the number of reviews growing.  Again thanks for following!! It means the world to me. 
Review of: Season for Temptation By: Theresa Romain


  Julia Herington is part of a lively family and excitedly planning her sister Louisa's wedding to Viscount Matheson.  The family is unconventional but extremely lovable.  During his first visit to the family's home, Viscount Matheson, James, meets the entire family in rather unusual ways. Julia bursts into the drawing room on a mission.  Once she see's James there she becomes embarrassed at her entrance and tries to explain but ends up making it all seem somewhat funny.  Julia speaks her mind. Whatever pops into her head comes out her mouth...even if it isn't always appropriate. One of her most wonderful qualities.  The more time James spends with the family, the more he realizes he will be very happy with them as in-laws.  
    In trying to make his bride-to-be happy, James goes out of his way to do things to make her smile and feel at ease. He is unaware there are problems.  James also realizes he's falling in love.  He's never felt like this before with anyone. His mother of course disapproves of his choice in brides, however it doesn't stop James from charging ahead with his plans.   I'm trying not to give away the entire story here and it's not easy..*smile*.  This whole book takes place prior to and during the Christmas holidays. One of my favorite times of the year. 
     I found this book to be witty, wonderful and endearing.  I can well imagine a situation like this happening.  I enjoyed the light fun and the quirkiness of Julia's family.  It's a terrific read and one you will smile about for days.  Buy this book and enjoy!!  Season for Temptation is such an enjoyable book I read it in just a few hours.  Perfect for this time of year. 


   I give this book 5 books out of 5.  You'll read this one again and again!!

Friday, November 4, 2011

Review of: Dark Future By: KC Klein


        Kris is awakened by noises in her house at 4:30am.  She's sure an intruder broke in and decides to try to find out who it is.  Creeping through the house, she's astounded when she finds the intruder is herself.  From the Future.   The future her is even better than the original! Then she learns why the future her is there and how it affects her.  What follows is a love story and a fight to end all fights. Kris is pushed beyond her limits and more.  She sees things and experiences things she never thought possible.  She also learns the future isn't exactly what she thought it would be. Now she must do her part.


        I don't want to say to much more about this book because it will spoil it if I do.  I'm not usually a futuristic/ time travel fan BUT... this is one I couldn't put down.  I had to keep reading to see where the story went next.  I couldn't guess where this story was going to take me, but I did enjoy the ride. It knocked my socks off! Do yourself a huge favor and GET THIS BOOK!! You won't be sorry you did.  It will make you ask questions and think of the world in a whole new way.  Can you even imagine being told YOU must go into the future and complete some tasks?  Can you imagine what it would be like?  I thought I could, this book changed all that for me.  Terrific read and highly recommended!!




I give this book 5 books out of 5! Dark Future is one you'll read again and again

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Review of: Christmas at Timberwoods  By: Fern Michaels


  Heather is facing the busiest time of the year for a mall, Christmas. Being the security manager, Heather handles all kinds of issues for the mall. She's seen just about everything and is prepared to face it once again until a young woman shows up unannounced at her office.  Angela, the young woman, is frantic and telling Heather about a situation that will occur at the mall.  Heather's unsure at first whether to believe her or not.  Angela came across as sincere, but there was something about her. Heather decides to keep the information to herself until Angela shows up again.  Now she has no choice but to share the information with her bosses and others at the mall. The story that follows will keep you entertained and on the edge of your seat.  Trying to deal with normal Christmas time issues and this added problem plays on everyone's nerves.  It brings some together and tears others apart.  


    I loved this book because you can almost visualize the whole thing at your local mall.   You can see in your mind's eye the situations described and the people involved.  It's very real life in that way.  The characters are well defined and mostly likable people.  You'll be rooting for some and booing for others. Fern Michaels hits another one out of the ball park with this book.  It will make you look at families, Christmas and your local mall in a whole new way.  I felt sad for some of the characters but as this story is so real to life, I understand why these characters were necessary.  The only problem I saw was that Angela seems bipolar or manic on top of her other talents. I thought it was unnecessary to portray her in this light. It made it more difficult to accept anything she said as the truth. I think it could have been handled in a different way and still maintained the spirit of the book. 


   I give this book 5 out of 5 books because it's an awesome read!!