Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Review of: The Lesson Plan by Jackie Barbosa


Miss Winifred Langston - Lively, outgoing, and unconventional.
Conrad Pearce - Staid, dull and unsure of Winifred.


Winifred is a hot ball of energy who gives her brothers no end of trouble. She's not your typical lady in any way. Her oldest brother decides his little sister needs a lesson she'll not soon forget. Perhaps THEN she will behave as a lady should.  He enlists Conrad's help. Both are suprised by the way the lesson goes. Neither could have expected this turn of events. Winifred, however, had been expecting this for years.


A hot, erotic, sweet, enticing read!! You won't put this book down until you've reached the end. This book will leave you breathless, happy and wishing for more. I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it!! Check this out, you won't be sorry.


I gave this book 5 out of 5 books because it blew me away!!

Monday, December 26, 2011

Review of: Peat Smoke and Prim Roses by Fiona Grace McDroll

I read this book. I'm still not sure what it was about.  It started out talking about a van that a man wanted and his receiving it. Then discussed the trouble with the van. Suddenly it switches gears and discusses this couple being at a grave side and their conversation. Another switch and someone is missing and someone is searching. VERY disjointed in my opinion. It didn't hold my attention at all. It made very little sense to me. I have read everything from small book and short stories, to massive novels. This was close to the worst.  If you figure it out, please let me know.

I gave it 2 out of 5 books.
Review of: Moon Dreams by Dean Johnson


Four best friends spend their first year after high school at college. The first summer home, they realize each has changed or perhaps they are seeing with fresh eyes. Bryan has been through hell and back. He lost his best friend and then started losing all the rest of his friends because of it. He meets Kirah, one of the four best friends. Things change from there. Growing, learning and adjusting is what their summer is all about.


I enjoyed the premise for the book but sadly that's all. The book is all over the place- past, present, switching characters and so on.  There really isn't a solid story line here. It seems to be telling several stories and loses it's way.


I gave this one 3 out of 5 books because of the winding story.
Review of: Book of Mercy by Sherry Roberts

It was a typical small town with it's problems.  One of the problems was the Mercy Study Club. Local women who used financial power to accomplish things in town.  The newest project on their list- books. In particular censoring what books the school library carries.  It begins a fight this town may not survive. It's champion, Antigone Brown. Antigone goes to great lengths to save the books and the rights of the students.


Having grown up in a small town like this, I've seen these things happen and snowball out of control. I love seeing the light shined in the dark places of the small town's upper crust. The story is good and shows what one person can do to change things. Even if they are viewed as an outsider.  I'm not a fan of the rambling. I think the story loses it's way at times and takes a bit to get back on track.


I give the it 3 out of 5 books because of the rambling.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Review of: REVEAL by Brina Courtney


From age 6, Shay Tafford knows she's different. Not many kids have ghost
children as friends. None of Shay's friends have the sleek, natural black hair 
she has. Then she meets Hugh and learns she's more different than even she thought.
He shows her how to embrace the differences. Life does change from that moment
on.
If you are looking for a YA book that will grab you and pull you in -REVEAl
is it. This book starts out hot and gets hotter (the story starts well and gets better)
You are missing a wonderful story if you don't read this page turner! I couldn't
put it down.


You have to get this book! You'll be screaming for the next installment.


I gave this book 5 out of 5 books for the awesome storytelling and terrific
subject matter.

Monday, December 19, 2011

Review of: Maud's House by Sherry Roberts

A Vermont farmhouse that became a canvas for Maud's art. In the family 
for generations, her house became a tourist attraction. Maud Calhoun painted
whenever and where ever on the house she wanted to. Her father encourages her.
Then she meets George and life changes, not always for the better. He tried to 
change Maud.  The eclectic towns people know everything that happens in the 
area.  Everyone knows everyone else's business. New people bring new outlooks
and make you stop and think. Reminds you there is more than one way to look
at things.

I liked this book. It showed small towns don't enjoy change and will fight it 
quite a bit.  It followed Maud through the changes in her life and gave you insight
into why she paints the way she does. You'll be surprised at the outcome. The town
was too.  I didn't enjoy the way it seemed to drag. I understand the author was
using the "talks" with George to show why Maud was the way she was, however,
it was a slow read because of that.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 books because of the way it dragged. Never really grabbed
my attention.

Review of: Fool Me Once by Lacey Wolfe
*Erotic

Skylar- an aerobics instructor, free spirit, fun loving and sexy.
Drew- handsome, determined and a company man.

 The chemistry between them is combustible. The problem is Drew has a habit of
of  walking away when it comes to Skylar.  No matter what he tells her, he ends 
up leaving her at a critical time.  What could possibly happen next to this duo.

This novella is high octane fun from beginning to end. It's the kind of bubble-
bath-erotic-read all women love!! Grab a glass of wine, candles, bubble bath and enjoy.
You will enjoy this book and read it again and again.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 books- astoundingly HOT!


Saturday, December 17, 2011

I apologize to my followers and members of this blog!


