Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Review of: The Lesson Plan by Jackie Barbosa


Miss Winifred Langston - Lively, outgoing, and unconventional.
Conrad Pearce - Staid, dull and unsure of Winifred.


Winifred is a hot ball of energy who gives her brothers no end of trouble. She's not your typical lady in any way. Her oldest brother decides his little sister needs a lesson she'll not soon forget. Perhaps THEN she will behave as a lady should.  He enlists Conrad's help. Both are suprised by the way the lesson goes. Neither could have expected this turn of events. Winifred, however, had been expecting this for years.


A hot, erotic, sweet, enticing read!! You won't put this book down until you've reached the end. This book will leave you breathless, happy and wishing for more. I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it!! Check this out, you won't be sorry.


I gave this book 5 out of 5 books because it blew me away!!

Monday, December 26, 2011

Review of: Peat Smoke and Prim Roses by Fiona Grace McDroll

I read this book. I'm still not sure what it was about.  It started out talking about a van that a man wanted and his receiving it. Then discussed the trouble with the van. Suddenly it switches gears and discusses this couple being at a grave side and their conversation. Another switch and someone is missing and someone is searching. VERY disjointed in my opinion. It didn't hold my attention at all. It made very little sense to me. I have read everything from small book and short stories, to massive novels. This was close to the worst.  If you figure it out, please let me know.

I gave it 2 out of 5 books.
Review of: Moon Dreams by Dean Johnson


Four best friends spend their first year after high school at college. The first summer home, they realize each has changed or perhaps they are seeing with fresh eyes. Bryan has been through hell and back. He lost his best friend and then started losing all the rest of his friends because of it. He meets Kirah, one of the four best friends. Things change from there. Growing, learning and adjusting is what their summer is all about.


I enjoyed the premise for the book but sadly that's all. The book is all over the place- past, present, switching characters and so on.  There really isn't a solid story line here. It seems to be telling several stories and loses it's way.


I gave this one 3 out of 5 books because of the winding story.
Review of: Book of Mercy by Sherry Roberts

It was a typical small town with it's problems.  One of the problems was the Mercy Study Club. Local women who used financial power to accomplish things in town.  The newest project on their list- books. In particular censoring what books the school library carries.  It begins a fight this town may not survive. It's champion, Antigone Brown. Antigone goes to great lengths to save the books and the rights of the students.


Having grown up in a small town like this, I've seen these things happen and snowball out of control. I love seeing the light shined in the dark places of the small town's upper crust. The story is good and shows what one person can do to change things. Even if they are viewed as an outsider.  I'm not a fan of the rambling. I think the story loses it's way at times and takes a bit to get back on track.


I give the it 3 out of 5 books because of the rambling.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Review of: REVEAL by Brina Courtney


From age 6, Shay Tafford knows she's different. Not many kids have ghost
children as friends. None of Shay's friends have the sleek, natural black hair 
she has. Then she meets Hugh and learns she's more different than even she thought.
He shows her how to embrace the differences. Life does change from that moment
on.
If you are looking for a YA book that will grab you and pull you in -REVEAl
is it. This book starts out hot and gets hotter (the story starts well and gets better)
You are missing a wonderful story if you don't read this page turner! I couldn't
put it down.


You have to get this book! You'll be screaming for the next installment.


I gave this book 5 out of 5 books for the awesome storytelling and terrific
subject matter.

Monday, December 19, 2011

Review of: Maud's House by Sherry Roberts

A Vermont farmhouse that became a canvas for Maud's art. In the family 
for generations, her house became a tourist attraction. Maud Calhoun painted
whenever and where ever on the house she wanted to. Her father encourages her.
Then she meets George and life changes, not always for the better. He tried to 
change Maud.  The eclectic towns people know everything that happens in the 
area.  Everyone knows everyone else's business. New people bring new outlooks
and make you stop and think. Reminds you there is more than one way to look
at things.

I liked this book. It showed small towns don't enjoy change and will fight it 
quite a bit.  It followed Maud through the changes in her life and gave you insight
into why she paints the way she does. You'll be surprised at the outcome. The town
was too.  I didn't enjoy the way it seemed to drag. I understand the author was
using the "talks" with George to show why Maud was the way she was, however,
it was a slow read because of that.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 books because of the way it dragged. Never really grabbed
my attention.

Review of: Fool Me Once by Lacey Wolfe
*Erotic

Skylar- an aerobics instructor, free spirit, fun loving and sexy.
Drew- handsome, determined and a company man.

 The chemistry between them is combustible. The problem is Drew has a habit of
of  walking away when it comes to Skylar.  No matter what he tells her, he ends 
up leaving her at a critical time.  What could possibly happen next to this duo.

