Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Sunday, December 23, 2012

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO OUR FOLLOWERS!!



     We want to take this opportunity to thank those who are followers of the blog. It really means so much that you check out the books we review and it seems many of you value our reviews.  I can't tell you how awesome that is.

     This year has been up and down and we didn't accomplish as much as we'd hoped but 2013 we'll be back stronger than ever.  We love the authors and writers and want to do all we can to support them.

     We hope your holiday season, however you celebrate it, is the most wonderful it's ever been!  Please visit us after the holidays and maybe become a follower, we'd love to have you.

       Thank you for making this blog a success and for making Melanie a respected reviewer. Hugs and smoochies.


Merry Christmas,
Melanie and team






Saturday, December 15, 2012

Sara's Promise Book Release Blog Tour & Giveaway


Sara's Promise
Deanna Lynn Sletten

Book Description:

Do you believe in soul mates?

William Grafton had the perfect life with his lovely wife, Sara, and two teenaged children. But one day his perfect forever was shattered when Sara died suddenly, leaving him alone to raise his children and wonder how he would ever get through life without his soul mate. Five years later, he finds himself looking into a familiar pair of blue-green eyes that remind him of Sara. The woman is the exact opposite of his late wife, yet he finds he is drawn to her. But after a few strange occurrences, he begins to wonder–are these just coincidences or has his Sara come back to him as she once promised in the form of this new woman? 

Annie Paxton doesn't believe in soul mates or fate. She had watched her father die of a broken heart after her mother passed away and has since cast away any fairy tale ideas of love. Then she meets the man who has been haunting her dreams and she begins to see love in a whole new light. But her dream man is still tied to his deceased wife, and Annie doesn't know if he will ever be able to break away from his past. As strange occurrences unfold, Annie wonders if William could ever truly love her for herself and not for the traits that remind him of Sara.

Were William and Annie brought together by fate, coincidence or by Sara keeping her promise?

***

Book Excerpt:

Annie thought of him all the way back to her apartment, and again as she lay in her bed that night. It's him. I'm sure of it, she thought. It was obvious he was still heartbroken over the loss of his wife. She had seen it in his eyes when he spoke of her. She wasn't sure how long his wife had been gone, but thought how sad it was for him. He was an attractive, energetic man, and he seemed too young to cling to a memory. As she drifted off to sleep, she was looking forward to spending the next day with him.
Across town, as William lay in bed that night, his thoughts kept returning to Annie. Her energy and her enthusiasm as she constantly snapped pictures with the camera that hung around her neck had enchanted him. There was something so familiar about her, something he just couldn't put his finger on. Her eyes were exactly like his wife's, but other than that, she was completely different from Sara. All he knew was for the first time in five years, he'd completely enjoyed his day and was looking forward to tomorrow.


Sara's Promise is available on:





Paperback coming soon!


About Deanna Lynn Sletten:

Deanna Lynn Sletten writes women's fiction novels that go beyond the basic romance novel. Her stories dig deeply into the lives of the characters, giving the reader an in-depth look into their hearts and souls. Deanna has also written one middle-grade novel that takes you on the adventure of a lifetime.

Deanna started her writing career in the early 1990s writing articles for parenting publications and local newspapers. Over time she transitioned to writing for blogs and websites and was a contributing writer for the women's website, She Knows. In November 2011, she changed course and put all her energy into novel writing and hasn't looked back since.

Deanna is married and has two grown children. When not writing, she enjoys walking the wooded trails around her northern Minnesota home with her beautiful Australian Shepherd or relaxing in the boat on the lake in the summer.

Connect with Deanna:







Giveaway!

In celebration of Deanna's new book release she is having a giveaway! Leave a comment on this site to have your name entered in the drawing for one of four prizes: Two $25 Amazon Gift Cards and 2 paperback copies of Sara's Promise. Be sure to include your email address so we can contact you. You can enter at each site of the blog tour for more chances to win! Giveaway starts December 10th and ends December 17th at midnight. Winners will be contacted December 18th after noon.

Follow the tour schedule here: www.deannalynnsletten.com


I deeply apologize to Deanna for posting another author's photo with her blog tour and giveaway! It's been one of those days for me. Please forgive my mistake.



Monday, December 10, 2012

Season for Surrender by Theresa Romain

     December 1818.  The ninth Earl of Xavier and his cousin were going about their day at Whites when the subject of a wager came about.  Xavier's annual house party was coming up and it, as usual, was a party most of polite society dismissed.  Lord Lockwood, Xavier's cousin, posed the following wager.  He wanted Xavier to get a respectable girl to attend the house party and stay for the entire two weeks.  The winner would receive Ten pounds.  Xavier never doubted his ability but the lady chosen was Louisa Oliver. One of the most sought after girls of society.  
     Louisa Oliver had her own agenda she was working on. She wanted excitement, fun and she wanted to be kissed.  Her list of things to accomplish at the house party began to get checked off rapidly. Louisa was sure this was one Christmas house party she wouldn't soon forget. 

     Theresa Romain gave us a different way to enjoy Christmas. It's a book full of scintillating conversations and characters you might find at any Christmas party.  I love these story lines.  It shows a strong woman but she's still feminine.  This is the perfect book to take a break with after Christmas shopping or baking. Will put you in the spirit right away!

     I found no issues with this one.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because of the surprises inside. 

