Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 22 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

In This Life by Christine Brae

      Secrets. Everyone has them. Unfortunately, secrets destroy.  Anna needed to just get away. Her life isn't happy and the secret she harbors threatens to eat her alive.  Anna convinces her friend Dante to go with her to Thailand. They needed the help after the island was torn apart by a storm.  Anna never dreamed the change over taking her life.

     A short book but very well written. The characters are well defined and easy to relate too. This book will bring out all the feels. I really wanted to help Anna. I can't imagine being trapped between two men. It's a quick, easy read and you'll be sharing it with others. 

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it keeps you on your toes.

     

Thursday, October 29, 2020

Everybody has a story... These are ours... by Audrey N. Lewis

     Enclosed in this book are stories that give you a peek into their lives. These people are learning to handle new situations in their live. You will learn much about the story behind the actions. You'll have a bigger picture to view. You will soon see, some of the stories might be familiar.

     I love this book. It's well written and has wonderful characters. Each story tugs at your heart, so tissues are advised. I felt as if I knew these people personally. When reading the stories they hit home. I recommend this book for everyone. Add it to your TBR pile!  Ms. Lewis crafts a terrific book. I would love to read more of her work.

    I found no issues.

    I gave this  one 5 cheers out of 5 because it is a spectacular read.



Seek Me and You Will Find Me by Ron Ziegler

     In this collection, you will learn about one man. It's his path to God. He's a former alcoholic and drug addict. He found his way to God, just when his life was at it's worst. The passages included in this book are from talks the gentleman had with God and how he applied the messages.

     Very well written and uplifting. I enjoyed this book and  the honesty with which it's written. You will find parts of the book speaking to you and your life. That's okay, embrace it. You will be sharing this book with others.

     I found no issues.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a beautiful book.

     

Friday, October 23, 2020

To Hell and Back (Hell Holes #3) by Donald Firesmith

      Aileen O'Shannon, Jack and Angela made it to the military base. They figured they were home free now. Then they learn just how bad things are. When the President decides to send troops into one of the hell holes, Aileen and her secret order volunteer to be part of the mission. The group will train with some of the men to learn a new way of fighting.  

     WoW! This book is well written and has some of the most colorful characters you've ever met. Mr. Firesmith is a master at weaving a story around you. The book will pull you right into the action. I'm in love with this series. We need more, Mr. Firesmith. I'm well and truly hooked on this book. I'd love to see this book as a TV series. Maybe even blockbuster movies. If you haven't read this series, you're missing out. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it will knock your socks off.


The Secrets of Hawthorne House by Donald Firesmith

      Matt and his family were adjusting to several new things about their lives. They lost their Mother to an auto accident. They then moved to their Father's hometown. On top of that, they lived next door to what looked like an abandoned house. It doesn't take long for Matt to meet the people next door. The family who lived in that creepy old house were different as well. In for a penny, in for a pound.

     Once again Mr. Firesmith shows the reader a well written story and characters that are well defined. It's easy to get pulled into this book. The story leads you on a journey through Hawthorne, Indiana. I love the slow build of this book. Just when you think, "Nothing can top that", Mr.  Firesmith seems to find another avenue for the reader to check out.

     I found no issues with this one.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because this is pure pleasure for the reader.

Saturday, October 17, 2020

TYLER: Hell’s Seven MC Romance (Outlaw) by Jolie Day

     The leader of Hell's Seven motorcycle gang is worried. They been having some trouble with another gang since Vorn took over. His sister was in danger. With one phone call, Vorn had security around Monica 24/7. No one was going to hurt her. Vorn trusted Tyler to protect Monica. Tyler is like family. The only question now is will Tyler be kicked out of the gang for his mistake. Can Monica handle Tyler being with her all day every day?

    This book is volatile.  The chemistry between Tyler and Monica is electric. The writing is solid and the characters relate-able. The twists and turns add to the chemistry. I was sitting on the edge of my seat while reading this. I just wanted to jump into the book to help out. Ms. Day is an auto buy author and a master storyteller. You won't go wrong if you buy Ms. Day's books. I've been delighted with all that I've read.

    This book did have an issue. Everything seemed so perfect. Their were some blow ups between Tyler and Monica, but when the dust settled it was as though nothing happened.

I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it needed one more BANG!!

Nonscience Returns by Brian J Ford

 

     In todays world, we place more importance on experts than we do science. When science would guide us, the people in the know choose to mislead and rely on opinions.  Our leader believes in buzz words, not scientific evidence. When did we toss scientists and their work aside? We need these scientists work to navigate the world.

This book is filled with information. It has evidence to support the claims they  make. Check it out and you will be enlightened.