This novella is high octane fun from beginning to end. It's the kind of bubble-
bath-erotic-read all women love!! Grab a glass of wine, candles, bubble bath and enjoy.
You will enjoy this book and read it again and again.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 books- astoundingly HOT!


Saturday, December 17, 2011

I apologize to my followers and members of this blog!


It seems I have dropped the ball in the last week or so. I haven't been posting 
reviews as often as I should.  Let me explain.  Many of you don't know me well
enough to know much about my private life.  I will share this information
because I feel I owe you that much.  I have been fighting cancer for  three
yrs now. Various types but a solid 3 yrs. I had a surgery summer 2010 on my 
spine to remove tumors. Yes, cancerous. Yes malignant.  I still get treatments
and some days I just can't move.  


Please forgive me for taking so long with reviews this time around.  I have been
trying to catch up as quickly as I can.


Thank you for your trust and for being a follower/member.
Melanie/kissablysweet1

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Harper Imprint Challenge in January Intro & Sign Ups!!









I entered the challenge and chose the medium level (5-8) books. I think I can do more, but wanna be safe. Check out the challenge and enter!! You'll be glad you did!

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Review of: A Hanukkah Present by Mark Binder



TABLE OF CONTENTS

The Lethal Latkes
We Need a Miracle
Rabbi Kibbitz’s Surprise
A Cold Day in Chelm
The Chanukah Duck
A Chanukkah Present
The Challah that Ate Chelm
What a Gift!
The Chanukah Business
Rabbi Abrahms’ Chanukah Bush
How Joseph Won His Bride With The Spin of a Dreidel
Out of the Woods (novella)
This book is one you will read and laugh out loud!! You have to check this out! Makes the perfect gift for anyone but especially your Jewish friends! They will appreciate the humor in this book and it will be a regular part of Chanukah!
I give it 5 out of 5 books! 
CHECK THIS OUT!!!







Creating Cozy Christmas
by Pepper Anthony

For our family, the best part about Christmas is bringing the special ambiance of the holidays into our house. Since the time my sons were small, we spent many happy hours in November and December making ornaments, wreaths, candy, cookies and center pieces. Pots of potpourri or cinnamon candles burn 24/7, so the first thing you smell when you walk in our door is a promise of cheer and warmth. A big lighted star shines at the end of our driveway; you can see it from a quarter mile away as you come down the dark tunnel of woods toward our home.

The first weekend of December my husband and youngest son are charged with venturing forth to cut a tree. Then a whole day is spent decorating it with white twinkle lights and a collection of homemade and one-of-a-kind ornaments. As we unbox each ornament, we recall another Christmas past. Before long, the memories are strung together like the garland of popcorn and cranberries on the tree. We are present to the poignant sweetness of holiday tradition and an awareness of time passing more quickly than we had realized. We are present to continuity, loss, and love, all at the same time.

There is nothing glitzy or showy about our family Christmas. It’s all about the clay gingerbread men my boys made in Cub Scouts, and the paper chain we all worked on for hours many years ago. It’s about the simple, fragrant Douglas Firboughs and cones in the big red bowl in the center of the coffee table. Martha Stewart would throw up her hands at the mismatched tableware and friendly hodgepodge of red and green placemats we use; she would no doubt blanch at the crumpled edges of the paper snowflakes we unfold each year to tape once again to our windows. We don’t care. We like it this way. Warm. Friendly. Easy. Cozy. Christmas.

In my latest erotic novella, Macy’s Awakening, Macy understands very well the wounds in Jerrod’s heart, and the power that cinnamon candles and fir boughs on the mantle might have to heal those wounds. She knows that nothing is more special than the glowing promise of a family Christmas, and nothing is as enduring as the treasure of love at its core.

__________________________________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:





You can find Pepper on the web at the following places:

Spicin’ It Up Blog:   http://spicyauthors.blogspot.com/
Romance Mavens Blog:   http://www.romancemavens.com/

__________________________________________________________________

BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY:
Beachwalk Press will be sponsoring giveaways at the end of this blog tour. Everyone who comments on a post will have their name placed in a drawing (be sure to include an email address so we have a way to contact you). On Monday, December 19th we will randomly choose four people who will win a Beachwalk Press eBook of their choice from any of the authors who participated on the tour. The more blogs you comment on, the more times you are entered to win! For a list of all the blogs we will be visiting on this tour, click here: http://beachwalkpress.com/2011/11/beachwalk-press-holiday-blog-tour/

BEACHWALK PRESS HOLIDAY SCAVENGER HUNT:
During the month of December, Beachwalk Press will be hosting a Holiday Scavenger Hunt. There will be multiple winners, and the prizes will include gift certificates, Godiva chocolates, and a Kindle Fire! Visit our website for more information. 