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

How Angels Die by David-Michael Harding

                                                   
         Claire and her sister Monique work with the French Resistance.  Each young woman has her  own way of going about it, but they both accomplish the task.    Claire chooses military tactics while Monique chooses pillow talk to gain information she can  pass on.  Neither has an easy job and what they do is splitting their family in two.  Their parents are divided on the subject of which way is the best for their daughters to go.  Both are in great danger most of the time.  Set during the late part of WWII, these women and others like them are willing to do whatever it takes to bring down Germany.  Many will die and others will suffer surprises they had no idea of.

     Gritty, full of details and reminders that WWII wasn't easy for anyone.  The story could be any woman involved with WWII.  The characters are so well developed you'll forget this is fiction.  This book will appeal to war buffs, history buffs and those curious about the French Resistance.  David-Michael Harding gives us a book with real substance and not just a fluff piece.

    I found no issues with this book.

    I gave this one 5 books out of 5 books because it fully told the story of both sisters.

Monday, December 3, 2012

Lady Gone Bad by Sabine Starr

    Lady Gone Bad is wanted.  US Marshall Rafe Morgan is the one who will bring her to justice.  He didn't count on Lady being so wily.  She puts his neck in a noose the first day he arrives at The Bend.   Feeling guilty though, Lady also saves him from the would-be- hangin group.  They arrive at a place where it's safe for Morgan to go on alone but he decides he must help "the kid" stay safe.  Things seem to go from bad to worse when Rafe's face shows up on a wanted poster. Now what else could possibly happen to this unlikely duo?


   Sabine Starr never disappoints when it comes to a really good story. She knows how to make even the unlikely happen.  Winding strength, love and justice in one book is a feat she makes look incredibly easy.  I found the characters to be lovable and  fun to read about.  I recommend this book. It will let you fulfill your fantasies about cowboys and give you a chance to live on the wild side.  In all honesty, when I started this book, I figured it was going to be a bad one. Just had that feeling. I was more than pleasantly surprised to find a wonderful book inside.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it caught me by surprise.

Saturday, November 24, 2012

Kendra by Stephen Jennison-Smith

     Kendra is set in the Biblical time period of Noah and the Ark.  Being half human and half angel, he needed something to occupy his time.  He found leading men to battle on earth was just the thing to keep him busy.  Kendra kept his talents secret from most everyone.  He was certain he wouldn't be trusted otherwise and Kendra was the kings favorite warrior.  The life of Kendra was as ordinary and as different as it could be.  His life at home was peaceful, calm and normal.  This gave him even more reason to seek distraction on earth.

     The details make this book. A cleverly written story using the Bible for a reference point, you'll enjoy this book about the life of a Nephilim.  It gives us rich full characters and a story that is easy to follow, even if you haven't been a devoted Bible reader.  I found this one captured my attention right away and took me on a voyage I hadn't expected. It made things click in my mind and gave me new areas to ponder.  Get this book if you enjoy fantasy, you won't be disappointed.

     I found no issues with this book.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because while it's excellent, I could hear my grandad saying read the Bible instead! 

Friday, November 23, 2012



Jake Johnson wonders why he has never seen his father.  He also learns
a secret about himself.  Can he really believe what his friend George tells him? He'll
must in order to survive.  Jake is the son of Zeus? Read more to follow the adventure
Jake and George have after Jake finds out who his Dad is.

Author James Warburton did a fantastic job with this book. He gave us believable characters and a story all children will love.  I found this book to be adventurous, fun and I learned a little about Greek Gods too.  Children will love this book because the characters are their age.  Their imaginations will run wild while reading this book with an older person.

I found no issues with this book.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 books because it it one for the kids library. Kids, big and small.

Meet James Warburton, Author of Jake Johnson and the Half Bloods

  1. What made you write this story?
I was inspired by a series of books called "Percy Jackson". Written by Rick Riordon. I have read most of Mr Riordon's books. They are so interesting that I am often in trouble when I sneak them under the blanket at night to read with a torch.

I love writing (I have been writing since I was 6 when I made my first book by stapling pieces of paper together with just a few words on them and my teacher let me display them in our classes "library corner". I loved it when the other kids actually picked up one of my books, although there was not much to read)
 I struggle to write words down on paper, but when I type on a computer I feel "free" and I can say anything I want to. Kids at school tell me I am "stupid" because I cannot write words properly on paper. The doctor says this is not my fault, but the kids still tease me. I guess writing is a way to escape their meanness. The worlds I create in my stories allow me to imagine anything I want. This is why I do not want pictures in my books. I want the reader to be free to imagine what the world in my stories look like. If I use pictures, then their imagination might be limited by the pictures.

2.  How did you decide to make the book as big as it is?
I did not decide this. This is just how it turned out. I had a story inside me and when I finished, that is how long it was. It is three times longer than anything I wrote before this. When I had the idea to write it I knew I wanted to write a proper book (even if it is just a short kids book), not just a page or two. Making it longer gave me a better chance to tell the entire story that I had in my mind.


3.  Where did you get the idea for the people in the book?
I came up with random names for the characters. I selected random Greek gods as the parents of the characters and then I gave the characters personalities that I thought would match their Greek god parent.

4.   Will you be writing another book soon?
Yes! I am nearly finished book 2 and plan to write more after that. The second book in this series is called "Jake Johnson And The God Of War".
  
I feel like I "need" to write. I have lots of stories inside me that want to get out.

