Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Review of: A Place Called Home by Jo Goodman


An accident changed Thea Wyndham and Mitchell Baker's lives forever. They always thought they were prepared to take on the responsibilities of godparents until it happened.  Thea, a busy advertising executive, didn't want to mother 3 children. She had a  great life and a man she loves, well maybe loves.  He definitely didn't want children. Mitch, a busy political cartoonist and single guy, figured he'd be sharing the kids with Thea.  Both learn a lot about themselves, the children and each other before it's all said and done.  Maybe their friends, Gabe and Kathy, knew what they were doing after all.  It had been their idea to put Thea and Mitch down as godparents and legal guardians.  After all, life is all about learning and growing, right?


I couldn't stop reading this one. I thought to start it and then finish tomorrow. Didn't happen. The further I got into this book, the more I wanted to know.  It's funny, romantic and full of love!  This one will definitely have you reaching for the tissues in places.  The issues I had with it are that I felt having an addict and child abuse in the same story was rough. It almost made me want to drag the character out of the book for the kids safety.  I think one or the other would have been sufficient.  


I gave this book 4 out of 5 because of the addict and child abuse. They seemed like overkill to me.



Thursday, January 26, 2012

Review of: Lust, Money and Murder by Mike Wells


Elaine Brogan is the apple of her father's eye. He loves her and wants only the best for her. Her mother decides to split when Elaine is still young.  Patrick Brogan, her father, does everything in his power to give Elaine everything she wants. Then he gets arrested for being mixed up in a counterfeiting scam.  While in prison he kills himself.  Elaine goes to college in the hopes of becoming a Secret Service agent to avenge her father's death. She succeeds in becoming a Secret Service agent and then her world changes yet again.


This is a terrific action book.  It kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next to Elaine. I really felt for her character.  The book ends with a real question mark. I can't wait to read more to find out where Elaine ends up next.  The only thing I found wrong was just that, the question mark ending. I'm one who likes to read a book and have an ending.  I know many enjoy the cliffhanger thing.  


I gave this book 5 out of 5 because it took a twist I didn't expect and kept me hanging on.

Review of: State of Grace by John R. Phythyon, Jr.


Elf on elf violence had escalated.  The Shadows were helping to maintain peace between the two. Then Shadow Five was killed.  Wolf Dasher, Shadow Seven, was sent to find out how she died and who killed her. Russians and elves were trying to work together to bring the elf nation back to one nation.  An Ambassador decides he will take over and be the president. First however, he must do away with the humans and the coalition government.   "Beware of religion. There is no greater formenter of hatred on Earth."


A fantasy story with a James Bond feel to it.  This book is action packed and full of surprises. I found this one to be exciting, caring, and enlightening.  It's easy to get lost in this one.  The  issue I found was there seem to be several stories being told at once.  It does a good job of tying everything together at the end, but can be slightly confusing as you read.  


I give this one 4 books out of 5 because it lacked a little love story to make it a truly good book.

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Review of: Fang Chronicles: Amy's Story by D'Elen McClain


Trying to find a  good story can cause a journalist to do crazy things. It's one reason  Amy Stiles decided to become a prostitute for 2 weeks.  She knew it was dangerous but didn't know how dangerous.  She also never knew there was a whole other world out there many people didn't even know existed.  Marcus Lincoln was part of that world. Handsome, rich, talented and wanted by all the women, Marcus only had eyes for Amy.  When Amy learns more about Marcus' life, she makes the decision to become a permanent part of it. If Marcus will agree.  The things Amy learns will make her a stronger person and fall more in love with Marcus. 


If you love vampire stories, you'll love this book. Though not your typical vampire story, this one has a twist you wouldn't expect.  It's an easy read and keeps you moving fairly quickly. It's one you'll keep in your library and read again and again.  A love story in a way no one would think of. This one is loving, erotic and magnificent.  Check it out you won't be sorry.


I give this one 5 out of 5 books because of the twists I didn't expect. 



Saturday, January 21, 2012

Review of: Kilted Desire-Sands of Betrayal by AB McKinley


Scott Mcclaren is part of the British Army Special Forces. He's also 100% Scottish. He's the type of  man everyone woman dreams she'll have in her life one day.  Katie Johnson is a teacher and soon to be divorcee.  She's trying to start over, slowly.  This book follows the journey these two make and the crossroads they face. 


