Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 22 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Relentless: Unleashing a Life of Purpose, Grit, and Faith by John Tesh

     You may have wondered what John Tesh was like before ET. He was an ordinary child. He did things typical boys do. He also did things you'll be surprised at. The book gives you a look at the past and how it shaped the present. You will be moved by how his private and professional life came together.  A lot of prayer and luck.

     I found this book engaging and brutally honest.  When you being this book, you'll feel as though you are carrying on a conversation with Mr. Tesh. This book will touch your heart and soul. You will have all the feels. I highly recommend this book. If you know Mr. Tesh personally, you'll be shaking your head. If you only know him from ET or his music, you'll be astounded. 

     I found no issues here.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's such compelling reading.

Monday, July 13, 2020

Where Is My Little Crocodile? (Where is... #1) by Ingo Blum

     Charlie the crocodile is missing! Where can he be? Everyone is searching for him. They have no idea where he could have gone to. Can Charlie drive a car? Everyone keeps looking for hi m. Do you know where Charlie is?

     This repetitive and easy to read book will keep the littles engaged in the story. I found the illustrations just sensational. They are part of what the littles will love about this book. It's really two gifts in one. A book to read and a search and find game. Check this one out.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5.

The River Raft (Riverboat Chapter Books #1) by Ingo Blum

     Finn the falcon, Shylow the fox and Titus the badger are the best of friends. Their favorite activity is to go out on their wooden rowing boat. They love sailing.  One day they found a lost calf. They  think they can help the calf if they work together. Can they work together and save the calf?

     This book is wonderful. It teaches children about teamwork. It is colorful and fun. It's told in a way children won't realize they are learning. They'll want this book read again and again. It belongs in your child's library.

     The only issue I found was the part where the boat really runs into serious trouble. It might be a bit much for the age group.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the part mentioned above.




Sunday, July 12, 2020

Our Wonderful Colorful Highway by Ingo Blum

     I'll bet you've never looked at our roads and highways as a child does.  There's a yellow bus. Look at the red car. There's a green tractor. Oh, I love the purple station wagon. Look at the green trees by the road.

  How much joy your little will get when you read this book. Then carry it a step forward. When you are out and about, ask them to find colors. They will work hard to find them. I found this book to be eye-opening as far as a teaching tool. It's so easy to incorporate into your day. This belongs in your little's library.

     The only issue I found was keeping littles in their seat. *smile*

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's easy to catch the excitement from your child.
     

Nelly Pig´s Funny Birthday Surprise (Nelly Pig´s Life #1) by Ingo Blum

     Carlos the Duck is in charge. He's always been in charge. He organizes the work on the farm. 
     Nelly Pig is Carlos' best friend. However, Nelly doesn't like his bossiness. It leads to an argument and Carlos leaves the farm for a few days. While he's gone, Nelly is in charge. It doesn't go well at all. See what they do for dear Carlos.

    OH, this book is a gem! I wish I'd had it when my girls were young. It is a terrific way to explain why they should work together and they can get things done. Your little will love all the farm animals and the chaos that ensues.

     I found no issues,

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really is a gem.

Big: a Little Story about Respect and Self-Esteem by Ingo Blumful

     Lee the flea works for Circus Wilson. When Lee performs his tricks, the only thing the audience see are his sparkling yellow pants. Lee wants to be bigger, so he leaves the circus to think. When it comes time for Lee to perform, no one can find him. Where do you think Lee is?

     This book has a sensational way to explain the issue, self-esteem and respect, so littles understand. Bright, colorful illustrations will keep their attention. Talking about the story will help cement the lessons in your littles mind. I found this book delightful.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because these lessons are so important.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Full Moon Fever by Elizabeth Black

      Sam and Grants lives were entwined with their work. They worked with touring dance groups.  Their jobs as handy men allowed them to get to know most of the performers. Two of their best friends worked in the background too. Sam and Grant hid secrets from everyone.  Will they be able to continue to hide, or must they finally speak up?