It seems I have dropped the ball in the last week or so. I haven't been posting 
reviews as often as I should.  Let me explain.  Many of you don't know me well
enough to know much about my private life.  I will share this information
because I feel I owe you that much.  I have been fighting cancer for  three
yrs now. Various types but a solid 3 yrs. I had a surgery summer 2010 on my 
spine to remove tumors. Yes, cancerous. Yes malignant.  I still get treatments
and some days I just can't move.  


Please forgive me for taking so long with reviews this time around.  I have been
trying to catch up as quickly as I can.


Thank you for your trust and for being a follower/member.
Melanie/kissablysweet1

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Harper Imprint Challenge in January Intro & Sign Ups!!









I entered the challenge and chose the medium level (5-8) books. I think I can do more, but wanna be safe. Check out the challenge and enter!! You'll be glad you did!

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Review of: A Hanukkah Present by Mark Binder



TABLE OF CONTENTS

The Lethal Latkes
We Need a Miracle
Rabbi Kibbitz’s Surprise
A Cold Day in Chelm
The Chanukah Duck
A Chanukkah Present
The Challah that Ate Chelm
What a Gift!
The Chanukah Business
Rabbi Abrahms’ Chanukah Bush
How Joseph Won His Bride With The Spin of a Dreidel
Out of the Woods (novella)
This book is one you will read and laugh out loud!! You have to check this out! Makes the perfect gift for anyone but especially your Jewish friends! They will appreciate the humor in this book and it will be a regular part of Chanukah!
I give it 5 out of 5 books! 
CHECK THIS OUT!!!







Creating Cozy Christmas
by Pepper Anthony

For our family, the best part about Christmas is bringing the special ambiance of the holidays into our house. Since the time my sons were small, we spent many happy hours in November and December making ornaments, wreaths, candy, cookies and center pieces. Pots of potpourri or cinnamon candles burn 24/7, so the first thing you smell when you walk in our door is a promise of cheer and warmth. A big lighted star shines at the end of our driveway; you can see it from a quarter mile away as you come down the dark tunnel of woods toward our home.

The first weekend of December my husband and youngest son are charged with venturing forth to cut a tree. Then a whole day is spent decorating it with white twinkle lights and a collection of homemade and one-of-a-kind ornaments. As we unbox each ornament, we recall another Christmas past. Before long, the memories are strung together like the garland of popcorn and cranberries on the tree. We are present to the poignant sweetness of holiday tradition and an awareness of time passing more quickly than we had realized. We are present to continuity, loss, and love, all at the same time.

There is nothing glitzy or showy about our family Christmas. It’s all about the clay gingerbread men my boys made in Cub Scouts, and the paper chain we all worked on for hours many years ago. It’s about the simple, fragrant Douglas Firboughs and cones in the big red bowl in the center of the coffee table. Martha Stewart would throw up her hands at the mismatched tableware and friendly hodgepodge of red and green placemats we use; she would no doubt blanch at the crumpled edges of the paper snowflakes we unfold each year to tape once again to our windows. We don’t care. We like it this way. Warm. Friendly. Easy. Cozy. Christmas.

In my latest erotic novella, Macy’s Awakening, Macy understands very well the wounds in Jerrod’s heart, and the power that cinnamon candles and fir boughs on the mantle might have to heal those wounds. She knows that nothing is more special than the glowing promise of a family Christmas, and nothing is as enduring as the treasure of love at its core.

__________________________________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:





You can find Pepper on the web at the following places:

Spicin’ It Up Blog:   http://spicyauthors.blogspot.com/
Romance Mavens Blog:   http://www.romancemavens.com/

__________________________________________________________________

BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY:
Beachwalk Press will be sponsoring giveaways at the end of this blog tour. Everyone who comments on a post will have their name placed in a drawing (be sure to include an email address so we have a way to contact you). On Monday, December 19th we will randomly choose four people who will win a Beachwalk Press eBook of their choice from any of the authors who participated on the tour. The more blogs you comment on, the more times you are entered to win! For a list of all the blogs we will be visiting on this tour, click here: http://beachwalkpress.com/2011/11/beachwalk-press-holiday-blog-tour/

BEACHWALK PRESS HOLIDAY SCAVENGER HUNT:
During the month of December, Beachwalk Press will be hosting a Holiday Scavenger Hunt. There will be multiple winners, and the prizes will include gift certificates, Godiva chocolates, and a Kindle Fire! Visit our website for more information. 

Friday, December 9, 2011

Coming Monday December 12th, a very special post. Please stop in. 
Remember books are great for those hard to buy for, have everything kind of people. No need to worry about size or color. It's the easiest gift you'll ever buy and one of the most appreciated. Books keep giving and giving to those who receive the book. I know how wonderful and special books are. Growing up, as many of you know, my parents DID NOT support reading or writing. They saw it as a waste of time, paper and ink.  I cherish books and inhale them as soon as I get one.  I've passed that love of books to my children and our library cards get well used.  