I LOVE THIS BOOK! I won't say much about it because if I do it gives spoilers and I don't do that as those of you who follow my blog know.  If you want a book to sweep you away this is it! If you want action, it's here. If you want machismo it's here.  This is a book you will finish in one sitting because it's that good. If you put it down it won't be for very long.  I can't find anything bad about this book. Written by one of the few male romance writers, it delivers on all counts. This book has to be in your collection. BUY IT!


I give this one 5 out of 5 books because it opens your heart and eyes. 

Monday, January 16, 2012

Review of: Priestess of the Nile by Veronica Scott


Merys was born a priestess, but her mother's death made her a servant in her own home.  She slaved for her stepmother and father each day. Taking care of the children her stepmother and father had together was her job.  Merys' only escape was to go to the Temple of the Great Crocodile God.  As a priestess she sang the  songs and performed the dances honoring the Great One Sobek.  She attended to the temple as best she could under the circumstances. She cleaned it and honored Sobek always.  Then one day by the Nile, Merys meets a man, Bek.  She is unsure at first but then falls in love with him.  Bek is also deeply in love with Merys but his secret will separate them forever.. or will it?  Bek is treading on new ground with Merys. 


This book is a Cinderella of a different kind. It starts as though it will follow the typical path of Cinderella and then adds some spice, romance and surprises.  It's a delightfully sensual read!  You find yourself rooting for Merys and Bek from the beginning.  Charming, well written and original, this book should be on your TBR list.  You will enjoy this book and wonder if there is a next book to carry on. Get this book! 
I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. It's such a romantic and loving story!


I give this one 5 out of 5 books because happily ever after is still possible and was in 1500 BC!

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Review of: Home Front by Kristin Hannah


Jolene Larson is a soldier. She has always been a soldier. Flying helicopters is what she did. Then the moment all soldiers train for happened...she was deployed.  Deployment was to happen in two short weeks. Her family was already fragmented and fragile. Now she had to tell them she was going off to war. Jolene and her husband Michael were already having marital problems and deployment just added to them.  A busy attorney, Michael didn't approve of the war and thought Jolene crazy for agreeing to go.  The only solace Jolene had was her best friend was going with her to war. As difficult as it was to prepare, she did and then off to war she went. Michael and the children had to adjust, to change to meet the requirements of their "new" life.  He was angry at Jolene and didn't even bother to tell her he loved her.  A moment all families pray will never happen, happens. It throws the Larson family into a situation none of them were ready for.  Now the real work begins. Rebuilding.


I love this book! It is very difficult to read if you have someone or know someone who is actively serving right now.  This book gives a wonderful account of what it's like from both sides of the fence. The soldier's account, thoughts and issues. The family left behind and there to pick up the pieces when the soldier comes home.  It's not as easy as everyone says for soldiers to come home and " be normal."


The only thing I found wrong with this book is that someone hadn't written it long before now. It could have served as a handbook for the soldiers and their families before this war started.


I give this one 5 out of  5 books and pray for the safe return of the soldiers in your life. 

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Review of: Devil's Kiss by Zoe Archer
*Historical*


James Sherbourne, Earl of Whitney was bored. His gaming left him empty and his fellow Hellraisers  were feeling the same way.  They were told by servants of a gypsy camp on the property of one of the Hellraisers, Bram, and decided to go investigate.  While there, Whit met a beautiful gypsy woman who took his breath away. He wanted her in every way.  
Things take an interesting turn when one of the gypsy men tells the Hellraisers about a ruin located on the property. Immediately the men decide to check it out.  They go deep into the ruin and unleash something that had been hidden for years.  Once the men left the gypsies, Zora, the beautiful gypsy woman, reads the cards. She finds that evil will take over the world. She knows she must get to the Hellraisers before it's to late. What is to come is a fight of epic proportions and one Zora must fight. 


This book is action packed and romantic beyond all measure.  It keeps you moving along at a steady pace and always rooting for the good guys.  I loved every second of this magnificent book.  Following Zora and Whit's trail was something I will do again and again.  I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. I will read it again.


I give this book 5 out of 5 books because it sizzled.



Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Review of: Conquering India by Melissa Schroeder
*Erotic*


A day from hell takes over on the very day you have an important business meeting, what do you do? India wasn't happy but rolled with it. A car accident that lead to a five block jog in the pouring rain, was on tap.  India's appointment to try to win the catering contract for the end of the year party at the prestigious T and J Security firm, went off without a hitch.  She knew this catering job would help her bottom line in extremely positive ways. What she didn't know was how Wade and Marc, the owners of T and J Security, would change her world.  Both guys want her! Badly! Marc tries to stay away because she's an employee of sorts. Wade wants to jump right in.  With time, they convince her that their lifestyle would suit her better than the one she had.  