     This book offers a different look at the subject matter. It's more realistic. It's well written and spicy hot!  Ms. Black includes humor as well as some deep lessons many face, even if they aren't part of a fictional story.  This is one you'll enjoy.

     I found no issues here.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it's a little too short.

Monday, June 29, 2020

United in Grief: The Tragic Story of Stephanie Scott's Murder and the Effect it had on the Small Town of Leeton NSW by Monique Patterson

     Stephanie's life couldn't get much better. She was teaching, something she loved to do. Also, she was preparing to marry her prince. Aaron, Stephanie's prince, goes out of town for a party. Stephanie stays behind to ready things in her classroom. She wants everything to be set while she's on her honeymoon.  No one expected what happened next.

     This is a quick, heartbreaking read. The subject matter is something we see way too much of in our world.  

     I found one huge issue. This book reads like a police report not a story. It's very cut and dry.  It seems to contain only what a police report would. There is nothing human about it.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because it really needs some work.

Expect Betrayal by JoAnn Smith Ainsworth

      Lt. Olivia Delacourt is a bit unusual.  Her talents lie in an area many would scoff at.  It's because of these talents she's given the mission of finding her cousin. She's never met her cousin but she holds a book Olivia and the military need. It's 1943 and this book must be guarded. Hitler himself wants it. You see how important  it is?

     Buckle up, sit back and let the thrills begin.  This book has quite a cast of characters. Each adds their own special zip to the story. Well written, this story seems to flow very easily from Ms. Ainsworth.  I love the history part of this book. Each page makes you want to keep reading to see what else can happen.

    The only issue I can see is the supernatural aspect of the book. It may keep some from enjoying this story. 

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the supernatural .

Spotlight on: Author Robert Brink


In its compelling portrayal of racial injustice committed by police officers, Blood on Their Hands is unlike other legal thrillers in its uncannily perfect timing as the country is torn asunder by police brutality against blacks. Further, it is one of a kind in its introduction of a controversial legal conundrum.

But that enigma – whether an attorney who witnesses a police beating may defend the victim – takes a back seat to the novel’s portrayal of racial animosity. Though prevalent throughout our country’s history, events over a period of just a few weeks in winter-spring 2020, most notably the police strangulation of a Minneapolis man, saw it rise to a fever pitch not felt since the civil rights movement of the 1950s and ’60s.

Police brutality toward blacks is the salient, and altogether timely, problem addressed in Blood on Their Hands by both the legal system and the book’s characters in the racial attitudes they harbor. The novel explores these bigoted feelings in depth, echoing via dramatization the poignant lyrics in the song You’ve Got to Be Carefully Taught in Rodgers and Hammerstein’s 1949 hit Broadway musical South Pacific.

As to the legal aspect, attorneys consulted by the author offered varying opinions as to the rare circumstance encountered by the protagonists within the book’s pages. 

Hiram Garbuncle is a veteran criminal defense attorney—as well as a racist, miserly alcoholic. His life revolves around hoarding money, following sports, pursuing sex, drinking—and the prideful practice of law.

Alec Monceau is a black man working in suburban West Palm Beach, Florida, to support his daughter’s family in Trinidad. It is 2008, and his car carries an Obama bumper sticker. This political endorsement leads to a superfluous traffic stop and a brutal beating by police.

It goes against Garbuncle’s grain to defend a black man from a charge of violently resisting arrest, but he is so confident of winning that he is negligent in the jury selection, and a mistrial occurs. He then discovers incriminating evidence on the two cops, and his new challenge becomes how to keep himself and his client alive pending a new trial.

Blood on Their Hands borrows themes from the movies Gran Torino and My Cousin Vinnie. It is a tale replete with both pathos and humor. Steeped in suspense, action, intrigue, violent episodes and yes, a bit of titillating sex, all these elements are leavened by a tragic love affair. Perhaps most important, it is a story of redemption.