Even if you aren't sure of the genre, know that each one opens the door to new experiences and fun. Want to wish everyone a HAPPY HOLIDAYS again!!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Review of: Summer Lovin' by Donna Cummings
*Novella


Mia is a secretary/office manager in her brother's company. Luke is a chef with his own restaurant.  Both decide they need a change and take a vacation to figure out what to do next. Then with the help of a little fur ball, playfully referred to as "hellboy", they meet. Both Mia and Luke see the benefits of a vacation fling. Neither is prepared for the life changing events that happen.


This novella is the perfect pick me up for this time of year! Sexy, sweet, and original, you need to read this. Donna has written a wonderful story and I look forward to more just like it. Keep those creative juices flowing Donna! 


I give this novella 5 out of 5 books because I smiled through the whole book.
Review of: Grit City by Ron Gavalik
*emotobooks


Dillon Galway is exposing corruption through his blog. Tips come from everywhere and it's dangerous. Dillon wants everyone to be aware of what's happening in the city.  Alyssa Stephano is a gun for hire. No one dares mess with her. She's protected by some of the biggest groups in the city. The mob for one.  These two are on a mission to make sure the city is safe and those in need of punishment get it.

This is an adult action film maxed out!!  It's awesome writing and beautiful illustrations make a book for the ages. You'll follow Dillon and Alyssa through every installment.  For those adults who wished for books with substance again.. It's here..and it's Grit City on steroids! You will be anxiously awaiting each new installment. A new way to enjoy reading!

I give this 5 books out of 5! Pure awesome action!!

Review of: Eaton Trilogy by Madeline Sloane


Distracted, East of Eaton and West Wind are filled with independent, strong, wonderful women. This series shows women the way they should be. Able to cope and function on their own, but increased when they add the right man to their life.  Doing  their job and raising their family the way everyone should, when these men  happen into their world. Love comes without them realizing it but with all the bells and whistles.


I very highly recommend this series to everyone!! It's romantic, sweet, funny and will cause butterflies in your stomach.  This is romance the way it should be written. Not about some woman who can't live life without a man, but a strong woman made stronger when you add the man she loves. It's a terrific series that I've read 3 times already. You will enjoy this and end with a smile.


I give this 5 out of 5 books! This time of year is more romantic after you read this series.
Review of Khantara by Michelle Franklin


A new Emperor in Trellis means a new way of doing things. They start off by beginning a war with Haanta.  The country a race of giants were surprised by the war but swiftly defeated Trellis.  After this war, Khantara was sent to Trellis to open a post and keep an eye on the enemy.  Khantara tries to show the Trellis people they are willing to live peacefully.  Khantara meets Anelta and feels the need to watch her and protect her. 


This is an awesome book you need to check out.  It's such a unique look at a world we could learn a lot from. This book will keep you entertained and moving right along. Never have I read a book like this and was able to keep going after a couple pages. Khantara kept me glued to the book from beginning to end.  


I give this book 4 out of 5 books because if you aren't familiar with this type of book it's difficult to follow. 

Monday, December 5, 2011

Merry Christmas to our followers and those who check out the blog!!!!


Remember, books make an awesome gift to those you love and those you aren't sure what to get.  It gives them hours of enjoyment in another place. They get the chance to explore and learn. It's a wonderful chance to broaden someone's reading.  Maybe a genre they haven't tried before. Twitter is alive with new books this month. Also, there are those that have recently come out. The authors are terrific and you have such a wide variety to choose from.  If money's tight, and it is in most places, try to win one.  The book will be just as loved and enjoyed. 


Take time to help someone less fortunate than yourself and it will come back to you 1000 fold in great karma.  We need to remember but for the grace of God go I.  Any of us could be in the position of having nothing to place under the tree this year.  Thank you for checking out our blog in the last few weeks and I hope you continue to come back to see what's new, what's great and what's not. May your holiday, whatever way you celebrate, be filled with love, magic, smiles and fun. 


Melanie/kissablysweet1 
(& my helper MsMoleyay)

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Coming Soon!! A Blog Tour by Brina Courtney, author of REVEAL!!



12/09/2011 Starts off at my blog for the kickoff! (Giveaway)
12/10/2011 http://writersrevue.com/ Guest Post On Indie Writing and Review (Giveaway)
12/11/2011 wordspelunking.blogspot.com Review
12/12/2011 http://www.jessicadstampe.com Guest Post on Ghosts
12/13/2011 http://rens-rambles.blogspot.com Interview
12/14/2011 http://karendelabar.com Interview
12/16/2011 REVEAL RELEASE DAY! http://followingthereader.blogspot.com Review
12/17/2011 wordspelunking.blogspot.com Interview
12/19/2011 http://www.imabookshark.com Interview
12/22/2011 TBA
12/23/2011 Back to my blog to end it!
Review of: Perry Bear Goes for a Walk by: Jack R. Mason
*Children's*


Perry Bear is a wonderful new friend for children.  His walk ends up helping several of his friends along the way.  This book includes several lessons for children and I love that.  The illustrations and writing are spot on to teach children about friends, math and helping.  Well written and easy to follow, your children will love this book and look forward to more of Perry Bear's adventures.  Such a lovable, sweet way to teach your children without it seeming like they are learning. Books such as these are invaluable to parents with little ones starting to show interest in books, or those who love to read and learn.  Good work Mr. Mason!


