Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

The Forever Girl by Rebecca Hamilton

Witches, Wiccans, Vampires and Elementals make up the cast of this book. Sophia is a practicing Wiccan with a thirst for knowledge about her family's past.  She begins digging in her grandfather's old boxes and runs across an important document.  It sends her on a quest she never expected.  Sophia Parsons has always been the outsider in town. She never felt as if she belonged. Her parents didn't understand her and her friends knew little of what she was dealing with inside.  On this quest, she meets Charles. The first man to show interest in her that she returned.  There is something about him though. She can't quite figure it out. Then one night at a club opens a door Sophia isn't sure she wants left open. She'll find the answers she seeks, but at what cost?


I'm not a big vampire, witches fan but this book is absolutely amazing! It hooked me and I followed the incredible journey of Sophia Parsons.  Exciting, historical and detailed, this book is one you will enjoy very much.  It taught me some things I had no idea of.  Made me wonder about the people I knew growing up and those still in my life today.  The love story between Sophia and Charles is timeless. You have to read this one.


The only problem I found is that it was a slow starter. It kind of dragged at the beginning as if it wasn't sure where to go first. It does take off though and it's like opening a window and letting the air in.


I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because of the slow start.

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

The Opening by Ron Savarese

Joe is a very hard worker. He really wants to make sure he always has money for him and his family. The problem is, it's costing him valuable time with family and friends. His wife is fighting cancer, two kids in college, one in high school and for Joe a mid-life crisis.  Joe begins to drink to much and to often. He's never really there for the family or his wife. His answer is to throw money at the problem. Joe grew up poor, lost his family young and learned money makes the world go around.. or does it?  While visiting family at Christmas, Joe has an experience most only hear or read about.  It could possibly change his whole outlook on life and the world around him.
Eskimo Proverb: Perhaps they are not stars, but rather openings in heaven, where the love of our lost ones pours through, and shines down upon us to let us know they're happy.


A book that takes you through one man's life and shows him and us that the things we think are important are only a part of life. They aren't the most important things. It shows the lengths heaven will go to, to show you where you went wrong and how to fix it.  It's moving, educational and a terrific read. 


I found nothing wrong with this one.


I gave it a 5 out of 5 books because the message is a universal one we all need to learn.

The Professor by Cathy Perkins

Someone is killing college girls and dumping their bodies. The whole campus has heard the stories.  Rules are in place to protect the young women of the local colleges. Meg Connelly is a student, but she's also a teacher too. She works as an advisor to a sorority house too. Meg tries to remind the girls of the safety rules, but doesn't really apply them to herself. She knows she shouldn't be walking alone at night on campus.  Mick O'Shaughnessy is called in as an agent to help find this killer. His first investigation however takes a more political turn than he'd like.  It's then that he meets Meg. It's as though they can see into each others hearts and minds.  Can Mick protect Meg since she won't protect herself?

This book grabs you by the shirt and pulls you in from page 1.  It's exciting, action packed and filled with little "bumps in the night" until all is revealed.  The love story winding through this book is very real and well written.  You learn so much about people that you didn't even realize could be going on behind the scenes. 

I found nothing wrong with this one. Kept me on the edge of my seat until the end.

I give this one 5 out of  5 books because it truly is a thriller.

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Prime Time by Jane Wenham-Jones

Laura Meredith is a 40 year old divorced mother of one. Her husband's affair with a younger woman did a real number on her self esteem and confidence. She saw herself as ugly, fat and old.  Her midlife crisis sends her along a path she never saw coming.  A chance to renew herself and be the woman she wanted to be.  During this midlife crisis, she finds out her best friend's husband was having an affair with a woman at work. She is desperate to prevent their marriage from going the same path as hers. Laura goes to some pretty extreme measures to make herself beautiful in her own eyes and she just might find love. After all she's in her prime.


I found this book delightful. The message is such a terrific one for women of all ages.  Be who you are. You are beautiful.  It's heartbreaking, funny and full of wonderful writing.  This book is a real look at women today and just what they deal with. The way they perceive themselves.  Jane Wenham-Jones did a beautiful job of capturing just what millions of women the world over deal with every day.  


The only problem I had with this book is there was almost no romance. It was more of a last minute thought.   


I gave this one 4 out of 5 books because it seemed a little too devoid of romance.



Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Kensington Facebook Page

HI everyone! I'm happy to tell you that the Kensington Facebook page has a lot of things going on. Find some great contests and excerpts, along with polls and quizzes about our books. You can't go wrong here. You'll learn more about the books Kensington has coming out and you'll get the chance to be part of polls, contests and quizzes.   I highly recommend you check them out. OH and they have a teen page too. You can let your teens know and they can be part of the fun.  


Here are the links for both pages..  http://bit.ly/xGzDj5 (Kensington)  and http://bit.ly/xdiiXK (KTeen) . Check them out and learn what's new in the world of books.


