Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in several spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

COMING SOON FROM: PAUL M. KRAMER

     Dottie is three now and it's time to start potty training.  Daddy bought her a brand new, red and white potty. They explain number one is potty.  Number two is poop or doo doo. Dottie seems to get the hang of potty pretty quickly but is scared to try number two in her new potty.  Mommy and Daddy decide to let her sit on her potty for five or ten minutes, several times a day.  They found allowing Dotty to watch Mommy was helpful too.

     This is a great help book for parents. It's never easy to potty train every child. As a mother of 3 and Aunt to 12, I know first hand how different they can be.  You'll like how easy this book to share with your child. It's one you'll want as part of your parenting section of your library.  

     The only issue I had was when Dottie got scared to poop in her potty. I think I would have handled it differently. Removing all fear.

     I gave this one 4 out of 5 because of the fear portrayed inside.







GRANDMA WENT TO HEAVEN 

       Grandma joins Grandpa in heaven. We love and miss Grandma very much. She was our best friend, best secret keeper and she always had a special smell.  We needed each other. Grandma knew all my favorite foods  and stayed with me when Mom and Dad went out or away.

     I love this book! What a wonderful way to keep Grandma alive.  Having lost one grandma before I was 2 and another in my 40's, I know how it can affect littles. This book has a beautiful poem in the back. It should be framed and posted on the child's wall. This is another great addition to any library.  

     No issues with this one.

      I gave this book five cheers out of 5.




Thumb Suckers
      Would you suck on a carrot or a plum? Then why suck on your thumb? Germs are on your thumb and then get into your tummy. Suck on a flower. Does your thumb taste good?  

     This book is cute and will help some, but don't expect a lot from it.  I have two younger sisters, both who sucked their thumbs. My mother tried everything. Now in their 40's at times they still suck them. *smile*  This is not an easy thing for parents to deal with. I had one child who used a binky (pacifier) for her first 1 1/2 of life. The other two couldn't be tempted with either.  Still your kids will begin to get the idea with this book.

    I found no issues.

    I gave this one four cheers out of five because it's adorable.



Monday, July 20, 2015

Kaplan's Quest by Richard Steinitz

     Samuel Kaplan was named after his great-uncle Samuel. While growing up, there were many comparisons between the two. It only stood to reason the younger Samuel would write his thesis about his uncle's disappearance.  The elder Samuel was an outstanding athlete and had managed to get out of Germany before WWII started.  His family could not figure out why he went back to Berlin when he could have gone with his family to Jerusalem.  After WWII, there wasn't any more information to show his whereabouts. His family had no idea what happened to him.  The younger Samuel begins digging into historical documents, photos and books. His hope was he'd find his uncle.  He never knew his journey would take him to many places and provide him with an abundance of information.  

     First let me say I read this particular book five times. Yes, you read correctly, five times.  Mr. Steinitz takes us on a journey few will ever make.  The writing is solid and the characters three dimensional. I was lost in the story each time I read it! I decided to read it so many times because I didn't want to miss any detail.  I'm a history buff but I still learned many new details while reading this.  You'll be amazed at the historically accurate book.  Your emotions will be pulled in many directions as you follow the information Samuel discovers. Mr Steinitz has the uncanny ability of storytelling without making it seem like storytelling.  This is a keeper and should be on your TBR pile immediately.

     The only thing I would change is the charts. I think you can explain them very well without diagrams.  It's the only issue I found.

     I gave this book 5 cheers out of 5 because it's very in-depth.

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Dangerous and Desirable by C. Michael Bennis

    This is where I would normally post a blurb about the book. Giving the reader a sense of where this book goes. I  can't do that with this book. You'll understand as you read on.

     I read this book 4 times. I pondered it and I didn't know what to do.  The characters seem unrealistic.  The plot is difficult to figure out. It's disjointed. This book also read very awkwardly.  Some areas of the book need more details. Others, less.  I can't even tell what the story was trying to say.  There was also some rather disturbing details. Read at your own risk!

    I did find issues, look above.

    I gave this one 1 cheer out of 5.