I did find issues. The average person will not understand this book. The way it is written, it's more of manifesto. It's rambling, monotonous and repetitive. 

I gave this one 2 cheers out of 5. I'm still curious what Spina Bifida has to do with this.




Sunday, October 11, 2020

Demons on the Dalton (Hell Holes #2) by Donald Firesmith

    They've found out the holes are not natural. They contain gases that will kill humans. Jack, Angie and Aileen keep moving south. It's a fight for their lives. The three of them are facing demons from all directions. How can they stop them. Jack and Angie find out Aileen is a 1,700 year old sorceress. With Aileen's skills Jack and Angie believe they can make the trek to Fairbanks. Now the only question is will there be more demons as they move south?

     Outstanding! This book tells a story you can't miss. Mr. Firesmith has created an amazing situation. I found the book to be very well written and the characters are three dimensional.  This book engulfed me. You really need to read this series. You will enjoy every minute of it. Mr. Firesmith is an auto buy author.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it blew me away.

What Lurks Below (Hell Holes #1) by Donald Firesmith

        Jack, Mark and Jill are listening to Angie's presentation when the phone rings. Jack answers the phone and finds the oil executive on the other end needs help. Jack had worked with Kevin before and figured the work would be quick. The four friends pack their bags and head to where Kevin is. When they get there, they find several huge holes in the ground. Jack wasn't sure what they were or what caused them but was eager to investigate. What they find will change them forever.

     Intense, engaging, action packed, terrifying and unique. These are just some of the words that come to mind while reading this book. It's very well written and the characters are well defined.  Mr. Firesmith takes you to a place you won't recognize. He's created a world we can't even imagine. This book is a winner!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the intensity of the story.

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

Crimson at Cape May (The Haunted Shores Mysteries #2) by Randy Overbeck

 Unsure of his job situation, Darrell heads to Cape May. The high school football coach asked Darrell to help out with the summer camp. He misses Erin and his friends. He's about to add to his friends list. Along with that, there is a new mystery coming his way. Darrell will have to face some of the town's elite to figure this one out. Will he have what it takes to see this mystery though to the end?

    Mr. Overbeck builds this story with great care. He gives you a beautiful setting and then introduces the characters. The story winds around and takes you down every dark alley and through some of the grandest homes in the area. He's a mystery master! I love the way Mr. Overbeck  sets a steady pace, but you can feel the intensity. This is one author on my auto-buy list. I can't put the book down once I open the first page. His characters beckon me to follow them. Before I know it, I'm caught up in the story.  Mr. Overbeck should be on your auto-buy as well. 

I found no issues.

    I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because the story lasted long after I read it.


Friday, September 25, 2020

America's First Freedom Rider: Elizabeth Jennings, Chester A. Arthur, and the Early Fight for Civil Rights by Jerry Mikorenda

 

     July 16, 1854 was an eventful day for Elizabeth Jennings. Traveling anywhere and in anyway was dangerous in New York City. Elizabeth Jennings got on a horse car and the conductor was less than happy. He told her to wait for the next car because "her" people would be on it. She refused. The conductor then attacked Elizabeth. She and her attorney, Chester A. Arthur sued the company and won.  She wasn't the only one to achieve greatness, her father and her attorney also made great strides for the African-American people. Get the book and learn more.

     This book is factual, surprising and an accurate  snapshot of the past. It's well written and the characters shared in an honest and forthright way. This should be required reading for high school students today.  I found this book eye opening and a shock. You must read this book.

    I found one issues. The books title is misleading. It should be Civil Rights in 19th century New York City.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it was very informative.

Shake The Lake Volume #1 by Zach Block

     After a break up, Cal convinces one of his buddies to pay for a trip to an Arizona lake town. They can stay on the lake and work for his uncle.  It will make Cal seem more grown up and maybe he'd find a new girlfriend. His friends agree to go but they have no idea what they'll encounter when they arrive in Lake Victoria. We all have to grow up sometime. Can Cal and his friends become the young men their parents are looking for?

   This graphic novel is well written. The characters are great too. This book is perfect for those who aren't really thrilled with books. It will keep you interested to the very end.  It's a wonderful book for the graphic novel. The colorful drawings just add to the story.  I suggest this book for teens and young adults mostly.  Get all of the volumes of this novel.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it needs a bit of cleaning up. It's a bit rough.
 . 

Always on My Mind by Andrea Downing

     
 It's 1972, the time of hippies, Vietnam and free love. One of those hippies found herself in Wyoming without a ride to California. A farmer there, Cooper by name, took her in. She cooked and cleaned for him. Occasionally she helped outside too.  This hippie, Cassie, knew she was falling in love with Cooper. She had no idea Cooper would continue to be in her life for many years. Though she leaves the farm, Cooper never leaves her mind. Life goes on.