This book gave me new respect for alternative lifestyles. If only I could find two men like these two I might consider it myself. *smile*  The book starts out with a slow burn and rages into an inferno by the end. I so enjoyed this story.  I found nothing to dislike about this book. It hit the spot, so to speak. *grin*


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books cause I was sweating and breathing hard at the end!! *grin*

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Review of: Night Shift by Kate Douglas, Crystal Jordan, Lynn LaFleur
*Erotic*


Three books about six different people and their family secret.  "Dream Catcher" by Kate Douglas starts the Night Shift off. Mac is a computer programmer in Silicon Valley. Zianne is Nyrian sent to enlist Mac's help for her people.  Mac is shocked to meet the true woman of his dreams. Zianne literally walked out of his mind and into his life.  Life will never be the same.
"Taken Between" by Crystal Jordan follows Max Delacourt and Kira on their path to forever. Both are shape shifters protecting their King and Queen. Childhood friends and now, lovers? Stress from death threats. Tension with humans. All of this makes it more difficult for Max and Kira to  admit what is in their hearts. Will it take tragedy to make things right? "The Right Number" by Lynn LaFleur finds history of two packs converging in one spot.  Jamieson Millington  is the owner of a big computer company and a busy man.  Veronica St. James works for her family's security firm.  What would you do if  you dialed a wrong number but you  knew in your soul the person on the other end was your mate?  Jay did what any man would do, he dialed the number again until she answered. They began talking and spending time together, planning a future. Then a shot. How does it tie their two packs together?


I found these books extremely erotic. If you want to have a really hot evening, read each of these books.  The fire in these stories will scorch you in a great way.  I was able to read all three in a short period of time. They are page turning and wonderful!! A great way to add a twist to an evening with your partner.

The only thing I found wrong was they ended to soon. *smile* I would love to read more by all these authors.


A fantastic 5 out of 5 books for the way they tied together.

Monday, January 9, 2012

Review of: Ms. Etta's Fast House by Victor McGlothin


Set in 1947, St. Louis, Missouri, this story follows the struggles of many black people during that time period.  The Ville was the place to be if you wanted to drink, play cards, or dance the night away with women. Ms. Etta's seen it all and then some in her lifetime.  One of her dearest friends, Baltimore Floyd, is a hustler. Always looking for the next scam to make money at.  He decides St. Louis is the place to be.  His next scam might be his last.  The cast of characters include doctors, nurses, cops and society ladies.


This book is a perfect snapshot of 1947 America.  I love that it tells the story straight up with no sugar coating it.  I'm amazed at the things I learned in this book, even though it's fiction.  This sad, poignant story will catch your attention from the first paragraph and not let you go.  You feel as though you've stepped back in time.


The only thing I saw wrong was there were so many characters and so many stories being told, it was difficult to keep them all straight. More like a soap opera than a work of fiction.


I give this book 4 out of 5 books cause I'm such a history buff. 

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Review of: Frasier the Fir is Forever Green by Cindy Hanson


The adorable story of a Fir tree and his life.   Told from the Fir's point of view it shows each step of the growing process. The love, care and the horrible weather this poor Fir must endure.  It's a terrific tale for year round, not just at Christmas.


I think children will love this story but so will adults. It's a quick read with lovely illustrations.  Your children will want to read this or have it read to them often. I couldn't find anything wrong with this book.


I give it 5 out of 5 books for the wonderful way it's written.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Review of: Mom's on the Roof by Cindy Hanson


The moving, heartwarming, touching story of a family's journey through cancer. Mom is diagnosed with cancer and the rest of the family tries to cope and handle all that encompasses.  It's never easy and each one learns something new through the process.   It's a never ending journey when shortly after Mom passes, Dad passes too. One family tragedy after another.  One daughter becomes stronger than she ever dreamed she could be. She learns more about herself with each new challenge. 


I can't recommend this book enough!!! For anyone who has lost a parent, or had a family member deal with cancer, this will open your eyes.  If you approach this with an open mind, you will see what death can be, and how it actually is at times.  Having a family history of cancer, and dealing with it myself, this book touched home.
I couldn't find anything wrong with this. Although I know some close minded individuals will read it and scoff, this book is amazing!!


I give this one 5 out of 5 books for the sheer strength it took to write.