Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Friday, August 30, 2013

Friday Spotlight : Elsie Park

        From a wildland firefighter to a security guard, police officer, and student
of botany and zoology, ELSIE PARK has done it all. It was only a matter
of time before she wrote her first novel. While on a hiatus to Italy, Park
was inspired by the thick presence of ancient and medieval history. She
felt it in its walls, and slowly, yet surely, a story was born.



Elsie Park’s debut novel
Content is appropriate for teens
Combines history, romance, and the struggle of right and wrong into
an impressively written package
Includes music score accompaniment from the author


         Blurring the psychological haze between justice and revenge,
Park's debut novel brings new meaning to the Dark Knight.

        On the surface, Graywall is content and booming. Lord Shaufton, who
presides over the city, is a fine ruler. The poor are well-cared for, the
area is popular, and morale is high—but within Graywall’s roots,
something dark is stirring. This darkness threatens to overpower the
once-peaceful town, until a mysterious figure appears: The Shadow.

         As much a figure of fear to the unruly as legend to the innocent,
The Shadow is an enforcer of justice and aid to the King. Due to an
outrageous export tax set by King Edward, smuggling has tainted the
kingdom, so The Shadow is sent to hunt the smugglers down. Contrary
to legend, The Shadow is simply a man known as Sir Calan who,
although talented and just, struggles to keep his dark thoughts of
revenge from becoming ruthless action.
          Due to sheer coincidence, The Shadow learns of a deadly plot
against Lord Shaufton on a journey to Graywall. Now, he must enter a
pseudo courtship with Lord Shaufton’s daughter under his original guise
of Sir Calan, all while old emotions are stirred by the lovely Elsbeth,
Lord Shaufton’s niece. Elsbeth, it seems, is the only woman who can
heal his troubled soul, but she has a story of her own. 
       What transpires is a glorious tale full of deceit, greed, inner struggles, betrayal, and most of
all—love.





You can find Elsie Park online here:

Thanks for stopping by! Come back soon for a review of this book! 

Thursday, August 29, 2013

WE'VE WON ANOTHER AWARD!! THANK YOU!!


After receiving the nomination, the blogger must:

download (1)

HUGE THANK YOU TO
Kellee Farr
FOR THIS AWARD!! 


After receiving the nomination, the blogger must:


1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger;
2. Share 11 random facts about yourself;
3. Answer 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you;
4. List 11 bloggers. They should be bloggers that you believe deserve some recognition and a little blogging love!
5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers that you nominated to answer; and
6. Let all of the bloggers know that they’ve been nominated. You cannot nominate the blogger that nominated you.
11 RANDOM FACTS
  1. I've lived in all but 4 states. Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire and Massachusetts. 
  2. I'm a published author. Have been since high school. My writing coach Jeff Wolfe helped me greatly.
  3. I'm 1/2 Cherokee. On Mom's side. 1/2 Italian on Dad's.
  4. I watch White Christmas every year to get me in the spirit of the holiday.
  5. I've been homeless before. Not a proud moment but circumstances were beyond my control.
  6. I'm a fantastic Salsa dancer! LOVE the Latin beats!
  7. I'm agoraphobic. Have been since my Dad died when I was 8.
  8. I'm allergic to everything outdoors. lol. I wasn't as a kid though.  Love the outdoors.
  9. I'm very creative with crafting and rejuvenating things.
  10. I'm very romantic! Loved Love Boat and Fantasy Island as a young girl. Gave me great ideas for stories.
  11. I'm very accurate at predicting behaviors in people and actions they'll take.