I give this book 5 out of 5 books because it's a terrific learning tool.

Thursday, November 24, 2011

We did it!!  We have reach a milestone. 1,000+ pageviews!! Thank you to all who visit and to the authors who've allowed me to review their work! I hope we can continue to bring you honest reviews about the books out there.  If you have any book you'd like to be review, just contact me. Again, thank you to everyone!! 


Melanie/kissablysweet1

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Review of: The 19th Element by: John L. Betcher


James L. Becker is an attorney, at least that's what those of his small hometown believe.  John and his wife Beth, worked as agents for the USA before settling down in Red Wing, MN.  Terrorism was their work.  They decide to leave the agency and live more quietly in Red Wing while their daughter attends college out of state.  James realizes the problems that came with being an agent followed them into private life.  He senses there will be a terrorist attempt at one of the local nuclear power plants. It begins with a dead body and then the pieces of the puzzle start falling in line.  


 This book is thought provoking, intelligent and amazing.  I love the idea of showing that Americans are complacent when it comes to terrorism even if they don't believe they are.  The characters are a wonderfully written group of people. You can imagine these people living in your own neighborhood. I like that it informed.  The two problems I found with this book is for many it will prove to be extremely detailed and technical.  This isn't an easy read for the weekend, at least not for most people.  I know many will enjoy this book, still there are some who will start it but not finish it.  I did finish but WOW was it challenging.


 I give this book 3 out of 5 books because of the extreme detail and technical writing.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Coming in December!!


THE PERFECT MISTRESS Victoria Alexander—This title will be available for 1.99 on Nook as the Daily Find this coming Cyber Monday, 11/28 only.


 KISS OF FROST Jennifer Estep  


NIGHTSHIFT Kate Douglas; Crystal Jordan


LIFESTYLES OF THE RICH AND SHAMELESS Kiki Swinson


 A PLACE CALLED HOME Jo Goodman


 Check out these titles for the holidays!! Remember, books make terrific gifts, stocking stuffers or that unexpected gift.


Happy Thanksgiving!!
Melanie/ kissablysweet1



Review of: Remembrance by: Michelle Madow
*YA*


A new school year and Elizabeth's life is about the change in ways she could never dream of.  Lizzie dated Jeremy since middle school and now at 17, everyone sees them as THE couple.  Then Drew moves into town.  The connection is unmistakable and instant between Lizzie and Drew.  It feels almost like they've met before.  Lizzie's friend Chelsea also feels that instant connection with Drew.  Things start happening that Lizzie can't explain. She isn't sure she understands it herself.  How could all this be possible?  She's about to find out.


  A wonderfully, well written book! You will need an open mind and heart but this is a terrific book!! I recommend this one to everyone, regardless of age.  I loved that it wasn't so obvious as could have easily been the case. It gave you side trips to keep you wondering where the information was coming from and how it could all be possible.  You'll love to snuggle in and read this heartwarming story of love, patience and second chances!!


I give this book 5 out of 5 books!  WONDERFUL!!
Review of: Committed by: John W. Mefford


Michael Doyle is expecting another day of drudgery when his bosses announce the sale of the company.  Michael isn't sure what to do next, but he knows changes are coming and coming fast.  Just when he feels life can't get worse, he finds a body near the dumpster in a garbage bag.  Michael becomes a journalist and amateur sleuth while trying to find out what happened to the girl in the garbage bag.  His journey leads to more clues, more answers and even a bit of information that hits close to home. 

   Fast paced, provocative and sensual, this drama isn't one you'll easily want to let go of.  John W. Mefford has created a whole new world for us to explore and I'm certainly glad I did.  Intelligent and easy reading will keep you moving and craving more while devouring this book.   I enjoyed the characters and the doors that will open for Michael Doyle in the years to come.  I love that he wasn't looking for the job of journalist or sleuth but they seem to come naturally to him.  Made for seamless reading, no trying to make a leap that wasn't already there. I enjoy that!!


I give this book 5 books out of 5 because it blew me away!!




Amazon (US):  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0060LL4IA


Amazon (UK): https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0060LL4IA

Barnes & Noble: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Committed/John-W-Mefford/e/2940013250741


AUTHOR'S Website:  http://www.johnwmefford.com



Sunday, November 20, 2011

Review of: When a Duke Says I do BY: Jane Goodger
released on December 6, 2011


 Miss Elsie Stanhope has an unusual habit..she falls asleep most anywhere.  There is a reason for it. She's a pleasant young woman who has lost her mother and her twin sister.  She and her father are all that's left.  Miss Stanhope has been betrothed since birth and she is on pins and needles waiting to hear when her groom will claim her in matrimony.  Alexander then happens into her life. He's a mute but very strong and handsome. Miss Stanhope feels there is something he's hiding and she's determined to find out what it is.  If he's hiding a secret, it can change both of their lives forever.  Together they begin to unwind a lifetime of pain each has endured.  Love truly can't be arranged, bought or given up easily. The path they take bonds them in a way neither expected.