     This is a different kind of love story. Well written, this story brings you in immediately. The characters are well defined. The type of characters you may find in your own life. Ms. Downing tells the story in such a way you are in a quandary over whether or not to put the book aside. Each page reveals a little more. It's just enough to begin that quandary. I can tell you, you will be rooting for Cassie. This book is perfect for everyone. Even those who may not be into romance, get this book. It's that great! It's a perfect gift for anyone. 

     I found no issues in this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's written so well.

Thursday, September 24, 2020

Stood Up by Eden Rayna

 

      Astrid and Sebastian have one thing in common. Their Mothers are matchmakers. They set Astrid and Sebastian up on too many blind dates. They reluctantly do the blind date, but so far it hasn't found either Astrid or Sebastian their soulmate. The latest blind date stood Astrid up. Now what?

     Very well written with plenty of humor to see you through to the end. The characters are well defined and such fun to follow through the book. If you or someone you know have a matchmaking Mom, you need to read this. I highly recommend this one. Ms. Rayna is my newest auto-buy-author. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I laughed throughout this book!

Disloyal: The True Story of the Former Personal Attorney to President Donald J. Trump by Michael Cohen

 

     When he made a wish and it came true, Michael Cohen had no idea what he was in for. Working for Donald Trump isn't easy. It's not a nine to five work day. Michael Cohen learned he'd have to give up his life to serve Trump. Cohen had a title, but the title didn't begin to cover what his job entailed. When he saw what was happening it was too late for Cohen to back away or leave. He was caught in Trump's web as surely as he breathed. 

     Though we know Michael Cohen lied when he spoke before Congress the first time, I believe in this book he's being honest. Prestige and money reeled  Cohen into Trump's world. It's well written and the details are something to make you gasp. I believe you will find this book as interesting as I did. Cohen and his germaphobe boss Trump kept very busy. This book is consistent with others I've read. These details match up with other books. You need to read this , it clearly shows why Americans should be afraid of Trump getting a second term. Read this today!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it opened the secret world and lair that Trump lives in.

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Melania and Me: The Rise and Fall of My Friendship with the First Lady by Stephanie Winston Wolkoff


    Stephanie simply wanted to make sure her friend, Melania, was treated with respect. What she found was as cold and calculating as death. Melania has no illusions where her husband is concerned. She's well aware of his misdeeds.  Stephanie was surprised and shocked over the way Melania changed after they moved into the White House. Stephanie would find her friendship with Melania was never what she thought it was.

  This book spares no one. Mrs. Wolkoff is a superb writer. She takes you through it all.She doesn't hold back when describing the events leading up to the very end. I found this book to be honest and emotional. You will learn more than you thought possible about the trumps. It's definitely one to read.

I found no issues.

I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it gave me information I never thought I'd have.

Divorce to Discovery by Jill Wilson

Jill is a model wife and mother. She is busy from sunrise to sunset. From the outside, it looks as though Jill's family is perfect. Friends,neighbors and relatives were shocked when her marriage ended. No one was more shocked than Jill. She realizes she must move forward and find out who she was now. One question, did she have the wherewithal to handle it?

   Oh my goodness! You are going to enjoy this book. The writing is impeccable. The characters are three dimensional and easy to relate too. The pace is steady and page-turning. Your heart will go out to Jill as she works her way through this. Ms. Wilson is a fantastic storyteller. She keeps the reader involved through the entire book. Ms. Wilson uses humor to get through some of the book and it's a nice break from the intensity. You must get this book for your book club or your own library.

     I found no issues.

    I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's truly a sensational read.

  

Saturday, September 5, 2020

Witches Protection Program by Michael Phillip Cash

     Wes Rockville hasn't lived up to his family's expectations. He seems to mess up wherever he works. His Dad and Grandfather are high ranking in the police department. They'd hoped We would be as well. Wes is transferred for the last time. The program is DUMBO. This is his chance to show his family he can do the job. Will it work?

      This book is teeming with fun. It is definitely one you want in your TBR pile. It's well written and the characters are believable. Every child has questions about witches, and this one answers most of them. It's for adults though. You are gonna laugh and enjoy this book. The author is a master storyteller.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it is thoroughly entertaining.
 

Brook and Brax: Undercover Ninjas by Antonio Lumley


      Brook and Brax are the victims of bullies. Everyday! They try to run and hide but the bullies always find them. One day they run into a dojo.  Turns out it was the best thing ever. They talk the Sensei into teaching them. He agrees but has some very strict rules they must follow.