11 Questions: (Nominees: Please answer these same questions)

  1. What’s your favorite meal of the day — breakfast, lunch or dinner?   Dinner- I like being able to enjoy the peace of the day while I have a light dinner.
  2.  What’s your favorite fruit?    I enjoy most every kind of fruit in some form. I don't really have a favorite.
  3. When you were five, what did you want to be when you grew up?   I wanted to be a teacher. I use to pretend on our back porch for hours.  Talking to my "students" and shuffling papers.
  4. What quality do you find most attractive in others?   Wow! I admire the heart and soul first, then individual qualities.
  5. What’s your favorite sport?  I enjoy all sports. Yes even golf. I love the challenge of sports, the unique rules and guidelines.
  6. What’s your favorite candy?   CHOCOLATE ANYTHING!! lol
  7. What’s your favorite online shopping website?  LTD COMMODITIES. 
  8. What’s your pet peeve?  People perceiving me as lazy and worthless because I'm a BBW! Get to know me, I'm nothing like that.
  9. Winter, spring, summer or fall?   SPRING! I feel so renewed, so alive!
  10. How many pairs of shoes do you have?    I have 6 pairs. 1 pr of heels, 1 pr of flats, 1 set of sneakers, 2 sets of boots, 1 pr of sandals.
  11. Why did you start your blog?   Because I wanted to give people a place where the plot and ending weren't laid out for them. I give them the gist of the story but let them see for themselves the rest.


The Blogs I Nominated:





Audrey Holland's Blog;  http://audreyhollandblog.blogspot.com/

Christy's Love of Books;  http://christysloveofbooks.com/




Closer to Lucy;  http://www.closertolucy.com/








Wednesday, August 28, 2013

CHECK OUT 27 by Andrew M. Gallagher

     Peter Digby's life was ordinary. He was the manager of Taylor's supermarket and he has an adequate staff.  Peter  drove a small car and lived in an ordinary flat.  There is however, another side to Peter's life.  He's embezzling from the store where he works.  He begins to feel his world falling apart when people from the head office show up to do an audit.  Certain he's about to be found out, Peter decides he must find a way out. The audit will surprise Peter and you!

     I loved this book! Quirky and funny, it will keep you smiling and laughing all the way through.  Peter's paranoia is hysterical.  The story is well written, even though I didn't quite agree with the ending! *smile*  You'll wonder why someone hasn't actually tried to embezzle this way before.  Poor Peter deserves the breaks he gets and more.  This book is set in England which to me makes it all the more plausible.  Check this one out, you'll be glad you did.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I giggled and smiled through the entire book. Way to go Mr. Gallagher! 

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Twignibble by Henry, Josh and Harrison Herz

     Twignibble is a very smart and very creative sloth. Twignibble has many animal friends all over the world and he loves helping them out when he can.  Being a resourceful sloth, when his friends begin to tell him of problems they face each day, Twignibble gets to work on his computer to see how he can help. You will be amazed at the answers he comes up with.

     A wonderful way to get kids involved in saving the planet and it's animals.  This book gives terrific information about the animals and their habitat.  Kids will love this book because it gives them a chance to learn about two things. First the animals and second the environment.  There is even a tips page at the end.  I love the lessons this book gives in a fun way!

    I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a terrific teaching tool! 

Saturday, August 24, 2013

Rise of the Magi (A Lila Gray Novel) by Jocelyn Adams

       Something is happening to the Fae people and those in surrounding areas.  No one is certain how to defeat those causing this destruction.  Lila Gray is their only hope.  Though she may eopardize her family and her people, she is the only one who can save them.  Lila has to believe in herself and her abilities before she can think about saving the people around her.  

     This story might have been a good one, but I couldn't get passed the language.  It never really seemed to project the mystical or magical ways of the Fae people.  I think of the Fae people and their neighbors as being more advanced, more enlightened.  I really felt the story could have been better.

     I did find issues. I felt the coarse language wasn't warranted in this story.  It seemed truly out of place.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because of the language. 

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Embryo 2: Crosshairs By Joyce Schneider

      Madison Hospital would never be the same.  After the horrors experienced by the OB/GYN staff, no one was expected to forget any time soon.  Their first day back, Dr. Jill Raney and Dr. David Levine, wanted to just ease back into their schedule.  It was not to be.  A rape victim came in and scrawled on her skin was a message just for Jill and David.  Then a second rape victim came in and a third.  It was clear someone was out for revenge.  Once again Jill and David are piecing together the puzzle to find out just who was after them.  Would this nightmare ever end? With their love to help keep them sane, Jill and David were determined to end this once and for all.