 This book is one I highly recommend to historical fans, but also to those looking for a new book.  The story is amazingly sad and lovely at the same time. After you read it, 'When a Duke Says I Do' will be on your bookshelf for years to come. You will want to read it over and over.  It shows love, pain and happiness can coexist in a relationship and help both parties to grow and learn.  I loved the idea of a fairy tale coming true for a man this time.  One you'll smile about and enjoy sharing with your friends!


I give this book 5 out of 5 books. Terrifically romantic and delightfully sweet.
Review of: The Tourist by: Jack Everett and David Coles


  Robert Cleghorn is a product of the United States Special Forces.  He becomes too good at his job and the government decides to "retire" Robert.  The way they do this is by giving him medication that wipes his memory clean and then give him false memories to hang on to. He lives on the edge. The younger brother and the one considered the black sheep. Stewart White is a Detective Inspector, newly minted.  He's ready for the job and the move to a new location. He's a modern day Sherlock Holmes. In fact, his middle name is Sherlock.  He's very good at solving crimes and when his path intersects with Robert Cleghorn there is no exception. Stewart figures out what Cleghorn is up to fairly easily and then must stop him before anyone else dies.  These two men are part of a story  that makes you wonder what else can happen. 


  I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The way it incorporated up-to-date events with old fashioned crime solving is amazing.  As you know I'm not one who is really a mystery reader, but I think I'm becoming a convert after this book. Filled with action and intelligent, well thought out dialogue, it's one you will be thinking about for days after you finish. You'll keep wondering how probable these things are.  I was unhappy with the fact it was set in Florida, USA and said nothing about the main character being English, yet most of his dialogue was seemingly in the Queen's English.  Makes it seem a bit odd. Other than that, I recommend this book for all. It's a page turner and then some.


I give this book 4 out of 5 books only because of the language thing. 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Review of: Forever and A Day by: Delilah Marvelle


  Set in 1830 New York City, Georgia Emily Milton meets a gentleman on Broadway far from her Five Points home.  When he is struck by an omni, she feels it's her duty to stay with him and watch over him until he's well.  After all he was struck while trying to save her reticule from a thief.  Georgia soon learns what real love is. What it means to give yourself completely to  another.   The man, Lord Yardley, is also learning.  He's realizing what it means to scrape and work for each bit of food you have. To enjoy the simple things of the world. He's also learning what it means to be truly and deeply smitten with your soul mate.  The two have a long road to go before they reach their goal.  


  A love story to warm your heart and renew your faith in love. The first book I've read that begins from the other side of the society map.  A woman without means, in a dangerous part of NYC finds gold in Lord Yardley.  I love that this book shows a different side of poverty. It allows others to see not everyone in poverty just took the easy road out. They worked hard, stayed honest, and did things the way they should.  I highly recommend this book!! This is the season to believe in hope..and this book reinforces it.  


 I give this book 5 out of 5 books because it's beyond awesome! You can't go wrong with this one.

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Review of : A New Set of Rules By: Stacia E. Carlton

Julianne is a woman in  transition not only in her life, but her career as well.  Her marriage fell apart. Her affair ended. She likes her husband's pregnant girlfriend. She's becoming close to her family again and growing everyday as a person.  Julianne takes an adventurous ride through some very high, highs and some equally low, lows.  With the help of her friends, her family and thinking things through, she reaches some major decisions in her life.  Julianne reconnects with loved ones from the past, and works on letting go of those people in her present she no longer needs. 

  This story is one that will make you wander through your own life and think about how things turned out. It will open your mind to a new way of looking at things and give you a chance to see life through new eyes.  The sex scenes are amazing and you'll enjoy the philosophical side as well.  I felt the epilogue was a bit long, but am glad it contained one. Gave us a chance to see what becomes of Julianne. I recommend this book for those who enjoy a book that makes them think as well as takes you away to another place. 

 I give this book 4 out 5 books only because I felt it wandered from the point at times. 

Friday, November 11, 2011

Review of: His Mistress By Christmas  By: Victoria Alexander
 *Historical*


 Lady Veronica Smithson has decided she wants to celebrate this Christmas a little differently.  She wants to become Sir Sebastian Hadley- Attwater's mistress.  Her best friend is Sir Hadley- Attwater's cousin, Portia, who introduces the two of them, in a way.  Once Lady Smithson has seen this rogue and explorer speak, she's determined to convince him to take her as his mistress.  She's been married and while that was pleasant enough, she's not ready to give up all the freedom being a widow allows.  For his part, Sir Hadley-Attwater is similarly taken with Lady Smithson.  He will go out of his way to share his first Christmas in 12 years in England,  with Lady Smithson.   Both go about convincing the other in unusual ways that their's is the perfect solution. 


 It was wonderful to read a book with a heroine who was so modern thinking. Independent, self reliant, and yet sweet, kind to those around her.  I'd say Lady Smithson is ahead of her time in many ways. You will laugh, smile and root for these two people!  The humor makes the book go so much faster than you'd like it to.  Unconventional methods used by these two people will keep you wondering what's going to happen next.  The one thing I'd like to have seen was an epilogue explaining the next Christmas or two Christmas' from when the story ends.  I feel that little peek would have given the readers even more to look forward to.