I hope that lots of people will buy my books on Amazon and enjoy Jake Johnson's adventures as much as I do.

I would really like to see my books in paper form too. I think I will wait until I have written about three ebooks and then get them printed altogether into one physical book for my readers to enjoy.

Thank you for listening to me Ms Adkins. Not all adults take the time to hear what children have to say. 


    Stop back by and read the review on this book!  

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Happy Thanksgiving to all of our members and visitors!

    This is the beginning of the holiday season and before time gets away, we want to say thank you!   Thank you for your support and your continued participation in this blog.  We hope that today you are enjoying time with family and friends.  Remember this day is about more than just turkey and fixin's.  It's about remembering the blessings we have in our lives. It's about helping others who may not have meal today.  My ancestors were Cherokee and as a Native American  the day is even more precious to me.

Keep stopping by and reading the reviews please. It means so much to me.  Thank you!!! Melanie



Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Jaguar Moon by Martha Bourke

      Maya and her friends are just getting back to normal after their epic battle with the Toltec.  Things seem normal but there is something different. Maya is having nightmares. The most horrible nightmares, but she can't figure out why. They haven't seen any demons and things have been quiet.  Matt, her mate, is the only one who knows about the nightmares right now.  It was obvious to Maya and Matt they wouldn't be safe going home. They had to figure out if the nightmares were part of something that passed or something yet to be.  Just when Maya thinks she has a handle on the nightmares, Akil appears. This is an interesting twist to things.  While Maya once again puts her safety in danger, the others, including her mate, can only watch and wait.  

     Martha Bourke is a true storyteller! She's able to weave a tale to keep you entertained and engaged. This is the second book in the series and each one gets better and better.  I recommend this book for everyone, it's a YA book. You can easily lose a couple hours with this book and that's a great thing.  Characters you can embrace and a story that keeps surprises coming make this a book to add to the TBR pile.  The writing is superb, but then again Martha is terrific at what she does.  

    I found no issues with this one.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it's one of the best series books I've read in quite awhile.

Monday, November 19, 2012

Financial Success for Creative Professionals by GCP


Propel Your Creativity Forward and Achieve Financial Success
Ron Gavalik


As a publisher and marketing professional, I’ve always found it vitally important to ensure creative professionals possess the correct tools to market their work to the right kinds of audiences. I’ve enjoyed a long and fruitful career ensuring the success of businesses, but also multiple fields in the arts. I take a lot of pride in sharing that learned experience with others.

Unfortunately, I’ve met so many creative people who honestly believe they’ll never make a secure living by pouring passion into their work. That kind of cynicism is sad and frustrating, especially when I know for a fact that it’s not true. We all require housing and plumbing to sustain life, but it’s creativity that gives our lives purpose…and talented creators perform a necessary function in our society. It’s my job to make sure they earn a high middle-class income.

That’s why our team assembled Financial Success for Creative Professionals, the first of its kind marketing plan that’s guaranteed to drive your long-term success.

In the modern era, writers, artists, performers, models, photographers, musicians, and crafters face two real challenges when it comes to selling their creative products and performances. The first is contending with an oversaturation in the market, where so many indie creators are now selling their work to the masses. The second and more important challenge is gaining the marketing knowledge to break through the chaos and build a significant fan base that leads to achieving a secure revenue stream.

Because of the oversaturation, consumers are only willing to invest about 5 to 10 seconds viewing a creative product or performance on a website or at a tradeshow. If they’re intrigued, they’ll stay longer to absorb more of the experience and begin to build what’s referred to as an emotional investment. That happens when something about the product or performance you created pleases the sensory pathways of the brain and a person is compelled to become part of the experience, such as making a purchase.

On the other hand, if the consumer doesn’t emotionally identify with your work in a few heartbeats, they’ll navigate away from your website or walk away from your booth. Their psychology will register your product or performance as a negative experience and you’ll never see them again.

In that brief 5 to 10 second moment, the potential fan stands on the shore of a river while your work sits on the other side. You must persuade the consumer into building a bridge (emotional investment) to cross the river and then obtain your creation. That’s no easy feat, but when we understand how to brand a creation and then present it properly to potential fans, it’s easy to achieve the needed connections with hundreds of thousands of consumers.

How do we do this? Exposure. The marketing plan shows us how to attract the right kinds of consumers, referred to as target audiences. These targets must be exposed to a properly branded product or performance over and over again for their minds to build the bridge across the river and purchase your work.

Financial Success for Creative Professionals provides you the tools to drive hundreds of thousands of target consumers to your creations. You’ll also gain the ability to brand your work in a unique category that eliminates competition. It’s that created perception of your work that raises you above the chaos of so many indie writers, artists, musicians, and performers in the world.

The marketing plan is delivered to you in five-parts to achieve long-term success. You’re walked through expert marketing theory as it applies to the arts. You’ll construct your public marketing structure. The plan then drives your media marketing initiatives to win support of social media followers, the news media, and others. You’ll diversify income from multiple sources into your one checking account. Don’t worry; it’s not that complex. You’re given easy to follow checklists for daily, weekly, and monthly initiatives that respects your artistic time. That’s the guaranteed formula that will achieve you the true success your passion deserves.
Now that you’ve been given a glimpse of the proven marketing plan, it’s my hope that you’ll take your creative career seriously and allow your work to raise the quality of life in potential fans around the world. If you pour your passions into each project or performance, you must propel your career to the next level, realize your full potential and achieve success.

