Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 22 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Melania and Me: The Rise and Fall of My Friendship with the First Lady by Stephanie Winston Wolkoff


    Stephanie simply wanted to make sure her friend, Melania, was treated with respect. What she found was as cold and calculating as death. Melania has no illusions where her husband is concerned. She's well aware of his misdeeds.  Stephanie was surprised and shocked over the way Melania changed after they moved into the White House. Stephanie would find her friendship with Melania was never what she thought it was.

  This book spares no one. Mrs. Wolkoff is a superb writer. She takes you through it all.She doesn't hold back when describing the events leading up to the very end. I found this book to be honest and emotional. You will learn more than you thought possible about the trumps. It's definitely one to read.

I found no issues.

I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it gave me information I never thought I'd have.

Divorce to Discovery by Jill Wilson

Jill is a model wife and mother. She is busy from sunrise to sunset. From the outside, it looks as though Jill's family is perfect. Friends,neighbors and relatives were shocked when her marriage ended. No one was more shocked than Jill. She realizes she must move forward and find out who she was now. One question, did she have the wherewithal to handle it?

   Oh my goodness! You are going to enjoy this book. The writing is impeccable. The characters are three dimensional and easy to relate too. The pace is steady and page-turning. Your heart will go out to Jill as she works her way through this. Ms. Wilson is a fantastic storyteller. She keeps the reader involved through the entire book. Ms. Wilson uses humor to get through some of the book and it's a nice break from the intensity. You must get this book for your book club or your own library.

     I found no issues.

    I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's truly a sensational read.

  

Saturday, September 5, 2020

Witches Protection Program by Michael Phillip Cash

     Wes Rockville hasn't lived up to his family's expectations. He seems to mess up wherever he works. His Dad and Grandfather are high ranking in the police department. They'd hoped We would be as well. Wes is transferred for the last time. The program is DUMBO. This is his chance to show his family he can do the job. Will it work?

      This book is teeming with fun. It is definitely one you want in your TBR pile. It's well written and the characters are believable. Every child has questions about witches, and this one answers most of them. It's for adults though. You are gonna laugh and enjoy this book. The author is a master storyteller.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it is thoroughly entertaining.
 

Brook and Brax: Undercover Ninjas by Antonio Lumley


      Brook and Brax are the victims of bullies. Everyday! They try to run and hide but the bullies always find them. One day they run into a dojo.  Turns out it was the best thing ever. They talk the Sensei into teaching them. He agrees but has some very strict rules they must follow.

     This book is fantastic! It's a wonderful way of dealing with bullies. Well written and terrific characters, this book should be in your family library. My favorite part is the good grades required to keep going. 

     I found no issues.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's fantastic.

The Devil and Dayna Dalton (Bulwark Anthology #9) by Brit Lunden

 

     Dayna tried all her life to prove she wasn't like her mother. She wasn't wild and undependable. She was a good reporter and a responsible person. Her one "fault" was her love for Clay. He was married and never led her on. In this town, strange things happened. Dayna was going to find out why.

     If you are looking for an original book, this is it. Ms. Lunden's writing is great! She made sure to keep the reader off balance while defining the characters with style. You'll be glad you got this book. I love that the odd things happen to a select few. It's not something everyone experiences. She doesn't give a reason for why this happens. You never know quite when it will happen.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because the pacing needed to be a bit faster.

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

The Road She Left Behind by Christine Nolfi

     Darcy thought she had moved on from her past. She worked hard to keep the secret.  She knows she will never go home. Then a phone call changes everything. Darcy will be forced to face the past to save her nephew. She wonders if facing the secret will destroy what's left of her family.

     Oh my! Well written and  steady paced, this book will make you look at family secrets differently. The characters have the most terrific personalities. From page one, Ms. Nolfi pulls you into the story. Her storytelling is definitely world class. You've got to make Ms. Nolfi and auto-buy author!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because Ms. Nolfi makes you feel all the feels.


 

Promises to Theresa by Marianne Komek

 

     Theresa has two goals right now. One, get into an Ivy League school. Two, be the most outstanding editor of her high school paper.  She never expects the huge twist that hits her. Suddenly everything changes.  The question now is can she get through it?