     A sequel to Embryo, this book is just as explosive as the first.  I love that these interns and doctors don't take anything at face value. They dig to find out all the answers no matter what it takes.  This sequel is a terrific stand alone book too.  You'll be so close to the action you can hear Jill's heart beat.  Get this for your TBR pile today!!

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it kept me glued to my seat until the end.

Monday, August 19, 2013

Embryo by J.A. Schneider

     Dr. Jill Raney is an intern at Madison Hospital.  She was having an off day when series of unusual pregnancy deaths began happening.  Jill couldn't believe so many rare pregnancy issues would happen on the same day.  She began to investigate the deaths and as she gets closer to finding answers, her life is in danger too.  She has one person on her side, Dr. David Levine and he isn't so sure what's happening.  Both their careers are on the line but Jill needs answers.  Risking everything, Jill won't stop until she knows who caused these nightmares.

      If this book doesn't make you give science another look, there is no hope of you ever doing so.  A medical thriller like this will have you eyeing doctors and hospitals in a new way.  Well written and not so technical you can't understand what they are trying to say, this book is a keeper.  You'll love the characters and sympathize with the interns and residents.  We are closer to this kind of thing happening daily than anyone realizes.  I have to urge you to get this book.  You'll be talking about it for weeks.

      I found no issues.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 cause it kept me awake pondering the events!

Sunday, August 18, 2013

The Light by Robert Hammond

     Abel Adams is one of the very few black kids in Eden Valley, California.  His father was the only black professor at the University.   Abel never really felt he fit in, not with the blacks and not with the whites.  He did try though. Abel had the misfortune of living in a time when drugs were really becoming an issue. Eventually he began using drugs and drinking alcohol.  It went from bad to worse.  The only thing constant in Abel's life was the feeling there was a higher power.  No matter how bad things got, Abel kept his heart and mind open to the higher power. 

     This book is one you will enjoy for several reasons. The least of which is the search Abel makes to discover what his beliefs really are.  The writing is superb!  Parts of this book are dark and discuss very basic needs and desires.  It's mystical and enlightening.  You may not enjoy the path Abel takes to get his enlightenment but you will see and understand how he reaches his final decision.  For some this book might be a bit deep and philosophical but hang in there, I promise you'll love it.

      I found no issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 simply because of the depth of the subject. Some may not be able to follow easily.

Friday, August 16, 2013

Spotlight On : Efe Odhomi


I am the author of the novel called "A Blacksmith's Quest", which will be part of a set of fantasy series books for young adults. The novel is sold on Amazon. I am a finance professional, with a BBA in finance and an MBA, but my first love is writing. I am currently working on numerous projects such as a TV script and the second part of "A Blacksmith's Quest". As an avid history buff I used some well known personalities in history as basis for some of my characters in the novel. I don't know how far my writing will take me, but I can guarantee that I will continue to pursue my passion, even if no one ever reads a single word that I have written. 










  Check out his book:  