 I gave this book 5 books out of 5! It's an awesome read, not just for the holidays but anytime!!
Review of: A Killer's Touch  By: Michael Benson
*True Crime*

This book is about the Case of Denise Lee.  It happened in 2008 and is by far one of the most involved books I've ever read on this topic.  Michael King, kidnapped, raped and murdered Denise within hours.  He drove right into her driveway and forced her to his car, leaving her two toddlers alone in their crib. This case started in Florida but involved Michigan as well.  Michael King's family is in Michigan.  He would come back here (yes I'm in Michigan) to visit family.  After forcing Denise to leave her home in broad daylight, he took her back to his home where he had a "rape dungeon".  He kept her there for a few hours then put her back in his car and drove to a wooded, swampy area and killed her.  This brutal crime was so blatant and heinous it shocked everyone.  Neighbors and others spotted King's car and him. They positively identified him and his vehicle.  Denise tried to saved herself and leave clues. She was able to successfully call 911 with King's cell phone. She screamed "Help Me" any time they were near other cars.  

 I do enjoy reading true crime. I always have. However this book is extremely intense and graphic.  I wasn't prepared for that. It had a negative affect on me.  I remember this case. I remember reading about it and hearing about it in the news.  The book gives you play by play as if you were sitting in the court room.  At times I felt it gave to much detail. I think the technical side of it could have been explained better.  I know those who enjoy True Crime  will love this book and be glad they read it.  I recommend it, but only if you are a hardcore True Crime reader. 

I give this book 3 out of 5 books because it was super intense. 
Happy Friday all!  I am sorry my reviews have slowed down a bit. I haven't been in the best of health and it overwhelmed me this week.  I am posting a new review following this short note! 


 Remember if you have any books you'd like reviewed or know anyone looking for a reviewer, I'm open to all genres.

Sunday, November 6, 2011

HI and welcome!!  I'm happy to see that people are checking out the reviews! These authors work hard and deserve to have their work recognized!  Believe me if I don't like a book, I'll be the first to say so.  I've been lucky enough to fall into a vat of terrific books.


  I am open to reviews of all genres.  Just contact me and we'll get the ball rolling.  I love reading and telling others about the books I enjoy. I try to keep the reviews general enough not to give away to much of the story.  I really dislike when someone tells me 90% of the story in a review.  What reason would I have to read the book then?  


  I hope to keep the number of reviews growing.  Again thanks for following!! It means the world to me. 
Review of: Season for Temptation By: Theresa Romain


  Julia Herington is part of a lively family and excitedly planning her sister Louisa's wedding to Viscount Matheson.  The family is unconventional but extremely lovable.  During his first visit to the family's home, Viscount Matheson, James, meets the entire family in rather unusual ways. Julia bursts into the drawing room on a mission.  Once she see's James there she becomes embarrassed at her entrance and tries to explain but ends up making it all seem somewhat funny.  Julia speaks her mind. Whatever pops into her head comes out her mouth...even if it isn't always appropriate. One of her most wonderful qualities.  The more time James spends with the family, the more he realizes he will be very happy with them as in-laws.  
    In trying to make his bride-to-be happy, James goes out of his way to do things to make her smile and feel at ease. He is unaware there are problems.  James also realizes he's falling in love.  He's never felt like this before with anyone. His mother of course disapproves of his choice in brides, however it doesn't stop James from charging ahead with his plans.   I'm trying not to give away the entire story here and it's not easy..*smile*.  This whole book takes place prior to and during the Christmas holidays. One of my favorite times of the year. 
     I found this book to be witty, wonderful and endearing.  I can well imagine a situation like this happening.  I enjoyed the light fun and the quirkiness of Julia's family.  It's a terrific read and one you will smile about for days.  Buy this book and enjoy!!  Season for Temptation is such an enjoyable book I read it in just a few hours.  Perfect for this time of year. 


   I give this book 5 books out of 5.  You'll read this one again and again!!

Friday, November 4, 2011

Review of: Dark Future By: KC Klein


        Kris is awakened by noises in her house at 4:30am.  She's sure an intruder broke in and decides to try to find out who it is.  Creeping through the house, she's astounded when she finds the intruder is herself.  From the Future.   The future her is even better than the original! Then she learns why the future her is there and how it affects her.  What follows is a love story and a fight to end all fights. Kris is pushed beyond her limits and more.  She sees things and experiences things she never thought possible.  She also learns the future isn't exactly what she thought it would be. Now she must do her part.


        I don't want to say to much more about this book because it will spoil it if I do.  I'm not usually a futuristic/ time travel fan BUT... this is one I couldn't put down.  I had to keep reading to see where the story went next.  I couldn't guess where this story was going to take me, but I did enjoy the ride. It knocked my socks off! Do yourself a huge favor and GET THIS BOOK!! You won't be sorry you did.  It will make you ask questions and think of the world in a whole new way.  Can you even imagine being told YOU must go into the future and complete some tasks?  Can you imagine what it would be like?  I thought I could, this book changed all that for me.  Terrific read and highly recommended!!