     The characters are well defined. The writing is good. I love the way everyone became so supportive when they discover Theresa's problem. You'll need a tissue for this one. The subject matter is delicate but Ms. Komek handles it with finesse. 

     I found one issue. The opening was very dry. It didn't seem as if the writer was interested.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because Ms. Komek picks up the pace and ends on a strong note.

 

Monday, August 31, 2020

Wild Pitch by Frank Nunez

 

     It's time for Cooper Harbach to start college. All he can think about is baseball. He wants to be a pro baseball player. He just needs to work on his pitch. Also, there is a girl . She's different, but beautiful and intelligent. Cooper tries to win her over. Long before Cooper graduates from college, his life is turned upside down.

     This book really took me by surprise. The twists and turns are amazing. Well written and wonderful characters will keep you turning pages. Mr. Nunez did a fantastic job of slowly showing all sides of Cooper. You are gonna want this one in your TBR pile.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the twists I didn't see coming.

Sarah's Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

 

    Sarah and her family were having an ordinary day. Although her parents seemed on edge, no one had reason to expect the nightmare they were about to face. Julia was an American journalist who had lived in Paris for many years. She was also at a crossroads she never expected. What happens to both of these women is astonishing. 

     Well written and plotted. Characters are well defined and relate-able. This book will haunt the reader. It's educational and historic. I'm sure many will be surprised when they devour this book. Ms. de Rosnay has just the right touch for this emotional story. GET THIS BOOK!

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one a resounding 5 cheers out of 5 because this book still haunts me.

The Safe Place by Anna Downes

 

     Emily is not having a great day. It seems like her life is falling apart right before her eyes. Then she meets Scott. Emily is attracted to him and believes he might be attracted to her. He hires her for his company and that's when things began to get strange.  

     While the pacing is slow, it is well written. The characters are well defined and interesting. I have to say the "creepy factor" is evident as well. I was surprised many times in this book. It usually came out of nowhere. If you enjoy thrillers, you'll love this book.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the slow pacing.

Shot Through the Heart by Andrea Downing

 

   Shiloh Coltrane is a ranch owner who keeps to himself.  His purpose in life is to right a family wrong. He just hasn't decided how to go about it.  Sydney Cantrell came west because it was the only place she might get to do her job. Sydney, I mean Dr. Cantrell wants more than anything to be a practicing doctor. Will Shiloh and Sydney each find what they are looking for?

     This book includes some fabulous characters whose personalities are very well defined. The writing is first rate and easy to follow. I enjoyed the overall story.

     I did find issues.  This book has no backbone. By that I mean everything is all neat and tidy. No real conflict to resolve. No real grit. Even the fire was neat and tidy. It needs some punch.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because of the issues I listed.

    

     

Humble Fitness by James T. Young

 

     Steve is working hard to make his life better. His family supports his efforts and are there for him when he needs them. It's never been easy though. Steve has been through a lot. He's hoping his roommates, Jamal and Tony will be motivated by his efforts. It's one day at a time.

     I applaud that the author is trying to do here. 

     I did find issues.  The book reads very rough. It's not a smooth flow of words. It doesn't seem to capture the attitude of someone going through the problems Steve has. It seems to jump around from subject to subject. Ar. Also, the narrator seems to be speaking down to the reader.

   I gave this one 2 cheers out of 5 for the issues above.

      



Saturday, August 29, 2020

How the Squid Got Two Long Arms by Henry L. Herz

 

     Squid is swimming deep in the cold water. He shivers and spots a sweater. He knows it isn't his but he takes it anyway. While swimming a bit further, Squid finds other clothes and takes them as well.  When his friends find out what's happened they go to Squid and take their things back. In the process they stretch Squid's arms.

    A cute way to tell an interesting tale about Squid. Children will be fascinated by the tale. The beautiful illustrations will keep their attention. Perfect for an afternoon read or a bedtime story. This should be in your child's library.

I found no issues.

  I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a cute story.