In the ancient world of the Inner Realm a young slave blacksmith named Aurovin, in servitude of an evil empire, is chosen by the slave leaders of his people to escape and embark on a perilous journey to find the 'Promise Land' foretold by a prophesy, where they can live as a free tribe. But Aurovin's journey is greatly hindered by a brewing rift between the great powers of the Inner Realm. This rift escalates after king Pavros, overlord of the Muldovene Empire, barely escapes a botched assassination on his life. The Muldovene king sets his sight on the empire’s arch-enemy as the primary culprit; the Warrior King Sapien, and the kingdom of Arencia. Aurovin's journey and perils are gradually intertwined into the numerous events and conflicts that will inevitably lead to the Great War. During his journey, Aurovin encounters several characters such as Belcienda and Zaadu, two young adventurers from Arencia who are on a mission on behalf of their king to the kingdom of Traccia to unravel a growing conspiracy that may further threatens the sovereignty of the Arencian realm. He also meets Janus, a burly jester whom Aurovin saves while escaping the clutches of an evil order from a dungeon. All four eventually join forces together to battle the malevolent order that is bent on attaining absolute power over the Inner Realm. Unfortunately, as Aurovin makes new friends and acquaintances, the young blacksmith makes just as many enemies on his lone quest, most notably the handmaster, the devious and diabolic master of the evil order of the Dark Hand, who searches for an ancient power that will grant the holder the most unstoppable army ever, one even more powerful than the empire’s. These villainous characters, such as king Pavros, the handmaster, along with many others, will undoubtedly reshape Aurovin's perspective of the cultures and politics of the Inner Realm beyond the confines of his humble home and people, and this forces him to doubt if there really is a better world for his people outside the empire. This climatic struggle between good and evil will finally culminate on the battlefield between the armies of the all powerful empire and its allies against the legendary warrior king, Sapien and his undefeated Arencian army. Aurovin's journey is filled with death, betrayal, deception, superstition, mythology and love in world where only the wisest and the most cunning will be strong enough to attain ultimate power, and the weak and cowardly will be forced into servitude. Only time will tell if the blacksmith will be victorious and finally find this 'Promise Land'.


Please stop back soon for a review of this book! 

Thursday, August 15, 2013

A Perfect Setup by Douglas Wickard

     Sami moves back to the city and though she is still struggling mentally, she feels her life moving forward.  The ordeal in the country was bad and rattled Sami pretty good, but she's a fighter.  Now she's got her ex-husband telling her he loves her and some creep following her and watching her.  Her best friend is cheating on her husband and her assistant may not be the person she thinks she is.  Sami feels like her world is shattering around her when Detective Hutchinson moves in to help right things for awhile.  Will life ever be normal again? Taste Sami's fear! 

    This book is raw and emotional. You'll be on the edge of your seat with Sami waiting to see what comes next.  The danger, excitement and sensuality makes this a must read!! I found more twists and turns in this book than a black snake and I LOVED every one of them.  You'll keep guessing until the end as to who did what when and where.  Douglas Wickard  is a master storyteller!! If you haven't read his first book, A Perfect Husband, get it, and this one! This is a sequel but stands alone very well.  GET BOTH BOOKS TODAY!! 

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5+ cheers out of 5 cheers because Sami is a strong, independent woman who kicks butt! 

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Fiance` by Friday by Catherine Bybee

    Lady Gwen Harrison came to the United States to help her sister-in-law run her business.   Alliance is a different, very discreet business.  Gwen also has no idea her life is about to change completely.  
     Neil MacBain is ex-Marine and all business. He takes his job of body guarding his friend and his friend's sister, Gwen, very seriously.  Neil comes with a military past that he hopes won't catch up to him. Meanwhile, he watches over the lovely Gwen and fantasizes about her each night. 
      Together the two of them will prove to be an unbeatable team.

     WOW! Edgy and sophisticated, this book delivers all it promises.  A who-dun-it wrapped in a beautiful love story is just what the doctor ordered.  Ms. Bybee is a terrific storyteller and the action makes you feel as if you have stepped into the book.  I think you'll love these characters because they are independent and strong.  Check out this book, you won't wanna miss another Catherine Bybee book. 

      I found no issues with this one.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it swept me up in the action and landed me softly on a beach in Aruba! 

Monday, August 12, 2013

Destination Wedding by Robyn Neeley

     Every wedding planner dreams of that one career making wedding.  Kate Ashby's came in the form of a destination wedding in one of the most romantic spots on earth, Hawai'i.  She's ready for this challenge, she only has three weeks to plan this wedding.   A chance meeting on the airplane may end the wedding before it begins.  Meeting the bride and groom for the first time is a shock Kate isn't ready for and things seem to get more confusing from there. Thankfully she has her assistant Miles to help smooth the road.

   Funny, captivating and full of surprises, Robyn Neeley keeps you moving along in this fantastic romance.  This book is well written and an easy read.  I loved the way Ms. Neeley tied everything together so neatly. No loose ends and plenty of room for other characters stories to be told.  You'll find yourself smiling and trying to imagine what will happen next.  