Author's Bio



Bob Brink is a journalist who worked with the Palm Beach Post, The Associated Press in Chicago, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Tampa Tribune, Joliet Herald-News, and Palm Beach Media Group (magazines). His byline has been on thousands of news stories, features, and entertainment reviews. He’s been an author and freelance writer for several years.

He has won numerous writing accolades and several awards, including three for Palm Beach Illustrated, which won the Best Written Magazine award from the Florida Magazine Association after he became copy chief and writer.
            
Blood on Their Hands is Brink’s second crime novel, following Murder in Palm Beach The Homicide That Never Died¸ an Amazon best-seller for 15 weeks. His previous books were the coming-of-age novel Breaking Out, The Way It Was: Short Stories and Tall Tales, and A Tale of Two Continents, a ghost-written memoir.

Besides dabbling in short-story writing over the years, he immersed himself in learning to play the clarinet and tenor saxophone. He performed many years with an estimable 65-piece community symphonic band, and played a few professional big band gigs.

A product of Michigan and Iowa, he has a bachelor’s degree in English and German from Drake University in Des Moines, and studied journalism in graduate school at the University of Iowa.



Sunday, June 28, 2020

Blood on the Chesapeake by Randy Overbeck

     Darrell was starting a new life and Wilshire was as good a place as any to get the ball rolling. Though a small town, Wilshire hid a huge secret. Darrell wasn't concerned about the secret, he didn't want to get involved. Something seems to be pulling at Darrell. Telling him to keep his eyes open.  Darrell takes the advice and is shocked by what he does see.

     I love that this book includes some history. It makes the story more interesting.  The characters are very human and lovable. Humor, suspense and romance are all included. Mr. Overbeck weaves a tale like a master story teller. He never gives you much about the secret and that keeps you reading. This should be on your TBR pile for summer reading.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because everyone needs to read it.

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

An Ill Wind Is Blowing by Donald Montano

     John Sampson and his companions arrive in Charleston. They are not welcome. It will be up to John to change things in Charleston. With the help of some of the townsfolk, they might actually stand a chance of completing their mission. It could also mean more trouble for John. 

     Powerful and engaging, this book is as fantastic as the other two. This could easily be a TV miniseries. Once again it's well thought out, historically accurate and has characters you won't soon forget. Watching the development of the story line is fascinating. I can't wait to read more.

    Once again the "end of chapter" statement isn't needed.  It's the only issue I found.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it blew me away.

Escape Back to Charleston by Donald Montano

     John Sampson finally found a bit of happiness. He knew he was blessed to have found Arley and the people he now called friends. In his happiness, John wanted to help his friend Joshua find the woman he loved. This would mean a trip back home, he was ready though.

     I would love to see this and the other two books in the series as movies. Rough and tumble, yet soft and loving, this book has it all. There is even a good dose of humor throughout. The best part is you can read each book alone and you still get a captivating read. Incredibly well plotted and such wonderful characters. Put it on your TBR pile. Near the top.

     The only issue is again the "end of chapter" statement.

   I have this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it swept me away.

Drink Deep From the Well of Good Intentions by Donald Montano

          The Civil War was over. Nothing was the same. Death, destruction and hatred were everywhere. John Sampson served four years in the war. Now he just wanted a quiet place to be alone. He decided to head west. He never dreamed the war would follow him. 

     BLOCKBUSTER! Movie-waiting-to-happen. This book is crafted in such a way you get lost in it. The characters are well defined and so life-like you'll forget it's fiction. I was enthralled with this book. In my mind I could see it playing at a movie theater. Very few books hit me that way. Put this author on automatic buy. I know I have.

     I did find one issues. It's a personal preference. I'd take out the  "end of chapter" statements. It's a given the chapter ends if the next chapter is labelled.

     I have this one a resounding 5 cheers out of 5.