Thursday, August 20, 2020

His To Buy by Emily Hale

    Ben doesn't have time for a steady relationship. Work means everything to him and his family.  Ben knows one day he'll inherit the family fortune and businesses. Kimani wants and needs the job working as a journalist. She came up with this crazy plan to prove she can do the job.  Time at a friend's cabin may change both of them forever.


   This hot, hot, hot story is fantastic! Wonderful characters. Terrific plotting and a different approach to romance makes this a book to have. Ms. Hale keeps this story flowing and full of surprises. This is an explicit book, so not for those easily offended. Purchase this book today. It will make a terrific gift!  


     I found no issues.


     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it would make a fantastic book to read aloud with your significant other.

Saturday, July 25, 2020

Aloha Means Goodbye: A Murder on Maui Mystery (Murder on Maui #1) by Robert W. Stephens

     Edgar  Allen Rutherford had no job. No girlfriend. He also had a horrible flight to Maui. Edgar was going to Maui for a vacation. Nothing to hold him on the mainland. Doug was a childhood friend and he had invited Edgar to Maui many times. Edgar felt like nothing else could happen to make this month worse. Then they landed in Maui.

     A well written book, it is as though you and the author are just chatting over a cup of tea. The characters are three dimensional and  incredibly wonderful. I enjoy the twists and turns the author incorporated in this story. You will not put this book down until it ends.Get it for your TBR pile today.

     I didn't find any issues.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because the action was amazing.

     


Wednesday, July 22, 2020

SOLD: Highest Bidder by Jolie Day

      Joe: Successful, gorgeous and very sweet doesn't do justice to him. He's beyond the average good looking guy. He has a past but that's just it, it's his past.  It seems to be cropping up more often than it should. Joe has it all handled until he sees HER!

     Sophia: Behind on her rent, and her internet bill, and all of her other bills, make her desperate. More so than she's ever been.  When her best friend suggests calling a lady friend of his for a job, Sophia laughs it off. She's got this. Right? Okay, well maybe she's working on getting it all handle. Eventually. Someday. She calls the lady friend. Here we go!

     Suspense, romance, laughter and HOT sex set this book on a journey. It might be a bumpy ride but you'll hang on to the end.  Well written, well plotted and characters to love set this book apart from others. I found this book to be a perfect read no matter where you are.  The twists keep it interesting. I knew immediately I was gonna enjoy this one. The characters personalities shine through. It appears as though Ms. Day sailed through the writing process. Get this one. You won't be sorry.

     I did find one issue. I felt things went too smoothly for Sophia and for Joe. The rescue scenes could have been a bit longer.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the reason above. 

Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man by Mary L. Trump

     The Trump family is NOT your average family. They are now and always have been dysfunctional. This book is an explanation of how this all started.  The five Trump children learned at home, how to navigate the world. The problem is, it wasn't a "normal" way of handling it. Fred Trump used the government and government programs to build his fortune. His skewed way of living and learning was passed down to his children. This book answers your questions about the trump in the White House.

     I applaud Mary L. Trump for writing this book. She did a wonderful job of explaining where this family found it's way of doing things. I also applaud Ms. Trump and her brother for their tenacity despite the blood in their veins and the last name they were given.  Well written and organized, this book just builds on itself like building blocks making it easy to see what went wrong and when.  If you are looking for a sleazy attempt to discredit donald trump, look elsewhere.  This is first of all a book about the entire Trump family.  Second, I'm sure it was cathartic for Ms. Trump to write. You can't go wrong with this book and I hope Ms. Trump will write another book, on any topic, soon. 

   I found only one issue. I would like to have seen more about "where are they now" for the three remaining Trumps.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because Ms. Trump could have taken the sleazy road but she held true to her personal moral compass.

     

Friday, July 17, 2020

Blood in the Desert Sand by Donald Montano

     The Arizona Territory is wild.  The Denby  brothers know first hand just how wild.  The three of them are trackers. They track the missing and outlaws.  These brothers always succeed in their mission. Now, they must find a missing Apache Princess and six white women. Most in the area believe they will fail. The brothers know they will find all of the women and the outlaws who took them. At least they hope they will.