************************************************************************

Ron Gavalik is the author of Financial Success for Creative Professionals and has over 20 years of celebrated experience in corporate and creative marketing. This former Director of Communications has assisted private, nonprofit, and artistic organizations achieve success through grassroots experience marketing initiatives. Gavalik is currently the Publisher for Grit City Publications and creator of the innovative Emotobooks fiction medium. He holds a B.S. in Marketing Communications from Point Park University and an M.A. in Writing from Seton Hill University. His work in the arts has shaped success for countless creative professionals who seek financial independence.


If  you'd like to purchase this marketing plan, please contact me at macladie25@yahoo.com, subject line: financial plan Ron Gavalik. I'll get the plan to you.




Friday, November 16, 2012

Sarah's Sexploits: Champagne and Cherries by K.T.Red

    Sarah isn't a woman who wants to settle for just one man. She wants to sample them all. She enjoys sex to much to just be with one man, or does she? Emil is the man in Sarah's life right now because of an arrangement. Sarah's okay with it but she never knows what to expect where Emil is concerned. He can be the lover or Managing Director of the company. 
    After a business trip, Emil surprises Sarah with a new offer. Sarah isn't sure it's what she wants, but Emil will stop at nothing to win her over.

     Such an erotic, romantic, sensual book!! K. T. Red did an excellent job of incorporating it all into this book.  It really is a joy to read because it will leave you breathless in some areas and in others, your heart will melt.  I highly recommend this for the adult library. Imagine a nice fire in the fireplace, wine and you and your significant other reading passages to each other. Will make for a 6 alarm fire kinda night.  

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it did incorporate everything a romance should have.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Cupcakes by Daniel Kelley

     Auntie Winifred owned a bakery and it was where the cupcakes spent all their time. Auntie Winifred was full of life and her home was a wonderland of fun. Her home was located over top the bakery which made it even more fun.  Froggie, Zander, Iggy and Shoeless were a united group. They spent everyday together exploring, learning and growing under Auntie Winifred's watchful eye.

     Daniel Kelley may be a newer author, but this book shows he will be around a long time.  Touching, endearing and a chance for young adults to see there is more going on than fun and games in their life. Daniel Kelley tells this story from a female cupcake's point of view and he's spot on with it.   This is one high on my list of recommendations! I found myself reminiscing about my own childhood as I read.  A book like this makes a terrific gift for that young adult in your life. GET this book!

    I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books and wishing it could be more. It really is one of those books your child will get something  positive from.

   

The Girl Who Wore Her Shoes On The Wrong Feet by Julienne Holmes

     Claire is four and she has an unusual way of wearing her shoes.  She believes the way she wears them, she gets the chance to walk in someone's shoes.  One day though, Claire changes her mind. Find out why when you read this book.

     Julienne Holmes found a wonderful way to teach a very important life lesson to the young ones.  This sweet, adorable book will captivate young children and adults will wonder why they didn't think of this approach.  I highly recommend this book for all children under the age of seven. Lively illustrations and simply language make this one you'll want in your family's library.

    I found no issues here.

   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it excited the child in me. 

Monday, November 12, 2012

Obsession Wears Opals by Renee Bernard

     Darius Thorne is a professor. A scholar. He's also a very handsome man. His life was quiet and full of education until the day she arrived. Nearly frozen and scared to death, Isabel turned Darius' world around in a matter of seconds.  Feeling protective of her from the start, Darius soon learned Isabel was an abused woman. Signs of a fresh flogging on her back and the nightmares she had confirmed his suspicion.  In no time at all, Darius had lost his heart to "Helen".  He knew he shouldn't get so close, but she was everything he'd ever wanted in a woman.  Helen was terrified of being found and receiving an even more severe punishment than the one she ran from.  It takes time but she does learn to trust Darius and his staff.  As with all good things, there is an end. Darius and Helen will fight for their love. They both only hope they can tame the beast who enters their loving world.

     Renee Bernard really did an excellent job of incorporating the abuse into the story without making the story only about the abuse.     I was amazed at the love, kindness and caring Helen receives from the people whose lives she is suddenly dumped into.  You'll fall in love with Darius because he's that quiet, bookish type you saw in college or high school and wanted to approach but were afraid you'd scare him off.  The characters are terrifically designed and fit this book in such a wonderful way. I highly recommend you check out this latest book in Renee Bernard's series "The Jaded Gentlemen".  This book knocked me off my feet in a fantastic way!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because as a former abused woman, I'd love to have been in Isabel's shoes where Darius is concerned.

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Thin Wire: A mother's journey through her daughter's heroin addiction by Christine Lewry

     At seventeen Christine gave birth to Amber. It was tough and overwhelming to be so young and have a child to care for.  Christine made up her mind to make a good life for Amber and herself.  Things are going well until Amber begins to get a little wild. Trouble at school became a regular thing.  Christine deals with it all but her bond with her daughter isn't quite as strong as she'd like.  Life moves on as Christine marries and has two more children.  Amber's troubles become even more intense as she begins doing drugs.  It's at this time Christine finds out she has cancer and that her daughter is addicted to Heroin.  Christine's instincts kick in and she begins to help Amber, as much as she can, to get clean.  Amber's addiction is bad but eventually it will get even worse.  Neither realizes the problems  ahead.