Melanie/Kissablysweet1

What Every Married Woman Needs by Steve Caresser

This book is more of a manual for men about how to have a good relationship.  It doesn't matter if you are married or in a relationship with someone, the rules in this book still apply.  They are thoughtful, compassionate and accurate.  It's based on the experiences of the author during his 35 years of marriage.  He admits he's dealt with some of the situations himself and learned how to get through them with his marriage stronger and more importantly..intact.  Every man should be given this book at puberty to learn before he actually needs the information.  


I found this book to be fun, well written and easy to understand. It hit all the spots where men seem to flounder when their relationship experiences problems. Mr. Caresser put a lot of thought into this book and was kind enough to openly share of his own life. I think it really helps to read that someone else was in the boat you find yourself in and the information isn't from someone who has no clue.


I didn't find anything wrong with this book.


I gave this one 5 out 5 books because it really will help marriages.

Rys-Rising by Tracy Falbe

In another world, civil unrest is just as much a part of their lives as it has been for others.  The Rys, Tabre, and humans were trying to coexist in one world.  The Rys were considered the lowest of the low. The Tabre thinking themselves superior tried to keep the Rys as slaves and under their thumb.  It was a battle of magic, wits and intelligence.  They even tried to breed to Rys with Tabres in hopes of enhancing the Tabre race. What happened was not expected. The Tabre's left their Rys children to fend for themselves and they went back to their city.  Humans became instrumental in helping the Rys to overthrow the Tabre.  


This book is like a soap opera. There are so many characters and so much complex information, you really have to be in the "zone" to get this book.  It's good, don't get me wrong. I enjoyed it. It just seemed to try to tie to many knots in one place. You will enjoy the colorful people and the new things you learn.


I did find this one to be a tough read for someone who doesn't read a LOT of fantasy.  It was complex, full of characters and hard to follow. 


I gave this one 3 out of 5 books because of the complexity of the book.

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Spanked Princesses: The Pianist by Erika Moran

*EROTIC*

What to do with a selfish trophy wife? Piano lessons with a "special" teacher. Perhaps the trophy wife just needs to be taught a lesson or two in how to be a proper wife. There are so many things a good wife needs to know and most trophy wives don't even attempt to learn. Kristina is 20 and Jack.. well he's not. They've been married for 14 months and Jack is secretly unhappy. You see he's been in the lifestyle (BDSM) most of his adult life. His late wife was his submissive.  Now with Kristina, he's not sure what to do.  Jack soon learns his new wife is open to being spanked and dominated.  Will this change things for their marriage? Or end it?

I loved this book!! Many times I've witnessed trophy wives getting away with so much and wished someone would put them in their place. Now, Erika Moran has, in this book. It's hot, sexy, fun and educational.  You'll feel as if you are there witnessing this story unfold. I thoroughly enjoyed it.  This one might be a bit much for the timid but really if you open your mind and just read, you may see the other side of life.

The only thing I found wrong was these truly were YOUNG trophy wives. I felt that was out of place.

I gave this one a 4 out of 5 books because of the age thing. No I'm not a prude, but under 21 is really pushing things.

Below the Belt by Skye Warren

*EROTIC*

Three friends at a national Martial Arts competition make a bet. Who can pick up a girl and have sex first.  Pride is on the line.  Abe, Raphael and Blake have made this bet before.  Abe, the gold medal winner, usually wins the bet. This time, he's not really in the mood to play. Until he spots Paris across the room. She's quiet, beautiful and so different from the other women who follow the sport. He had to meet her. What follows is a story of love, friendship and growing pains.

This book is sweet and spicy! Romance written in a realistic way. No fairy tale endings. No promises that can't be kept. Just straight up emotion and honesty. You'll love this well paced tale of Martial Arts and love.  I enjoyed every second of it. Laughing out loud at many points in the book and envying other parts of the book. *grin*  You'll read this one quickly and be craving more. Skye Warren did a beautiful job on this one.

I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. It met all the criteria for a great book.  It seemed a little short, but then I wanted it to go on and on, it was that good.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 because it heated my Friday night nicely. *smile*

Friday, February 17, 2012

Audio Poetry by Steve Caresser

 The Girl Companion of Mine, My Chosen Water, Another Hot Fire and Isn't It Just a Book are the four audio poems I am reviewing today.  Each one is a testament to the love, passion and compassion this man feels for the woman in his life. I found them romantic, sweet, spicy and thoroughly enjoyable.  I so enjoyed being able to feel as if I were there witnessing the loving looks and  touches. Not in a voyeuristic way, but in the way you enjoy a romantic movie.  I felt so uplifted and positive after hearing these poems.


I haven't done audio poetry reviews before, but I welcome the opportunity to do it again.  Being able to hear the poetry as opposed to just reading it was such a huge difference.  You get to hear the author's intentions so clearly.  Still, as with all poetry, it is up to each individual to find what they will in the message. 


Do yourself a favor and check out these poems.  I know you'll enjoy this page!!  http://www.eprintedbooks.com/SteveCaresser/poems1.html

I give these poems a 5 out of 5 books because they send you to that romantic spot in your soul.