     Captivating and authentic, we get a real look at life in the "wild" west.  Well written and full of emotion, this book is unlike any other western you've read. I found it moving, harsh and honest. It will give you pause when you digest the story. You are gonna want this one in your TBR pile and you will be sharing it with friends and family.  It's sensational.

     I did find issues. By chapter 15 it felt like the story was over.  It then takes off on another run. It's like a roller coaster.  The lulls don't stop at chapter 15, there are at least two others. It makes the book and story less fluid.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the above issues.

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Relentless: Unleashing a Life of Purpose, Grit, and Faith by John Tesh

     You may have wondered what John Tesh was like before ET. He was an ordinary child. He did things typical boys do. He also did things you'll be surprised at. The book gives you a look at the past and how it shaped the present. You will be moved by how his private and professional life came together.  A lot of prayer and luck.

     I found this book engaging and brutally honest.  When you being this book, you'll feel as though you are carrying on a conversation with Mr. Tesh. This book will touch your heart and soul. You will have all the feels. I highly recommend this book. If you know Mr. Tesh personally, you'll be shaking your head. If you only know him from ET or his music, you'll be astounded. 

     I found no issues here.

      I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's such compelling reading.

Monday, July 13, 2020

Where Is My Little Crocodile? (Where is... #1) by Ingo Blum

     Charlie the crocodile is missing! Where can he be? Everyone is searching for him. They have no idea where he could have gone to. Can Charlie drive a car? Everyone keeps looking for hi m. Do you know where Charlie is?

     This repetitive and easy to read book will keep the littles engaged in the story. I found the illustrations just sensational. They are part of what the littles will love about this book. It's really two gifts in one. A book to read and a search and find game. Check this one out.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5.

The River Raft (Riverboat Chapter Books #1) by Ingo Blum

     Finn the falcon, Shylow the fox and Titus the badger are the best of friends. Their favorite activity is to go out on their wooden rowing boat. They love sailing.  One day they found a lost calf. They  think they can help the calf if they work together. Can they work together and save the calf?

     This book is wonderful. It teaches children about teamwork. It is colorful and fun. It's told in a way children won't realize they are learning. They'll want this book read again and again. It belongs in your child's library.

     The only issue I found was the part where the boat really runs into serious trouble. It might be a bit much for the age group.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the part mentioned above.




Sunday, July 12, 2020

Our Wonderful Colorful Highway by Ingo Blum

     I'll bet you've never looked at our roads and highways as a child does.  There's a yellow bus. Look at the red car. There's a green tractor. Oh, I love the purple station wagon. Look at the green trees by the road.

  How much joy your little will get when you read this book. Then carry it a step forward. When you are out and about, ask them to find colors. They will work hard to find them. I found this book to be eye-opening as far as a teaching tool. It's so easy to incorporate into your day. This belongs in your little's library.

     The only issue I found was keeping littles in their seat. *smile*

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's easy to catch the excitement from your child.
     

Nelly Pig´s Funny Birthday Surprise (Nelly Pig´s Life #1) by Ingo Blum

     Carlos the Duck is in charge. He's always been in charge. He organizes the work on the farm. 
     Nelly Pig is Carlos' best friend. However, Nelly doesn't like his bossiness. It leads to an argument and Carlos leaves the farm for a few days. While he's gone, Nelly is in charge. It doesn't go well at all. See what they do for dear Carlos.

    OH, this book is a gem! I wish I'd had it when my girls were young. It is a terrific way to explain why they should work together and they can get things done. Your little will love all the farm animals and the chaos that ensues.

     I found no issues,

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really is a gem.

Big: a Little Story about Respect and Self-Esteem by Ingo Blumful

     Lee the flea works for Circus Wilson. When Lee performs his tricks, the only thing the audience see are his sparkling yellow pants. Lee wants to be bigger, so he leaves the circus to think. When it comes time for Lee to perform, no one can find him. Where do you think Lee is?