     Amber's addiction tests her mother's love, patience,marriage and sanity.  In this true life story, you'll find out the lengths to which a mother will go to keep her child safe.  I was amazed at the tenacity Christine has.  I felt she and Amber were honest with their thoughts and feelings about what happened during this time.  This is a story of growth, love and testing the limits.  This book is one where you'll go back and forth at times. Sometimes on Christine's side and sometimes wondering how she can continue on the path she's chosen. The same with Amber. There will be times you want to help and hold her, others where you'll want to shake her senseless.  This is one all parents should read but especially those whose children have chosen the path of drugs.

    I did find one issue. I didn't feel it really showed how much of a strain on the family it was. How Christine was pulled in two directions.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it is honest and direct.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Marina in a Green Dress by Alan Davidson

     Seventeen year old Jessica has moved from her small town to London. Her life there is okay but the one thing keeping her going was Kennedy Orr. Jessica has a boyfriend, Steve, but he's always wanting to watch television.  Jessica's fantasies get richer and fuller each time she sees Kennedy Orr perform in Marina in a Green Dress. Feeling she knows Kennedy so well, Jessica writes a letter to him one evening while at Steve's house.  Steve get jealous and decides to teach Jessica a lesson. He mails the letter to Kennedy Orr. Jessica isn't sure whether to be grateful or horrified.  Then she gets the chance to meet Kennedy and it's a very surreal situation.  Much to Jessica's surprise Kennedy keeps calling her and spending time with her. Steve is worried now and trying to find a way to burst this fantasy bubble Jessica created.  

     Jessica's fairy tale comes true but was it everything she thought it would be?  Alan Davidson does such a beautiful job of weaving this story with honesty and a good dose of common sense.  The characters seem to pop off the page as you get to know them.  I highly recommend this YA book for everyone! You'll enjoy this story of coming face to face with the object of your affections and the growing up that happens as a result.   I enjoyed this book very much.

     I only found one issue. The book seems to be a little slow moving in the beginning but more than makes up for it by the end.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 stars because while the beginning was slow and  it was made up for in the end, there were some moments of "is this creepy or cool". 

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

A Darkness Shattered by Bruce Clothier

     Trapped in his home for 8 days, Michael Matthew Nelson, 16, wondered if his parents would ever come home.  Zombies had begun to attack the city and so far his parents hadn't made it home.  Scared, but knowing he had to do something, Michael takes a truck and sets out for his grandparents home.  He knew that would be the best place for him.
     Abby, an orphan who was headed to a new foster home  ends up connecting with a rag tag group of men. She saw first hand the terror and destruction the zombies were creating. The group of men she was traveling with were protecting her until slowly, the group began falling apart. Abby finds an empty house and decides to stay there for safety.
    Michael also finds the same house about a day later. He and his neighbor's dog decide to make it home.  Michael and Abby meet and together they begin an adventure of survival no 16 year old should ever have to face.

     Bruce Clothier drops us in the center of the worst war humans could ever fight. A time when survival is the most important thing and trusting anyone can be dangerous.  This zombie story tells us how it would really be if we ended up in the Zombie Apocalypse.  Not just blood and gore, this story  delicately but firmly describes the balance of love, survival and the change in humans when loved ones are at risk. These characters are the most identifiable I've ever encountered in a Zombie book. This one you have got to read!!

     I found no issues in this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it showed a side of the Zombie Apocalypse many ignore. The very human side. 

Saturday, October 27, 2012

The Wanderer by Pippa Dee

     Centuries ago a dangerous group brought death to the tribes.  The Wanderers were that group. The Guardians fought them whenever necessary.  The Guardians defeated all but one. One Wanderer and one Guardian to watch over that Wanderer. They were put to sleep, in a manner of speaking.  Who would have guessed centuries later that Wanderer would be let loose in the cyber world?  Sasha, an unknowing young girl, opened the file the Wanderer was in and so it began again after all this time.  The Wanderer was making Sasha sick and then she sent the file to her friend Andy and it made him sick. No one knew what to do. 
     The legacy was passed down for generations to the eldest woman of the family. She had to be surrounded by children. Georgia Brown was that woman.  She was anxious to get started on her part of the legacy. When she finally figured out who the chosen one was, she thought it might be to late. 

     A mix of old and new make this book an interesting one for sure.  Peeking back at how it began and then looking ahead to see where it's headed keeps this book moving along at a more fluid pace. The characters are well developed and easy to identify with.  I recommend this book to everyone but especially to those who have an interest in old tribal legends.  I found this fascinating book an easy read and one I'd read again.  Get this one on that  TBR pile today!

     I found no issues in this one.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because while I would read it again, some of the "old"parts can be difficult to follow.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Double Trouble by Constance Masters

    Becky has begun to learn her lesson, still she and her best friend Kendall can still get into trouble.  Kendall met and will now marry Ryan's friend Mike. They can't wait!  Everyone is preparing for that day and of course that means a bachelor party.  Mike decided to use his bachelor party to relax and fish with his buddies.  Kendall and Becky, they've chosen something a bit more flashy.  Kendall now knows all about Becky's rules and gets the feeling she may be in for more than she bargained for with Mike.  When the girls night out ends very badly, Becky and Kendall try to fix everything themselves.  Ryan and Mike sense something is wrong and leave the lake earlier than originally planned to find out what.  They just want the girls to be safe. The guys know though, when Becky and Kendall get together, anything can happen. 