     This book is fantastic! It's a wonderful way of dealing with bullies. Well written and terrific characters, this book should be in your family library. My favorite part is the good grades required to keep going. 

     I found no issues.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's fantastic.

The Devil and Dayna Dalton (Bulwark Anthology #9) by Brit Lunden

 

     Dayna tried all her life to prove she wasn't like her mother. She wasn't wild and undependable. She was a good reporter and a responsible person. Her one "fault" was her love for Clay. He was married and never led her on. In this town, strange things happened. Dayna was going to find out why.

     If you are looking for an original book, this is it. Ms. Lunden's writing is great! She made sure to keep the reader off balance while defining the characters with style. You'll be glad you got this book. I love that the odd things happen to a select few. It's not something everyone experiences. She doesn't give a reason for why this happens. You never know quite when it will happen.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because the pacing needed to be a bit faster.

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

The Road She Left Behind by Christine Nolfi

     Darcy thought she had moved on from her past. She worked hard to keep the secret.  She knows she will never go home. Then a phone call changes everything. Darcy will be forced to face the past to save her nephew. She wonders if facing the secret will destroy what's left of her family.

     Oh my! Well written and  steady paced, this book will make you look at family secrets differently. The characters have the most terrific personalities. From page one, Ms. Nolfi pulls you into the story. Her storytelling is definitely world class. You've got to make Ms. Nolfi and auto-buy author!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because Ms. Nolfi makes you feel all the feels.


 

Promises to Theresa by Marianne Komek

 

     Theresa has two goals right now. One, get into an Ivy League school. Two, be the most outstanding editor of her high school paper.  She never expects the huge twist that hits her. Suddenly everything changes.  The question now is can she get through it?

     The characters are well defined. The writing is good. I love the way everyone became so supportive when they discover Theresa's problem. You'll need a tissue for this one. The subject matter is delicate but Ms. Komek handles it with finesse. 

     I found one issue. The opening was very dry. It didn't seem as if the writer was interested.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because Ms. Komek picks up the pace and ends on a strong note.

 

Monday, August 31, 2020

Wild Pitch by Frank Nunez

 

     It's time for Cooper Harbach to start college. All he can think about is baseball. He wants to be a pro baseball player. He just needs to work on his pitch. Also, there is a girl . She's different, but beautiful and intelligent. Cooper tries to win her over. Long before Cooper graduates from college, his life is turned upside down.

     This book really took me by surprise. The twists and turns are amazing. Well written and wonderful characters will keep you turning pages. Mr. Nunez did a fantastic job of slowly showing all sides of Cooper. You are gonna want this one in your TBR pile.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the twists I didn't see coming.

Sarah's Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

 

    Sarah and her family were having an ordinary day. Although her parents seemed on edge, no one had reason to expect the nightmare they were about to face. Julia was an American journalist who had lived in Paris for many years. She was also at a crossroads she never expected. What happens to both of these women is astonishing. 

     Well written and plotted. Characters are well defined and relate-able. This book will haunt the reader. It's educational and historic. I'm sure many will be surprised when they devour this book. Ms. de Rosnay has just the right touch for this emotional story. GET THIS BOOK!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one a resounding 5 cheers out of 5 because this book still haunts me.

The Safe Place by Anna Downes

 

     Emily is not having a great day. It seems like her life is falling apart right before her eyes. Then she meets Scott. Emily is attracted to him and believes he might be attracted to her. He hires her for his company and that's when things began to get strange.  

     While the pacing is slow, it is well written. The characters are well defined and interesting. I have to say the "creepy factor" is evident as well. I was surprised many times in this book. It usually came out of nowhere. If you enjoy thrillers, you'll love this book.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the slow pacing.

Shot Through the Heart by Andrea Downing

 

   Shiloh Coltrane is a ranch owner who keeps to himself.  His purpose in life is to right a family wrong. He just hasn't decided how to go about it.  Sydney Cantrell came west because it was the only place she might get to do her job. Sydney, I mean Dr. Cantrell wants more than anything to be a practicing doctor. Will Shiloh and Sydney each find what they are looking for?

     This book includes some fabulous characters whose personalities are very well defined. The writing is first rate and easy to follow. I enjoyed the overall story.

     I did find issues.  This book has no backbone. By that I mean everything is all neat and tidy. No real conflict to resolve. No real grit. Even the fire was neat and tidy. It needs some punch.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because of the issues I listed.

    

     

Humble Fitness by James T. Young

 

     Steve is working hard to make his life better. His family supports his efforts and are there for him when he needs them. It's never been easy though. Steve has been through a lot. He's hoping his roommates, Jamal and Tony will be motivated by his efforts. It's one day at a time.