     This book has a sensational way to explain the issue, self-esteem and respect, so littles understand. Bright, colorful illustrations will keep their attention. Talking about the story will help cement the lessons in your littles mind. I found this book delightful.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because these lessons are so important.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Full Moon Fever by Elizabeth Black

      Sam and Grants lives were entwined with their work. They worked with touring dance groups.  Their jobs as handy men allowed them to get to know most of the performers. Two of their best friends worked in the background too. Sam and Grant hid secrets from everyone.  Will they be able to continue to hide, or must they finally speak up?

     This book offers a different look at the subject matter. It's more realistic. It's well written and spicy hot!  Ms. Black includes humor as well as some deep lessons many face, even if they aren't part of a fictional story.  This is one you'll enjoy.

     I found no issues here.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because it's a little too short.

Monday, June 29, 2020

United in Grief: The Tragic Story of Stephanie Scott's Murder and the Effect it had on the Small Town of Leeton NSW by Monique Patterson

     Stephanie's life couldn't get much better. She was teaching, something she loved to do. Also, she was preparing to marry her prince. Aaron, Stephanie's prince, goes out of town for a party. Stephanie stays behind to ready things in her classroom. She wants everything to be set while she's on her honeymoon.  No one expected what happened next.

     This is a quick, heartbreaking read. The subject matter is something we see way too much of in our world.  

     I found one huge issue. This book reads like a police report not a story. It's very cut and dry.  It seems to contain only what a police report would. There is nothing human about it.

     I gave this one 3 cheers out of 5 because it really needs some work.

Expect Betrayal by JoAnn Smith Ainsworth

      Lt. Olivia Delacourt is a bit unusual.  Her talents lie in an area many would scoff at.  It's because of these talents she's given the mission of finding her cousin. She's never met her cousin but she holds a book Olivia and the military need. It's 1943 and this book must be guarded. Hitler himself wants it. You see how important  it is?

     Buckle up, sit back and let the thrills begin.  This book has quite a cast of characters. Each adds their own special zip to the story. Well written, this story seems to flow very easily from Ms. Ainsworth.  I love the history part of this book. Each page makes you want to keep reading to see what else can happen.

    The only issue I can see is the supernatural aspect of the book. It may keep some from enjoying this story. 

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the supernatural .

Spotlight on: Author Robert Brink


In its compelling portrayal of racial injustice committed by police officers, Blood on Their Hands is unlike other legal thrillers in its uncannily perfect timing as the country is torn asunder by police brutality against blacks. Further, it is one of a kind in its introduction of a controversial legal conundrum.

But that enigma – whether an attorney who witnesses a police beating may defend the victim – takes a back seat to the novel’s portrayal of racial animosity. Though prevalent throughout our country’s history, events over a period of just a few weeks in winter-spring 2020, most notably the police strangulation of a Minneapolis man, saw it rise to a fever pitch not felt since the civil rights movement of the 1950s and ’60s.

Police brutality toward blacks is the salient, and altogether timely, problem addressed in Blood on Their Hands by both the legal system and the book’s characters in the racial attitudes they harbor. The novel explores these bigoted feelings in depth, echoing via dramatization the poignant lyrics in the song You’ve Got to Be Carefully Taught in Rodgers and Hammerstein’s 1949 hit Broadway musical South Pacific.

As to the legal aspect, attorneys consulted by the author offered varying opinions as to the rare circumstance encountered by the protagonists within the book’s pages. 

Hiram Garbuncle is a veteran criminal defense attorney—as well as a racist, miserly alcoholic. His life revolves around hoarding money, following sports, pursuing sex, drinking—and the prideful practice of law.

Alec Monceau is a black man working in suburban West Palm Beach, Florida, to support his daughter’s family in Trinidad. It is 2008, and his car carries an Obama bumper sticker. This political endorsement leads to a superfluous traffic stop and a brutal beating by police.

It goes against Garbuncle’s grain to defend a black man from a charge of violently resisting arrest, but he is so confident of winning that he is negligent in the jury selection, and a mistrial occurs. He then discovers incriminating evidence on the two cops, and his new challenge becomes how to keep himself and his client alive pending a new trial.