    Constance Masters did a fantastic job of tying Double Trouble and Becky's Last Chance together. The characters don't lose any punch and the story is just as well written as the first. This book is again another one for the adult library! Keep it handy on those nights when you need an extra hot session. Becky may be married in this second book, but don't let that fool you. She's still got lessons to learn! Check this out.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it flawlessly added right on to Becky's Last Chance.

Becky's Last Chance by Constance Masters

     Becky's principal is at her wits end. She's give Becky every possible punishment she can but Becky keeps on causing trouble.  With no other choice, Principal Tracy send a note home to her father for him to sign. Becky knows this is it. If she can't convince her Dad to back her, not the Principal, she's in deep.  Geoff, Becky's Dad, knows he's been too lenient with his daughter over the years. She lost her mother when she was six and so he just wanted to give her everything. In the process, Geoff spoiled Becky so badly he had no choice but to find a girls boarding school for her to finish high school.  Becky is furious and refuses to speak to her father after he sends her away. 
     Now Becky's graduating and Geoff's life has changed. He needs to make some changes and Ryan, a young man who works for him, is part of those changes.  At first Ryan isn't sure about it all, then Becky comes home in a fury.  It might just take everything he has to keep Becky in line. 

     A tasteful, yet seductive read with just enough kink to start fires blazing! Constance Masters has given us a book many will enjoy over and over. The characters are well fleshed out and the story extremely well written and thought out.   Everyone can use an extra helping of heat in the bedroom and this book offers more than a generous helping of that.  It's one to keep in the adult library for you and your significant other. You'll enjoy this one together or separately.

     I didn't find any issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 stars because it was so tastefully done.

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Tukie Tales: I Can Do It by Debbie Burns & Patty Cockrell

     Daddy Beaver is teaching Cody how to build a dam. He shows him how to cut the logs he uses and where to place them. Cody follows along so carefully and then attempts to build his own dam. It isn't holding back the water. Frustrated, Cody decides to try again. His second attempt leaks. He's ready to give up when the Tukie's arrive. They have him wish on a special wishing rock. Cody gets back to work and tries to build his dam again.

    What a wonderful group of books for young ones. The messages are so clearly presented and the characters are extremely lovable.  I adore the writing and the idea we can teach children morals, values and lessons through books.  This one is especially important because young ones get easily frustrated when things begin to fall apart.  Teaching them to keep trying and do your best is a wonderful thing! I highly recommend you get these books for the young ones in your life.

     I found no issues with this one. 

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because they present the messages so clearly with lovely illustrations. 

Hell's Fury by P.D. Martin

     Jane Calloway was held prisoner for seven months by Afghanistan rebels.  She was tortured in every way humanly possible and some ways that weren't.  Jane is convinced The Company has left her for dead.  Furious, scared and ready for revenge.  One day Jane is rescued. She thinks at first it must be The Company but soon finds it isn't.  The group rescuing her is similar to The Company but they go about things in a whole different manner. Rod Decker is part of an elite group of ex-members of the intelligence and justice communities.  The Committee, the group he works for, are more organized and committed to helping their operatives reach their goals.  They recruit Jane after her rescue.  Jane decides working for the committee might not be so bad, for at least one job.  Once she starts to work on that job though, she's like a storm from hell unleashed on the dregs of society.  Jane's flashbacks remind her that men like these deserve whatever they get. With the help of her handler, Wilton, she'll have an easier time completing her job.

     An adrenaline pumping novel, this book will make you wonder at what our military POW's go through.  P.D. Martin did an incredible job with making the story seem so real.  The characters are well developed and easy to follow.  A book like this will keep you glued to your seat and your heart pounding out of your chest.  I recommend this book highly. I'm not one for all the military stuff in books, but I really enjoyed this woman's story.  P.D. Martin created a brave, fearless woman and some really top-notch men working with her.  Add this one to your TBR pile if you haven't already.

    I found no issues with this one.

    I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it swept me away like a tornado.

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Cassie and The Wild Cat Meet and Greet by Pat Hatt

     Cassie loves her human and the home they share. She is the most content cat. Then her human brings home another cat. Cassie doesn't like the cat or the idea of sharing her human.  The new cat thinks he's so cool and Cassie wants him gone.

     This story about a cat learning to share her human and her home with another is wonderful.  No matter what she tries, Cassie just can't get this cat to leave.  It's perfect for the brother or sister with a new sibling.  Love the lesson here.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because the lesson of sharing is so important.

The Swashbuckle Chuckle by Pat Hatt

     Frown Clown and his pirates sneak into the village of Leaping Laughs and steal their fountain! The fountain is solid gold. One Shoe Kangaroo decides to go after them and get the fountain back. Can he find out why Frown Clown took the fountain? It might take a little magic.

    A cute story where there is more going on than meets the eye. Characters that are fun and names you wouldn't expect make this a fun read for the younger kids. I recommend this book.


    I found no issues with this one.

    I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because while it was cute, it rambled. 

Gawk of the Mohawk by Pat Hatt

     Grutty is a Cyclops. He's one of the clan who rule the Cyclone Sky.  He's different though. The others try to ignore him as much as  possible.  One day the Wacky Wizard sneaks into the clan's area and sends Grutty away.    With some help, Grutty saves the clan.