Junkie (Cal Rogan Mysteries #1) by Robert P. French

     Cal's life is out of control. His wife tried to help him set things straight many times. She's had enough. Thinking if Cal lost visitation with their daughter he'd get his head on straight, she tells Cal she's moving away. Worried he'll never see his daughter again, Cal gives himself a time limit to get things right. Now, will he be able to do it?

     Well written, meticulously plotted and life like characters will draw you into this book. Mr. French has developed a story line that will have you loving and hating the characters you'll meet. I enjoyed this fresh take on the subject of junkies. I found myself reassessing who-dun-it with every page. I'm excited to read more of this author's work. You will be too.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the fresh take.

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation by Robert W. Fieseler

   Most people believe the shooting at Pulse night club in Florida was the biggest attack on gays. It was not the first. In the seventies, an oasis for gays and their friends in New Orleans was set on fire. It only took sixteen minutes to kill thirty-two people and injure fifteen. The Upstairs Lounge was a small but perfect place to gather.  Several at the lounge that night were still firmly in the closet. The fire brought them all out. 

   I enjoyed learning about this lounge. The story is well written  and  told in a forthright way. Getting to know those in attendance that Sunday is an honor.  It is also heartbreaking. You'll enjoy meeting the people at the club and the environment surrounding them. You'll also learn just how difficult it could be for gays. This one should be in your TBR pile.

  I didn't find any issues.

   I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5.  This touching account will teach you many things.

   

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tangled by James W. Lewis

     High school reunions take so much work.  Usually the former classmates are pretty divided about attending. There had to be something to draw everyone in. When an unknown person starts dropping hints about the former classmates, everyone was excited.  It became a true mystery to figure out who the unknown person was. 
     A high school reunion should be a time of laughter,  fun and memories. Everyone is hiding a secret. Will the reunion end all of that or will it bring even more to light? This reunion promises to be explosive.

     Well written and plotted, this one should be on your TBR pile. The characters are life-like and easy to relate to. Mr. Lewis weaves a story like a master storyteller.  He keeps the reader on their toes with subtle hints throughout. I enjoyed this book because it's more in line with many high school reunions. You're gonna find this one engaging.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the final twist.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

First Deceit: A Conspiracy Thriller (The Fatal Deceit Trilogy Book 1) by Henry Farley

     They were an unlikely pair. Elsa is an exotic dancer and Jack a former detective. One thing they had in common was their love. Elsa would do anything for Jack and she had over the years. Jack used Elsa to set up wealthy men. The men were "caught" by Jack in compromising conditions with Elsa. Jack would then ask for a huge sum of money to make it go away. Elsa was tired of it all.  Could she convince Jack to quit? Would she be able to walk away?

     This book would be a fantastic TV series or at least a blockbuster movie. The characters are well defined and engaging. The story is extremely well written. You will be encompassed by this story to the end.  Mr. Farley has paced this story well. Readers will  find it difficult to put this book down until they've read it all. Get this one.

     I found one issue. When talking about the characters past, it might read better to use small flashbacks. Delving into their pasts with such detail slows the pace.

    I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issue above.

Accidental Roommate by Jolie Day

     Maya's first kiss was everything she had dreamed of. She'd wanted to kiss Ethan for as long as she could remember. What she couldn't figure out is why Ethan disappeared?  Maya wondered if she's ever know the reason.
     Ethan wanted Maya more than anything. Their kiss was simply amazing. He smiled when he remembered how Maya had looked that day. Then his best friend tells him to stay away from Maya.
      Would Maya and Ethan ever get the chance to see where that kiss would lead?

     Light hearted and an easy read. This book is well plotted and has characters you can relate to. Ms Day takes you on a magnificent journey of youth and experience. Past and present. You will find yourself thinking back to when you were eighteen. I enjoyed the fact Ms. Day didn't follow the usual path. She twisted the story just enough to keep you guessing. This one should be on your TBR list.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it is so well written.