Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Monday, July 16, 2018

The Season of Silver Linings (Sweet Lake #3) by Christine Nolfi

     Usually, Sweet Lake is a quiet small town where neighbors still help neighbors. At least until now. Jada Brooks is trying to keep the Wayfair Inn running smoothly while her friends and partners deal with personal matters.   The Wayfair Inn is busier than it's been in years. With love in the air, Jada is hopeful it will help her find her Mr. Right. Before that can happen, the past comes back with questions. 

     Extremely well written, well plotted and characters to fall in love with. The pacing of this read is comfortable. I love the little surprises along the path too. Ms. Nolfi knows how to make a book come alive in your hands. You'll enjoy the humor as well. I loved this book and it's part of a series. Each book in the series stands alone too. Get this one for your beach read, book club or as a gift for your friends.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's truly spectacular.

Saturday, July 14, 2018

The Staircase of Fire (Shakertown Adventure #3) by Ben Woodard

     In his short life, Tom had encountered many things he didn't agree with. He did his best to just deal with it, keep his head low and move forward. When circumstances change, Tom knows he must get out of town. With no money and only a handful of friends, can he do it?

     Racism, maturity, love and family are all included in this book. It's filled with historical information. This book is compelling reading.  I found the writing to be wonderful in this easy read book. The characters have been developed and the plot easy to follow. Mr. Woodard handles the racism in a way that doesn't inflame the story. This book will keep your attention throughout and you'll be surprised by the ending. Another great read from Ben Woodard.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a must read for all ages.

Thursday, July 12, 2018

COMING SOON! Dangerous Liaisons by Barbara Tyree



Drug dealers, an unknown stalker, murder, twins separated at birth. What more can happen in the small city of Lexington, Virginia?

Special Agent Sierra Lancaster and Special Agent Colton Jameson go undercover in search of  a drug-dealing operation on Morris County High School premises.
Never before has Sierra dreaded an undercover operation. It’s been years since she’s been in Lexington. Faced with the prospect of seeing her three ex-best friends, one of which was the love of her life, Johnny Nelson.

Johnny Nelson, Jordan Andrews, and Brad Geistmere want answers from Sierra. However, they have yet to discover their friend is an FBI agent as they try to get answers from her.


Title:  Dangerous Liaisons
Author:  Barbara Tyree
Publication Date:  July 9th
Paperback Price: $13.99
Digital Price:  pre-order price $2.99 Release price $4.99
Pages: 224 ebook
ASIN:
Ebook ISBN:  9781946382344  
paperback ISBN: 9781946382351

Buy Links:


Check back for review of Dangerous Liaisons soon!!


Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Summer's End by Kristy Brown

     As Summer opens her eyes, she feels as if she's in a strange place. Looking around she realizes she's in the hospital but that's all she knows. Summer tries to sit up and the pain shooting through her is horrible. If only she could remember how she got here. Then again, it must have been something pretty bad if she landed here. She'll figure it all out, she has too.

     This book is fantastic! The story line is easy to follow.  It's a well plotted book and Ms. Brown set the pace at an easy speed. You're gonna love the characters, I know I do.  They are richly developed and realistic. I enjoy the fact Ms. Brown keeps you just outside the loop so you don't figure things out until she wants you to. *smile*  This one should be on your TBR pile and on your young adult's TBR pile. Perfect for a book club to read and discuss. I didn't want it to end. Thank you Ms. Brown for another book I can wholeheartedly recommend.

     I didn't find any issues.  I would however like to know more about the friends.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it has a very powerful ending. 

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

I Got Some Great News!!



I am so happy  to get this news. I strive to always do my best. 

Melanie

Sunday, June 24, 2018

Levels To My Insanity UnMastered by Adrianne Mouton

     Pain and loss are a big part of the picture. How can you stop it? When you have many horrible things happening in your life, how do you cope? Is there a way to cope? 

     I found this book to be deeply troubling. If we have different levels of insanity, how do we combat it? The writing is good and the characters developed. It's a very deep subject and requires attention to stay on track. It gives us another way to look at the pain in our lives. The story line is an unusual one but a good one.