I give this book 5 books out of 5! Dark Future is one you'll read again and again

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Review of: Christmas at Timberwoods  By: Fern Michaels


  Heather is facing the busiest time of the year for a mall, Christmas. Being the security manager, Heather handles all kinds of issues for the mall. She's seen just about everything and is prepared to face it once again until a young woman shows up unannounced at her office.  Angela, the young woman, is frantic and telling Heather about a situation that will occur at the mall.  Heather's unsure at first whether to believe her or not.  Angela came across as sincere, but there was something about her. Heather decides to keep the information to herself until Angela shows up again.  Now she has no choice but to share the information with her bosses and others at the mall. The story that follows will keep you entertained and on the edge of your seat.  Trying to deal with normal Christmas time issues and this added problem plays on everyone's nerves.  It brings some together and tears others apart.  


    I loved this book because you can almost visualize the whole thing at your local mall.   You can see in your mind's eye the situations described and the people involved.  It's very real life in that way.  The characters are well defined and mostly likable people.  You'll be rooting for some and booing for others. Fern Michaels hits another one out of the ball park with this book.  It will make you look at families, Christmas and your local mall in a whole new way.  I felt sad for some of the characters but as this story is so real to life, I understand why these characters were necessary.  The only problem I saw was that Angela seems bipolar or manic on top of her other talents. I thought it was unnecessary to portray her in this light. It made it more difficult to accept anything she said as the truth. I think it could have been handled in a different way and still maintained the spirit of the book. 


   I give this book 5 out of 5 books because it's an awesome read!!

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Review: Love Through Time By: Lucy Felthouse

*Erotica

   Emily is a book conservator. She loves her job. Emily takes it very seriously. She is sent to Westbury Manor to work in the massive library there. Emily gets right to work knowing the job will be an intensive one. She meets George, the handsome security guard of Westbury Manor. What starts as an ordinary job, soon becomes something more.  Emily feels someone in the library... or does she?  She get entangled in a love story many years old and with George's help, sets things right again. 

    I love this book because it's an anti- creepy Halloween book. It's something you can enjoy but not have to sleep with the lights on. *smile*  I did find this one to be short as well with a very blunt ending.  I'd like to see the ending come gradually, not just thrown in like a brick wall after a very wonderful scene in the book.  I do hope you check it out. It's a terrific read.

I give it 4 out of 5 books because of the shortness. 
Review: A Weekend at Wilderhope Manor By: Lucy Felthouse


 *Erotica*


    Stephanie and Jenny decide to take a weekend away. It's a murder mystery weekend and the women are looking forward to it.  The weekend was also a chance for these ladies to experience more than they ever dreamed of.  A ghost? Someone watching them? Read the book to learn more.


    If you are looking for alternative Halloween fun reading, this is the book for you.  It's fun, sexy and makes Halloween take on a whole new meaning. I loved this book and how the ladies were able to incorporate their fun into the weekend's mapped out fun.  This is a short review because the book was short. It ended bluntly and I felt things were left unsaid.


  I give this book 4 books out of 5 because it was short.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Review: Sellout By: James W. Lewis


   In this very well written book we follow five individuals. Terrell, Penelope, Tammy, Sheryl and Dedrick.  Each is dealing with  bad break-ups and how to move on from those relationships. It's an intense, witty, direct look at interracial relationships and the pain they face from both sides.  Every member followed in this book has logical reasons for their choices, but in working through things, they see more clearly what they want in life.  I don't want to give too much away, it would spoil this terrific book for you.


   This a book that would be great for book clubs and even includes discussion questions in the back. Some of the questions really made me look at myself, my views and the reasons for those views. Mr. Lewis did a very good job of making this an entertaining but thought provoking book.


   Having been in interracial relationships myself, I could relate to the book very easily. I've seen what can and does happen.  I loved the way this book laid it all bare for everyone to see. Nothing danced around or hidden, it was straight up and direct. I can't find anything I disliked about this book. You HAVE to read this book and I know you'll enjoy it as much as I did.




I give this book 5 out of 5 books for it's awesome story and outstanding writing.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Review of: Amber's Muse By: Lacey Wolfe


 *Adult Themed*


 Amber is a librarian, but she's also an aspiring writer. She's been working hard on a book in her spare time. There are some parts she's had issues with. She can't seem to make them work. Then she decides to enlist the help of her neighbor, Jax.  It's way more successful than even Amber hoped it would be. What a surprise the partnership is. I don't want to give much more away but you will enjoy this book. 
  
   I SO enjoyed this book!! It's an easy read and great for an evening pick-me-up.  This book would be the perfect prelude to a cozy evening with your significant other. I promise both of you will enjoy the outcome!!  The only thing I didn't like.. it was way to short for me.. *smile* I found myself wanting more.


I give it 4 out of 5 books just because of the shortness. Check this one out..you won't be sorry!