    This book is one for those aged 7-9, at least in my opinion.  The story is good but the illustrations are extremely amateur.  

    I found issues with this one. It isn't a story that makes a lot of sense and young ones might not enjoy the illustrations. I believe this one went to far in the wrong direction.


I gave this one 2 out of 5 books because it went nowhere.  

Boo and The Backyard Zoo by Pat Hatt

     Boo is a happy ghost who lives in the front yard. His friend Grape Face wants to be an astronaut. Nugget, who thinks he rules the front yard, has other ideas.  When Boo gets sent to the scary backyard, things change. 


     A wonderful story perfect for this time of year. No it isn't scary but it does teach children not to judge others by rumors.  It also sends the message of working together to meet a goal.  Kids will love this little ghost and want only the best for him. The writing is good and has just the right approach for little ones. I recommend this book.

     The only issue I found is that some of the words might be above the little kids heads and need explaining.  

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because it's perfect for Halloween and the little kids.

Friday, October 19, 2012

Little Buggies: A Rhyming Guessing Book for Little Ones by Cindy Bracken

    This book starts with a wonderful rhyming story to keep little ones attention. Then it adds a guessing game everyone enjoys. Teaching little ones the early skills of reading and taking in the whole picture.  
   
     Absolutely adorable and so much fun, your littles will love this book for years to come.  Showing the littles the different kinds of bugs will have them exploring outside whenever they get the chance.  I love this one.  There can never be enough fun books for babies and littles to have.  It gives them a great start on being good readers. Cindy Bracken included everything littles enjoy in a book!


     I didn't find issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because it encompasses all the things an enjoyable and teaching book should.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

American Goddesses by Gary R. Henry

    Dr. Susan Tzin-Zin is the head of the University's Immunology Research Department. She is trying to find a way to obtain mental control over our bodies and the physical environment.   The amazing thing is... she achieved this goal.  Her test subjects, Megan Harris, 48 and Patricia Reilly, 22 are now invincible.  They can work with the local fire and police to take care of really bad situations.  They are both adjusting to their new status when "The Agency" takes notice.  The Agency planned pranks for money that affected millions of lives.  Their newest one involved the Goddesses.  After going through some horrible things in their personal lives, the women begin to settle into their new roles.  The Agency chooses this time to strike.  They make use of a Russian woman who was a test subject on a similar matter.  Things really begin to go sour for the Goddesses.  Just like all new weapons, someone will want it for evil. Will they be able to rise above the challenges they've been through and continue their good works? Only with the help of a few friends.
      Mind-blowing, action filled and on par with some of the greatest movies of all times. This book will keep you turning pages until the end.  I literally read this one in about 2 hrs and then re-read it 3 more times.  I love the characters! They are so well developed and you could see them in any town USA.  The story flows in such a way you'll never find a slow spot or a lull in the action.  Gary R. Henry put together a story perfect for the movies.  I can visualize the colorful clothing and the special effects. WOW! I've never had such a clear picture of heroines who make you wish they were real.  GET THIS BOOK!

     I found no issues with this one. 

     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books. Wonder Woman eat your heart out! There are new Goddesses in town!

     
     
 

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

The Tree of Everlasting Knowledge by Christine Nolfi

     The Fagan Orchard has always been the central figure in Lincoln, Ohio.  Families have for generations worked at the orchard.  Along with the orchard came The Great Oak. Many thought it to be the oldest tree in Ohio. Some wonderful events took place under The Great Oak and some not so wonderful events took place there too.  The town is small and everyone knows everyone there.  It wasn't a surprise when Ourania showed up at construction of the new wing on the Fagan mansion.   Ourania was the only female electrical company in the area.  She needed this job to decrease the debt of her company.  Troy Fagan was not a fan of Ourania's. They'd fought since grade school. Except for one night beneath The Great Oak.   Ourania's mother, the director of the Jobs & Family office, insisted all of her children become foster parents at the age of 30.  That's how Walt and Emma came into her life. She was their foster mother.  Events from the past would tie with present day events to wind the roots of The Great Oak tree through several families lives. A startling surprise makes the earth shake for Troy and Ourania. This was something neither could have foreseen.

    This book is wonderfully written and speaks directly to the heart.  If you can read this and not cry or feel anger, you aren't human.  The characters are full and richly developed.  I recommend this story of love, loss, hurt and forgiveness.  This book takes you through the lives of three families and the twists and turns that occurs over two generations.  It's beautiful, heartbreaking and such a terrific message. Christine Nolfi knows how to sensitively present information and blend a story so tenderly you don't realize you're still reading a work of fiction. 

   I found no issues here.

   I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because the story touch my heart in so many ways. 