     I did find an issue. There seems to be places where a thought is incomplete or a sentence unfinished. Not sure if this was intentional or not but it makes for jumbled reading.

    I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the reason above.

A Boy from Bustina: A Son. A Survivor. A Witness. by Andrew Burian

     What happens when a young boy and his family are gathered up like fugitives?  Where will they go? What can they do? These are just a few questions you'll have when you start this book. What the family is put through is beyond inhumane.  

     I was really expecting a powerhouse book. It delivered and then some. The writing is superb and the "characters" are love-able and brave. This book will touch you deep in your soul. You will have all the feels with this book. Be prepared with tissues. I read a lot about the Holocaust and this book surpassed anything I could ever imagine. This book gives you the raw ugly truth of what was going on. This one should be on the top of your TBR pile.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it settled into my heart and soul. My heart aches and bleeds for these people.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

The Memory Tree (Carson Chronicles, #2) by John A. Heldt

     It's June 21, 1889 and the Carson clan are still trying to find their parents. It hasn't been easy for the Carson children. Together they decide where to look and when. Each has their opinion to add to the mix. The only hope they have are the letters their parents left for them. The children's full attention is focused on finding their parents and returning to Arizona.

     John A. Heldt does it again! This master story teller will bring you  a book you can't help but love. The characters are well defined and three dimensional. Their personalities are different yet the same. The writing is outstanding.  I highly recommend  this author and this book. You'll never be disappointed. 

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because this author has an amazing talent.

Sunday, May 6, 2018

Rage and Redemption in Alphabet City by Amy Grech

        I'm not really sure what this book is about. It seems to go all over the place. The other stories should have been in another book. I'm still trying to figure out why some earlier parts were included.  None of the stories are compelling.  There is nothing there to grab onto.  I expected this book to knock me off my seat.  It just didn't happen.


     I'm posting this book review in a different way because what I'd normally do for a review won't work here.

     I gave this one 2 cheers out of 5 because it seems almost manic. 

The Kitty: Who Rescued Me After I Rescued Him by Shawn P. Flynn

     House hunting can be quite an adventure. You are never sure what may be inside the house or what may happen. An orange cat shows up out of the blue.  Though not a cat person Shawn decides to take the cat with him.  Shawn's life changes in significant ways. The cat is with Shawn though it all.

     Well written and somewhat sad. Mr. Flynn opens his heart to share with the rest of us very difficult issues.  it's amazing to read about the cat. It's as though someone saw Mr. Flynn's future and decided to give him some support. Mr. Flynn also sharing the grief with the reader. I think many will love this book.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because although it's a good read, it isn't my cup of tea.

Waterski Girl Wonder: A Journey of Perseverance. by Shellie Blum

     Shellie Blum was born with a reason to hide from the world. She didn't do that. Instead, her life became the biggest adventure you can imagine. She was good at every sport she tried. She even broke some barriers others wouldn't have thought of. Her heart and soul didn't know the words- give up. Her journey was one of spectacular highs and lows.

     Loved this book. It's the most inspirational book I've read in some time. Well written with descriptions so vivid you'll feel the water splash you, this author gave us her all.  This book is one every person who reads it will gain something from. Ms. Blum's honesty and pride can be felt throughout the book. It's refreshing to read a really honest book about someone's life. You'll be talking about this one for months and months. I shared it with my daughters and I noticed both of them walking with their head held just a bit higher than usual.  

     I did find one issue. I'd like to have learned more about her life now. I understand it wasn't a focus of the book, but it would have rounded it out a bit.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because if she can do it... so can I. 

Friday, May 4, 2018

Claudia Returns by D H Wright

     Claudia was graduating high school. She and her boyfriend, Kelly, had been keeping their dating on the down low. His parents weren't happy with their son's selection of  a girlfriend. While working with her uncle, her life started to unravel. Would it ever be the same again? 