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Proud Mama Moment

My 11 yo daughter put up her own website today. I love the message and thought I'd share it with my followers here.  Make a difference in your world, do something to help out those around you.  Way to go B!!! Proud of you girl!! 




http://safariwild.weebly.com/

My 10 yo daughter not to be out done, created her own website too!! Check it out! Still a work in progress. Keep an eye on it though.


http://tinkfairy30site.weebly.com/

The Ninth Orphan by Lance and James Morcan

Pedemont Orphanage isn't a typical orphanage. The kids there are genetically designed to be faster, more intelligent, and able to be trained for anything.  Twenty-three orphans were part of this program.  Dissatisfied members of various Illuminati societies make up the Omega Agency who runs the orphanage. The kids are not allowed to use the names they have, they must use the numbers they were given.  The Ninth Orphan decides he wants out.  He goes through quite an elaborate plan to gain his freedom. While fighting for his freedom, he finds love, something his life has been without. 


This book is action-packed and very well written.  It takes you on a journey you can't imagine. You'll love the way this book takes you around the world and keeps you up close with next plan.  I loved this book's message and characters. It made me stop and think how many programs like this could there actually be in the world that we know nothing about.  Each step of the way I kept wondering how much could one person deal with.  I was amazed at the depth this book had in it. 


I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. It made me want to know more.


I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because this one was filled with adventure.

Monday, February 13, 2012

Silver Linings by Kate James

Katlyn Monroe was the happiest woman in the world. Recently engaged to a man she saw as her other half, she was planning for the future. Then tragedy struck. Katlyn was sure her world would never be the same again. It wasn't the same, it was changed though.  Her life took turns no one could have seen coming and prepared her for the biggest challenge of her young life.  A move to St. Lucia and some time to heal make all the difference in the world.  Katlyn's life, it would seem, is full of Silver Linings.

This is a wonderfully written book you'll want to share with your friends. It reminds us not to give up because just around the next corner, things may be even brighter.  It's warm, caring and loving message is one that will carry through the years.  This would be a terrific book for a book club. Much discussion can be made about the different areas of Katlyn's life.

I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. It delivered on all counts.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 because the story is universal and wonderful.

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Everything Erotic, Year One, Issue One by Everything Erotic

*EROTIC*
Everything Erotic encompasses all the spice, sizzle and romance in one spot. The stories are varied and most are in serial form. EE keeps you waiting and wondering for the next installment of the story you enjoy.  Each story incorporates a new way of bringing the hotness to a new level.  You will find something in each volume to brighten your evening and maybe even encourage you to explore and experiment.  *smile* Everything Erotic is the perfect evening read to share with your loved one. It will ignite your night in ways you didn't think of. 

These books are for someone who enjoys erotica and maybe doesn't have time to read the full book at that moment. The variety and spice included in these books is enough to satisfy anyone. I found them fun, exciting and even thought provoking. Everything Erotic brings the naughty you to the surface and allows you to live vicariously through the characters.

The one problem I found is there are so many stories it's like reading book blurbs than stories. Just as you get into the story it stops and goes right into another one. I found this distracting.

I gave this one 3 out of 5 books because it just didn't deliver.

Saturday, February 11, 2012


The ladies from Everything Erotic can be found at the following locations on the web:
Everything Erotic blog
Facebook
Twitter
Kindle blogs

COMING SOON!!

HIGHLAND PROTECTOR Hannah Howell- To promote the upcoming release of HIGHLAND AVENGER, 2/13 only, this title will be available for $2.99 on Nook as the Daily Find. It will be available at all major eBook retailers for 3.99 2/12-2/18.




SUGAR RUSH Donna Kauffman--This title will be available for $3.99 as a Valentine’s Day Promotion 2/12- 2/18 at all major eBook retailers, to promote the release of SWEET STUFF. 

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

FIJI by James and Lance Morcan


The year is 1848 and Fiji is just another set of islands full of wild savage natives.  En-route to the islands is  missionary Brian Drake and his lovely daughter Susannah. On board ship is an American, Nathan Johnson. He's going to the islands to trade muskets for sea slugs.  The first day on the island is filled with more than  either of the Drakes were prepared for.  Nathan notices Susannah and is instantly smitten by her. Her father, however, will do everything in his power to keep Nathan away from his daughter. Circumstances change though and they will all be in the fight of their lives.  


An action packed book that is filled with detailed accounts of run-ins with the natives and life in Fiji. This one puts you in the islands and you can almost feel the heat and the rains of the wet season.  You will enjoy the voyage this book takes you on and the not so subtle love story entwined  in the fighting. I loved the history in this book and though some parts seemed graphic, it wasn't overly so. 


The one problem I have is that the ending was drawn out way to much. I think they could have ended it sooner and had just as wonderful a book as they do have. 


I gave this one 4 out of 5 books for the long ending.