     I applaud that the author is trying to do here. 

     I did find issues.  The book reads very rough. It's not a smooth flow of words. It doesn't seem to capture the attitude of someone going through the problems Steve has. It seems to jump around from subject to subject. Ar. Also, the narrator seems to be speaking down to the reader.

   I gave this one 2 cheers out of 5 for the issues above.

      



Saturday, August 29, 2020

How the Squid Got Two Long Arms by Henry L. Herz

 

     Squid is swimming deep in the cold water. He shivers and spots a sweater. He knows it isn't his but he takes it anyway. While swimming a bit further, Squid finds other clothes and takes them as well.  When his friends find out what's happened they go to Squid and take their things back. In the process they stretch Squid's arms.

    A cute way to tell an interesting tale about Squid. Children will be fascinated by the tale. The beautiful illustrations will keep their attention. Perfect for an afternoon read or a bedtime story. This should be in your child's library.

I found no issues.

  I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a cute story.





Thursday, August 20, 2020

His To Buy by Emily Hale

    Ben doesn't have time for a steady relationship. Work means everything to him and his family.  Ben knows one day he'll inherit the family fortune and businesses. Kimani wants and needs the job working as a journalist. She came up with this crazy plan to prove she can do the job.  Time at a friend's cabin may change both of them forever.


   This hot, hot, hot story is fantastic! Wonderful characters. Terrific plotting and a different approach to romance makes this a book to have. Ms. Hale keeps this story flowing and full of surprises. This is an explicit book, so not for those easily offended. Purchase this book today. It will make a terrific gift!  


     I found no issues.


     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it would make a fantastic book to read aloud with your significant other.

Saturday, July 25, 2020

Aloha Means Goodbye: A Murder on Maui Mystery (Murder on Maui #1) by Robert W. Stephens

     Edgar  Allen Rutherford had no job. No girlfriend. He also had a horrible flight to Maui. Edgar was going to Maui for a vacation. Nothing to hold him on the mainland. Doug was a childhood friend and he had invited Edgar to Maui many times. Edgar felt like nothing else could happen to make this month worse. Then they landed in Maui.

     A well written book, it is as though you and the author are just chatting over a cup of tea. The characters are three dimensional and  incredibly wonderful. I enjoy the twists and turns the author incorporated in this story. You will not put this book down until it ends.Get it for your TBR pile today.

     I didn't find any issues.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because the action was amazing.

     


Wednesday, July 22, 2020

SOLD: Highest Bidder by Jolie Day

      Joe: Successful, gorgeous and very sweet doesn't do justice to him. He's beyond the average good looking guy. He has a past but that's just it, it's his past.  It seems to be cropping up more often than it should. Joe has it all handled until he sees HER!

     Sophia: Behind on her rent, and her internet bill, and all of her other bills, make her desperate. More so than she's ever been.  When her best friend suggests calling a lady friend of his for a job, Sophia laughs it off. She's got this. Right? Okay, well maybe she's working on getting it all handle. Eventually. Someday. She calls the lady friend. Here we go!

     Suspense, romance, laughter and HOT sex set this book on a journey. It might be a bumpy ride but you'll hang on to the end.  Well written, well plotted and characters to love set this book apart from others. I found this book to be a perfect read no matter where you are.  The twists keep it interesting. I knew immediately I was gonna enjoy this one. The characters personalities shine through. It appears as though Ms. Day sailed through the writing process. Get this one. You won't be sorry.

     I did find one issue. I felt things went too smoothly for Sophia and for Joe. The rescue scenes could have been a bit longer.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the reason above. 

Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man by Mary L. Trump

     The Trump family is NOT your average family. They are now and always have been dysfunctional. This book is an explanation of how this all started.  The five Trump children learned at home, how to navigate the world. The problem is, it wasn't a "normal" way of handling it. Fred Trump used the government and government programs to build his fortune. His skewed way of living and learning was passed down to his children. This book answers your questions about the trump in the White House.

     I applaud Mary L. Trump for writing this book. She did a wonderful job of explaining where this family found it's way of doing things. I also applaud Ms. Trump and her brother for their tenacity despite the blood in their veins and the last name they were given.  Well written and organized, this book just builds on itself like building blocks making it easy to see what went wrong and when.  If you are looking for a sleazy attempt to discredit donald trump, look elsewhere.  This is first of all a book about the entire Trump family.  Second, I'm sure it was cathartic for Ms. Trump to write. You can't go wrong with this book and I hope Ms. Trump will write another book, on any topic, soon. 

   I found only one issue. I would like to have seen more about "where are they now" for the three remaining Trumps.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because Ms. Trump could have taken the sleazy road but she held true to her personal moral compass.