     Pain, danger and fear make up a large portion of this book. It's well written and the characters seem to grow larger than life as you read. This book is in your face and pulling back the curtain raw. It will make you cry, smile and even get angry. This author takes us on a ride you didn't see coming. I enjoyed this read so much. It will show you a side of the world you knew existed but didn't want to know about. Get your copy today. It's amazing.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it shook me to my core.

PS: I Love You: A Paranormal Romance (Roxanne's Ghost Saga Book 2) by Maggie Tideswell

     Jess was trying to make sense of the visions she had. Could they be real? Were they revealing things to her? All Jess knew was how odd this house was. Having Ben's ex sisters in law descending on the place was creepy. Now if they can just put together all the information. Ben is worried for his daughter and Jess. Will they be able to get away before anything happens? They were sure hoping so.

     This addictive book would make a wonderful TV show. There are enough elements to please everyone. Romance,love, family, hate, pain, fear, mystery and fantasy. The characters leap off the page. The book is very well written. You can lose yourself in this book. With so much happening around the area, no place was safe. You won't put this book down easily. You feel compelled to read until it's finished. GET THIS BOOK!

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because this one blew my mind. 

Just A Reminder For My Author Friends:




This is just a little reminder for the Asking For a Review etiquette.  

I don't charge for my reviews. I simply ask for a copy of the book. 

This means I'm volunteering my time to read and review.

I love books and I enjoy working with Authors.

Because you ask for a review, it doesn't mean I'll have the book

finished in 24 hours. I am in high demand because I take the time to 

read the entire book and take notes.  I also give constructive criticism.

Everyone I've reviewed for seems to be happy with the job I've done.

I post my reviews in many places and I'm one of the only reviewers who does.

Because I'm in high demand, my review list is extensive. I let Authors know

this too.  I don't enjoy getting messages and emails every other day asking when

your book review will be posted. I will send an email with the link to the review

on my blog. Asking where you are on my list doesn't help either. As I said, my

list is extensive.  Just know that I am working as fast as I can to get reviews up.

My computer doesn't always work right since the big crash. And I do have a life.

My kids are young adults but I still have cleaning and cooking to do. 

Thank you for reading this. I hope to work with you again and I'll post those reviews