Friday, December 9, 2011

Coming Monday December 12th, a very special post. Please stop in. 
Remember books are great for those hard to buy for, have everything kind of people. No need to worry about size or color. It's the easiest gift you'll ever buy and one of the most appreciated. Books keep giving and giving to those who receive the book. I know how wonderful and special books are. Growing up, as many of you know, my parents DID NOT support reading or writing. They saw it as a waste of time, paper and ink.  I cherish books and inhale them as soon as I get one.  I've passed that love of books to my children and our library cards get well used.  


Even if you aren't sure of the genre, know that each one opens the door to new experiences and fun. Want to wish everyone a HAPPY HOLIDAYS again!!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Review of: Summer Lovin' by Donna Cummings
*Novella


Mia is a secretary/office manager in her brother's company. Luke is a chef with his own restaurant.  Both decide they need a change and take a vacation to figure out what to do next. Then with the help of a little fur ball, playfully referred to as "hellboy", they meet. Both Mia and Luke see the benefits of a vacation fling. Neither is prepared for the life changing events that happen.


This novella is the perfect pick me up for this time of year! Sexy, sweet, and original, you need to read this. Donna has written a wonderful story and I look forward to more just like it. Keep those creative juices flowing Donna! 


I give this novella 5 out of 5 books because I smiled through the whole book.
Review of: Grit City by Ron Gavalik
*emotobooks


Dillon Galway is exposing corruption through his blog. Tips come from everywhere and it's dangerous. Dillon wants everyone to be aware of what's happening in the city.  Alyssa Stephano is a gun for hire. No one dares mess with her. She's protected by some of the biggest groups in the city. The mob for one.  These two are on a mission to make sure the city is safe and those in need of punishment get it.

This is an adult action film maxed out!!  It's awesome writing and beautiful illustrations make a book for the ages. You'll follow Dillon and Alyssa through every installment.  For those adults who wished for books with substance again.. It's here..and it's Grit City on steroids! You will be anxiously awaiting each new installment. A new way to enjoy reading!

I give this 5 books out of 5! Pure awesome action!!

Review of: Eaton Trilogy by Madeline Sloane


Distracted, East of Eaton and West Wind are filled with independent, strong, wonderful women. This series shows women the way they should be. Able to cope and function on their own, but increased when they add the right man to their life.  Doing  their job and raising their family the way everyone should, when these men  happen into their world. Love comes without them realizing it but with all the bells and whistles.


I very highly recommend this series to everyone!! It's romantic, sweet, funny and will cause butterflies in your stomach.  This is romance the way it should be written. Not about some woman who can't live life without a man, but a strong woman made stronger when you add the man she loves. It's a terrific series that I've read 3 times already. You will enjoy this and end with a smile.


I give this 5 out of 5 books! This time of year is more romantic after you read this series.
Review of Khantara by Michelle Franklin


A new Emperor in Trellis means a new way of doing things. They start off by beginning a war with Haanta.  The country a race of giants were surprised by the war but swiftly defeated Trellis.  After this war, Khantara was sent to Trellis to open a post and keep an eye on the enemy.  Khantara tries to show the Trellis people they are willing to live peacefully.  Khantara meets Anelta and feels the need to watch her and protect her. 


This is an awesome book you need to check out.  It's such a unique look at a world we could learn a lot from. This book will keep you entertained and moving right along. Never have I read a book like this and was able to keep going after a couple pages. Khantara kept me glued to the book from beginning to end.  


I give this book 4 out of 5 books because if you aren't familiar with this type of book it's difficult to follow. 

Monday, December 5, 2011

Merry Christmas to our followers and those who check out the blog!!!!


Remember, books make an awesome gift to those you love and those you aren't sure what to get.  It gives them hours of enjoyment in another place. They get the chance to explore and learn. It's a wonderful chance to broaden someone's reading.  Maybe a genre they haven't tried before. Twitter is alive with new books this month. Also, there are those that have recently come out. The authors are terrific and you have such a wide variety to choose from.  If money's tight, and it is in most places, try to win one.  The book will be just as loved and enjoyed. 


Take time to help someone less fortunate than yourself and it will come back to you 1000 fold in great karma.  We need to remember but for the grace of God go I.  Any of us could be in the position of having nothing to place under the tree this year.  Thank you for checking out our blog in the last few weeks and I hope you continue to come back to see what's new, what's great and what's not. May your holiday, whatever way you celebrate, be filled with love, magic, smiles and fun. 


Melanie/kissablysweet1 
(& my helper MsMoleyay)