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Review: When Love Isn't Enough By: Stephanie Casher


     Samantha leaves heartbreak and  family in Los Angles to attend college at UCSC.  She loves Santa Cruz! Especially being near the water. It makes her feel at home and able to open herself up to let the waves carry her stress away.  She meets Tony when one morning he's sitting in "her spot" on a cliff waiting for the sunrise. Samantha moves down from Tony and sits to enjoy the sunrise. Once up, the sun shines a whole new light into Samantha's life. She and Tony just seem to click.  I won't say more because I don't want to give away the story but suffice to say YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!


     Have you ever met someone and you just seemed to fit? I mean you could talk about anything finish each others sentences and it felt right?  You will adore this book then. Coming of age, learning about yourself, surviving the gauntlet of college life- however you put it, this book captures it in the most beautiful way possible. I loved the emotion and the spontaneity of this book.  It takes you on a wild ride you don't want to miss.  Just when you think you've got things figured out, there is a sharp left turn. I LOVED IT!!  


    The only problem I see is waiting, if I can, for the sequel to this one.  I don't usually read excerpts from books to come included in the back. This time I had to. What I read made me want to contact the author and plead to read what she has finished on the sequel so far.  This is a writer you'll look forward to again and again. She's on my auto buy pile now. 




I give this book 5 out of 5 books because I finished it in one night it was that good!! BUY IT NOW!!

Monday, October 24, 2011

Review of:  Shady Lady By:  Ann Aguirre 


     Corine Solomon, decedent of Solomon from the Bible, is trying to stay alive. She just wants to run her small pawn shop and live life simply.  Fate has other plans for Ms. Solomon and she can choose to follow those plans or be on the side of Satan.  It's not as if she's alone though. She has friends to help her and Kel Ferguson, The Hand of God, her own personal guardian has been sent to see that she's protected.  Corine will go through many things before she makes her decision of which path to follow. 


        For those of you familiar with Ann Aguirre's books, this is another wild ride to stay alive. It's action packed and filled with the expected things Ann's books are so famous for. I don't want to spoil it for those reading her books for the first time so trying not to give away anything or say to much.  


       I found this book not only fascinating, but thought provoking as well. As someone raised in the Baptist church since birth, even though the book is Urban Fantasy, it makes you think and wonder. Could we really be among The Hand of God? Could Guardian Angels really be walking the earth appearing as ordinary people. I found myself pondering questions throughout this well written and exciting book.  I would recommend it highly.




      I give this book 4 out of 5 books only because it's not really my cup of tea and I found it hard to follow in places. 
Review of: A Hard Man Is Good To Find By: James W. Lewis


** Adult themed book**


       Michelle is trying to find her knight in shining armor.   Her "ONE and only".   The problem is while on that search she runs into some not so terrific men.  Michelle seems to have a knack for attracting those she DOESN'T want to spend life with...at first.  Then she finds THE PERFECT MAN!! She's not sure why he doesn't want her in a sexual way, but she's not giving up. All kinds of things run through her mind ( as they would most women).  She's in for a surprise.


       Remember what it was like to hit the clubs looking for that one special guy? The blind dates, the fix-ups by well meaning friends?  If so, you'll enjoy Michelle's adventure even more!!  You'll be able to relate to some of the wonderful characters created in this story.  It is adult themed, as noted, so not for everyone but if you give it a chance I know you will love this book as much as I did.
  
       This book is laugh out loud funny at parts and hits home in others.  I was in tears for part of this book from laughing so hard. I was laughing though because I can so relate to what Michelle goes through.  I've had some of those conversations with friends.   There isn't anything I dislike about this book! Except maybe that a man was able to hit home on so many points we females felt were well hidden..LOL!  Mr. Lewis is a terrific writer and I will definitely be on the look out for more of his books. 


I give this book 5 out of 5 books! It's an easy, awesome read and proves sometimes it's best not to rush things!


      
    
    



Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Review of: For Every Action There are Consequences By: Gail M. Baugniet 


   Set in 1968, when the Vietnam War and Civil Rights were the top news of the day, this book takes you on a roller coaster ride that will amaze you!  Pepper Bibeau resigns from the Army where she was a nurse. A year later she's doing less stressful work as a medical claims investigator for an insurance company. Pepper does suffer some nightmares of her time in Vietnam and  therefore at times she's a little jumpy. 
    Going about her job trying to get information for some medical claims filed, Pepper stumbles into several situations leading to unsafe conditions.  Just when you think you have the whole thing figured out... someone else pops into the mix and makes you rethink your approach.  Pepper loves mysteries though and she'll do her best to find the answers to these.
     I love this book! It's one I couldn't put down. Pepper is such a loving character and just imagining from what's written, what she went through in Vietnam makes you want to hold her.  I enjoyed that Pepper didn't feel she had to be strong and independent all the time. I love the Hawaiian tie in because I lived in Hawaii for 2 years myself. I was enthralled and amazed by their customs and way of life. 
    The only sad part for me was that Pepper didn't have her son with her. As a mom I can't imagine making the decision she did, but I respect the writer and character for it.  
      Overall you are going to enjoy this book so much!! I know you'll find the characters well rounded, some like-able and some not. You have to read this book!! I, myself have read it twice already it was that good! Rarely do I read a book twice in a row.


I give this book 5 out of 5 books!  Gail earned it and more! Be sure to tell friends about this one.