as fast as I can. 


~~~ Melanie


Hike A Thousand Miles: Then You Can Inspire Teams by Mark Stevens

     Everyone needs to "take a hike" away from day to day life. A place where you can just think. If you want to be a successful manager, this is especially important. You need to keep moving forward to keep the business afloat. Managers have to be thinking of the future. The next great "thing" to promote your business. To keep employees from stagnating. It's the only way to ensure success.

     Well written, you'll want to keep this book handy. It will apply to any management or business. The information contained in this book is valuable.  I was reminded, while reading this book, of my days in management. These practical ideas will help you to grow as a manager and motivate employees to begin to grow in their position as well.

     I did find one issue. It's a big wordy and redundant. Repetition is the key for anyone to retain information but this one goes overboard.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 cheers because it will help.

Evidence Of Love by Mark Stevens

     Carly is living in New York City, away from her parents. They are the over achieving kind of people. Carly's life has never been great. Both parents doctors with a busy practice. If she thought that was bad, stick around, it's about to get a whole lot worse.

     Direct, raw, and yet odd at the same time. This book is well written and the characters are well defined and perfect for another book or two. You'll find this book keeps you intrigued without really trying too. Some parts might be a bit difficult for some to read, but power through, you'll be glad you did.  This author strikes the perfect balance between the odd and intriguing. Put this one on top of that TBR pile.

     I did find one issue. The book ends very abruptly. I'm not sure why but I felt as if I were pushed to the edge and then over the edge.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a fantastic read.

Sky’s Amazing Dream by Mark Stevens

     Sky is a Golden Retriever. He loves to play chase and return. There is only one problem. Sky doesn't think he's a dog. He believes he's a human boy.  One other thing about Sky? He has a dream of having super powers.  These aren't ordinary super powers. His first super power would allow him to turn rocks into gold. His second would allow him to howl three times at the sun. Then the person with him has his/her birthday. The third super power lets him clap his paws and a hot air balloon appears.  During one ride he gets asked a very special question.

     This book should be in every child's library. It's well written and Sky is every child's ideal dog. The books are fun, compassionate and extremely sweet. There are so many ways the author could take this book right into a series. It will be a very popular one too. Sky could "teach" lessons to children for example. Kids would pay close attention because who doesn't love a dog like Sky?

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it has so much potential.

Monday, April 23, 2018

The Red Ribbon by Rachel Ledge

     It's 1775, in London. Julia and her friend, Annie are attending the last event of the season. No one saw events happening this way.  Julia was excited because the man she loved, Roland, was acting as chaperone for the ladies.  

     This particular book does a great job covering all the things a fan could want. Love, mystery, family and unexpected surprises.  The writing is solid and the characters defined and will appeal to the readers. I found this book easy to read and the pacing is fast.  The theme of this book fits well with the time period.  This book should be in your TBR pile. You'll want to share the book with friends.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of  5 because you open the book and dive in.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Nowhere to Hide (Justice Served Book 1) by Louise Lyndon

     Marlee recently moved back into her hometown in Australia. She's determined to make a life for her son in this town. There is one problem though. The towns people believe Marlee's grandfather killed her grandmother forty years ago. Marlee will have to clear her grandfather's name to have peace.
     Devon Reilly is an investigative journalist. He's very well know and in Marlee's town to find out who murdered her grandmother. It will take some finesse to get the answers he needs.

     Writing in this book is top notch! The characters are well defined and easy to love or hate. I like the underlying  messages also. The first one is - you can't judge a book by it's cover. The second is- you never really know  someone. You'll find this isn't your typical love story. It will stop your heart in places. Get this one on the TBR pile.

     I did find an issue. The story is mostly over before you reach the 1/2 way mark. It would have been more balanced if the author had spread the story out a little more.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issue above.

The Boston Ranter: Slanted Vignettes from a Native New Englander by Layden Robinson

     This is an autobiographical story. The author let's us know what living in Boston is really like. Or was really like. Pain, torment, love and sorrow are only a few of the things filling Johnnies life. Brace yourself. This is unlike anything you've ever read before.

     Humorous and honest tales of living in Massachusetts. The author gives us a chance to see inside his life. Well written and in a Massachusetts accent, you'll enjoy this visit.  His unique family is quite lively. As the author shares with us, it's hard not to run down our own list of relatives. We all have one or more relatives like the authors. This book is intense and moves quickly. You'll be surprised at what you learn.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it's easier to read if you are a bit off balance.

Xing Xang: Destiny Mission Virtue by Todd Tracy