     

Friday, July 17, 2020

Blood in the Desert Sand by Donald Montano

     The Arizona Territory is wild.  The Denby  brothers know first hand just how wild.  The three of them are trackers. They track the missing and outlaws.  These brothers always succeed in their mission. Now, they must find a missing Apache Princess and six white women. Most in the area believe they will fail. The brothers know they will find all of the women and the outlaws who took them. At least they hope they will.

     Captivating and authentic, we get a real look at life in the "wild" west.  Well written and full of emotion, this book is unlike any other western you've read. I found it moving, harsh and honest. It will give you pause when you digest the story. You are gonna want this one in your TBR pile and you will be sharing it with friends and family.  It's sensational.

     I did find issues. By chapter 15 it felt like the story was over.  It then takes off on another run. It's like a roller coaster.  The lulls don't stop at chapter 15, there are at least two others. It makes the book and story less fluid.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the above issues.

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Relentless: Unleashing a Life of Purpose, Grit, and Faith by John Tesh

     You may have wondered what John Tesh was like before ET. He was an ordinary child. He did things typical boys do. He also did things you'll be surprised at. The book gives you a look at the past and how it shaped the present. You will be moved by how his private and professional life came together.  A lot of prayer and luck.

     I found this book engaging and brutally honest.  When you being this book, you'll feel as though you are carrying on a conversation with Mr. Tesh. This book will touch your heart and soul. You will have all the feels. I highly recommend this book. If you know Mr. Tesh personally, you'll be shaking your head. If you only know him from ET or his music, you'll be astounded. 

     I found no issues here.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's such compelling reading.

Monday, July 13, 2020

Where Is My Little Crocodile? (Where is... #1) by Ingo Blum

     Charlie the crocodile is missing! Where can he be? Everyone is searching for him. They have no idea where he could have gone to. Can Charlie drive a car? Everyone keeps looking for hi m. Do you know where Charlie is?

     This repetitive and easy to read book will keep the littles engaged in the story. I found the illustrations just sensational. They are part of what the littles will love about this book. It's really two gifts in one. A book to read and a search and find game. Check this one out.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5.

The River Raft (Riverboat Chapter Books #1) by Ingo Blum

     Finn the falcon, Shylow the fox and Titus the badger are the best of friends. Their favorite activity is to go out on their wooden rowing boat. They love sailing.  One day they found a lost calf. They  think they can help the calf if they work together. Can they work together and save the calf?

     This book is wonderful. It teaches children about teamwork. It is colorful and fun. It's told in a way children won't realize they are learning. They'll want this book read again and again. It belongs in your child's library.

     The only issue I found was the part where the boat really runs into serious trouble. It might be a bit much for the age group.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the part mentioned above.




Sunday, July 12, 2020

Our Wonderful Colorful Highway by Ingo Blum

     I'll bet you've never looked at our roads and highways as a child does.  There's a yellow bus. Look at the red car. There's a green tractor. Oh, I love the purple station wagon. Look at the green trees by the road.

  How much joy your little will get when you read this book. Then carry it a step forward. When you are out and about, ask them to find colors. They will work hard to find them. I found this book to be eye-opening as far as a teaching tool. It's so easy to incorporate into your day. This belongs in your little's library.

     The only issue I found was keeping littles in their seat. *smile*

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's easy to catch the excitement from your child.
     

Nelly Pig´s Funny Birthday Surprise (Nelly Pig´s Life #1) by Ingo Blum

     Carlos the Duck is in charge. He's always been in charge. He organizes the work on the farm. 
     Nelly Pig is Carlos' best friend. However, Nelly doesn't like his bossiness. It leads to an argument and Carlos leaves the farm for a few days. While he's gone, Nelly is in charge. It doesn't go well at all. See what they do for dear Carlos.

    OH, this book is a gem! I wish I'd had it when my girls were young. It is a terrific way to explain why they should work together and they can get things done. Your little will love all the farm animals and the chaos that ensues.

     I found no issues,

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really is a gem.

Big: a Little Story about Respect and Self-Esteem by Ingo Blumful

     Lee the flea works for Circus Wilson. When Lee performs his tricks, the only thing the audience see are his sparkling yellow pants. Lee wants to be bigger, so he leaves the circus to think. When it comes time for Lee to perform, no one can find him. Where do you think Lee is?

     This book has a sensational way to explain the issue, self-esteem and respect, so littles understand. Bright, colorful illustrations will keep their attention. Talking about the story will help cement the lessons in your littles mind. I found this book delightful.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because these lessons are so important.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Full Moon Fever by Elizabeth Black

      Sam and Grants lives were entwined with their work. They worked with touring dance groups.  Their jobs as handy men allowed them to get to know most of the performers. Two of their best friends worked in the background too. Sam and Grant hid secrets from everyone.  Will they be able to continue to hide, or must they finally speak up?