Blood on Their Hands borrows themes from the movies Gran Torino and My Cousin Vinnie. It is a tale replete with both pathos and humor. Steeped in suspense, action, intrigue, violent episodes and yes, a bit of titillating sex, all these elements are leavened by a tragic love affair. Perhaps most important, it is a story of redemption.



Author's Bio



Bob Brink is a journalist who worked with the Palm Beach Post, The Associated Press in Chicago, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Tampa Tribune, Joliet Herald-News, and Palm Beach Media Group (magazines). His byline has been on thousands of news stories, features, and entertainment reviews. He’s been an author and freelance writer for several years.

He has won numerous writing accolades and several awards, including three for Palm Beach Illustrated, which won the Best Written Magazine award from the Florida Magazine Association after he became copy chief and writer.
            
Blood on Their Hands is Brink’s second crime novel, following Murder in Palm Beach The Homicide That Never Died¸ an Amazon best-seller for 15 weeks. His previous books were the coming-of-age novel Breaking Out, The Way It Was: Short Stories and Tall Tales, and A Tale of Two Continents, a ghost-written memoir.

Besides dabbling in short-story writing over the years, he immersed himself in learning to play the clarinet and tenor saxophone. He performed many years with an estimable 65-piece community symphonic band, and played a few professional big band gigs.

A product of Michigan and Iowa, he has a bachelor’s degree in English and German from Drake University in Des Moines, and studied journalism in graduate school at the University of Iowa.



Sunday, June 28, 2020

Blood on the Chesapeake by Randy Overbeck

     Darrell was starting a new life and Wilshire was as good a place as any to get the ball rolling. Though a small town, Wilshire hid a huge secret. Darrell wasn't concerned about the secret, he didn't want to get involved. Something seems to be pulling at Darrell. Telling him to keep his eyes open.  Darrell takes the advice and is shocked by what he does see.

     I love that this book includes some history. It makes the story more interesting.  The characters are very human and lovable. Humor, suspense and romance are all included. Mr. Overbeck weaves a tale like a master story teller. He never gives you much about the secret and that keeps you reading. This should be on your TBR pile for summer reading.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because everyone needs to read it.

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

An Ill Wind Is Blowing by Donald Montano

     John Sampson and his companions arrive in Charleston. They are not welcome. It will be up to John to change things in Charleston. With the help of some of the townsfolk, they might actually stand a chance of completing their mission. It could also mean more trouble for John. 

     Powerful and engaging, this book is as fantastic as the other two. This could easily be a TV miniseries. Once again it's well thought out, historically accurate and has characters you won't soon forget. Watching the development of the story line is fascinating. I can't wait to read more.

    Once again the "end of chapter" statement isn't needed.  It's the only issue I found.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it blew me away.

Escape Back to Charleston by Donald Montano

     John Sampson finally found a bit of happiness. He knew he was blessed to have found Arley and the people he now called friends. In his happiness, John wanted to help his friend Joshua find the woman he loved. This would mean a trip back home, he was ready though.

     I would love to see this and the other two books in the series as movies. Rough and tumble, yet soft and loving, this book has it all. There is even a good dose of humor throughout. The best part is you can read each book alone and you still get a captivating read. Incredibly well plotted and such wonderful characters. Put it on your TBR pile. Near the top.

     The only issue is again the "end of chapter" statement.

   I have this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it swept me away.

Drink Deep From the Well of Good Intentions by Donald Montano

          The Civil War was over. Nothing was the same. Death, destruction and hatred were everywhere. John Sampson served four years in the war. Now he just wanted a quiet place to be alone. He decided to head west. He never dreamed the war would follow him. 

     BLOCKBUSTER! Movie-waiting-to-happen. This book is crafted in such a way you get lost in it. The characters are well defined and so life-like you'll forget it's fiction. I was enthralled with this book. In my mind I could see it playing at a movie theater. Very few books hit me that way. Put this author on automatic buy. I know I have.

     I did find one issues. It's a personal preference. I'd take out the  "end of chapter" statements. It's a given the chapter ends if the next chapter is labelled.