      Seventeen year old Eli did his best thinking while at sea. One afternoon while out on his boat, a storm caught him off guard. The boat is tossed and eventually overturns.  Everyone is certain the teenager is dead. No one knows why he was on his boat. For Eli this is either the beginning or the end. 

     This story is intense. Eli seems to be put through the ringer after he capsizes. The characters are a colorful lot and the writing exceptional. Descriptions by Mr. Tracy will give you vivid pictures of the areas. I found it exciting and scary at the same time. This story will take your breath away in  parts of it. I think this one should be shared with everyone. 

     I did find issues. The reading can be a bit rough in spots. They aren't as clear as they should be. Also, it's unrealistic in parts. To believe the tale it needs to be more defined.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issues above. 

Alien Manifesto by T.W. Embry

     Ex-Navy Seal, Thomas Scott and several veterans decide to rob a warehouse. Just as things get interesting,  Snarth appears with an offer for the group. Can they really trust this alien and can they do as Snarth orders? It's worth the risk to Tom and so he agrees to be part of Snarth's plan. It's amazing how much Tom's life will change. He'll see and do things he never thought possible. 

     Well written with characters you'll enjoy, Mr. Embry creates a tale you won't soon forget.  I read this one 5 times because I wanted to make sure I was getting everything I could out of it. The details, the characters and the story is intense, but fun also. The fantasy lovers will enjoy this story more than anything they've ever read. I applaud Mr. Embry's originality. He really made this book one of a kind with an ending you will be surprised at. I didn't see it coming.

     I did find an issue. I felt the book intensity also lent itself to making the story a bit confusing in parts. You really have to be concentrating to read this one.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the confusion. It's really a good story though. 

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Winning Dr. Wentworth (Sterling University #2) by Rebecca Heflin

     Shelby Wentworth had come home to heal. The scandal at her previous job was more than she could handle. Of course, being home meant seeing old faces and old places. Shelby just needed time. 
     Nash is thrilled to learn Shelby is back home. He knew her presence would put him on edge, but it was worth it to have Shelby where he could keep an eye on her. Things get complicated quickly when old feelings resurface.

     Ms. Heflin can put you right in Shelby's shoes. You feel everything Shelby does. Ms. Heflin's writing style keeps you right in the thick of things. Her characters are familiar, well defined and easy to relate to. Well written, this book will not let you down.  Also in this story, Ms. Heflin says maybe you can go home again. You've gotta get this book. She's a go to author for great reads.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's easy to relate to.

Dreams of Her Own (Dreams Come True #3) by Rebecca Heflin

     Millie Stephens life is nothing to write home about. She's practical and predictable. Millie has decided to shake things up a bit. On her way to work one morning, she is in need of help. Her high heel got caught in a gap in the sidewalk. Out of nowhere, a man stops to help her. Millie feels the electricity of his touch. She's become even more determined to make her life more exciting. It's always the quiet ones you need to watch out for.

     It was so nice to read about a woman whose light isn't totally hidden under a basket. The light can still be seen if you look for it. This book is a great way for people to see they don't need enormous changes to make life more exciting. Well written, you'll begin to root for Millie from the first page. Ms. Heflin tells this story in such a way you get all the feels. Characters are well fleshed out and well defined. Add this author to your favorites list you won't regret it. 

     I did find minor issues. There seems to have been changes made, but bits of previous sentences were left behind.  It just makes it a little confusing. 

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because the story is powerful.

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

The Summer of New Beginnings (Magnolia Grove #1) by Bette Lee Crosby

     The summer before you go to college is supposed to be a chance to have fun and let loose.  Meghan was so excited to go to college. Then her whole world changed in a matter of seconds. Being the responsible daughter, she knew she would have to look after her mother and older sister. The summer before college was going to be unforgettable.

      Movie, Movie and Movie. I'd love to see this book made into a movie. It would be absolutely fantastic.   This book has it all. Love, hate, family, friends and so much more. Well written and with characters that are well defined, this one must be in your TBR pile! The author knocked this one out of the park. Get yourself a copy of this book and one for a friend. 

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it touched my soul.

Saturday, April 7, 2018

A Tangled Web (Sgt. Windflower Mystery #6 by Mike Martin

     Winston Windflower is on a new case. There is a local girl missing. Everyone in town is searching for this girl. They can't imagine where she's gone to. With help from his Cree ancestry, Winston will have to make sense of this mess. His wife is right by his side. They'll figure it out. They have to. A little girl's life depends on it.

     Well written and like-able characters make this a great story. I felt drawn in and part of this story. Mr. Martin is terrific at storytelling. He moves you through the book with an ease and an urgency so subtle you won't even realize it. Before you know it, you are caught up in the story and won't be able to put this book down. 