I found no issues with this one.

I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really entertains! 

Saturday, August 10, 2013

Jill Sanders blog tour!!!

    Jill Sanders survived 80's pop music, and life as an identical twin in a chaotic family of nine.  A feat by any standard!  She was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest, relocating to Colorado for college and a successful IT career at IBM in Boulder.

Narrowly escaping before all creativity was squashed, she jumped at the chance to trade the mundane world of computers for the sexy, exciting world of her own imagination.  She now lives in charming rural Texas writing wonderful novels such as the Pride series.

Her debut novel, Finding Pride, was shortlisted in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards 2013, and has since climbed to #2 on Amazon Bestsellers – Romantic Suspense. Each book in the Pride Series has found a regular home on Amazon’s Bestseller lists.

Stay tuned for Jill’s newest romantic suspense series – The Secret series.
Coming soon, a new Contemporary Romance Series of three sisters struggling to save their ranch in Texas in the Cowgirls Ride series.
This Christmas unwrap a steamy Christmas romance tale – Red Hot Christmas.

To learn more about Jill, visit her website www.jillmsanders.com, where she blogs daily, or follow her on Twitter: @jillmsanders.

Jill M. Sanders
facebook:    http://on.fb.me/11o5HVD





To Katie life was simple. She wanted a little house in upper Boston, and four kids fathered by her best friend Jason, who she’s been infatuated with since she was eight. After a devastating family secret is exposed, all she wants now is to escape the media hype that follows her everywhere she turns. Leaving her family, friends, and Jason behind, she travels to places she’s only read about, to find a father she’s never known. Jason is on a mission and he’s come halfway around the world to complete it. Despite his feelings for Katie, he won’t let her resistance deter him, even if it means she’ll never trust him again. As their world spirals out of control, their relationship will be tested and changed forever. If he can keep them alive and out of harm’s way, he may have a chance to make everything right.


 

Roberta Stanton had grown up a thief on the streets of Portland. Breaking into the old building had been easy, and she’d gotten away with it. Or so she thought. It had only cost her the lives of seven close friends. 

Years later, now Rob found herself on the other side of the law. Tracking down a thief of millions of dollars worth of art was the least of her problems, her major pain now, was the handsome owner of that art.


Ric Derby owns the Blue Spot art galleries. Murder and a million dollar theft bring them together. A personal vendetta from a dark figure threatens them both. Retreating to the safety of the small town of Pride, Ric must fight to protect the only person he’s ever truly loved.

Links:
Barns & Noble: http://bit.ly/125MnOu
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/13DvDon
Sony: 


   Check back for reviews of both books!! 

Friday, August 9, 2013

Spotlight on : Author Sharon Partington

S.L. Partington is a multi-genre author who is most comfortable writing Fantasy and Science Fiction. Book one of her science fiction/adventure series The Assassin Journals: Hunter is currently available from World Castle Publishing, with book two entitled The Assassin Journals: The Cartel scheduled to be released soon.   She lives in Alberta Canada and is the proud mother of a grown son currently serving in the Canadian military.

My Author Facebook page: 

My Twitter Profile:

My Amazon Author Page:


    

     Hired killers can't afford a conscience - it's bad for business. Assassin, Gage Brassan, is having a very bad year. An unexpected attack of conscience, an old girlfriend's betrayal, and a trip to prison are the catalysts for an explosion of memory that remind him of his military past and a promise left unfulfilled. With the help of Jak, a Rigian street kid, and Joanna Travis, the sister of an old army buddy, Gage attempts to unravel the truth behind the execution of the elite Special Forces unit he once commanded. As he follows the blood trail from its beginnings in the war-torn Androsian system, and into the highest echelons of the Galactic Security Force and the corrupt halls of the Rigian People’s Palace, he must outwit the criminal organization he has betrayed as he struggles to protect his estranged father from the bloody, emotional, fall-out of a life gone wrong. He knows the answers are out there. The trick will be living long enough to find them.

Check back here soon for a review of this book.