     I have this one a resounding 5 cheers out of 5.

Junkie (Cal Rogan Mysteries #1) by Robert P. French

     Cal's life is out of control. His wife tried to help him set things straight many times. She's had enough. Thinking if Cal lost visitation with their daughter he'd get his head on straight, she tells Cal she's moving away. Worried he'll never see his daughter again, Cal gives himself a time limit to get things right. Now, will he be able to do it?

     Well written, meticulously plotted and life like characters will draw you into this book. Mr. French has developed a story line that will have you loving and hating the characters you'll meet. I enjoyed this fresh take on the subject of junkies. I found myself reassessing who-dun-it with every page. I'm excited to read more of this author's work. You will be too.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the fresh take.

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation by Robert W. Fieseler

   Most people believe the shooting at Pulse night club in Florida was the biggest attack on gays. It was not the first. In the seventies, an oasis for gays and their friends in New Orleans was set on fire. It only took sixteen minutes to kill thirty-two people and injure fifteen. The Upstairs Lounge was a small but perfect place to gather.  Several at the lounge that night were still firmly in the closet. The fire brought them all out. 

   I enjoyed learning about this lounge. The story is well written  and  told in a forthright way. Getting to know those in attendance that Sunday is an honor.  It is also heartbreaking. You'll enjoy meeting the people at the club and the environment surrounding them. You'll also learn just how difficult it could be for gays. This one should be in your TBR pile.

  I didn't find any issues.

   I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5.  This touching account will teach you many things.

   

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tangled by James W. Lewis

     High school reunions take so much work.  Usually the former classmates are pretty divided about attending. There had to be something to draw everyone in. When an unknown person starts dropping hints about the former classmates, everyone was excited.  It became a true mystery to figure out who the unknown person was. 
     A high school reunion should be a time of laughter,  fun and memories. Everyone is hiding a secret. Will the reunion end all of that or will it bring even more to light? This reunion promises to be explosive.

     Well written and plotted, this one should be on your TBR pile. The characters are life-like and easy to relate to. Mr. Lewis weaves a story like a master storyteller.  He keeps the reader on their toes with subtle hints throughout. I enjoyed this book because it's more in line with many high school reunions. You're gonna find this one engaging.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because of the final twist.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

First Deceit: A Conspiracy Thriller (The Fatal Deceit Trilogy Book 1) by Henry Farley

     They were an unlikely pair. Elsa is an exotic dancer and Jack a former detective. One thing they had in common was their love. Elsa would do anything for Jack and she had over the years. Jack used Elsa to set up wealthy men. The men were "caught" by Jack in compromising conditions with Elsa. Jack would then ask for a huge sum of money to make it go away. Elsa was tired of it all.  Could she convince Jack to quit? Would she be able to walk away?

     This book would be a fantastic TV series or at least a blockbuster movie. The characters are well defined and engaging. The story is extremely well written. You will be encompassed by this story to the end.  Mr. Farley has paced this story well. Readers will  find it difficult to put this book down until they've read it all. Get this one.

     I found one issue. When talking about the characters past, it might read better to use small flashbacks. Delving into their pasts with such detail slows the pace.

    I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issue above.

Accidental Roommate by Jolie Day

     Maya's first kiss was everything she had dreamed of. She'd wanted to kiss Ethan for as long as she could remember. What she couldn't figure out is why Ethan disappeared?  Maya wondered if she's ever know the reason.
     Ethan wanted Maya more than anything. Their kiss was simply amazing. He smiled when he remembered how Maya had looked that day. Then his best friend tells him to stay away from Maya.
      Would Maya and Ethan ever get the chance to see where that kiss would lead?

     Light hearted and an easy read. This book is well plotted and has characters you can relate to. Ms Day takes you on a magnificent journey of youth and experience. Past and present. You will find yourself thinking back to when you were eighteen. I enjoyed the fact Ms. Day didn't follow the usual path. She twisted the story just enough to keep you guessing. This one should be on your TBR list.

     I found no issues with this one.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it is so well written.