     This book offers a different look at the subject matter. It's more realistic. It's well written and spicy hot!  Ms. Black includes humor as well as some deep lessons many face, even if they aren't part of a fictional story.  This is one you'll enjoy.

     I found no issues here.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it's a little too short.

Monday, June 29, 2020

United in Grief: The Tragic Story of Stephanie Scott's Murder and the Effect it had on the Small Town of Leeton NSW by Monique Patterson

     Stephanie's life couldn't get much better. She was teaching, something she loved to do. Also, she was preparing to marry her prince. Aaron, Stephanie's prince, goes out of town for a party. Stephanie stays behind to ready things in her classroom. She wants everything to be set while she's on her honeymoon.  No one expected what happened next.

     This is a quick, heartbreaking read. The subject matter is something we see way too much of in our world.  

     I found one huge issue. This book reads like a police report not a story. It's very cut and dry.  It seems to contain only what a police report would. There is nothing human about it.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because it really needs some work.

Expect Betrayal by JoAnn Smith Ainsworth

      Lt. Olivia Delacourt is a bit unusual.  Her talents lie in an area many would scoff at.  It's because of these talents she's given the mission of finding her cousin. She's never met her cousin but she holds a book Olivia and the military need. It's 1943 and this book must be guarded. Hitler himself wants it. You see how important  it is?

     Buckle up, sit back and let the thrills begin.  This book has quite a cast of characters. Each adds their own special zip to the story. Well written, this story seems to flow very easily from Ms. Ainsworth.  I love the history part of this book. Each page makes you want to keep reading to see what else can happen.

    The only issue I can see is the supernatural aspect of the book. It may keep some from enjoying this story. 

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the supernatural .

Spotlight on: Author Robert Brink


In its compelling portrayal of racial injustice committed by police officers, Blood on Their Hands is unlike other legal thrillers in its uncannily perfect timing as the country is torn asunder by police brutality against blacks. Further, it is one of a kind in its introduction of a controversial legal conundrum.

But that enigma – whether an attorney who witnesses a police beating may defend the victim – takes a back seat to the novel’s portrayal of racial animosity. Though prevalent throughout our country’s history, events over a period of just a few weeks in winter-spring 2020, most notably the police strangulation of a Minneapolis man, saw it rise to a fever pitch not felt since the civil rights movement of the 1950s and ’60s.

Police brutality toward blacks is the salient, and altogether timely, problem addressed in Blood on Their Hands by both the legal system and the book’s characters in the racial attitudes they harbor. The novel explores these bigoted feelings in depth, echoing via dramatization the poignant lyrics in the song You’ve Got to Be Carefully Taught in Rodgers and Hammerstein’s 1949 hit Broadway musical South Pacific.

As to the legal aspect, attorneys consulted by the author offered varying opinions as to the rare circumstance encountered by the protagonists within the book’s pages. 

Hiram Garbuncle is a veteran criminal defense attorney—as well as a racist, miserly alcoholic. His life revolves around hoarding money, following sports, pursuing sex, drinking—and the prideful practice of law.

Alec Monceau is a black man working in suburban West Palm Beach, Florida, to support his daughter’s family in Trinidad. It is 2008, and his car carries an Obama bumper sticker. This political endorsement leads to a superfluous traffic stop and a brutal beating by police.

It goes against Garbuncle’s grain to defend a black man from a charge of violently resisting arrest, but he is so confident of winning that he is negligent in the jury selection, and a mistrial occurs. He then discovers incriminating evidence on the two cops, and his new challenge becomes how to keep himself and his client alive pending a new trial.

Blood on Their Hands borrows themes from the movies Gran Torino and My Cousin Vinnie. It is a tale replete with both pathos and humor. Steeped in suspense, action, intrigue, violent episodes and yes, a bit of titillating sex, all these elements are leavened by a tragic love affair. Perhaps most important, it is a story of redemption.



Author's Bio



Bob Brink is a journalist who worked with the Palm Beach Post, The Associated Press in Chicago, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Tampa Tribune, Joliet Herald-News, and Palm Beach Media Group (magazines). His byline has been on thousands of news stories, features, and entertainment reviews. He’s been an author and freelance writer for several years.

He has won numerous writing accolades and several awards, including three for Palm Beach Illustrated, which won the Best Written Magazine award from the Florida Magazine Association after he became copy chief and writer.
            