     I didn't find two issues. The story does seem to lag in places. Not terribly bad, but enough to notice. Some of the story wan't needed. It was just extra filler. It doesn't help the story move along. I know these issues may contradict what I said above, but you will feel all of it.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issues.

Oh Susannah: Things That Go Bump: An Oh Susannah Story by Carole P. Roman

     Lola is Susannah's best friend. Lola has invited Susannah to her house for a sleepover. Susannah is scared of Lola's big house. People have even said there's a ghost in Lola's house. While trying to deal with her own fears, Susannah discovers other people around her have fears too. People have their own idea of what is scary. Susannah must decide if she's going to Lola's for the sleepover.

     A wonderful story and such terrific characters. This is another book with a lesson. It teaches children to confront their fears and not let their imagination keep them from having fun. Ms. Roman is always right on top with her books. The solutions Ms. Roman gives are easy for parents to implement. Your child will love this series as must as the other books by Ms. Roman.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because children are gonna love it.

      

Oh Susannah: It's in the Bag (An Oh Susannah Story) by Carole P. Roman

     Susaannah is in the third grade. Her parents are busy people and so Susannah feels ignored. She doesn't say anything to her parents. Since they are busy they may not listen anyway. Susannah is surprised by what happens next.

     This is a new series to me and I'm already in love with Susannah. Well written and Susannah is a child everyone will enjoy. We all have busy times and we must learn how to handle it. Especially in today's world. I think a child's book can be fun and contain a lesson and Ms. Roman's books do just that. She always has engaging characters children will relate too. You need this series in your child's library.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it will help you open a dialogue about handling pressure and being organized.

In Love with Lucy (NSFW #1) by C.C. Wood

     Lucy needed a job. She was trying to pay off her debt so she could work as a photographer. It's not until she meets Chris she realizes it may be more difficult than she thinks. Chris needs a personal assistant. He's demanding and so far none of the personal assistants last very long. Lucy is willing to give it a try.

     A great book! Well written, it pulls you into the book in the first few pages. Characters are well defined and easy to like or dislike. This author really made the story come alive and become realistic,  You feel as though you are in the room with these two.

     I did find a couple issues. First, the book is very predictable.  It needs a bit more excitement. It needs a couple of secrets too. It would make it less predictable.
     I also found the epilogue didn't really need to be included. It didn't tie up the loose ends. There were so many questions when you finish the book. The epilogue is like another mini chapter.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 cheers because the story is good, it just needs some work. 

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Silver Threads: Memory House Collection (Memory House #5) by Bette Lee Crosby

      Jennifer Green and her husband Drew Bishop were incredibly happy. Their daughter Brooke was loving and kind, just the way they'd hoped she be. Things change the direction of our lives without interference.  Sometimes the direction is difficult and other times it's filled with love. Either way, we must adjust and move on.

     This book is whimsical with a dash of magic and together they make a tender story.  Ms. Crosby captures perfectly the way we deal with life events.  She guides us through story in a gentle but direct way. Silver Threads is a book you'll read again and again. The honesty, the pain, and the laughter will stir your emotions. Put this one at the top of your list.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it reminded me of a time in my life when I went through something similar. 

Just Sam by Kristy Brown

     Sammy had just discovered a love for tennis. It was a love she shared with her Mother. Sammy wanted to play at Wimbledon one day and take her place along side some of the best players in the world.  However, life changes and doesn't always ask our opinion when it does. 

     This book will warm your heart and make you believe in love again. Well written with well defined, love-able characters, you'll get lost in this book. Ms. Brown gets right to the heart of a story and then encourages it to open and allow others to see. The message of this book is one we all need to remember... Love is worth the risks. Add this one to your TBR pile or gift it to a friend. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I'm sure this happens to people everyday!

Monday, March 19, 2018

River Rising (Carson Chronicles, #1) by John A. Heldt

     Adam Carson and his siblings were still trying to deal with their parents disappearance. Most assumed they were dead although nothing really pointed in that direction. After a meeting with his parents attorney, Adam decides to look around the house for clues. There must be something they'd overlooked. This was not like his parents at all. What they learn will shock them to their core.

     This book is fantastic! Mr. Heldt knows just how to pull you in and get you hooked before you realize it. Well written and characters we can relate to make this an enjoyable and steady-paced read. Mr. Heldt's unique framework for this book sends your mind to the land of "what if." You'll be on the edge of your seat waiting for the next installment.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because the ending is a kind of torture. 