Monday, July 13, 2015

Aberrant by Douglas Wickard

     December 2014 and two men's lives will change forever.  Both men have had a rough time getting where they are in life.  It's never easy to be different though.  One man, an author whose hey-day has come and gone.  He is merely existing now.  A small apartment and very few friends were all he had now.  The other man, considerably younger, yet facing some of the same things the older man had faced.  Neither knew where life would take them next.  
     This look at the path each man has taken, is filled with secrets, heartbreak and danger. Ellery Flynn and Chance met in a small bar Ellery was known to frequent.  Their conversation is centered around their journey to this moment in time.  

     A book that is perfect for this time in our history.  So many have had to hide who they really are from others, but now, they can open their hearts.  Mr. Wickard's book is incredibly insightful and powerful.  I found it sad so many have had to live this way.  Now, perhaps, we can all open our minds a bit more.  You will enjoy the way these two men are drawn together.  It truly is a moving and wonderful read.  This book will make you wonder at those in your own life. If they are waiting to share more of themselves with you.  You will share this one with everyone. I know I have.  It is the first book in the series and is a marvelous stand alone book.  Check it out.  Douglas Wickard poured a great deal of himself in  this book.

     I found no issues with this one. 

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I was moved to share this with everyone.

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

You And I, Forever by Melissa Toppen

     Bentley and Anna are reconciled.  They realize their love is a once in a life time thing.  Anna knows Bentley will be there for her no matter what.  It's a good thing too 'cause it's about to get intense.  Everything is changing. It seems like once Anna deals with a hot situation, they keep coming.  She will learn just how strong she is, and more importantly, she'll find out just how strong the bond between her and Bentley is.  
     Bentley's life is changing too.  He's got so much business he's dealing with. The problem is, he just wants to be with Anna. He wants to make her life better.  He knows eventually she'll open up completely for him.  He just has to be  patient. Will they survive all the changes?

     This book is part of a series, but each one can stand alone and be wonderful too.  Bentley and Anna's story is one of love, acceptance and strength.  I adore this series. Passionate, intense and ever-changing, you can't help but love the characters.  The writing is solid. The characters very realistic.  However, get the tissues, cause you'll need them for this one.  It tugged at my heart throughout and made me see just how deeply one person can love another.  I was swept away on the first page and gently, but firmly returned to Earth when it ended.  I can understand the motivation for each character.  It's not always easy to accept the motivation though.  I'm certain you will want this heartwarming, loving and beautiful book in your library. Get the entire series, you'll love them all.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's what writing should be.. a journey.

Saturday, June 6, 2015

A Pig Tale by Paul M. Kramer

     Millie the pig hates getting dirty. Worse than that she's allergic to the dust and dirt. Her brothers call her unnatural.  The fact they live on a farm makes it all the more problematic.  When the farmer's daughter looses her pet dog, Millie is there to make her feel better.  Emily decided she wanted Millie to be her new pet. It was a perfect match. They were best friends.  Their friendship will be tested though.

     Mr. Kramer has a real hit in this one.  It's an amazing story of a pig who is different than others like her.  The back lesson is even those who are different can become you best friend.  The main story of love and acceptance is one all littles need. I felt this is a good parent-child discussion book. It opens the door to a subject many find hard to talk about.  I feel in love with Millie myself. It's an adorable story your children will love and you'll find yourself reading it again and again.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because love and acceptance is an important thing for families to discuss.

Friday, June 5, 2015

OOPS! I Wet My Bed by Paul M. Kramer

     Cynthia is five years old. She's also experiencing something new.  She wakes up and is extremely wet. No one is sure why though.  Cynthia is given a new potty and her parents work with her to keep the potty monsters away.  Cynthia is worried about not being able to make it to the potty.  It really scares her when she tries to poop in the potty.

     I think this is a fantastic guide for parents beginning the potty training phase of their child's life.  There are many suggestions on how to get the ball rolling.  It's well written and the illustrations are amazing.  I like that this book let's parents and children know it's okay if you wet the bed, but there are ways to prevent it.

     I did find issues. Since most children this age (5), are afraid of monsters, I don't think the inclusion of them is a good thing. There are other ways to express what the monsters are trying to say.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the monster issue.