Blood on Their Hands is Brink’s second crime novel, following Murder in Palm Beach The Homicide That Never Died¸ an Amazon best-seller for 15 weeks. His previous books were the coming-of-age novel Breaking Out, The Way It Was: Short Stories and Tall Tales, and A Tale of Two Continents, a ghost-written memoir.

Besides dabbling in short-story writing over the years, he immersed himself in learning to play the clarinet and tenor saxophone. He performed many years with an estimable 65-piece community symphonic band, and played a few professional big band gigs.

A product of Michigan and Iowa, he has a bachelor’s degree in English and German from Drake University in Des Moines, and studied journalism in graduate school at the University of Iowa.



Sunday, June 28, 2020

Blood on the Chesapeake by Randy Overbeck

     Darrell was starting a new life and Wilshire was as good a place as any to get the ball rolling. Though a small town, Wilshire hid a huge secret. Darrell wasn't concerned about the secret, he didn't want to get involved. Something seems to be pulling at Darrell. Telling him to keep his eyes open.  Darrell takes the advice and is shocked by what he does see.

     I love that this book includes some history. It makes the story more interesting.  The characters are very human and lovable. Humor, suspense and romance are all included. Mr. Overbeck weaves a tale like a master story teller. He never gives you much about the secret and that keeps you reading. This should be on your TBR pile for summer reading.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because everyone needs to read it.

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

An Ill Wind Is Blowing by Donald Montano

     John Sampson and his companions arrive in Charleston. They are not welcome. It will be up to John to change things in Charleston. With the help of some of the townsfolk, they might actually stand a chance of completing their mission. It could also mean more trouble for John. 

     Powerful and engaging, this book is as fantastic as the other two. This could easily be a TV miniseries. Once again it's well thought out, historically accurate and has characters you won't soon forget. Watching the development of the story line is fascinating. I can't wait to read more.

    Once again the "end of chapter" statement isn't needed.  It's the only issue I found.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it blew me away.

Escape Back to Charleston by Donald Montano

     John Sampson finally found a bit of happiness. He knew he was blessed to have found Arley and the people he now called friends. In his happiness, John wanted to help his friend Joshua find the woman he loved. This would mean a trip back home, he was ready though.

     I would love to see this and the other two books in the series as movies. Rough and tumble, yet soft and loving, this book has it all. There is even a good dose of humor throughout. The best part is you can read each book alone and you still get a captivating read. Incredibly well plotted and such wonderful characters. Put it on your TBR pile. Near the top.

     The only issue is again the "end of chapter" statement.

   I have this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it swept me away.

Drink Deep From the Well of Good Intentions by Donald Montano

          The Civil War was over. Nothing was the same. Death, destruction and hatred were everywhere. John Sampson served four years in the war. Now he just wanted a quiet place to be alone. He decided to head west. He never dreamed the war would follow him. 

     BLOCKBUSTER! Movie-waiting-to-happen. This book is crafted in such a way you get lost in it. The characters are well defined and so life-like you'll forget it's fiction. I was enthralled with this book. In my mind I could see it playing at a movie theater. Very few books hit me that way. Put this author on automatic buy. I know I have.

     I did find one issues. It's a personal preference. I'd take out the  "end of chapter" statements. It's a given the chapter ends if the next chapter is labelled.

     I have this one a resounding 5 cheers out of 5.

Junkie (Cal Rogan Mysteries #1) by Robert P. French

     Cal's life is out of control. His wife tried to help him set things straight many times. She's had enough. Thinking if Cal lost visitation with their daughter he'd get his head on straight, she tells Cal she's moving away. Worried he'll never see his daughter again, Cal gives himself a time limit to get things right. Now, will he be able to do it?

     Well written, meticulously plotted and life like characters will draw you into this book. Mr. French has developed a story line that will have you loving and hating the characters you'll meet. I enjoyed this fresh take on the subject of junkies. I found myself reassessing who-dun-it with every page. I'm excited to read more of this author's work. You will be too.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the fresh take.

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation by Robert W. Fieseler

   Most people believe the shooting at Pulse night club in Florida was the biggest attack on gays. It was not the first. In the seventies, an oasis for gays and their friends in New Orleans was set on fire. It only took sixteen minutes to kill thirty-two people and injure fifteen. The Upstairs Lounge was a small but perfect place to gather.  Several at the lounge that night were still firmly in the closet. The fire brought them all out. 

   I enjoyed learning about this lounge. The story is well written  and  told in a forthright way. Getting to know those in attendance that Sunday is an honor.  It is also heartbreaking. You'll enjoy meeting the people at the club and the environment surrounding them. You'll also learn just how difficult it could be for gays. This one should be in your TBR pile.

  I didn't find any issues.

   I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5.  This touching account will teach you many things.