Monday, October 15, 2012

Welch’s Sparkling Juice “Spooktacular” Giveaway (ends 10/23/12)




Their sparking fruit juice is available in White Grape, Red Grape, Cranberry and Blueberry Grape. Mmmm! I really want to try Blueberry Grape. I also think that the Cranberry would be the perfect addition to a Thanksgiving dinner or holiday dinner. I’m going to be on the look out for those flavors and have them handy for the holidays. Not everyone drinks, so having sparking juice on hand is a great way to make people feel included in the celebration. It’s also great for designated drinkers who can’t drink.
I would never think to use sparkling fruit to celebrate Halloween. It’s actually not a bad idea.
Welch’s has a fun recipe that I can’t wait to make this Halloween. Not only does it sound good it looks creepy too.
For this recipe you’ll need the following;
2 bottle of Welch’s Sparkling Juice (any flavor)
1 bottle of your favorite Welch’s Fruit Juice (any flavor)
Food Coloring (optional)
Directions:
Add all the juices into a punch bowl. You can add food coloring to give it a creepy look if you want.
For added Halloween rinse out a surgical glove, fill it with water and pop it in the freezer. When it’s turned to ice you can peel off the glove and put the hand shaped ice into the punch bowl with your Welch’s juices. If you can’t get a surgical glove look for other creepy molds (I’ve seen brain molds for geletins) and use that instead. Let your imagination go wild!
If you want to add a bit more of a “gross factor” to it drop in some peeled grapes (“eye balls”) and gummy worms or insects. The kids will love that!
For more information about Welch’s products visit www.Welchs.com. You can also “Like” their Facebook Page and/or follow them on Twitter.
Welch’s would like to give a lucky reader a fun Halloween prize package. The prize includes:
(1) bottle of sparkling in a custom Welch’s Sparkling box
(3) VIP coupons for FREE bottles of Welch’s
Other fun Halloween related recipes & goodies
Thanks Welch’s!
This giveaway is open to US residents only and will end on October 23, 2012 at 12:01 AM (EST). The winner will be chosen at random using a random number generator from all eligible entries. The winner will be notified via e-mail and have three days to reply or a new winner will be chosen in thier place.
To enter please leave a comment on this post and tell me which flavor of Welch’s Sparkling Juice would you most like to try.
For extra entries you can use the Rafflecopter widget (below) but you must complete the initial entry requirement or the additional entries won’t qualify.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Better off Dead by Matthew Rowe

    Mummy's, vampires, werewolves and dragons are all part of the war between Khalid and Lucian.  Two powerful men both of whom want control of Londinium.  This war takes place far into the future when supernaturals are common place and humans are the minority.  Khalid enlists the help of a rag tag bunch of misfits to further his hold on Londinium. Ramses, P-Head, Gimpy and Kenempti work together, not always well, to push back Lucian and his warriors.  Finding themselves in several bad situations, they must learn to work together before they can be of any help in the war.  They each have their own agenda in helping Khalid but somehow together this group does the impossible. 

    Quirky, humorous and wonderful, this book will keep you entertained for quite some time.  Each character is well developed and certainly worthy of a book of their own.  I loved the humor mixed with the outright silliness in this one.  I recommend it to everyone, not just those who enjoy supernaturals.  Everyone will take away an enjoyable experience.  The story is well thought out and written in a way that makes it easy to follow.  Get this book.

     I didn't find any issues with this one.
    
     I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because you rarely see humor mixed with supernaturals.

Friday, October 5, 2012

Once; Ask Me Anything, Not Love by Mian Mohsin Zia

     An author who is very successful with his career but has not found love. He really hasn't given it much thought until he goes away on holiday.  Once he's in the Ukraine and enjoying himself, he meets a woman who could possibly change his life.  She could be his love.  Things don't always go smoothly in the world of love though and in the author's case it doesn't fair any better.  Can he win this woman's love and share life with her as he wants to do? It might take some time to find her first. 

    This book has a bit of everything in it. Poetry, Prayers and a story.  The author is very brave to use first person in a book like this.  It can take one of two paths. It can be excellent and enjoyable  or it can be boring and bland.  I'm sorry to say this book followed the second path.

    I did find issues with this book.  It has no emotion, no feeling. The words are written in a plastic way.  It's as though you are reading Mian's diary instead of a book full of love.  I found it strange that he would include the moments when he intruded on the private affairs of others. Cultural differences aside, it's just plain bad taste to attend a wedding and a funeral of people you don't know.  You weren't invited yet you stay and act as though you belong with these families.  This book is self absorbed and in no way holds the readers attention.  I would not recommend this book at all. 

     I gave this book 1 out of 5 books because it wasn't a book. It was a collection of thoughts on paper. 

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

I ADORE my author friends BUT.....

  HI All!

    I'm writing this memo because I can't seem to make writers understand one simple little thing. Reviewers haven't said much about it and maybe I'm a nag because I am speaking up, but I need to.  When you send an ebook for review if the file name has numbers and letters or some code only you understand, it's nearly impossible for a busy reviewer to find it when it's your turn for the review.  

   I have a HUGE volume of reviews to do so maybe it bothers me more than it does others, but when you send me a file and it's all numbers and letters, chances are slim I'll ever remember what numbers and letters were yours.  I've tried and had others more competent than I try, to rename the file but it doesn't work. It always reverts back to the numbers and letters.  I have over 100 with numbers and letters I have to sort through to find the right book when I'm moving down the review list. It slows down the process even more when I spend an hour or more searching for your book.

   PLEASE label the file with your book's title or your name. Either will work.  THANK YOU for your patience and your attention to this matter.

   Yes I am really really far behind on reviews. I've had 2 surgeries recently, I've got an upper respiratory infection accompanying the flu and an array of other illnesses I won't bore you with. I read as much as I possibly can and as fast as I can in light of the above issues.  Please know I will finish each review though it may take longer than first expected. IF you'd choose to have someone else review it and not me, that's fine, just tell me so and I'll delete your book from my files.  Thank you for your patience with me!

Melanie Adkins