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Tummy Rumble Quake by Heather L. Beal

     Would your child know what to do in an earthquake? The children of Forest Childcare are learning that information today. It's never to early to talk to your children about safety. Practice will keep the information fresh in their mind and could save their life.

     I adore children's books with a lesson in them. The writing is fantastic and lovable characters make it a fun read. The author gives us this tool, as parents, to being the talks about safety in unusual situations. Your children will enjoy the book which makes the information more easily absorbed.  These books should be in your child's library.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's an important book to have. 

Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House by Michael Wolff

     He lies. He's a bully and concentrates way to much on blowing his own horn. It appears a year into his presidency, Trump still doesn't know what the lob entails. His behavior is along the lines of an eight or nine year old boy complete with tantrums. Trump has set our country back nearly one hundred years. Anything working in our government, Trump did away with. It's time we the people, open our eyes.

     The book is well written and easy to read. There are those who seem to be upset with this book, but I see no reason for it.  When elected, Trump's view of being president was off base. He's under the delusion he became king.  The author simply compiled all of Trumps interviews and speeches in one place. Nothing in this book is surprising. If you've watched  him on TV, you'll recognize most of this book. 

     The only issue I have with Trump, and not really the book, is that he seems  to make up his own laws and rules as he goes along. He should have been fired months ago.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it's not really original.

Monday, March 12, 2018

Silent Fear: A novel inspired by true crimes by Lance Morcan and James Morcan

     Wandsworth University is a city unto itself, so when a student is murdered, Scotland Yard sends one of it's finest detectives to investigate. Valerie Crowther is good at her job and doesn't see any reason why the murder won't be solved quickly. She didn't expect all of the issues following her to the University. Now she just wants to find the murderer and head back to the office. 

     This story will surprise you as you get deeper into the book. Characters are well developed and seem to leap off the page. The writing is superb. I really enjoy the innovative approach the writing team brought to this novel. You will definitely be on a roller coaster  ride from beginning to end. Fear hangs in the air like an acrid odor. This isn't a book you'll finish in a short span. 

     I found this book to be a long and somewhat slow read. The intricate details make it the terrific book it is. It also is unnecessary in some areas.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issue above.

Fireburn by Apple Gidley

     When Anna's mother passes away in London, all Anna can think about is going home. Home is on the island of Saint Croix. The trip back home isn't easy but with determination, Anna will make it. She's not ready, however, for the changes happening to the island and her family's home. 

     This book has passion, love and family as the key ingredients. Add to that some long-held customs, stubborn people and lots of tension and anything can happen. The characters are deeply developed and bring a richness to the story that's hard to miss. The writing is solid and the research very apparent. 

     I did find some issues. There seems to be tons of havoc in this book but not much else. It's as though the research replaced a fantastic story. The last three chapters or so weren't needed. They prolong the book but have no other purpose. The wonderful detail in this story both make and break it. 

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the reasons above.

Transformed: POTUS by Suzanne Falter

     Charley couldn't wait to begin his new job. He'd be guarding the forty-sixth president. The job should be exciting and filled with travel, right? Once Charley is in this new position, he learns more than he wanted to know about the forty-sixth president. The upside of the job is that he'll able to finally marry Electra, his girlfriend. If only things go as smoothly as he imagines, life will be fantastic.

     Well written and with characters we see in the news daily, this book is a great read. The author takes us on one adventure after another. I found it funny and unusual. Ms. Falter keeps you just off balance throughout the book so you're never completely sure what's coming next. You'll enjoy this book and want to read it more than once.

     I found no issues in this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's not your typical political book.

Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Ship of Dreams (Dreams Come True #2) by Rebecca Heflin

     Laura Armstrong is extremely good at her job. What is her job? She's in advertising. The biggest account her company has ever seen is available. She's determined to land that account.
     Nathan Maxwell works for a rival ad agency. He is also determined to land this account. He knows his company can do the best work for the company. The bonus that will come with landing the account is exactly what Nathan needs.
     Laura wan't prepared for the competition to be so charming and handsome. 

      Well written with characters you can relate to makes this book one to buy. I enjoyed the banter back and forth between Laura and Nathan. It's humorous, loving and fast paced. This author gave us all a chance to dream in this book. Get your copy today.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 cheers because it's a joy to read.